Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

WISCONSIN FIELD RECORDINGS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: David Spener
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: May 1982

AFS 1622-1623A1: Two discs containing five songs sung and played on the fiddle and "Paul Bunyan Harp" by the Rindlisbacher Lumberjack Group of Rice Lake. Recorded in Washington D.C. in May 1938 by Alan Lomax.

AFS 2238-2486: Two hundred forty-nine discs containing folk music from Wisconsin and Michigan. Recorded in the field between August 10 and November 1, 1938, by Alan Lomax for the Library of Congress.

AFS 2469-2470: Two discs containing eight instrumental tunes performed on the fiddle and banjo by Joe and Clarence Cloud of Odanah.

AFS 3155-3313: One hundred fifty-nine discs containing folk music of the South, East, and Midwest. Recorded in 1936 and 1937 by Sidney Robertson, Charles Seeger, Margaret Valiant, and others for the Special Skills Division of the Farm Security Administration (Resettlement Administration). Wisconsin recordings made by Robertson.

AFS 3246; 3252; 3253B1-3255A3: Five discs containing examples of clogging, instrumental tunes, yodeling, and the French dialect of Wisconsin lumberjacks. Recorded in Chicago, IL, at the National Folk Festival on May 27, 1937.

AFS 3278-3279: Two discs containing eleven fiddle tunes performed by Leizime Brusoe. Recorded in Rhinelander in July 1937.

AFS 3282-3297: Sixteen discs containing songs sung by Mr. And Mrs. Charles Spencer, Clyde Spencer, Harry Fannin, Warde and A. J.Ford, Robert Walker, Ed King, Mr. Berker, Bud Faulkner, and Jack Bailey. Recorded in Crandon in July 1937.

AFS 4159-4193: Thirty-four discs containing Wisconsin folklore. Recorded on location in the summer of 1940 by Robert F. Draves and Helene Stratman-Thomas for the University of Wisconsin and the Library of Congress. Some portions of this collection also appear on the Library of Congress LP recording, Folk Music from Wisconsin (AFS L55).

AFS 4159A1-B1; 4179A1-4183A1: Six discs containing sixteen Welsh folksongs and hymns performed by various persons from Dodgeville and Pickett, and the Congregation of Cymanfa Ganu in Pickett.

AFS 4159B2; 4161A2; 4162A1-2: Three discs containing four Dutch folksongs sung by Mrs. Anna Scholten and Mrs. Kranendonk of Oostburg .

AFS 4160A1: One disc containing a Cornish folksong sung by Aunt Dorah Richards of Platteville.

AFS 4160A2-4161A1; 4161B1-2: Two discs containing six Swiss tunes played on the zither by Albert Mueller of New Glarus.

AFS 4162B1-4164A1: Three discs containing three Bohemian songs performed by the "Straight eight" Bohemian Band and a vocal quartet from Kewaunee.

AFS 4164B1-4165A2: Two discs containing three Icelandic songs performed by Mrs. Karl Bjarnson, her daughter Mrs. Christine Gudmunsen, and Mrs. Margaret Richter of Washington Island .

AFS 4165B1-4166B1: Two discs containing three Belgian and two Wisconsin folksongs performed by Al Van der Tie and Jules Rower of Brussels, WI.

AFS 4167A1-B1; 4168A1-4169B2; 4170A1-B1; 4171A1-4172A1; 4186A1-4188B1: Eleven discs containing twenty-one songs with poetry and oral history performed by John Christian of Coloma; Henry Humphries of Hancock; Lewis Winfield Moody of Plainfield; Dan Grant of Bryant; and Arthur Mosely of Black River Falls.

AFS 4172B1-4176B3: Five discs containing eighteen folksongs of Kentucky origin performed by Mrs. Pearl Jacobs Borusky of Antigo.

AFS 4177; 4189: Two discs containing ten fiddle tunes performed by Leizime Brusoe of Rhinelander.

AFS 4190: One disc containing four Swedish folksongs sung by John G. Ostrom, with piano accompaniment by Professor E. Lundholm, both of Superior.

AFS 4184A1: One disc containing the song "Uncle Joe", performed by Moses Morgan of Pickett.

AFS 4184B1: One disc containing the Irish song, "Paddy Doyle and Biddy O'Toole", sung by Mr. Charley Bowlen of Black River Falls.

AFS 4185; 4191-4193: Four discs containing eleven Finnish folksongs sung by Mrs. Martha Leppänen Hayes and Mr. Jalmar Nukala, with piano accompaniment by Mrs. Mamie Wirtanen Jukala, all of Superior.

AFS 4948-5025: Seventy-eight discs containing Wisconsin folklore recorded mostly in the summer of 1941 by Robert F. Draves and Helen Stratman-Thomas for the University of Wisconsin and the Library of Congress. Some portions of this collection also appear on the Library of Congress LP recording, Folk Music from Wisconsin (AFS L55).

AFS 4948-4951: Four discs containing Croatian instrumental tunes performed by the Tamburica Quartet. Includes a spoken description of the Tamburica instruments. Recorded in Madison on November 15, 1940.

AFS 4952-4955: Four discs containing ten English songs sung by Winifred Bundy. Recorded in Madison.

AFS 4956-4959: Four discs containing seventeen Norwegian tunes played on the psalmadikon and the Hardanger violin by the Psalmodikon Quartet of McFarland and Dagny Veun Quisling of Madison. Recorded in Madison.

AFS 4960-4965: Six discs containing ballads, Civil War songs, Indian lore, recitations, and "School Section" sing-alongs performed by Hamilton Lobdell of Mukwanago.

AFS 4966, 4968B1-2; 4969A1; 4971A1-4973A1, B1; 4974A2; 4977A1; 4987-4991B2; 4994B1-3; 5002B1; 5005A5, B1; 5006A2, B1-2; 5007A1-2; 5010A1-2, B1; 5011A1; 5017A1-B1; 5018B3; 5019A1-B1; 5020A1: Twenty-four discs containing lumberjack and other songs and instrumentals performed by various persons from Wautoma, Hancock, Rhinelander, Crandon, Black River Falls, Galesville, Madison, the town of Marion in Waushoma County, Plainfield, Colburn, and Schofield. Includes lumberjack dance tunes performed by Mr. and Mrs. Otto Rindlisbacher of Rice Lake.

AFS 4969-4970; 4973A2; 4976A1; 4991A1; 5008B1-2: Six discs containing ten Irish songs performed by Michael Leary and F.S. Puty of Almond; Lewis Winfield Moody of Plainfield; Gene Silsbe of the town of Colburn; Emery De Noyer of Rhinelander; and Robert Walker of Crandon.

AFS 4973B1-4975B1: Three discs containing five songs performed by Henry Humphrey and Gene Silsbe of Hancock.

AFS 4976B2; 4977B1-4981B3; 5005A1-2; 5007B1-5: Eight discs containing Polish folksongs performed by Mr. And Mrs. Adam Bartosz and John Cieczak of Stevens Point; includes two songs in the Kasshubian dialect.

AFS 4981B1-2; 4982B1; 5005B2-5006A1: Four discs containing five German songs performed by Robert and Martha Steinbach of Wasau.

AFS 4983A1-4987A1; 4991B2-4994A1; 4995; 4997A1-B1: Eleven discs containing eleven examples of "Kaintuck" songs and conversation from Ollie Jacobs and Pearl Jacobs Borusky of Pearson; Charlie Spencer and Grant Faulkner of Crandon; and Luther Royce of White Lake.

AFS 4998A1-5000A1: Three discs containing seven Belgian and French folksongs including one in the Walloon dialect, performed by Desire Maes of Green Bay.

AFS 5000A2-5004A1: Five discs containing oral history and poetry concerning Mississippi River boating and lumber rafts, by Harry G. Dyer of Madison.

AFS 5005A3-4: One disc containing two Ukrainian folksongs performed by Adam Barstosz of Stevens Point.

AFS 5012-5015: Four discs containing "old-time" dance music performed by Leizime Brusoe's Orchestra of Rhinelander.

AFS 5017B2-5018A2; 5018B1: Two discs containing five Swiss tunes performed on the Swiss hand orgeli-accordian and the Swiss bells by Otto Rindlisbacher and family of Rice Lake.

AFS 5020B1-5022A1; 5025A1-B1: Four discs containing seven Bohemian folksongs performed by Mrs. George McClure, Mrs. Mayme Doser, Mrs. Frand Stevens and Mr. Albert Wachuta of Prarie du Chien. Mrs. Stevens is accompanied by accordionist John Pinz.

AFS 5022B1-5023B1: Two discs containing four French Canadian songs sung and played on the recorder by Mrs. Virginia La Bonne Valley in Prarie du Chien.

AFS 8362-8473: One hundred twelve discs containing Wisconsin folk music. Recorded in the summer and fall of 1946 by Helene Stratman-Thomas, Aubrey Snyder, and Phyllis Pinkerton for the University of Wisconsin and the Library of Congress. The recordings of Indians were made by Charles Hofmann. Some portions of this collection are contained in the Library of Congress' LP recording Folk Music from Wisconsin (AFS L55).

AFS 8362-8364; 8386B1-8387A1; 8439A1-B2; 8442B1; 8458A2-B3; 8462B1-2: Nine discs containing twenty English songs sung by Winifred Moore Bundy of Madison; William Jacob Morgan of Berlin; and Charles Dietz of Monroe.

AFS 8365-8368; 8360A1-2; 8373A1-3; 8374A1-B4; 8376A1-2; 8381A1-B1; 8382A1-B2; 8411-8413: Thirteen discs containing songs of the Winnebago Indians sung by various performers. Recorded July 24 and 31 at Wisconsin Dells, and on August 15 at Black River Falls.

AFS 8369A1-B2; 8373B1-2; 8376B1, B3: Three discs containing ten Zuni Indian songs sung by Margaret Eagle and Phyllis Lewis (age ten). Recorded July 24 at Wisconsin Dells.

AFS 8371-8372: Two discs containing nine Sioux Indian songs performed by Mr. and Mrs. James Hawkins, their son, Lawrence, and his niece, Rena. Recorded July 25 at Wisconsin Dells.

AFS 8370B1-4: One disc containing four Navajo Indian songs performed by Margaret Eagle. Recorded July 24 at Wisconsin Dells.

AFS 8375: One disc containing Peyote songs in the Sioux language from the Native American Church. Sung and performed with drum and rattle by John and Reuben Bear Skin and Larry Hawkins. Recorded July 25 at Wisconsin Dells.

AFS 8377B1; 8394A2, B3; 8427A1; 8431A3-B3; 8432B1; 8469A1-8470A2; 8471B1-8473B1: Ten discs containing sea shanties, railway songs, and ballads sung by Noble B. Brown of Millsville.

AFS 8378A1-8379B3; 8423A1: Three discs containing eight Cornish songs and dance tunes performed by John Persons and Helene Stratman-Thomas of Madison, and Mr. J.L. Peters of Beloit.

AFS 8384A1-B3; 8393B1-8394A1: Three discs containing Swiss accordian tunes and yodelling performed by Mrs. Vaughn Garfoot of Verona and John Giezendannen of Barron.

AFS 8385A1, B2; 8397-8398; 8414A1-8416A1: Six discs containing four Norwegian accordian tunes performed by Mrs. Vaughn Garfoot of Verona, and nineteen Norwegian songs sung by Mrs. Brithe Lothe of Milltown and Alice Everson of Blair.

AFS 8386A1; 8471A1: Two performances of the Civil War song, "The Dying Wisconsin Soldier," by William Jacob Morgan of Berlin and Noble B. Brown of Millsville.

AFS 8387A1-2; 8406B1; 8410A1-2, B1, 8419A1-8422A2; 8427A2; 8430A1-B2; 8470B1: Ten discs containing songs and ballads sung by various persons from Pittsville, Berlin, Grantsburg, Black River Falls, Linden, and Lancaster.

AFS 8388A1-8398A3; 8409; 8446A1-8449A1: Eleven discs containing French Canadian songs sung by various persons from Somerset, Chippewa Falls, and Waukesha.

AFS 8395-8396; 8424-8426; 8499B1-2: Two discs containing twenty Italian songs sung by Thomas St. Angelo and Ambrose Degidio of Cumberland; Joe Accardi and Mrs. De Noto of Beloit; and Irene Ruffalo of Kenosha.

AFS 8399; 8438A1-2: Two discs containing five Danish songs sung by Esther Utoft of West Denmark, Wisconsin, and Mildred N. Moll of Madison.

AFS 8400A1-8406A2: Seven discs containing twenty-three Swedish songs sung by Dr. A.C. Lindberg, Ruth Sandberg, Ruth Olson, Alice Carlson, Orrin Olson, Rev. Theodore Kronberg, and Abel Jotblad of Grantsburg.

AFS 8407-8408; 8445A1: Three discs containing lumberjack songs and reminiscences by Charles Ring and Adolf Williams of Hayward.

AFS 8410A3; 8435-8437; 8439A1: Five discs containing thirteen Bohemian songs and dance tunes performed by the Bohemian Band and various other persons from Yuba.

AFS 8417: One disc containing four Ottawa Indian songs performed by Roi Clearwater. Recorded at Wisconsin Dells.

AFS 8418; 8423B1-2; 8433-8434: Four discs containing square-dance calling by Ray Bicknell of Fort Atkinson, Preston Willis of Linden, and John Muench of Lancaster.

AFS 8422B1-2; 8428-8429; 8431A1-2; 8438A3; 8444; 8445A2; 8458A1-2; 8466-8467: Ten discs containing twenty-eight German, Austrian, and Bavarian songs and an example of the German dialect from various persons from Madison, Lancaster, Darlington, Mayville, and Sheboygan.

AFS 8427A1: One disc containing the Welsh hymn, "Way Up in Heaven," sung by Mrs. Laura Avanell of Linden.

AFS 8432A1-5: One disc containing five black spirituals and early American songs sung by Aunt Lily Richmond of Lancaster in Beetown Township. Richmond is an 84 year-old ex-slave originally from Missouri.

AFS 8440A1-8442A2; 8443; 8449B3-4; 8450-8451: Seven discs containing twenty-nine Dutch songs sung by various persons from Crandon and Kenosha. Includes songs in the Friesland dialect.

AFS 8445B1: One disc containing the song "The Newhall House Fire," sung by Mrs. Ella Mittelstaedt of Mayville. The song is about a fire in Milwaukee witnessed by Mrs. Mittelstaedt in 1883.

AFS 8452-8453: Two discs containing nine Polish songs sung by Miss Stasie Pokora of Milwaukee.

AFS 8454A2-8455B2: Two discs containing seven songs in a Flemish or German dialect. Songs performed by Jacob C. Becker of Belgium, WI. They were learned from his father, Nicholas Becker, who came to Ozaukee County from Luxembourg in 1854.

AFS 8456A1-8457B2: Two discs containing seven Lithuanian songs performed by various members of the Church of the Immaculate Conception in Sheboygan.

AFS 8459A1-8462A1: Four discs containing fourteen Belgian songs sung by Theuphiel Ropson, Emil Boulangeer, and Anton De Beck of Dykesville.

AFS 8463-8465: Three discs containing nine religious Oneida Indian songs performed by Indian members of the Oneida Methodist and Episcopal churches.

AFS 8575-8637: Fifty-nine discs containing the speech, traditions, legends and folksongs of Polish residents of the town of Independence. Recorded from December 1946 to 1947 by Prof. Edmund Zawacki and Harriet Pawlowska for the University of Wisconsin.

AFS 10,494: One 7-inch tape containing French voyageur songs sung by 100 year-old Reuben Valley of Prairie du Chien. Recorded on June 17, 1950, by Mary Agnes Starr.

AFS 10,873-10,874: Two 7-inch tapes containing the songs of Lithuanian immigrants to the United States. Recorded in 1949-1950 by Jonas Balys for the American Philosophical Society and Indiana University.

AFS 10,873A1: One 7-inch tape containing the song, "Volungëtë sake," sung by Mrs. Veronika Kasperaitiene and Mrs.Felicija Kapocienë of Racine.

AFS 11,334-11,444: Eleven 10-inch tapes containing folk music from California, Wisconsin, New England, Ireland, and Iran. Recorded 1951-1955 by Sidney Robertson Cowell.

AFS 11,335B1-11,338A15: Four 10-inch tapes containing songs performed by members of the families of Warde Ford and Robert Walker, originally from Crandon, WI. Recorded in September 1952 in Rhinelander, and in August 1954 in Central Valley, CA.

AFS 11,734-11,737: Four 7-inch tapes containing Wisconsin music and folklore which replace AFS disc recordings 5010-5020 made in 1941 by Robert F.Draves and Helene Stratman-Thomas for the University of Wisconsin. (See AFS 4948-5025 in this finding aid.)

AFS 13,470: One 7-inch tape containing French songs sung by Adelord Joseph Vanasse at Somerset. Recorded on August 8, 1946, by Helene Stratman-Thomas for the University of Wisconsin.

AFS 13,992-14,021: Thirty tapes containing folk music donated by Annabel Morris Buchanan for the Folk Music Archive of the National Federation of Music Clubs. Recorded by NFMC archivists and contributors.

AFS 14,007A: One 7-inch tape containing twenty-five songs in the English language performed by Mary Agnes Starr of Hales Corners. Songs were learned between 1909 and 1919 from Starr's mother, Eliabeth Le Roux Barbour. Recorded July 6, 1961, by Mary Agnes Starr.

AFS 14,007B: One 7-inch tape containing French Canadian dance music, voyageur's dongs, and French finger-play games performed by Reuben Valley of Prairie du Chien and Mary Agnes Starr of ales Corners. Recorded in 1962.

AFS 14,420-14,426: Seven 7-inch tapes containing recorded excerpts from the National Folk Festival. Recorded in Washington D.C., on June 1 and June 4, 1960, by the Voice of America.

AFS 14,422: One 7-inch tape containing a performance of Norwegian Dancers of Stoughton, directed by Jeanne Reek, and accompanied on the accordian by Carol Lande and Nor Ann Kampanger.

AFS 15,424: One cassette tape containing nine Norwegian-American songs sung by Mrs. Norah Anderson of River Falls. Recorded in 1972 by her granddaughter, Margaret Anderson.

AFS 17,508-17,509: Two 10-inch tapes cntaining excerpts from the National Folk Festival, recorded in St.Louis, MO, on April 8, 1954, by the Voice of America.

AFS 17,508A8-10: One 10-inch tape containing three examples of lumberjack songs and dance music performed by Mary Agnes Starr and the Wisconsin lumberjacks of Phillips, under the direction of Ray Caulkins.

AFS 19,161-19,178: Eighteen 10-inch tapes containing the songs of Lithuanian immigrants in the United States. Recorded in 1949-1950 by Jonas P. Balys for the American Philosophical Society and Indiana University.

AFS 19,163A15-38: One 10-inch tape containing twenty-four Lithuanian songs sung by various persons from Racine.

Cyl 833-837: Five cylinders containing Winnebago Indian Music. Recorded in 1895 by Alice Cunningham Fletcher, location unknown. From the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Smithsonian Institution collection.

Cyl 1407-1465; 3619: Sixty cylinders containing music of the Fox Indians (originally from Wisconsin) recorded in Iowa by Truman Michelson, date unknown. From the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution collection. Fifty-nine cylinders duplicated on tape nos. AFS 20,508-20,513.

Cyl 1911-2210: Three hundred cylinders containing Chippewa (Ojibway) Indian music from the principal reservations in Minnesota, and the Lac du Flambeau Reservation in Wisconsin. Recorded in 1907-1909 by Frances Densmore for the Bureau of America Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. Dulicated on discs no. AFS 10,515-10,554. Some of these cylinder recordings have been reproduced on the Library of Congress LP recording, Songs of the Chippewa (AFS L22).

Cyl 3103-3184: Eighty-two cylinders containig Menominee Indian music from the Menominee Reservation. Recorded in 1925, 1926, and 1928 by Frances Densmoe for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. Duplicated on discs no. AFS 10,676-10,686. Some of these recordings have also been reproduced on the Library of Congress LP recordings Songs of the Menominee, Mandan, and Hidatsa (AFS L33).

Cyl 3252-3340: Eighty-nine cylinders containing Winnebago Indian music. Recorded 1927-1928 and 1930-1931 by Frances Densmore for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution, location unknown. Duplicated on discs no. AFS 10,698-10,707; 10,709-10,711; 10,718-10,722.

Cyl 3558: One cylinder containing Chippewa (Ojibway) Indian music from Minnesota or Wisconsin. Recorded in 1907 by Frances Densmore for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution.

Cyl 3571-3572: Two cylinders containing Menominee Indian music from the Menominee Reservation. Recorded in 1928 by Frances Densmore for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. Duplicated on tape no. AFS 20,222.

Cyl 3760-3780: Twenty-one cylinders containing Chippewa (Ojibway) Indian music from the principal Chippewa reservations in Minnesota, and the Lac du Flambeau Reservation in Wisconsin. Recorded 1907-1909 by Frances Densmore for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. Duplicted on tape nos. AFS 20,219; 20,221-20,222.

Cyl 3936-3943: Eight cylinders containing Winnebago Indian music. Recorded in 1927-1928 by Frances Densmore for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution, location unknown. Duplicated on tape no. AFS 20,323.

Cyl 6919-6920: Two cylinders containing Winnebago Indian music recorded by Samuel Alfred Barrett. Date and location of recording unknown. Gift of the Milwaukee Public Museum.