Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

NEW JERSEY COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 1997

Compiled by: Jennifer Rita Collins Joyce
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: July 2002
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 29
ISSN 0736-4903

The compiler wishes to thank Daria Mamaluk for her compilation of the previous New Jersey finding aid in 1982.

Sounds Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 1772-1777; 1842-1845: Ten 12-inch discs of three poems and thirty-five songs, with conversations, sung and spoken by Jennie Devlin. Recorded in Gloucester, New Jersey, by Alan Lomax and Kay (Katharine) Dealey (Newman), June 20, 1938. The collection includes eight pages of content lists. (One hour and thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 123, 130B-131A) [See also: Newman, Katharine D. Never Without a Song: The Years and Songs of Jennie Devlin, 1865-1952. University of Illinois Press: Urbana and Chicago, 1995.]

AFS 4690-4698: Nine 12-inch discs of thirty-five songs and fiddle tunes performed by Mrs. Carrie Grover of Gorham, Maine. Recorded in Teaneck, New Jersey, by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), April 1941. The collection includes six pages of content lists. (One hour and thirty-five minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 323-324A)

AFS 5028-5034: Seven 12-inch discs of thirty-eight fiddle tunes and songs recorded at various locations in New York and in Shiloh, New Jersey, by Robert Sonkin and Charles Todd, June 13-26, 1941. The collection includes eight pages of content lists and fieldnotes.

AFS 5034B1-3: One disc containing two songs sung by Mrs. D.J. Lewis and one song sung by Mr. and Mrs. R.I. Lewis. Recorded in Shiloh, New Jersey, June 26, 1941. (Five minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 359A)

AFS 5035-5098: Sixty-four 12-inch discs of conversations, interviews, prayer meetings, rhymes, and songs. Recorded at various locations in Alabama and New Jersey, by Robert Sonkin, June 25-July 25, 1941. The collection includes one inch of content lists and textual transcriptions.

AFS 5040-5041: Two discs containing seven songs sung by the William Milbourne Family Quartet, Earl Richardson, and Earl Richardson's Quartet. Recorded in Port Norris, New Jersey, June 25, 1941. (Twenty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 359A)

AFS 10,085: One 10-inch tape of Hebrew chants and prayers performed by Cantor Aaron M. Greenberg of Jersey City, New Jersey. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Hermond Norwood, December 28, 1950. The collection includes two pages of content lists. (One hour and four minutes; LWO 1748)

AFS 14,270-14,271: Two 7-inch tapes of an interview and twenty Irish fiddle tunes spoken and performed by Edmund McDermott of Keyport, New Jersey. Recorded in Washington, D.C., by Alan Jabbour, October 4, 1970. The collection includes a one-page content list. (One hour; LWO 6125)

AFS 14,272: One 10-inch tape of an interview and twenty-three Irish fiddle tunes performed by Edmund McDermott of Keyport, New Jersey. Recorded in Washington, D.C. at the Library of Congress by Gary A. Henderson, John E. Howell, and Alan Jabbour, October 5, 1970. The collection includes a one-page content list. (Two hours; LWO 6126)

AFS 14,479-14,480: Two 7-inch tapes of conversation and one hundred and fifty-three Irish fiddle tunes performed by Edmund McDermott of Keyport, New Jersey. Recorded in Middletown, New Jersey, March 23, 1968-August 20, 1970, by Lani Herrmann. The collection includes seven pages of content lists. (Five hours; LWO 6470)

AFS 14,631-14,635: Five 10-inch tapes of games, poems, rhymes, songs, and stories recorded primarily in Vermont by Margaret MacArthur, 1961-68. The collection includes one-half linear inch of content lists and nine pages of textual transcriptions.

AFS 14,633A11-23: One tape containing one song sung by Olive Derry of Wayne, New Jersey; ten songs and one story sung and spoken by Barbara Linden of Paramus, New Jersey; and one song sung by Jane Reed of Paramus, New Jersey. Recorded in Paramus, New Jersey, February 2, 1964. (Twenty minutes; LWO 6595 reel 3A)

AFS 17,969: One 10-inch tape of "Sabbath Music of the Home and Synagogue" narrated and sung by Rabbi Judah Washer and Cantor David Osen. Recorded at the Jewish Community Center, Teaneck, New Jersey. Accessioned August 1975. (One hour; LWO 8529)

AFS 18,053-18,058: Six 10-inch tapes of Jewish and other songs recorded in Albuquerque, New Mexico; Cincinnati, Ohio; Denver, Colorado; New York, New York; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; and West Orange, New Jersey, by Jack Manischewitz, 1957-61. The collection includes thirty-two pages of content lists and notes.

AFS 18,056-18,058: Three tapes containing Jewish and other songs performed by various artists. Recorded in West Orange, New Jersey, 1960-61. (Six hours; LWO 8692 reels 4-6)

AFS 19,161-19,178: Eighteen 10-inch tapes of Lithuanian folk songs recorded in Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Washington, D.C., and Wisconsin by Jonas Balys, 1949-50. (Portions of this collection are also contained on AFS 10,751, 10, 805, and 10,873-10,874). The collection includes five linear inches of manuscripts containing an alphabetic index of songs, copies of six diaries of field expeditions, and photocopies of original tape boxes having supplementary information.

AFS 19,173-19,174: Two tapes containing twenty-six ballads, father's songs, rye-harvest songs, wedding songs, and other folksongs sung by Marcel Mackevi ien and Izabel Lukšien . Recorded in Elizabeth, New Jersey, July 2, 1950. (One hour)

AFS 23,019-23,155: Eighteen 7-inch tapes, two 5-inch tapes, and one hundred seventeen cassettes of ethnic radio broadcasts recorded for the Ethnic Broadcasting in America Project of the American Folklife Center. Recorded mostly off the air by Elena Bradunas, Theodore Grame, Alan Jabbour, and others at various locations in the United States, 1977-78. Documentation includes Theodore Grame's Ethnic Broadcasting in the United States (Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center, 1980), three-fourths linear inch of correspondence, five and one-fourth linear inches of manuscript materials, and three and one-half linear inches of tape logs.

AFS 23,054: One cassette containing the program "Music with an Accent: Music from the Magic of Greece" on WCAM, Camden, New Jersey, March 5, 1978. (One hour; RYA 2919)

AFC 1990/012: Sixteen 10-inch, three 7-inch tapes, three linear inches of print materials, seventeen black-and-white contact sheets, thirty black-and-white photographs, and two 1/2-inch VHS color videocassettes documenting dance, instrumental, and songs performed as part of the 1990 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. Recorded at the Library of Congress, April-September 1990. The following lists materials from the June 21, 1990, concert by Életfa, a Hungarian-American group of dancers, musicians, and singers based in Teaneck, New Jersey:

SR10-11: Two 10-inch tapes containing traditional music from the concert. (One hour)

V2: One 1/2-inch VHS color videocassette of excerpts of the concert filmed by Terrence Lisbeth (One hour)

Folder 10: One folder containing a concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert log, press releases, news clippings, and promotional materials.

Folders 11-14: Four folders containing four black-and-white 35 mm contact sheets (one hundred eight images) and seven 8 x10 black and white photoprints. Photographer unknown.

AFC 1991/023: Two hundred forty-one 7-inch tapes, six 5-inch tapes, one hundred nineteen cassettes, twelve linear feet of ephemera, field notes, photograph contact sheets, and photograph and sound recording documentation from the Pinelands Folklife Project, a field project documenting traditional culture within and around the Pinelands Folklife Reserve, to facilitate land-use planning in the Pinelands and along the coast, and to develop products to assist in public education about the relationship between the region and its cultural resources. Documented at various locations in New Jersey by Bonnie Blair, Tom Carroll, Christine Cartwright, Carl Fleischhauer, Mary Hufford, Eugene Hunn, Jens Lund, Rita Moonsammy, Malachi O'Connor, Gerald E. Parsons, Nora Rubenstein, Sue Samuelson, and Elaine Thatcher, August 15, 1983-March 31, 1984. Cosponsored by the American Folklife Center, National Park Service, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, New Jersey Department of Human Resources, New Jersey Historical Commission, New Jersey State Council on the Arts, and Pinelands Commission. The project's findings are published in Mary Huffords's one hundred forty-four-page report, One Space, Many Places: Folklife and Land Use in New Jersey's Pinelands National Reserve (Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center, 1986). (Includes: AFS 23,725-24,090. Two hundred forty-one hours; RXA 5861-6107, RYA 4801-4919)

AFC 1993/001: Twenty-four 5-inch tapes, sixty 7-inch tapes, and two hundred eighty-eight cassettes, and fourteen and two-thirds linear feet of correspondence, fieldnotes, final reports, key contributor forms, news clippings, publications, references to curriculum materials, references to donated photographs, photo and slide logs, sound recording logs, and transcripts of audio recordings from the Ethnic Heritage and Language Schools in America Project, a survey of twenty-three ethnic schools from twenty-two ethnic groups. Recorded at various locations throughout the United States by Elena Bradunas and twenty-three fieldworkers, April-July 1982, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The New Jersey portion of this collection was compiled and recorded by Susan Nagy with key contributors Peter Basa, Susan Csergó, Frank Deák, Jr., Magdolna Eszlári, Stephen Jurcsek, Attila András Kocsis, Bernadette Muszka, Mariana Muszka, Károly Nagy, Deneice M. Oroszváry, and Marie G. Tamás. The following includes documentation from the Hungarian Alumni Association's Saturday classes and kindergarten, recorded in New Brunswick, New Jersey, April 24-June 8, 1982:

AFS 23,494-23,508: Fifteen cassettes containing recordings of the classes. (Fifteen hours; RYA 4499-4513)

Boxes 8-9: Two boxes containing seventeen pages of correspondence, one hundred ninety-seven pages of curriculum reading materials and a box of alphabet cards, three hundred forty-five pages of educational curriculum kits, thirty-four pages of fieldnotes, seventy-eight pages of final reports, fifteen pages of graduation program pamphlets, sixty-two pages of handouts, fifty-five pages of Hungarian schools/network materials, twelve pages of supplementary materials, ten textbooks, and eleven yearbooks.

Box 26: One box containing five envelopes (sixty-one images) of color slides photographed by Peter Basa and Frank Deák, Jr.

Box 30: One hundred eight pages of published materials (newspaper clippings, pamphlets, etc.

Box 33: One box containing a 3-ring notebook of twenty-five black-and-white and seventy-one color photographs from the 1970s.

AFC 1995/028: Eighty-seven cassette and digital audio tapes, six thousand one hundred ninety-two still photographs (color and black-and-white), six hundred ninety audiotape and photograph catalogs, and three hundred fourteen pages of fieldnotes, in addition to administrative correspondence, maps, publications, and ephemera from the Working in Paterson Folklife Project of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. The four-month study of occupational culture in Paterson, New Jersey, was conducted in 1994. Paterson became the largest silk manufacturing center in the United States as well as a manufacturer of many other products, from railroad locomotives to firearms. This collection also includes materials about the African American community, a distinctive food tradition (the Hot Texas Wiener), the ethnography of Watson Machine International, business life along 21st Avenue in Paterson, and narratives told by retired workers. Collected by Tom Carroll, Martha Cooper, Susan Levitas, Timothy Lloyd, Robert McCarl, and David Taylor. This collection is part of the Library of Congress's American Memory online presentations of the National Digital Library Program. Entitled Working in Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting, it is available at: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/wiphtml/pthome.html .

AFC 1996/059: One cassette of autoharp and hammered dulcimer music performed by Lucille Reilly of Basking Ridge, New Jersey, with piano accompaniment by Roberta Bedor. Recorded at Westminster Choir College, Princeton, New Jersey, July 28, 1993. The collection includes one page of correspondence, three fliers, and one black-and-white promotional photograph. (Ten minutes)

Manuscript Collections

Dorothea Dix Lawrence Papers: One file folder containing two linear inches of ephemera, including photocopies of articles on Lawrence's concert career, her creation of a Folklore Music Map of the United States, and her recognition and encouragement of traditional singers from New Jersey. Also included are a seven-page biography; copies of concert programs; copies of promotional material for the Folklore Music Map; and a partial listing of the holdings of the "reel library" of the Dorothea Dix Lawrence Folklore Society of the United States, Plainfield, New Jersey. Gift of Morgan Lawrence, March 1983.

Scrapbook on a Hungarian Immigrant Musical Family: The Jánossy's: Two linear inches of articles, biographies, photographs, and other ephemera of the family of Stephen and Helen Jánossy, Hungarian immigrants who settled in New Jersey. Gift of Guszti Jánossy, April 10, 1984.

New Jersey Folk Festival Collection: Eight brochures, one bumper sticker, one calendar, two postcards, five posters, ten programs, and seven T-shirts from the annual New Jersey Folk Festival, New Brunswick, New Jersey, 1975-88. Gift of Angus K. Gillespie, Douglass College, Rutgers The State University.

Microfilm Collections

Folk Jingles of American Children Today: Dorothy Mills Howard's 1938 dissertation in Education for New York University. Two hundred forty-six pages of analysis, musical transcriptions, rhymes, and song texts primarily from New Jersey and New York. (Located in Music Division: microfilm #1969)

Folktales and Legends from the New Jersey Pines: A Collection and a Study: Herbert Norman Halpert's 1947 Ph.D. dissertation for the English Dept. for Indiana University. Seven hundred seventy-three pages on one microfilm reel.