Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

KANSAS COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 1997

Compiled by: Molly J. McCall
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: March 2001; Web Revision: March 2006
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 27
ISSN 0736-4903

Multiformat Collections

AFS 1055-1058: Alan Lomax / Myra E. Hull Collection
Four 7-inch discs of 31 songs sung by Myra E. Hull of Lawrence, Kansas. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Alan Lomax, July 16-17, 1937. (35 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 75B-76A)

AFS 1298: Alan Lomax / Myra E. Hull Collection
One 7-inch disc of 9 songs, one with piano, sung by Myra E. Hull of Lawrence, Kansas. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Alan Lomax, July 26, 1937. (8 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 95A)

AFS 1602: Alan Lomax / Myra E. Hull Collection 
One 12-inch disc of 10 songs sung by Myra E. Hull of Lawrence, Kansas. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Alan Lomax, July 16, 1937. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 117A)

AFS 1871-1876: Alan Lomax / Myra E. Hull Collection
Six 10-inch discs of 15 songs sung by Myra E. Hull of Lawrence, Kansas. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Alan Lomax, July 15, 1937. (45 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 132)

AFS 10,495: Ivan Sutton Kansas Recordings
One 7-inch tape of 2 songs sung by Jack Staton and seven songs sung by Ivan Sutton. Also included are 2 radio commercials, a monolog by Sutton, and songs sung by 2 unidentified singers. Recorded in Pleasanton, Kansas, by Ivan Sutton, ca. 1950. The collection includes a 1-page list. (40 minutes; LWO 1968)

AFS 12,139-12,196: Willard Rhodes Recordings
Fifty-eight 12-inch discs of American Indian music recorded in Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, and South Dakota by Willard Rhodes, summer 1942 and 1943, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs. The collection includes 35 pages of notes.

AFS 12,186 A2, B2: One disc containing 2 Potowatomie songs sung by students. Recorded in Lawrence, Kansas, 1943. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 395A)

AFS 12,197-12,203: Willard Rhodes Recordings
Seven 12-inch discs of American Indian music recorded in Kansas and Oklahoma by Willard Rhodes, summer 1943, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs. The collection includes 2 pages of notes.

AFS 12,203 A2-B1: One disc containing 3 Creek, 2 Navajo, and 1 Tewa song, recorded in Lawrence, Kansas, at the Haskell Institute. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 396B)

AFS 13,720: Martin Gordon and Ron Lesser / Interview and Fiddling by "Fiddlin' Charlie" Chas. A. Waer
One 10-inch tape of an interview and fiddling by Charles A. Waer, the "Native Son of Kansas." Recorded in Whittier, California, by Martin Gordon and Ron Lesser, July 1963. (50 minutes; LWO 5539)

AFS 14,204-14,216: Folk Legacy Records Duplication Project
Thirteen 10-inch tapes of songs recorded in Arkansas, Connecticut, Indiana, Missouri, New Brunswick, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Vermont. Recorded by Lee B. Haggerty, Charles (Sandy) Paton, and others for Folk-Legacy Records, 1958-69. The collection includes 4 pages of correspondence and 1/4 linear inch of lists.

AFS 14,216: One tape containing 8 songs learned in Kansas, 4 with guitar, sung by Vern Smelser. Recorded in Paoli, Indiana, by Pat Dunford and Lee B. Haggerty, ca. 1964. (27 minutes; LWO 6042 reel 13)

AFS 15,077: Ernest Duerksen Duplication Project
One 10-inch tape of an oral history spoken in English and German dialect by Ernest Duerksen. Recorded in Hillsboro, Kansas, by Ernest Duerksen, December 1971-January 1972. The collection includes 9 pages of addresses and explanations. (29 minutes; LWO 6965)

AFS 17,479: Vera Mae Duerksen / Kansas Mennonite Recordings
One 10-inch tape of an oral history about Mennonites in Kansas spoken in English and German dialect by Mrs. P. P. Unruh. Recorded in Newton, Kansas, by Ernest Duerksen, December 9, 1974. (28 minutes; LWO 8330)

AFS 18,732: L.H. Caldwell Pennsylvania Dutch Songs
One 7-inch tape of Kansas and Pennsylvania German family lore and six songs sung and spoken by L. Harold Caldwelll of Wichita, Kansas. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress by Gerald E. Parsons, December 22, 1975. The collection includes 1/4 linear inch of a bibliography, correspondence, and notes. (27 minutes; LWO 9104)

AFS 19,341: Howard W. Marshall / Old-Time Fiddle Recordings
One 10-inch tape of fiddle tunes recorded in Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma by Jake Hughes, in or before 1965. The collection includes 4 pages of lists and notes.

AFS 19,341A29-31: One tape containing 3 tunes played on fiddle, 2 with guitar, by Byron Berline of Caldwell, Kansas. (6 minutes; LWO 12,302) 

AFS 22,573-22,577: Keith Ludden / Kansas Folk Music and Oral History Collection
Five 10-inch tapes of oral histories, songs, and stories recorded at various locations in Kansas by Keith Ludden, June-August 1980, for the Kansas Folklife Project at the University for Man. The collection includes 39 pages of correspondence, lists, and tape logs. (10 hours; RWA 7794-7798)

AFC 1980/011: Thurlow Lieurance Memorial Project
One 3/4-inch videocassette entitled "Thurlow Lieurance and Indian Music" of 7 American Indian songs performed by various musicians and 4 melodies played on flute by Betty Hensley, based on recordings made at various locations by Thurlow Lieruance, 1911-26. Written and produced by Carol Holan, with Fred Hurst, television director, for The Thurlow Lieurance Memorial in Wichita, Kansas, August 1979. The video includes documentation of American Indian hoop dancing, a narrative, paintings, and photographs, and is accompanied by 2 pages of correspondance and notes. (29 minutes)

AFC 1984/012: Raven McDavid / Regional Dialect Collection
One hundred and sixty-one 7-inch tapes, 36 5-inch tapes, 4 3-inch tapes, and 1 audiocassette of conferences, interviews, lectures, radio programs, and dialectical and phonetic readings, recorded in Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, Texas, Turkey, and West Virginia by Audrey Duckert, A. Lloyd James, Raven I. McDavid, Pat Nichols, and Barbara Rutledge, 1953-81. The collection includes 1 1/4 linear inches of content lists, correspondence, and ephemera.

[temporary ID: Box 5]: One tape containing an interview with Mrs. Willard recorded in Fort Scott, Kansas. Interview conducted by Harold Orton and two students, ca. 1963.

AFC 1989/026: H. Karl Saalbach / Reminiscences of Gerhard J. Duerksen Family
Schmidt, Mrs. Anton, and Alvin Duerksen. "Reminiscences of Gerhard J. Duerksen Family." Hillsboro, Kansas, 1987. Eighty-six pages of narratives by 4 Duerksen family members, Agnetha, Alvin, Margaret, and Paul, a history of Steinbach School District No. 72, and a letter written by the parents, Gerhard J. and Maria Duerksen.The material covers 94 years, from 1893, when the couple married, to 1987, but focuses primarily on the 1930s.

AFC 1986/037: 1986 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection 
Twenty-four 10-inch tapes, 481 black-and-white prints, negatives, and contact sheets, and 408 color slides of performances from the 1986 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center and featuring the presentation of folk traditions from many cultures. Recorded in Washington, DC, at the Library of Congress, April-September 1986. A finding aid to this collection is available at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/neptune86.html. The collection includes 15 linear inches of print materials. The following lists materials from the April 24^th concert of Byron Berline, Dan Crary (of Kansas), and John Hickman. 

AFS 24,234-24,236: Three tapes containing bluegrass instrumentals and songs. (One hour and thirty minutes; RWB 2960-2962)

AFC 1986/037:Folder 2: Twenty-three pages of press releases, fliers, news clippings, administrative correspondence, and identification of people in photographs.

AFC 1986/037:Envelope 1: Thirty-six black and white images photographed by John T. Gibbs.

AFC 1986/037:Envelopes 2-4: Forty-three color slides photographed by John T. Gibbs and Reid Baker.

Manuscript Collections

"Folk Songs of Rural Ohio," edited by W. Alwyn Ashburn.  A twenty-four volume manuscript (eighteen and one-half linear inches) of songs collected primarily by Harry Lee Ridenour, with essays and headnotes.  Berea, Ohio: Baldwin-Wallace College, 1973.  (M1629.R458F6)

Eight pages of "Traditional Songs and Ballads (Heard in Kansas) 1876-1936," consisting of a list of 178 songs and an accompanying letter submitted by Myra E. Hull, Lawrence, Kansas, October 25, 1936. Contained in volume 24.

Schmidt, Richard H., and Helen Peters Epp. "District School Games as Played by Grandpa in the Late Teens and Early Twenties and History of Maple Hill."  Emporia, Kansas, 1986. Forty pages of games and stories played at the Maple Hill School District No. 100, in rural northwest Kansas, and the school's history from 1887 to 1954.