Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

WYOMING COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Amanda J. Higgins
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: August 1996
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 22
ISSN 0736-4903

AFS 14,005: One 7-inch tape containing eleven songs, including eight cowboys songs, performed, with commentary, by Brad Spear and Torrey Johnson. Recorded in 1958 and 1960 by Steve Woodward in Kirby, Montana; Story, Wyoming; and Sheridan, Wyoming. Coordinated by Alice and Ross Whitmire for the Wyoming Federation of Music Clubs. (Forty minutes; LWO 5712 reel 14)

AFS 14,618-14,625: Eight 10-inch tapes of Native American music recorded in Arizona, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming by Willard Rhodes, June 1951 July 1952, and in Oregon by Louise B. Johannaber, in or before 1952, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs. The collection includes forty-nine pages of notes.

AFS 14,618A14-21, B3 14,619A2, 10-24: Two tapes containing fifty-four Shoshone songs recorded in Fort Washakie, Wyoming, by Willard Rhodes, July 1951. (One hour and forty-five minutes; LWO 6692 reels 1-2)

AFS 14,618A22-B2; 14,619A25-B12: Two tapes containing thirty-one Arapaho songs recorded in Ethete, Wyoming, by Willard Rhodes, July 1951. (One hour and fourteen minutes; LWO 6692 reels 1-2)

AFS 17,985: One cassette of "Oh Where Is the Girl That Will Go Out West with Me" sung by Clara E. Heywood as she learned it as a child in Wyoming, recorded in Honolulu, Hawaii, by Clara E. Heywood, May 20, 1975. The collection's ten pages of notes include a textual transcription of the song and a letter from Mrs. Heywood providing information about the song and her childhood in Buffalo, Wyoming. (Three minutes; LWO 8788)

AFS 24,364-24,365: Two cassettes of songs sung with guitar by Howard Watt, a native of Johnson County, Wyoming. Recorded in Buffalo, Wyoming, in or before 1974, and donated to the Archive by the Johnson County Library in 1986. The collection includes thirty-seven pages of notes. (One hour and thirty-six minutes; RYA 6658-6659)

AFC 1984/009: Twenty-seven 7-inch tapes of instrumentals, interviews, and songs recorded at various locations in Wyoming by Deborah Jane Lamberton, May-June 1984, for the Wyoming Council on the Arts Radio Project. The collection includes one-half linear inch of correspondence and documentaion, and a set of four cassettes and a brochure comprising the second edition of the edited program entitled "...You Know That Wyoming Will Be Your New Home."

AFC 1984/009:SR1-12: Twelve tapes containing music and interviews recorded at the Wyoming Old-Time Fiddle Contest, Shoshoni, May 26-27, 1984. (Five hours and twenty-three minutes)

AFC 1984/009:SR13-14: Two tapes containing an interview with Bob Matthews, a 1984 Old-Time Fiddle Contest judge and former state fiddle champion, recorded in Cheyenne, June 16, 1984. (Forty-four minutes)

AFC 1984/009:SR15-16: Two tapes containing songs and interviews with Mike and Lyle Vinich of Serbian descent, recorded in Hudson, June 1, 1984. (One hour)

AFC 1984/009:SR17-19: Three tapes containing an interview with Pauline and Mike Davich of Serbian descent, recorded in Hudson, June 3, 1984. (One hour and two minutes)

AFC 1984/009:SR19-21: Three tapes containing accordion music performed by and interviews with Richard and Karl Kaumo of the Polka Knights, recorded in Rock Springs, June 8, 1984. (One hour and thirty minutes)

AFC 1984/009:SR22-27: Six tapes containing music and interviews with Sheila and Manuel Lucero and their family band, Los Luceros, recorded in Green River, June 10-11, 1984. (Three hours and fourteen minutes)

AFC 1995/016: Two 10-inch tapes of eighty-one songs, seventy-nine of which are sung by five Shoshone Indian women of the Wind River Reservation in Wyoming. Of these, seventy-four were recorded in Cody and Fort Washakie, Wyoming, by Judith Vander, 1977-83, as part of fieldwork for her book and cassette publication, Songprints: The Musical Experience of Five Shoshone Women (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1988; ML3557.V36 1988). Also included are two Shoshone songs previously recorded by Edward Curtis and Willard Rhodes. The collection includes the cassette that accompanies the book, and one linear inch of correspondence and documentation. (Two hours and fifty-five minutes)