Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

NEW YORK COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 2000

Compiled by: Rhona Campbell, Mary Cordaro, J. Lester Feder, and Laurel McIntyre
with assistance from Carrie Berard
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: July 2004
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 38
ISSN 0736-4903

Sound Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 1616-1637: Alan Lomax 1938 Library of Congress Sessions Collection
Twenty-two 12-inch discs of songs performed by Barbara Bell, Ernest Bourne, W.C. Handy, Alan Lomax, Bess Brown Lomax, the Resettlement Administration Singers, the Rindlisbacher Lumberjack Group, Earl Robinson, the Skyline Farm Singers, and Blaine Stubblefield. Recorded primarily in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Alan Lomax, 1937-38. The collection includes eight pages of notes.

AFS 1626-1628A: Three discs containing five songs sung by Earl Robinson of New York City. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Alan Lomax, May 17, 1938. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 118B)

AFS 1939-1950A2;1951-1953: Alan Lomax and Mary Elizabeth Barnicle Collection
Fifteen 10-inch discs of songs sung by Jim Garland, Mr. and Mrs. Joe Gelder, Aunt Molly Jackson, and Sarah Ogan. Recorded in New York City by Alan Lomax, November 13, 1937. (One hour and thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 136-137A)

AFC 1939/008: John Hammond and Alan Lomax / Jazz Recordings of Musicians Who Performed at Carnegie Hall
Eleven 12-inch discs of twenty-four songs and stories played, sung, and spoken by Albert Ammons, James P. Johnson, Pete Johnson, Meade Lux Lewis, and Sa[u]nders (Sonny Terry) Terrell. Recorded in New York City by Alan Lomax, December 24, 1938, through the courtesy of John Hammond. (Two hours and six minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 159B-160) (Includes AFS 2490-2500)

AFC 1939/011: Captain Richard Maitland / Sea shanties
Nineteen 12-inch discs of thirty-six sea shanties sung by Captain Richard Maitland. Recorded at Sailors Snug Harbor, Staten Island, New York City, by Alan Lomax, May 1939. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of correspondence and notes. (Two hours; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 161B-162) (Includes AFS 2515-2533)

AFS 2534-2588; 3335-3341: Sixty-two 12-inch discs of one hundred songs and stories sung and spoken by Aunt Molly Jackson of Clay County, Kentucky. Recorded in New York City by Alan Lomax, May 1939. (Seven hours and forty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 162B-166A; 219)

AFS 4556-4627; 8042-8105: One hundred thirty-six 12-inch discs of Iroquoian songs sung by Billy and George Buck, Simeon Gibson, Cha[u]ncey and Richard Johnny John, and Chief Joseph Logan. Recorded on the Allegheny Reservation, New York, and Six Nations Reserve, Ontario, by William N. Fenton, January-February 1941. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of notes. Portions of this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on recording number AFS L6, Songs from the Iroquois Longhouse and L17, Seneca Songs from the Coldspring Longhouse. (Twenty hours and thirty minutes; tape copies on LWO 4872 reels 318-323A, LWO 5111 reels 82B-87)

AFS 5028-5034: Seven 12-inch discs of fiddle tunes and songs recorded in New Jersey and New York by Robert Sonkin and Charles Todd, June 13-26, 1941. The collection includes eight pages of fieldnotes and logs.

AFS 5028-5033: Six discs containing five fiddle tunes and thirty songs recorded at various locations in New York, June 13-17, 1941. (Thirty-six minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 358B)

AFS 6100-6105: Two 10-inch and four 12-inch discs of songs sung by the Almanac Singers, Alan and John A. Lomax, and Earl Robinson. Recorded in New York City, January 1942. The collection includes a one-page song list.

AFS 6100-6103; 6105: Five discs containing eleven songs sung by the Almanac Singers and Earl Robinson of New York City. (Twenty-eight minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reels 40B-41A)

AFS 6177: One 12-inch disc of "Free and Equal Blues" sung with piano by Earl Robinson and Dooley Wilson. Recorded by Asch Recordings in New York City and presented to the Archive by the songwriter E.Y. Harburg, February 1945. (Six minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 400B)

AFS 6180-6181: Two 16-inch discs of five songs sung by Judge Learned Hand of Essex County, New York. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by John Langenegger and Arthur D. Semmig, October 3, 1942. The collection includes two pages of song lists. Two of the songs in this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on recording number AFS L29, Songs and Ballads of American History and the Assassination of Presidents, and one song has been published on A Treasury of Library of Congress Field Recordings (Rounder CD 1500). (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 400B-401A)

AFS 6496-6501: Six 12-inch discs of four Armenian, one Mexican, and three Russian songs recorded in New York City by Seamus Doyle and Mr. and Mrs. Roy Mitchell, 1941. The collection includes one-fourth linear inch of correspondence and textual transcriptions. (Forty-four minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 414)

AFS 6566-6603: Thirty-eight 12-inch discs of fifty-six sea songs with commentary sung and spoken by Captain Patrick Tayluer. Recorded in New York City by William M. Doerflinger, spring 1942. The collection includes one-fourth linear inch of correspondence, notes, and recording logs. (Five hours and ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reels 47B-50A)

AFS 7083-7091: Nine 10-inch discs of tales from the Hudson River and Mohawk Valley areas of New York spoken in Albany Dutch. Recorded by L.G. Van Loon sometime before November 1943. The collection includes a one-page recording log. (One hour and eighteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 7)

AFS 7317: One 16-inch disc of Chinese instrumentals and songs played on the "moon harp" and sung by Helen and Virginia Moshang of New York City. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Benjamin A. Botkin, Rae Korson, John Langenegger, and Arthur Semmig, August 26, 1943. The collection includes two pages of correspondence and a song list. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 28B)

AFS 7754-7763: Three 10-inch and seven 12-inch discs of songs performed at the Fifth Annual Catskills Folk Festival. Recorded at Camp Woodland, Phoenicia, New York, by Charles Hofmann and Benjamin A. Botkin, August 5, 1944. The collection includes three pages of logs. (One hour and thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 63B-64A)

AFS 8900-8911: Twelve 16-inch discs of Hopi, Iroquois, Menominee, and Winnebago Indian songs and spoken word. Originally recorded on wax cylinders loaned by the Milwaukee Public Museum. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of correspondence and logs.

AFS 8906A1-3: One disc containing Iroquoian spoken word recorded possibly by Samuel A. Barrett in western New York or Ontario. (Seven minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 160A)

AFS 8929: One 16-inch disc of two English stories spoken by Sheila Barrett of New York City. Recorded in Washington, D.C. at the Library of Congress, March 14, 1947. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 166A)

AFS 9076-9098: Twenty-three 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs recorded in New York City by Chris Bonet and Charles Hofmann, May 30-October 28, 1947, for the Library of Congress and the New York Public Library. Included are thirty allegedly "Comanche Indian songs," twenty-eight songs in the English language (including fourteen from Scotland and eight African American songs and street cries), five songs in French, seventeen in Spanish, and thirty in Yiddish. Performers include Tom Glazer and Ruth Rubin. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of correspondence, logs, notes, reports, and song texts. (Three hours and eighteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 180B-182A)

AFS 9168-9169: Two 16-inch discs of ten sea songs sung by Captain Patrick Tayluer. Recorded in New York City by William M. Doerflinger, spring 1942. (Forty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 197)

AFS 9174-9186: Thirteen 16-inch discs of instrumentals, songs, square dance calls, and stories performed by Wardell J. Martin and Frank Warner. Recorded in Cooperstown, New York, by Louis C. Jones, 1948. The collection includes one-half linear inch of correspondence, logs, notes, and a press release. (Four hours and thirty-two minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 198-200)

AFS 9596-9600: Five 16-inch discs of thirty-five Iroquoian songs duplicated from originals at the Rochester Museum of Arts and Sciences, New York, as part of the William N. Fenton Project, 1948. (Two hours; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 244-245A)

AFS 9829-9868: One 12-inch and thirty-nine 16-inch discs of instrumentals, radio programs, and songs. Recorded primarily at the National Folk Festival in Washington, D.C., by the U.S. Recording Company, May 6-8, 1938. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of song lists, newspaper articles, and programs.

AFS 9854B4-6; 9857A; 9860B: Three 16-inch discs containing a demonstration, a lecture, and eight instrumentals performed on bamboo pipes by members of the Pipers' Guild of New York City, and a dance performed with piano by a group from Union Settlement of New York City. (One hour and fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 269-270B)

AFS 9963-9973: Eleven 7-inch tapes of Iroquoian songs recorded in New York and on the Six Nations Reserve, Ontario, by William M. Fenton, 1948. (Five hours and thirty minutes; LWO 1251; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 283-1 through 283-3)

AFS 10,501-10,506; 11,712-11,719: Fourteen 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs recorded at various locations throughout the United States, including New York, by Sam Eskin, 1940-53. The collection includes one-fourth linear inch of correspondence, one-half linear inch of song lists and notes. (Twenty-eight hours; LWO 1923; 2995)

AFS 10,515-10,744: Two hundred thirty 16-inch discs of mostly North American Indian songs originally recorded on cylinders at various locations primarily by Frances Densmore, 1907-36, for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. Transferred from the National Archives, 1948. The collection includes two linear inches of notes.

AFS 10,725A7: One disc containing five Iroquoian songs sung by J.N.B. Hewitt (Tuscarora). Originally recorded on wax cylinders by Frances Densmore in Washington, D.C., 1932. (Six minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 347B)

AFS 10,898: One 10-inch tape of prayers and tribal songs sung by Chiefs Frank Johnson and James Thompson of Mohawk Longhouse, Rooseveltown, New York. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, July 19, 1954. The collection includes three pages of correspondence and notes. (One hour; LWO 2243)

AFS 11,307-11,309; 11,334-11,444: Fourteen 10-inch tapes of interviews and music recorded in California, Canada, Iran, Ireland, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, and Wisconsin by Sidney Robertson Cowell, 1952-56. The collection includes two and one-half linear inches of correspondence, journals, logs, notes, postcards, and transcriptions, and an article.

AFS 11,308B19-23: One tape containing five songs sung by the congregation of the Shady Methodist Church. Recorded in Shady, New York, August 1952. (Twenty minutes; LWO 2496 reel 2B)

AFS 11,688-11,690: Three 10-inch tapes of songs recorded in New York and Pennsylvania by Frank A. Hoffmann, August 17-26, 1959. The collection includes thirty pages of correspondence and song lists.

AFS 11,689B13-11,690: Two tapes containing twenty songs sung by Ezra Barhight, originally of northeastern Pennsylvania. Recorded in Niel's Creek, New York, August 17, 1959. (One hour; LWO 2862 reel 2B)

AFS 11,712-11,719: Eight 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs recorded at various locations throughout the United States by Sam Eskin in the 1940s.

AFS 11,714A18, B10-17: One tape containing nine Sicilian songs sung with guitar by Remo Farruggio, Jr. and Sr. Recorded in New York City, November 27 and December 10, 1947. (Thirty-five minutes; LWO 2995 reel 3B)

AFS 12,309-12,312: Four 10-inch tapes of one hundred ninety-two instrumentals, songs, and square dance calls performed by George Edwards, Grant Rogers, Ernie Sager, and Mike Todd. Recorded mostly in the Catskill area of New York by Norman Cazden and others from Camp Woodland, Phoenicia, New York, 1945-61. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of correspondence, logs, and notes. (Eight hours; LWO 4600)

AFS 12,365-12,373: Nine 10-inch tapes of songs of European Jewish immigrants. Originally recorded on wire in New York City by Benjamin Stonehill, 1948. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of song lists and notes. (Eighteen hours; LWO 4746)

AFS 13,052: One 3-inch tape of a Shinnecock Indian lullaby sung by Gladys Cuffey Collins (Princess Wyandanch). Recorded in Sag Harbor, New York, by Dennis Starin, June 1966. The collection includes nine pages of an arrangement with English lyrics, correspondence, a newspaper article, and a transcription. (Two minutes; LWO 5056)

AFS 13,113-13,115: Three 16-inch discs of instrumentals and songs played on plucked dulcimer and sung by Elizabeth Wilson of New York City. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, June 3, 1946. The collection includes two pages of engineer's notes and a one-page list. (Forty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 423A)

AFS 13,504-13,553; 14,516-14,555; 14,665-14,695: One hundred twenty-one 7-inch tapes of primarily Yiddish anecdotes, interviews, prayers, songs, and stories. Recorded in Camp Solomon, New York; London; Montreal; New York City; Tel Aviv; Toronto; and Warsaw by Ruth Rubin, 1947-67; and in Bridgeport, Connecticut, by Norman Cazden, 1954-56. The collection includes two and one-half linear inches of correspondence, concordances, recording logs, and notes.

AFS 13,504-13,553: Fifty tapes containing primarily interviews and Yiddish songs, recorded 1947-64. Included are Chassidic songs, children's game songs, love songs, miscellaneous songs, and a conversation with Daniel Lipkovitch about his childhood in Warsaw. Sixty percent of the recordings are from the following locations in New York: Lake Charles, New York City, Patterson (at Camp Solomon), and Shrub Oak. (Twenty-five hours; LWO 5679)

AFS 14,516-14,555: Forty tapes containing primarily interviews and Yiddish songs, recorded 1947-67. Included are stories, personal memories of childhoods in Eastern Europe and the former U.S.S.R., Hebrew prayers, and miscellaneous songs. Notable song subjects include dance songs, marriage songs, humorous songs, songs of Slavic origin, and songs for Pesakh. Seventy-five percent of the recordings are from New York City. (Twenty hours; LWO 6514)

AFS 14,665-14,695: Thirty-one tapes containing primarily interviews and Yiddish songs, recorded 1947-67. Included are group conversations exemplifying Jewish humor, interviews with noted New York artist Mr. Ben-Zion and author Bashevis Singer, Yiddish songs sung by American children, and songs on miscellaneous subjects. Eighty percent of the recordings are from New York City. (Sixteen hours and thirty minutes; LWO 6855)

AFS 14,204-14,216: Thirteen 10-inch tapes of children's games and rhymes, instrumentals, recitations, songs, and stories. Recorded in Arkansas, Connecticut, Indiana, New Brunswick, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Vermont by Henry Felt, Lee B. Haggerty, and Sandy Paton primarily for Folk-Legacy Records, January 1962-May 23, 1969. The collection includes one-half linear inch of correspondence and logs.

AFS 14,216A: One tape containing twenty-two songs sung by girls from Brooklyn, Harlem, and Manhattan, New York City. Recorded at the Community of Performing Arts Youth Project of Vermont camp, Ripton, Vermont, by Sandy Paton, July 1968. (Twenty minutes; LWO 6042 reel 13A)

AFS 14,270-14,271: Two 7-inch tapes of an interview and nineteen instrumentals played on fiddle by Ed McDermott, who immigrated to New York City from County Leitrim, Ireland, in 1915. Recorded in Washington, D.C., by Alan Jabbour, October 4, 1970. The collection includes six pages of song lists and notes. (One hour; LWO 6125)

AFS 14,272: One 10-inch tape of an interview and twenty-three instrumentals played on fiddle by Ed McDermott, who immigrated to New York City from County Leitrim, Ireland, in 1915. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Gary A. Henderson, John E. Howell, and Alan Jabbour, October 5, 1970. The collection includes two pages of song lists and notes. (One hour; LWO 6126)

AFS 14,479-14,480: Two 7-inch tapes of interviews and instrumentals played on fiddle by Ed McDermott, who immigrated to New York City from County Leitrim, Ireland, in 1915. Recorded in Middletown, New Jersey, by Lani Herrmann, 1968-70. The collection includes one and one-half linear inch of correspondence, song lists, transcriptions, and a newspaper article. (Two hours; LWO 6470)

AFS 14,631-14,635: Five 10-inch tapes of games, poems, rhymes, and songs recorded primarily in southern Vermont by Margaret MacArthur, 1961-68. The collection includes one-half linear inch of content lists, poems or rhymes, notes, recording logs, and textual transcriptions.

AFS 14,633A: One tape containing children's clapping games, rhymes, and songs recorded at the Heldeberg Workshop, Voorheesville, New York, August 1965. (Eight minutes; LWO 6595 reel 3A)

AFS 14,649: One 7-inch tape of Irish instrumentals played on fiddle by Daniel Collins, accompanied on piano by Alan Jabbour. Recorded in The Bronx, New York City, by Alan Jabbour, February 19, 1972. The collection includes a one-page recording log. (Thirty minutes; LWO 6792)

AFS 14,653-14,661: Nine 10-inch tapes of Onondaga songs and spoken word recorded in New York by Harold Blau, 1956-66. The collection includes ten pages of correspondence, lists, and notes. (Eighteen hours; LWO 6791)

AFS 14,697: One 10-inch tape of Irish music performed by Joe Burke, Jack Cohn [Cohen?], Andy McGann, and others. Recorded in New York City by Daniel Collins, January 1972. The collection includes two pages of notes. (One hour; LWO 6793)

AFS 14,698-14,721: Twenty-four 10-inch tapes of Seneca social dance songs recorded at the Allegheny Reservation, New York, by Dorothy Gaus, 1962-63. The collection includes one linear inch of notes. (Forty-eight hours; LWO 6801)

AFS 14,755-14,761: Seven 10-inch tapes of two hundred and six songs and stories, sung and spoken, primarily by Sara Cleveland of Brant Lake, New York. Recorded in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, by Kenneth S. Goldstein, March 9-April 7, 1968. The collection includes one-fourth linear inch of a concordance and recording logs. (Fourteen hours; LWO 6898)

AFS 16,980: One 10-inch tape of an interview with May Gadd, Director-Emerita of the Country Dance and Song Society of America of New York City. Recorded at Pinewoods Camp, Buzzard's Bay, Massachusetts, by Joseph C. Hickerson, August 22-23, 1973. (Two hours; LWO 7589)

AFS 17,020: One 10-inch tape of stories spoken by Sara Cleveland and others. Recorded primarily in Brant Lake, New York, by Kenneth S. Goldstein and others, March 1968. The collection includes five pages of story titles.

AFS 17,020A1-14; B1: One tape containing fifteen folk tales and belief stories spoken by Sara Cleveland. Recorded in Brant Lake, New York, by Kenneth S. Goldstein, March 1968. (One hour; LWO 7861)

AFS 17,032-17,050: Nineteen 10-inch tapes of stories and oral histories spoken by Floyd Salisbury. Recorded in and around Deposit, New York, by Gerald E. Parsons, 1969-73. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of indexes and notes. (Seventy-six hours; LWO 7872)

AFS 17,053-17,104: Fifty-two 7-inch tapes of announcements, instrumentals, songs, and stories performed at the Fox Hollow Folk Festival. Recorded in Petersburg, New York, by John R. Dildine and others, August 1967. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of song lists and notes. (Twenty-six hours; LWO 7850)

AFS 17,404-17,439; 17,487-17,494: Forty-four 7-inch tapes of announcements, instrumentals, songs, and stories performed at the Fox Hollow Folk Festival. Recorded in Petersburg, New York, by John R. Dildine and others, August 1969. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of song lists and notes. (Twenty-two hours; LWO 8189)

AFS 17,443: One 16-inch disc of songs and speeches involving Louis C. Jones and former pupils and teachers recorded at the one-room schoolhouse at the Farmers Museum, Cooperstown, New York, September 19, 1948. The collection includes two pages of notes. (Thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 8206 reel 6A)

AFS 17,471: One 10-inch tape of one blues song sung with piano by Wilbert "Big Chief" Ellis. Originally recorded on a disc in New York City, 1948. The collection includes seven pages of articles, correspondence, and an essay. (Four minutes; LWO 8239)

AFS 17,484: One 7-inch tape of thirteen religious songs sung by the Ole Smoke Seneca Singers. Recorded at the Native American Bible Church, Tonawanda Reservation, Basom, New York, by Merritt F. Malvern, September 22, 1974. The collection includes three pages of correspondence and song lists. (Forty-three minutes; LWO 8359)

AFS 17,541-17,567: Twenty-seven 10-inch tapes of blues, country, fiddle, gospel, and other music recorded in Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, and Scotland primarily by Art Rosenbaum, June 4, 1958-September 19, 1971. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of correspondence and recording logs.

AFS 17,545-17,546: Two tapes containing fifty-one songs sung by Mary McBride Heekin, recorded in New York City by Art Rosenbaum, April 14, 1962, and May 26, 1963. (Three hours; LWO 8487 reels 5-6)

AFS 17,600: One 10-inch tape of fourteen songs sung by Daniel N. Adams, Michael Foley, Gerald E. Parsons, and David Petzal, for the Goya Guitar Company College Folksinging Contest. Recorded at WRCU, Colgate University, Hamilton, New York, May 25 and 27, 1961. The collection includes four pages of song lists. (One hour; LWO 7889)

AFS 17,647-17,768; 18,762-18,799: One 3-inch tape, one hundred and thirty-eight 7-inch tapes, and twenty-one 10-inch tapes of "World of Folk Music" radio programs hosted and donated by Lionel Kilberg. Recorded primarily at WNCN-FM, New York City, November 16, 1957-January 2, 1965. The collection includes twenty pages of logs. (Ninety hours and fifteen minutes; LWO 8634; 9113)

AFS 17,770-17,968: One hundred and ninety 10-inch and 12-inch discs, one 5-inch tape, and eight 7-inch tapes of radio programs and home recordings from the 1930s and 1950s recorded in New York City by members of the American Square Dance Group; songs and instrumentals played on banjo and fiddle, recorded in Kentucky, North Carolina, and Tennessee by Margot Mayo and others, 1946-47. The collection includes three-quarters linear inch of a concordance, logs, notes, a magazine article, and photographs.

AFS 17,770-17,869: One hundred discs containing primarily radio programs recorded in New York City by members of the American Square Dance Group. (Twelve hours and thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 8921-8927A)

AFS 17,996-17,998: Three 10-inch tapes of fiddle music by Ralph Aldous, Arley Leonard, and Avery St. Louis. Recorded in the Canton, New York, area by Bill Thatcher, 1975. The collection includes three-eighths linear inch of correspondence, an essay, and transcriptions. (Five hours; LWO 8831)

AFS 18,004-18,050: One 10-inch, forty-four 7-inch, and two 5-inch tapes of announcements, instrumentals, songs, and stories performed at the Fox Hollow Folk Festival. Recorded in Petersburg, New York, by John R. Dildine and others, August 1968. The collection includes eighteen pages of recording logs. (Twenty-four hours and thirty minutes; LWO 8658, 8860)

AFS 18,053-18,058: Six 10-inch tapes of Yiddish and international songs recorded in Albuquerque, New Mexico; Cincinnati, Ohio; Denver, Colorado; New York, New York; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; and West Orange, New Jersey, by Jack Manischewitz, 1957-61. The collection includes twelve pages of recording logs and notes.

AFS 18,056A1-2: One tape containing "Emik Yeesroel" and "Hamavdil" sung by Sara Manischewitz, recorded in New York City, 1960. (Five minutes; LWO 8692 reel 4A)

AFS 19,235: One audiocassette of Samuel Carl Collins discussing the book, World of Our Fathers by Irving Howe, and his recollections of his Jewish family including immigration and life on the Lower East Side of New York City. Donated by his son, Kenneth Alan Collins, January 1977. The collection includes one page of a concordance and notes. (One hour; LWO 9970)

AFS 19,250-19,252; 19,392-19,396; 20,521-20,523: Eleven 10-inch tapes of announcements, instrumentals, songs, and stories recorded at the Catskill Folk Festival, Andes, New York, by Norman Cazden, August 13-14, 1977; August 12-13, 1978; and August 11-12, 1979. The collection includes one-quarter linear inch of a concordance, correspondence, recording logs, and notes. (Twenty hours and thirty minutes; LWO 12,001; 12,902; 16,815)

AFS 19,253-19,256: Four 7-inch tapes of ninety-six Hebrew and Israeli songs from the United States, Europe, Israel, and Palestine sung by Ruth Rubin and others. Recorded primarily by Ruth Rubin in New York City, 1947-67. The collection includes thirteen pages of correspondence, content lists, and notes. (Five hours; LWO 12,459)

AFS 19,268-19,280; 21,988-22,050; 22,051-22,062: Eighty-eight 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, recitations, and songs originally recorded on wax cylinders, discs, and tapes primarily in New England (especially Vermont) by Helen Hartness Flanders and others, 1931-58. Obtained on exchange from the Helen Hartness Flanders Collection of Middlebury College. The collection includes seven and three-fourths linear inches of catalogs, concordances, correspondence, indexes, and notes.

AFS 22,006A2-18, 21-22; 22,007B9-10: Two tapes containing sixteen songs sung by Lily Delorme of Cadysville, New York. Recorded December 4, 1941. (One hour and ten minutes; LWO 12,301 reels 19A, 20B)

AFS 22,013B17-22,014A; 22,015A10-20: Three tapes containing twenty-one songs sung by Thomas Armstrong of Mooers Forks, New York; two songs sung by Thomas Armstrong and Miss Davidson of Mooers Forks, New York; twenty-two songs sung by Lily Delorme of Cadysville, New York; two songs sung by J.J. Downs of Westboro, New York; and one recitation spoken by Charles Harkness of Harkness, New York. Recorded June 17-24, 1942. (Two hours; LWO 12,301 reels 26B, 27A, 28A)

AFS 22,025B1-19: One tape containing sixteen songs and three fragments of songs sung by Lily Delorme of Cadysville, New York. Recorded August 16, 1943. (Fifty minutes; LWO 12,301 reel 38B)

AFS 22,027B5-22,028A5, B1-11, 19-20; 22,030B14: Three tapes containing nine songs sung by Thomas Armstrong; two songs sung by Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Armstrong of Mooers Forks, New York; eighteen songs and five fragments of songs sung by Lily Delorme of Cadysville, New York; and one song sung by J. J. Downs of West Peru, New York. Recorded August 28-29 and December 1944. (One hour and forty minutes; LWO 12,301 reels 40B, 41, 43B)

AFS 22,056B14-29: One tape containing sixteen songs sung by Thomas Armstrong of Mooers Forks. Recorded in Northport, New York, February 16, 1935. (Thirty-four minutes; LWO 12,254 reel 6B)

AFS: 22,058A4: One tape containing one song sung by Miss Rayner of New York City. Recorded in Springfield, Vermont, 1939. (Two minutes; LWO 12,254 reel 8A)

AFS 19,359: One 10-inch tape of an interview with Herbert Halpert regarding his experiences collecting folklore for the WPA in New York City and elsewhere. Conducted by Peggy Farber, Debora Kodish, and Gerald E. Parsons, and recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, November 17, 1978. The collection includes six pages of content lists and notes. (One hour; LWO 12,530). See also AFC 1938/002.

AFS 19,361: One 10-inch tape of five songs and a story sung and spoken by Edmund Seymour. Originally recorded on discs in New York City by Tony Kraber, March 1941, and loaned by Mr. Seymour's grandson, John S. Patterson. The collection includes four pages of a song list and articles. (Seventeen minutes; LWO 7886)

AFS 19,364: One audiocassette of fourteen songs sung with guitar by Lawrence Older of Middle Grove, New York. Recorded on an unknown date. The collection includes a one-page song list. (Forty-five minutes; LWO 12,898)

AFS 19,517-19,525: Nine 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs from Canada, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont recorded at Celebration Northeast, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire, July 22-23, 1977. The collection includes four pages of concordances, correspondence, and two brochures.

AFS 19,521A2: One tape containing seven fiddle tunes played by Grant Rogers of Walton, New York, July 23, 1977. (Thirty minutes; LWO 12,892 reel 5A)

AFS 19,524A2: One tape containing five songs sung by Sara Cleveland of Brant Lake, New York, July 23, 1977. (Thirty minutes; LWO 12,982 reel 8A)

AFS 19,799-19,815: Sixteen 5-inch and one 7-inch tapes of an oral history interview regarding the urban folksong revival with Israel G. Young, founder of the Folklore Center in New York City. Recorded by Richard A. Reuss, July 8, 1965-March 26, 1969. The collection includes five pages of content lists and notes. (Eighteen hours; LWO 15,594)

AFS 20,111: One audiocassette copied from a Harlequin LP (HQ 702) entitled A Night With Daddy Grace featuring the Grace Heavenly Band and the Grace Emanuel Singers at a Daddy Grace Movement meeting. Recorded in Harlem, New York City, on an unknown date. Donated by Leo H. Berman, 1980. The collection includes six pages of correspondence, a log, and an article about Bishop Charles Emanuel (Sweet Daddy) Grace. (Thirty-seven minutes; RYA 4)

AFS 22,104-22,136: Thirty-three 10-inch tapes of conversations, instrumentals, songs, and stories recorded in the Adirondack region of New York by Marjorie Lansing Porter, 1943-67. Obtained through loan from the State University of New York at Plattsburgh. The collection includes one and one-half linear inches of recording logs, correspondence, concordances, and notes. (Sixty-six hours; RWA 2671-2703)

AFS 22,472: One 7-inch tape of ten blues songs sung with guitar and an interview with Larry Johnson. Recorded by Pat Conte during a radio broadcast entitled "Something Inside O' Me" at WKCR-FM, Columbia University, New York City, July 25, 1981. The collection includes ten pages of correspondence, recording logs, and notes. (One hour; RXA 4032)

AFS 23,019-23,155: Two 5-inch tapes, eighteen 7-inch tapes, and one hundred and seventeen audiocassettes of ethnic radio broadcasts recorded for the Ethnic Broadcasting in America Project of the American Folklife Center. Recorded mostly off the air by Elena Bradunas, Theodore Grame, Alan Jabbour, and others at various locations in the United States, 1977-78. Documentation includes Theodore Grame's Ethnic Broadcasting in the United States (Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center, 1980), nine and a half linear inches of correspondence, manuscript materials, and tape logs.

AFS 23,053: One audiocassette containing a Dominican program broadcast on WADO, New York City, May 24, 1978. (One hour; RYA 2918)

AFS 23,066-23,068: Three audiocassettes containing Italian, Jewish, and Portuguese programs broadcast on WEVD, New York City, March 20 and May 26, 1978. (Three hours; RYA 2925-2927)

AFS 23,070: One audiocassette containing a Hindu program broadcast on WFUV, New York City, May 28, 1978. (Thirty minutes; RYA 2929)

AFS 23,071-23,080: Ten audiocassettes containing Albanian, Armenian, East Indian, Ecuadoran, Greek, Hungarian, Iranian, Jewish, Korean, Norwegian, Rumanian, Serbian, Swedish, Turkish, and Yugoslav programs broadcast on WHBI, New York City, March 7-19, 1978. (Nine hours and thirty minutes; RYA 2930-2939)

AFS 23,091-23,092: Two audiocassettes containing Chinese and Haitian programs broadcast on WKCR, New York City, May 27-28, 1978. (Two hours; RYA 2949-2950)

AFS 23,093: One audiocassette containing a West Indian program broadcast on WLIB, New York City, May 29, 1978. (One hour; RYA 2951)

AFS 23,116-23,117: Two audiocassettes containing Polish and Ukrainian programs broadcast on WPOW, New York City, May 26, 1978. (Two hours; RYA 2973-2974)

AFS 23,183-23,184: Two 10-inch tapes, copied from discs, of fifty-two maritime songs sung by various singers. Recorded in New Brunswick, Canada, and Sailor's Snug Harbor, Staten Island, New York City, by William M. Doerflinger, 1940. The collection includes one-quarter linear inch of a concordance, correspondence, and recording logs.

AFS 23,183A1-3, 12-16, 20-23, 26-28; 23,183B1-3, 5, 10-21, 24; 23,184A1-2: Two tapes containing thirty-four songs sung by Richard Maitland and others. Recorded at Sailor's Snug Harbor, Staten Island, New York City. (One hour and twenty-six minutes; RWA 8407-8408A)

AFS 23,183A17-19: One tape containing three songs sung by William Laurie. Recorded at Sailor's Snug Harbor, Staten Island, New York City. (Six minutes; RWA 8407A)

AFS 23,183A24; 23,183B4, 6, 22-23: Two tapes containing five songs sung by John O'Brien and others. Recorded at Sailor's Snug Harbor, Staten Island, New York City. (Fourteen minutes; RWA 8407)

AFS 23,183A25: One tape containing a song sung by Harry Steele and others. Recorded at Sailor's Snug Harbor, Staten Island, New York City. (Two minutes; RWA 8407A).

AFC 1938/002: Thirty-eight 12-inch discs of two hundred thirty-five various folk songs including spirituals, farming and labor songs, war songs, drinking songs, children’s songs, taunts, lullabies, and love songs, recorded for the Federal Theatre Project in New York City, Ramapo, and Sloatsburg, New York, by Herbert Halpert, January 19, 1938-November 1939. The collection includes three-eighths of a linear inch of correspondence, 13 pages of recording logs and notes, and 25 pages of textual transcriptions. (Four hours and fifty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 234B-238A). See also: AFS 19,359.

AFC 1941/004: Five 16-inch and twelve 12-inch discs of interviews from Washington, D.C., Bloomington, Indiana; Nashville, Tennessee; Burlington, North Carolina; New York, New York; and Austin and Dallas, Texas, documenting the reactions of the "man-on-the-street" to the bombing of Pearl Harbor and declaration of war. Recorded by Robert E. Barton Allen, Philip Cohen, Fletcher Collins, John Henry Faulk, Charles T. Harrell, Charles Johnson, Alan Lomax, John A. Lomax, Robert Sonkin, and Charles Todd, December 8-10, 1941. Recorded as part of the Library of Congress Radio Research Project. The collection includes one linear inch of logs and transcripts. This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory Presentation: After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor .

AFS 6362-6364: Three discs containing twenty-two interviews and statements concerning the war, recorded in New York City by Robert Sonkin and Charles Todd, December 8, 1941. (Forty-five minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 407A)

AFS 6454: One disc containing four interviews, recorded at WBEN, Buffalo, New York, by Charles Harrell, December 10, 1941. (Thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 45B)

AFC 1942/003: Four 16-inch, forty-eight 12-inch, and three 8-inch discs of recorded reactions to war-time conditions in the United States. Recorded in various locations throughout the United States, by Robert E. Barton Allen, Harry Behn, Fletcher Collins, Duncan Emrich, John Henry Faulk, Helen Hartness Flanders, Charles Johnson, Lewis Jones, Marguerite Olney, Vance Randolph, William N. Robson, Robert Sonkin, and Charles Todd, January-February 1942. Recorded for the Office of Emergency Management Radio Section program, "Dear Mr. President." The collection includes one linear inch of correspondence, logs, and transcripts. This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory Presentation: After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor .

AFS 6407: One disc containing the songs "President Roosevelt" and "We’re Gonna Take Hitler Down" performed by Huddie "Leadbelly" Ledbetter. Recorded in New York City by Robert Sonkin and Charles Todd, January 20, 1942. (Ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 42B)

AFS 6408A; B3: One disc containing the songs "Dear Mr. President" and "The Martins and the Coys" sung by Pete Seeger under the pseudonym Pete Bowers. Recorded in New York City by Robert Sonkin and Charles Todd, January 1942. (Six minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 42B-43A)

AFS 6408B1-2; 6409-6414: Seven discs containing twenty statements by various people concerning the war. Recorded in New York City by Robert Sonkin and Charles Todd, January 1942. (Fifty-one minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 43A)

AFC 1950/001: One 16-inch disc of an "intermission program" with Librarian of Congress Luther Evans, Thelma James, and Louis C. Jones of Cooperstown, New York, on the occasion of the 61st Annual Meeting of the American Folklore Society. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, January 5, 1950. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5395 reel 4B)

AFC 1950/002: Thirty-three 6 ½ -inch discs, twenty-one 8-inch discs, fifty-one 10-inch discs, two 5-inch tapes, and seven 7-inch tapes of American songs, ballads, instrumentals, interviews, and stories. Recorded in Illinois, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Vermont, and Virginia by Anne and Frank M. Warner, 1938-1969. The collection includes twenty-five black-and-white photographs, nineteen black-and-white negatives, and three-sixteenths linear inch of concordances, correspondence, fieldnotes, and recording logs.

AFS 15,273A1-15,274A2: Two discs containing four songs performed by Mae Hicks of Beech Mountain, North Carolina. Recorded in New York City, February 1944. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 1B)

AFS 15,304A1-15,305A2, 15,306A1 and B1: Three discs containing twelve songs sung by Edith Perrin, originally of the Bahamas. Recorded in New York City, 1941. (Thirty-three minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 3A)

AFS 15,305B1: One disc containing "Mister Rabbit" performed by Burl Ives. Recorded in New York City, July 7, 1941. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 3A)

AFS 15,307: One disc containing six songs and an interview sung and spoken by Elda Blackwood, originally of the Bahamas. Recorded in New York City, 1947. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 3A)

AFS 15,308-15,316, 15,318-15,320, 15,375: Thirteen discs and one tape containing forty-nine songs sung by Yankee John Galusha and an interview conducted by Frank M. Warner. Recorded in Minerva and Olmsteadville, New York, July 12, 1940-July 1950. (Two hours and twenty-six minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 3)

AFS 15,317: One disc containing two songs performed by Yankee John Galusha and John C. Heenan. Recorded in Minerva, New York, August 26, 1946. (Eight minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 3B)

AFS 15,335-15,343: Nine discs containing one interview and twenty-three songs sung by Louis Solomon (Mohawk). Recorded at the St. Regis Indian Reservation, Hogansburg, New York, 1940 and 1941. (One hour and eighteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 4B)

AFS 15,359-15,360: Two discs containing seven songs sung by Pvt. Richard O. Hamilton. Recorded in New York City, 1941. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 5B)

AFS 15,363-15,364: Two discs containing eight songs sung by Roy Walworth, Ralph Martin, and Pop Adams. Recorded in New York City, 1941. (Twenty-four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 5B)

AFS 15,365: One disc containing three songs and conversations sung and spoken by J.E. Paul; three songs sung with guitar by Frank M. Warner; and one song sung by an unknown person. Recorded in Selkirk, New York, January, 1941. (Nine minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 6A)

AFS 15,373-15,374: Two tapes containing conversations and songs by Douglas Kennedy, Frank Proffitt, Frank Warner, and Anne Warner. Recorded at Pinewoods Camp, New York, August 1961. (One hour and thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reels 11A-12A)

AFS 15,376: One tape containing stories and songs from West Virginia by Tom Smith. Recorded in New York City,1952. (Twenty minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 12B)

AFS 15,377-15,378: Two tapes containing four songs sung by Mary Chapman, Nelson Chapman, and Ed Young; a story about a whaling barque told by Nelson Chapman; and a conversation with Captain Adams, Mrs. Adams, Nelson Chapman, and Lemuel Rackett about Confederate sympathizers on eastern Long Island, Montauk fishermen, and weather lore. Recorded in Orient, Long Island, New York, August 1952. (Two hours and ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 13)

AFS 15,379: One tape containing one song sung by Mrs. Hubert Kernan recorded in Lyons Falls, New York, 1951. (Ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 13B)

AFS 15,380: One tape containing a conversation between Jared Van Wagenen, author of Golden Age of Homespun, of Lawyersville, New York, Deac Martin of Ohio, and Frank Warner. Recorded in New York City, 1950. (Ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 13B)

AFS 15,381: One tape containing thirty-nine songs sung by Samuel Hopkins Adams, Axe Campbell, Carl Drepperd, Sigurd Erickson, Thelma Griswold, Dorothy Howard, Delia Merriam, and Sally Trube, and two conversations with Dorothy Howard, Delia Merriam, and Sally Trube. Recorded at the Cooperstown Seminar, Cooperstown, New York, July 12, 1949. (Two hours; LWO 7096 reel 14A-B)

AFS 15,564-15,565: Two tapes containing interviews, reminiscences, and songs spoken and sung by Steve Wadsworth. Recorded in Northville, New York, May 1969. The collection includes two pages of notes. (Three hours; tape copy on LWO 7273)

AFC 1970/006: Sixteen wires of Tuscarora kinship terms, personal narratives, texts, translations, and vocabularies recorded by Anthony F.C. Wallace, 1948-49. Donated by the American Philosophical Society. (Fourteen hours and thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 6256 reels 5B-12A)

AFC 1970/007: Thirteen wires of Onondaga ceremonies, dances, songs, stories, texts, and Oneida hymns and other songs recorded by Fred Lukoff, July-August 1948. Donated by the American Philosophical Society. The collection includes six pages of lists. (Eight hours and thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 6256 reels 12-16A)

AFC 1980/001: Thirty-five 5-inch tapes, eighty 7-inch tapes, and forty-three 10-inch tapes of events, instrumentals, interviews, and songs. Recorded primarily by and for Barbara Dane and Irwin Silber at various locations in Canada and the United States, especially for the "Sing Out!" radio programs on WBAI-FM, New York City, 1960s-70s. The collection includes one and one-half linear inches of content lists, correspondence, notes, and transcripts. (Eighty-eight hours; RXB 0001-0115; RWC 6401-6441)

AFC 1984/011: Approximately nine hundred 12-inch discs of dialect samples recorded principally in New England, South Carolina, and Virginia by E. Marguerite Chapallaz, Miles Hanley, Guy S. Lowman, Lorenzo Turner, and others, 1931-37. Recorded in part for the Linguistic Atlas of New England. Received on exchange from the American Dialect Society. The collection includes thirteen and three-quarters linear feet of correspondence, database printouts, disc jackets, notes, phonetic transcriptions, and seventy pages of performer lists and subject cards.

AFS 24,658; 24,660; 24,662; 24,664; 24,666: Five discs containing interviews with Lyttleton Fox Jr., of New York City. Recorded in Cambridge, Massachusetts, December 10, 1933. (One hour; tape copy on RWC 5751)

AFS 25,595; 25,628; 25,631; 25,634A; 25,635; 25,638; 25,640: Seven discs of personal history and speech examples spoken by Bernard Bloch of New York City. Recorded in Providence, Rhode Island, by Bernard Bloch, June 26-July 31, 1934. (One hour; tape copy on RWE 2988; 2990)

AFS 26,004-26,005; 26,011: Three discs containing three readings of "The Rat Story" by unknown informants from New York City. (Eight minutes; tape copy on RWE 3458)

AFC 1986/010: Two audiocassettes of an interview with Joseph Sears, a program and social director from the Catskill resort area in the 1940s. Recorded by Michael O'Malley in Brooklyn, New York, May 19, 1986. The collection includes one-quarter linear inch of correspondence and a transcript. (One hour and thirty minutes)

AFC 1986/012: A 279-page manuscript entitled "Our Neighborhood," composed of recipes and stories collected by students of Seward Park High School on New York City's Lower East Side, 1985-86. The collection includes a one-page newspaper article.

AFC 1986/022: Fifty-nine 10-inch tapes of public speeches and other utterances containing dialect samples, recorded at various locations in North America by various collectors, and compiled by the Center for Applied Linguistics for a project entitled "A Survey and Collection of American English Dialect Recordings." The collection includes fourteen linear inches of documentation, including an introduction and preface, a list of contents, content summaries, correspondence, and transcripts.

AFS 24,299A1: One tape containing former Mayor Fiorella LaGuardia discussing politics in New York City. Submitted by Arnold Jacobsen of Arnold's Archives, East Grand Rapids, Michigan. (Ten minutes; RWB 3848A)

AFS 24,299B2: One tape containing samples from chapter 7 of Beautiful Swimmers, Watermen, Crabs, and Chesapeake Bay by William W. Warner, read by two young women from Barnard College and Hunter College, New York City. Submitted by Jack Phelan, Alcoa, Tennessee. (Twelve minutes; RWB 3848B)

AFS 24,305: One tape containing conversations concerning local games, social relations, and television programs, with two African American and six Puerto Rican males age fourteen to eighteen. Recorded in New York City by Walt Wolfram, 1970-71. (Two hours; RWB 3854)

AFS 24,312: One tape containing a speech made by Eleanor Roosevelt three weeks after the bombing of Pearl Harbor and a speech by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in which he asks Congress to declare war between Japan and the United States, December 1941. Submitted by the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, New York. (One hour; RWB 3861)

AFS 24,331A1: One tape containing a public speech by Isaac Asimov of New York City. Submitted by Maurice Crane of the Voice Library at Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan. (Fifteen minutes; RWB 3880A)

AFC 1987/023: One audiocassette entitled The Woodland Sampler: Songs, Music, and Poetry From Camp Woodland, Phoenicia, New York 1947-1963, compiled by Norman Studer, Eric Levine, and Joan Studer Levine in 1987. The collection includes nine pages of liner notes including historical information about the songs, lyrics, and the story of Camp Woodland. (Thirty-eight minutes)

AFC 1987/031: Twenty-six 10-inch tapes of Old Believers' services and religious singing, and copies of a published recording of Russian church bells and religious chant. Recorded in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Russia, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Washington, D.C., by Nicolas G. Schidlovsky, 1972-85. The collection includes seven photographs, a six-page brochure entitled "Old Believers," and one linear inch of concordances, notes, photocopies of chant notations, recording logs, and early Slavic neumes.

AFS 25,970A1: One tape containing excerpts of a concert performed by Pro Musica Slavica of New York, directed by Nicolas G. Schidlovsky, 1981. (Thirty minutes; RWB 6115A)

AFS 25,970A2; 25,978A2-B1: Two tapes containing discussion and performances by Fr. Pimen Simon and members of the congregation in Erie, Pennsylvania. Recorded in Jordansville, New York, 1980. (One hour and thirty minutes; RWB 6115A, 6123)

AFC 1988/026: Sixteen 7-inch tapes of over one hundred and sixty versions of the Passover song "Chad Gadya" (One Kid), recorded in various parts of the United States and the world. Compiled by musicologist Abraham Schwadron, between 1973-1985, during his time at University of California Los Angeles. The collection includes one linear foot of background research, correspondence, indexes, informant information, logs, publicity, one box of index cards, four black-and-white photographs, and writings by Schwadron. A collection guide is available online at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/schwad.html .

AFC 1988/026: SR001, item 8: One tape containing one version of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic by Ruth Rubin. Recorded in New York by Ruth Rubin, 1975-1976. (Six minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR002, items 5-9: One tape containing five versions of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic and Yiddish by R. Bermak, L. Blatt, D. Ellin, Ruth Rubin, and R. Spivak. Recorded in New York by Ruth Rubin, 1948 and 1961. (Eleven minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR003, items 2-6: One tape containing five versions of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic and Ladino by Morris Cassorla, Isaac Cassuto, Sophia Emira, O. Estrow (Strong), and Gregory Yaroslow. Recorded in New York by Abraham Schwadron, March 1976. (Fourteen minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR003, item 7: One tape containing one version of "Chad Gadya" sung in Ladino-Aramaic by Haim HaCohen. Recorded in Israel via the University of New York by Albert Pinto, June 1971. (Nine minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR003, items 8-9: One tape containing two versions of "Chad Gadya" sung in Arabic and Aramaic by Moshe Habib. Recorded in Syracuse, New York, by Moshe Habib on an unknown date. (Seven minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR006, item 14: One tape containing one version of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic by Rabbi Meir Fund. Recorded in Brooklyn, New York, by I. Schwadron, 1979. (Two minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR009, item 5: One tape containing one version of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic by Raphael Y. Elnadav. Recorded in Brooklyn, New York, by Raphael Y. Elnadav, December 1981. (Six minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR009, item 6: One tape containing one version of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic by Samuel Yaroslow. Recorded in Rochester, New York, by Samuel Yaroslow, April 1976. (Three minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR010, item 1: One tape containing one version of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic by Abraham Mizrahi and choir. Recorded in New York by Abraham Mizrahi, 1982. (Three minutes)

AFC 1988/026: SR010, items 9-11: One tape containing three versions of "Chad Gadya" sung in Aramaic, German, and German-Yiddish by members of the Lowenstein family. Recorded in New York by Steven Lowenstein, July 1973. (Two minutes)

AFC 1988/028: One audiocassette of instrumentals performed by various artists from Ireland, Scotland, and the United States, particularly the New York City area. Recorded at the Irish Arts Center's 4th annual Irish Music Festival at Snug Harbor, Staten Island, New York City, June 11, 1985, and produced by Rebecca Miller and Michael Schlesinger. The collection includes two copies each of five program books from the Center's annual Irish Music Festivals, 1982-88. (Two hours)

AFC 1990/005: Four 10-inch tapes, twenty-two black-and-white prints and negatives, and four videocassettes of "In Country: A Concert and Symposium on the Folksong Traditions of the Vietnam-Era Soldier," presented by the American Folklife Center. Concert performers include Bill Dower and six Marines, Dolf Droge, James "Bull" Durham, Bill Ellis, Tom Price, Chuck Rosenberg (of New York City), and Robin Thomas, with commentary by Librarian of Congress James H. Billington, Congressman Lane Edwards, and Alan Jabbour. Symposium participants include Cecil Currey, Dower, Droge, Durham, Ellis, Lydia M. Fish (of Buffalo, New York), Toby Hughes, Jabbour, Harold Langley, and Rosenberg. Recorded in Washington, D.C. at the Library of Congress, July 13, 1989. The collection includes five linear inches of articles, correspondence, promotional material, and notes. (Six hours; RWB 8766-8769) See also: AFC 1991/002.

AFC 1990/011: Forty-eight 7-inch tapes and three audio cassettes of old-time fiddle music and interviews performed and spoken by Jehile Kirkhuff of Rush, Pennsylvania, and other fiddlers of New York and Pennsylvania. Recorded by Ed and Geraldine Berbaum at various locations in New York and Pennsylvania, 1980-85. The collection includes one-half linear inch of articles, correspondence, logs, and notes.

AFC 1990/011:SR8-10: Three tapes containing fourteen instrumentals performed on fiddle by Jehile Kirkhuff of Rush, Pennsylvania, and on guitar by Kathy Shimberg of Oneonta, New York. Recorded May 9-10, 1980. (One hour and thirty minutes)

AFC 1990/011:SR19-20: Two tapes containing comments and twenty-eight instrumentals performed on fiddle by Henry Castor of Redfield, New York, and Alice Clemons of Osceola, New York. Recorded in Osceola, New York, December 13, 1982. (One hour)

AFC 1990/011:SR31-35: Five tapes containing seventy-six instrumentals performed by Earl and Zelma Burrell of Limestone, New York. Recorded December 28-29, 1982. (Two hours and thirty minutes)

AFC 1990/012: Twelve 10-inch and three 7-inch tapes, one hundred eighty-two black-and-white prints and negatives, one color print, ninety-two color slides, and two videocassettes of performances from the 1990 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center and featuring the presentation of folk traditions from many cultures. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, April-September 1990. A collection guide is available online at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/neptune90.html . The following lists the materials from the May 17 concert of Henry Sapoznik and Klezmer Plus from New York City.

AFC 1990/012:SR 3-4: Two tapes containing the concert. (One hour and thirty minutes)

AFC 1990/012:SR 5-7: Three tapes containing an interview of Henry Sapoznik conducted by Alan Jabbour. (One hour and thirty-four minutes)

AFC 1990/012:Folder 7: One folder containing thirty-nine pages of an autographed concert flier, unsigned fliers, press releases, newspaper clippings, promotional material, and a concert log.

AFC 1990/012:Folder 8-9: Two folders containing four black-and-white prints photographed by Reid Baker, and one black-and-white promotional photo by an unknown photographer.

AFC 1991/002: Two audiocassettes of a program entitled "In Country II: Soldiers' Songs from Vietnam." Performers include Saul Broudy, Chip Dockery, James "Bull" Durham, Bill Ellis, Lisa Ellis, Larry Heinemann, Sherry Hughes, Toby Hughes, Dick Jonas, Kathy Jonas, Tom Price, Chuck Rosenberg (of New York City), and Robin Thomas. Recorded at the Old Town School of Folk Music, Chicago, Illinois, by Lydia M. Fish of Buffalo State College, Buffalo, New York, August 4, 1990. The collection includes three pages of datasheets and logs. (Three hours) See also: AFC 1990/005.

AFC 1991/018: One 16-inch disc of an "audition" by Huddie "Leadbelly" Ledbetter, narrated by Woody Guthrie, for NBC Radio, in New York. Recorded June 19, 1940. The collection includes one datasheet. (Fifteen minutes)

AFC 1991/019: Two hundred sixty-six manuscript pages concerning international folk dance. Donated by Robert Caulk of Silver Spring, Maryland, whose mother, Ruth Feuer Caulk, collected the materials in connection with her work at settlement schools in New York City in the 1930s and 1940s. The collection includes an article and two pamphlets.

AFC 1993/001: Twenty-four 5-inch tapes, sixty 7-inch tapes, and two hundred eighty-eight audiocassettes from the Ethnic Heritage and Language Schools in America Project, a survey of twenty-three ethnic schools from twenty-two ethnic groups. Recorded at various locations throughout the United States by Elena Bradunas and twenty-three fieldworkers, April-July, 1982, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The collection includes fourteen and two-thirds linear feet of correspondence, fieldnotes, final reports, key contributor forms, news clippings, publications, references to curriculum materials, references to donated photographs, slide and photo logs, sound recording logs, and transcripts of audio recordings. A collection guide is available online at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/ethnicschools.html .

AFS 23,464-23,483: Twenty audiocassettes of class meetings, and Easter celebrations recorded at the Greek School at the Hellenic Orthodox Church of the Annunciation, Buffalo, New York, by Lydia Fish. (Twenty hours; RYA 4469-4488)

ES82-LF-1-4: Sixty-eight color slides of class meetings, the annual Hellenic Festival, and Easter celebrations at the Hellenic Orthodox Church of the Annunciation, Buffalo, New York. Photographed by Lydia Fish.

ES82-197823-1-5, ES82-198932-1-4, ES82-4-526391-397: One hundred sixty-seven black-and-white negatives of dance class, Hellenic Festival, class meetings, and associated church members at the Hellenic Orthodox Church of the Annunciation, Buffalo, New York, photographed by Lydia Fish.

AFS 23,701-23,705: Five audiocassettes of class meetings and graduation ceremonies recorded at the Atatürk School, a Turkish school in New York City, by Maurie Sacks. (Five hours; RYA 4639-4643)

ES82-MS-196411-2-8: Two hundred sixty black-and-white negatives of a Mother’s Day celebration at the Atatürk School in New York City. Photographed by Lance Tarhan.

ES82-197561-1-5: One hundred eighty-four black-and-white negatives of a graduation ceremony at the Atatürk School in New York City. Photographed by Lance Tarhan.

ES82-MM1-MM4: Sixty-seven color slides of the Johnny Colón School, class meetings, salsa and charanga workshop band rehearsals, and salsa band concert held at the Johnny Colón School in New York City. Photographed by Jefferson Miller.

ES82-002936-2937, ES82-60150: One hundred eight black-and-white negatives of concerts by a salsa band, and rehearsal of salsa and charanga workshop bands held at the Johnny Colon School in New York City. Photographed by Jefferson Miller.

AFC 1993/002: Six 10-inch tapes, eight audiocassettes, nineteen black-and-white contact sheets, twenty-eight black-and-white photo prints, one hundred and thirty-two color slides, and six videocassettes of performances from the 1993 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center and featuring the presentation of folk traditions from many cultures. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, April-September 1993. A collection guide is available online at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/neptune93.html . The following lists materials from the May 20 concert of Tom and Maureen Doherty, Mick Moloney, and Regan Wick, a traditional Irish music and dance group from New York City and Pennsylvania.

AFC 1993/002:SR2: One tape containing the concert. (One hour)

AFC 1993/002:V2: One videocassette containing the concert. (One hour)

AFC 1993/002:Folder 6: One folder containing fourteen pages of concert fliers, press releases, concert log, and news clippings.

AFC 1993/002:Folder 7-9: Three folders containing two black-and-white contact sheets (fifty-seven images) and six prints photographed by Jim Higgins.

AFC 1994/001: Four 10-inch tapes, fourteen audiocassettes, three DAT cassettes, one diskette, two hundred and two black-and-white prints and negatives, ten contact sheets, one hundred and twenty-four color slides, five color photo prints, and fourteen videocassettes of performances from the 1994 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, April-September 1994. A collection guide is available online at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/neptune94.html .

The following lists materials from the June 2 concert of Iroquois music performed by the Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers from Canada and New York.

AFC 1994/001:SR 3: One 10-inch tape containing the concert. (One hour)

AFC 1994/001:V3-4: Two videocassettes containing the concert. (Two hours)

AFC 1994/001:Folder 7: One folder containing twenty-one pages of promotional materials on the band, a concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, a concert log, and newspaper clippings.

AFC 1994/001:Folder 8: One folder containing two black-and-white contact sheets (fifty-one images) photographed by John Gibbs.

AFC 1994/001:Envelope 5: One envelope containing fifty-one black-and-white negatives photographed by John Gibbs.

AFC 1994/001:Envelope 6-8: Three envelopes containing fifty-two color slides photographed by John Gibbs.

The following lists materials from the September 15 concert of Cuban mambo music performed by Cachao and the Latin All-Stars from New York City, Florida, and Puerto Rico.

AFC 1994/001:SR7: One cassette containing the concert. (One hour)

AFC 1994/001:V8: One videocassette containing the concert. (One hour)

AFC 1994/001:Folders 15-16: Two folders containing three-fourths linear inch of concert fliers, a concert log, newspaper clippings, and promotional materials about the band in English and Spanish.

AFC 1994/001:Folder 17: One folder containing one black-and-white contact sheet (thirty-seven images) photographed by James Hardin, and one color contact sheet containing twenty-two images by an unknown photographer.

AFC 1994/001:Envelope 10: One envelope containing thirty-seven black-and-white negatives photographed by James Hardin.

AFC 1994/001:Envelopes 11-12: Two envelopes containing thirty-six color slides photographed by John Gibbs.

AFC 1995/001: Five DAT cassettes, two-hundred and twenty-two black-and-white prints and negatives, one-hundred and five color prints and negatives, six contact sheets, and six videocassettes of performances from the 1995 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. Recorded at the Library of Congress, April-September 1995. [finding aid]

The following lists materials from the May 18 performance of lindy-hop dancing by Frankie Manning from Harlem, New York City, accompanied by jazz music performed by Brooks Tegler.

AFC 1995/001:SR2: One audiocassette containing the concert. (One hour and thirty minutes)

AFC 1995/001:V2: One videocassette containing the concert, recorded by Peter Bartis. (One hour and thirty minutes)

AFC 1995/001:V3: One videocassette of a 1989 20/20 segment on Frankie Manning. (Ten minutes)

AFC 1995/001:Folders 4-6: Two folders containing three-fourths of a linear inch of concert fliers, newspaper clippings, promotional materials about the performers, a transcription of a National Public Radio interview with Frankie Manning, one copy of Jet magazine with an article on Frankie Manning, and information on swing-dancing.

AFC 1995/001:Folders 7-11: Two folders containing one black-and-white print photographed by James Hardin, and forty-one color prints photographed by Stephen Spinder.

AFC 1995/001:Envelope 2: One envelope containing three contact sheets (fifty-three color negatives), photographed by Stephen Spinder.

The following lists materials from the September 21 performance containing Argentine tango dance, instrumentals, and songs performed by Buenos Aires Connection of Argentina and New York City.

AFC 1995/001:SR5: One audiocassette containing the concert. (One hour)

AFC 1995/001:V8: One videocassette containing the concert, recorded by Peter Bartis. (One hour)

AFC 1995/001:Folder 19: One folder containing twelve pages of concert fliers and a recording log.

AFC 1995/001:Folder 20: One folder containing one black-and-white contact sheet (thirty-seven images) and four black-and-white prints photographed by Peter Harrington, one black-and-white contact sheet (thirty-five images) and one black-and-white print photographed by James Glover.

AFC 1995/001:Envelope 6: One envelope containing thirty-seven black-and-white negatives, photographed by Peter Harrington, and thirty-five black-and-white negatives photographed by James Glover.

AFC 1995/004: Two hundred and seventy-five 10-inch tapes of bluegrass, country, and folk music, recorded in California, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia, primarily by Mike Seeger, 1953-67. The collection includes three linear inches of computer disks, correspondence, notes, and photos. The tape numbers indicated in the following annotations correspond with Mike Seeger's "dub numbers."

AFC 1995/004:14A5-9: One tape containing five instrumentals and songs performed by Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, and possibly others. Originally recorded on discs in New York City, 1940. (Twenty minutes)

AFC 1995/004:14B: One tape containing songs sung by Mike and Peggy Seeger of Chevy Chase, Maryland, and Pete Seeger of Beacon, New York. Recorded by Mike Seeger, 1953. (One hour)

AFC 1995/004:140A-141B: Two tapes containing an interview with A.E. "Tony" Alderman talking about his time recording and performing with the Hillbillies in New York City and Washington, D.C. Recorded in Washington, D.C., by Mike Seeger, April 16, 1961. (Three hours)

AFC 1995/004:141B-143B: Two tapes containing an interview with Ernest V. Stoneman talking about his time collecting and reconstructing songs, performing, and recording. He also talks of his performances and experiences in New York City. Recorded in Carmody Hills, Maryland, by Mike Seeger and John Cohen, April 16, 1961. (Four hours)

AFC 1995/004:157A-158A: Two tapes containing an interview with Frank Walker, artist and repertory person for Columbia Records in the 1920s, for Hank Williams, and others. Recorded in New York City by Mike Seeger, June 19, 1962. (Three hours)

AFC 1995/004:167B-168B: Two tapes containing an interview with Eck Robertson talking about how he got himself recorded and his time in New York City. Recorded in Amarillo, Texas, by Mike Seeger, September 29, 1963. (Three hours)

AFC 1995/004:170A: One tape containing twelve songs played by the Kentucky Colonels (formerly the Country Boys). Recorded at Gerde’s Folk City in New York City by Mike Seeger, November 7, 1963. (One hour)

AFC 1995/004:170B-172A; 207A-212A; 232A; 256B: Eleven tapes containing sixty-five instrumentals and vocal songs, and interviews with Lesley Riddle. Recorded Rochester, New York, by Mike Seeger, October 27, 1963; March 5, 7, and 8, 1965; and July 11, 1965; February 11, 1966. (Fourteen hours)

AFC 1995/004:174-176A: Three tapes containing thirty-two songs performed by Dock Boggs, Mississippi John Hurt, and Mike Seeger. Recorded in New York City by unknown persons on December 13, 1963. (Four hours)

AFC 1995/004:198: One tape containing seventeen songs and an interview with Sherman Lawson. Talks about his time with Frank Hutchinson, their performances and recording in New York City. Recorded in Switzer, West Virginia, by Mike Seeger, June 8, 1964. (Two hours)

AFC 1995/004:232-233: Two tapes containing an interview with Elizabeth Cotten giving her oral history, and describing where she lived throughout her life including Siler City, North Carolina; New York City; and Washington, D.C. Recorded in Roosevelt, New Jersey, by Mike Seeger, January 8, 1966. (Three hours)

AFC 1995/007: Thirteen audiocassettes of radio programs derived from live performances and on-stage interviews from the "Folk Masters" series held at The Barns of Wolf Trap, Vienna, Virginia. Originally recorded April 1-May 8, 1992. The collection includes a thirty-two page "Listener's Guide to Programs."

AFC 1995/007:SR10B: One audiocassette containing Irish instrumentals, interviews, and songs performed and spoken by Seamus Egan and Friends, a group which includes Eileen Ivers and Susan McKeown of New York City. (Twenty minutes)

AFC 1995/007:SR12A: One audiocassette containing klezmer music and interviews performed and spoken by Klezmer Plus of New York City. (Twenty-five minutes)

AFC 1995/009: Seventy-nine broadcast videocassettes of interviews and performances related to Irish music in New York City for the documentary entitled From Shore to Shore (Truckee, California: Cherry Lane Productions, 1993). Recorded by Patrick Mullen and others. The collection includes one-half linear inch of correspondence, ephemera, notes, photos, and a VHS videocassette of the finished documentary. (Seventy-six hours)

AFC 1995/033: One 4-inch, four 5-inch, and two 7-inch tapes of sounds of New York City, recorded by Tony Schwartz; Pete Seeger singing Bob Dylan's "Who Killed Davey Moore?"; songs sung by Suzanna Shahn; songs sung by John Jacob Niles; and the Schubert Octet II. The tapes were originally owned by Ben Shahn and donated by Stephan Lee Taller in 1993. The collection includes published biographies of Tony Schwartz and Ben Shahn, correspondence, notes, and recording logs.

AFC 1995/033:SR1: One 4-inch tape containing Bob Dylan's "Who Killed Davy Moore?" sung by Pete Seeger of Beacon, New York, with crowd noise and comments, recorded by Tony Schwartz. (Five minutes)

AFC 1995/033:SR2: One 5-inch tape containing "New York, A City of Sound" recorded in New York City by Tony Schwartz. (Ten minutes)

AFC 1995/033:SR3-4: Two 5-inch tapes containing "Adventures in Sound" recorded in New York City by Tony Schwartz. (One hour)

AFC 1996/001: One audiocassette of commentary on the Works Progress Administration (WPA) spoken by Steve Zeitlin of City Lore, New York City. Recorded from the National Public Radio program "Crossroads," March 17, 1995. The collection includes 2 articles, correspondence, and a data sheet. (Four minutes)

AFC 1996/011: Two audiocassettes of portions of the second annual American Roots Fourth of July concert hosted by Georges Collinet and Nick Spitzer. Performers include the Akwesasne Mohawk Singers from the North American Traveling College near Hogansburg, New York. Recorded in Washington, D.C., at the Sylvan Theater (near the Washington Monument), July 4, 1994. Sponsored by Folk Masters, the National Council for the Traditional Arts, National Park Service, National Public Radio, and Radio Smithsonian. The collection includes twenty-nine pages of correspondence and notes. (Two hours)

AFC 1996/035: One audiocassette of seven instrumentals and three songs performed on the clarinet, drymba (Jew’s harp), fiddle, sopilka (end-blown flute), svyril (panpipes), electronically generated trembita (alpenhorn-like instrument), and tsymbly (hammered dulcimer) by the Cheres Ukrainian Instrumental Ensemble. Recorded in New York City by Andriy Milavsky, 1990 and 1994. (Thirty-two minutes). See also: AFC 2000/015.

AFC 1996/081: One videocassette entitled KlezKamp: The Yiddish Folk Arts Program, an annual klezmer music festival organized by Living Traditions. This program features Peter Sokolow, a well-known klezmer musician and others. Recorded at the Paramount Hotel, Parksville, New York, by Leonard Kerpelman, Dec. 25-30, 1995. The collection includes seventeen pages of a program, logs and notes by Leonard Kerpelman and Jack Manischewitz. (Four hours)

AFC 1997/028: Two CDs (entitled My Long Island Home and I Love Long Island) and one audiocassette (entitled Ice Storm of 1998) of the traditional music of Long Island, New York. Produced by Stanley A. Ransom ("The Connecticut Peddler"), 1997. The collection includes a 54-page songbook entitled Songs of Long Island. (Two hours)

AFC 1998/013: Thirty-five monographs, one hundred and twenty-one serials (including the newsletter Seanachai: Storyteller and the newspaper Irish Edition), three photos, eighteen posters, and one hundred and eighty-seven pieces of ephemera related to the Philadelphia Ceili Club, Philadelphia chapter of Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann, and events held in Philadelphia and New York Irish American communities. Collected by Robin Hiteshew, 1952-93.

AFC 1998/014: Nine 5-inch and nine 7-inch tapes of Henrietta Yurchenco’s radio show "Adventures in Folk Music," consisting of a variety of musical genres ranging from religious blues to Yemenite wedding songs, featuring music and interviews with artists such as Robin Conant, Carolyn Hester, Mabel Hillary, Nasser Rastegad Nejad, New York Ramblers, Ralph Rinzler, Ruth Rubin, Victoria Spivey, Artie and Happy Traum, Pearl Primus, and Doc Watson. Broadcasted and recorded on radio station WBAI in New York City by Yurchenco, 1961-1968. (Four hours and thirty minutes)

AFC 2000/001: Four hundred and five linear feet (approximately 90,000 manuscript pages, 475 sound recordings, 13,000 graphic materials, 330 electronic media, and 75 artifacts) of documentation of local festivals, fairs, parades, and other community-based events from each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and trusts. The Local Legacies Collection was donated through the efforts of individuals, organizations, and institutions asked to participate by members of Congress. This project was part of the Library of Congress Bicentennial celebration in the year 2000. There is an online presentation of this collection entitled Community Roots. The following is a list of Local Legacies projects from New York, arranged by congressional sponsorship:

Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan: Summer at Jones Beach; Immigrant Life in New York; Little Falls Canal Celebration; Winter Olympics at Lake Placid; Allentown Art Festival.

Senator Charles E. Schumer: Harriet Tubman Home; The Oswego River Canal; The Oswego County Fair; Lake Ontario Bird Festival; Rochester, New York’s Lilac Festival.

Representative Michael P. Forbes (1st District): Montauk Point Lighthouse Museum.

Representative Peter King (3rd District): Oystering on the Bay: Then and Now.

Representative Carolyn McCarthy (4th District): Charles Lindbergh and the Cradle of Aviation.

Representative Gary L. Ackerman (5th District): Particles of the Past: Sandmining on Long Island, 1870s-1980s.

Representative Edolphus "Ed" Towns (10th District): Society for the Preservation of Weeksville and Bedford-Stuyvesant.

Representative Vito Fossella (13th District): Concord: From Melting Pot to New Millenium.

Representative Eliot L. Engel (17th District): Edgar Allan Poe Cottage.

Representative Nita M. Lowey (18th District): Thomas Paine Memorial Museum; St. Paul’s Church National Historic Site; The Jay Heritage Center; C. Paul Jennewein, Sculptor; Philip H. Reisman, Jr.: Prizewinning Writer for Film and Television and Expert in Indian Lore; Larchmont Luminaries; Alton S. Tobey, Artist and Historian.

Representative Benjamin A. Gilman (20th District): Onion Harvest Festival.

Representative Michael R. McNulty (21st District): The City of Troy: Home of Uncle Sam; The Irish American Heritage Museum; The New York State Writers Institute.

Representative John E. Sweeney (22nd District): Feast of Saint Michael Festival; Solomon Northup Day: A Celebration of Freedom.

Representative Sherwood L. Boehlert (23rd District): Iroquois Festival.

Representative James T. Walsh (25th District): New York State Fair.

Representative Maurice D. Hinchey (26th District): Spiedie Fest.

Representative Thomas M. Reynolds (27th District): Town of Wales; Waterloo: Birthplace of Memorial Day; One-Room Schools: Gone but not Forgotten; Italian-American Traditions in Western New York.

Representative Louise McIntosh Slaughter (28th District): Built on Living Waters; Celebrator of the Arts; Seedbed of Ideas; The Flower City; Imaging Center of the World and More.

Representative Jack Quinn (30th District): The Buffalo St. Patrick’s Day Parade; Western New York Celebrates the Legacy of General Casimir Pulaski: A Revolutionary War Hero.

Representative Amo Houghton (31st District): Mark Twain and Elmira College; Corning, NY: The Crystal City; Chautauqua Literacy and Scientific Circle: The Oldest Book Club in America.

AFC 2000/015: One videocassette entitled Cheres: A Carpathian Folk Ensemble, featuring the group Cheres performing folk music of the Carpathian region, specifically Ukraine, Romania, Hungary, and Moldova, as well as Gypsy and Jewish tunes. Cheres was founded by Andriy Milavsky in 1990 and performs primarily in the New York City area. Produced in New York City with some clips from the Ukraine. The collection includes two publicity photos and five pages of correspondence, a biography of the group, a log, and a concert flier. (Twenty-five minutes). See also: AFC 1996/035.

AFC 2000/016: Two audiocassettes of folk music from around the world, sung by Dorothy Brennan Doyle. These songs were learned when she was with the group "The Consort" under the leadership of Prof. Roy Mitchell from 1934-1941 at New York University. "The Consort" performed international songs, drawing on their contacts with recent New York City immigrants. Recorded at an unknown location by Dorothy Brennan Doyle, circa 1993. The collection includes two and a half linear inches of phonetic lyrics to the recorded songs, correspondence, scripts of folk radio music broadcasts, one black-and-white photo print, and other photocopied images. (Two hours and twenty-two minutes)

Thesis and Dissertation Collections

Howard, Dorothy Mills. "Folk Jingles of American Children Today." New York: New York University, 1938. Ph.D. dissertation in Education. Two hundred forty-six pages. Contains analysis, musical transcriptions, rhymes, and song texts primarily from New Jersey and New York. (MICROFILM: request in Music Division: MUSIC 1969)

Kimball, Marilyn. "George Edwards, Catskill Folksinger." Oneonta, New York: Cooperstown Graduate Programs, State University of New York College at Oneonta, 1966. M.A. thesis. Three hundred and eleven pages. Contains a biography, interviews, maps, photographs, and song texts.

Lane, Frederick W. "A Selected Annotated Bibliography of Periodical Articles Dealing with Ballads and Folk Songs, Published in Four United States Folklore Journals Between 1937-1954." Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America, 1955. M.A. thesis in Library Science. Sixty-nine pages. Contains bibliographic entries for articles published in folklore journals published in four states, including the New York Folklore Quarterly.

Stoner, George Michael. "If I'd Been Polish, I Guess I'd Be Playing Polkas: An Examination of the Social Contexts of Traditional Irish Music in Rochester, New York." Bowling Green, Kentucky: Western Kentucky University, 1976. M.A. thesis. Ninety-nine pages. Contains analyses and biographies.