Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

MISSOURI FIELD RECORDINGS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: David Spener
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: May 1982

AFS 2490B1-4; 2496B2: Two discs containing seven blues songs, sung by James P. Johnson of Kansas City, MO, accompanying himself of the piano. Recorded in New York City on December 24, 1938, by Alan Lomax.

AFS 3155-3313: One hundred fifty-nine discs containing songs and instrumentals from the East and Midwest. Recorded in 1936-1937 by various collectors for the Resettlement Administration. The following were recorded by Sidney Robertson:

AFS 3195-3198: Four discs containing twenty-two labor-organizing and political songs. Recorded December 9-10, 1936, in St. Louis.

AFS 3199-3224: Twenty-six discs containing ninety-eight songs, instrumentals, and oral histories. Recorded in December 1936 and January 1937 in Springfield.

AFS 3237-3239: Three discs containing nine labor-organizing and political songs, sung by John Handcox of Columbia. Recorded on March 9, 1937.

AFS 3263B1-3267B3: Five discs containing seventeen songs performed by Mrs. Cinderella Kinnaird of Willow Springs. Recorded at the National Folk Festival in Chicago, IL, on May 29, 1937.

AFS 5236-5425: One hundred ninety discs containing songs, instrumentals, and tales from the Ozark Mountain region. Recorded in 1941-1942 by Vance Randolph.

AFS 5236A-5281B2: Forty-six discs containing one hundred seventy songs and instrumentals from the towns of Galena, Crane, Walnut Shade, Cabool, and Day. Recorded in October 1941.

AFS 5293B1; 5294A3-5296A1: Four discs containing ten songs and fiddle tunes performed by Mrs. Lillian Short and Mr. Rufe Scott of Galena. Recorded in October 1941.

AFS 5296A2-5303B3: Eight discs containing thirty-five songs sung by Mrs. May Kennedy McCord of Springfield. Recorded on October 21, 1941.

AFS 5326A2-5337B2: Twelve discs containing forty-eight songs and instrumentals performed by various persons from Galena, Joplin, Springfield, and Bradleyville. Recorded in November 1941.

AFS 5386B4: One disc containing a song fragment sung by Vance Randolph. Recorded on January 10, 1942, in Galena.

AFS 5387-5388: Two discs containing nine songs sung by Vance Randolph. Recorded in Galena on January 18, 1942.

AFS 5393B1-2; 5394A1; 5395B2: Three discs containing four songs from southwest Missouri sung by Vance Randolph. Recorded in Galena on February 2, 1942.

AFS 5397B2: One disc containing the song, "Oh, There Was an Old Soldier," collected in Pineville, MO, in 1923 by Vance Randolph. Performed and recorded by Vance Randolph in Galena on February 2, 1942.

AFS 5421-5425B3: Four discs containing twenty-seven fiddle tunes performed by Delbert McGrath of Day, and three songs sung by Mrs. Lillian Short of Galena. Recorded on April 23 and June 17, 1942.

AFS 6423-6425; 6429: Four discs containing interviews entitled "Dear Mr. President." Recorded in Galena in 1942 by Vance Randolph for the Radio Research Project.

AFS 6897-6904: Eight discs containing songs and instrumentals from the Ozark Mountain region. Recorded by Vance Randolph.

AFS 6901B1-6904B3: Four discs containing twenty fiddle tunes performed by Billy Bilyeu (pronounced "Blue") of Walnut Shade. Recorded on February 1, 1943.

AFS 7093-7096: Four discs containing the oral autobiography of 92 year-old Mrs. Martha L. Smith of Benton County. Mrs. Smith is the author of a book about Missouri life entitled Going to God's Country. Recorded at the Library of Congress on March 17, 1944, by B. A. Botkin and Arthur Semmig.

AFS 9847B3-9848A2: Two discs containing a medley of songs and dances performed by a Mexican choir from Our Lady of Guadeloupe Center in Kansas City, MO. Recorded at the National Folk Festival in Washington, DC, on May 26, 1938.

AFS 10,075-10,080: Six 10-inch tapes of folklore and folk music of Arkansas and Missouri. Recorded in 1949-1950 by Merlin Mitchell for the University of Arkansas.

AFS 10,076B11-19: One 10-inch tape containing nine songs performed by R. E. Mitchell Murrell, M. P. Mitchell, and Joe Burkhardt of Eldon. Recorded on March 15, 1950.

AFS 10,803-10,825: Twenty-three 10-inch tapes of folklore and folk music of Arkansas and Missouri. Recorded in 1950 by Merlin Mitchell for the University of Arkansas.

AFS 10,806B1-2: One 10-inch tape which includes a fragment of a Civil War song about a game of euchre, and the account of a baby found on Wilson's Creek Battlefield; told and sung by Mrs. J. T. Davidson of Elkins. Recorded on July 20, 1950.

AFS 10,808A-10,809B; 10,810B: Three 10-inch tapes containing forty-two songs and instrumentals performed by various persons in Golden City, Reed Springs, Galena, Lampia, and Springfield. Recorded in July and September 1950.

AFS 10,813B: One 10-inch tape containing ten songs sung by Opal Donahue of Galena. Recorded on December 10, 1950.

AFS 10,814A: One 10-inch tape containing thirteen examples of songs, fiddle tunes, and square dancing in Reeds Springs, Galena, and Crane. Recorded December 10-11, 1950.

AFS 11,869-11,878: Ten 10-inch tapes containing Missouri Ozark songs, lore, and hymns. Includes Anglo-American ballads, Sacred Harp and other shape-note singing, tales, and songs by May Kennedy McCord, fiddle tunes, and recordings from the Sheperd of the Hills Folk Festival in Notch, MO (May 22, 1960), and the National Folk Festival in St. Louis in 1953. Recorded by Sherman Lee Pompey.

AFS 11,887-11,910: Twenty-four 10-inch tapes containing folklore and folk music from Arkansas and Missouri. Recorded by Mary C. Parler for the University of Arkansas.

AFS 11,897A18-20: One 10-inch tape containing three songs by Mrs. Ruby Rubow of Seligman. Recorded on November 20, 1954.

AFS 11,899B19-20: One 10-inch tape containing two songs performed by Walter Vaughan of Springfield. Recorded on April 6, 1958.

AFS 11,902B: One 10-inch which includes fifteen songs sung by Mr. J. W. Breazeal of Springfield, with an account of his personal history; and three songs sung by Mrs. Emma Jean Bushong and Mrs. Verda Faye Hamilton of Gainesville. Recorded on April 27 and 29, 1958.

AFS 11,903A10-19; B4-6, 8-11: One 10-inch tape containing seventeen songs performed by various persons from Springfield, Gainesville, Walnut Shade, and Forsyth. Recorded June-July 1958.

AFS 11,904A16-22: One 10-inch tape containing seven songs and poems performed by T. R. Hammond of Osceola. Recorded on September 17, 1958.

AFS 11,904B4-7, 9-19: One 10-inch tape containing fifteen songs performed by May Kennedy McCord of Springfield, Mrs. Olive Coberly of Hickory County, and Rev. Harold E. Hunter of El Dorado Springs, MO. Recorded September-October 1958.

AFS 11,905A9-16, 21-23: One 10-inch tape containing eleven songs performed by C. W. Ingenthorn of Walnut Shade and Mrs. Olive Coberly of Hickory County. Recorded on November 19, 1958 and May 12, 1959.

AFS 12,034-12,051: Eighteen 10-inch tapes containing folklore and folk music from Arkansas and Missouri. Recorded by Mary C. Parler for the University of Arkansas in 1959.

AFS 12,046B17, 20-22; 12,047A1-5, 7, 10-14, 16-27; B1-4: Two 10-inch tapes which include thirty-one songs and instrumentals performed by Mrs. Olive Coberly of Hickory County, Mr. And Mrs. George Ripley of Milford, Mr. Harry Bennett of Wheatland, and Mr. Herbert Philbrick of Crocker; Mr. Philbrick is also interviewed. Recorded September-December 1959.

AFS 12,048A2-4, 9-14, 18, 20-21, 25: One 10-inch tape containing thirteen songs performed by Mrs. Olive Coberly of Hickory County, Mr. Walter Vaughan of Springfield, and Mrs. Cobain of Elkton. (Partially dubbed from the Max Hunter collection.) Recorded on July 29, 1959.

AFS 13,125-13,146: Twenty-two 10-inch tapes containing folk music from Arkansas and Missouri. Recorded by Mary C. Parler and others for the University of Arkansas.

AFS 13,126A: One 10-inch tape containing twenty-nine songs, anecdotes, tales, and banjo tunes from the towns of Neosho and Goodman. Recorded in January 1965 by Doug Dunham.

AFS 13,140B12-13; 13,141A8-9: Two 10-inch tapes containing four songs performed by Rita Smith and Marilyn McNabb of Seligman, Leslie Sharpe of St. Louis, and Mary Frances Weaver of Crane. Recorded on October 26, 1963, and January 11, 1964, by Mary Shand.

AFS 14,204-14,216: Thirteen 10-inch tapes containing the music of various singers from North Carolina, Tennessee, Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Vermont, Connecticut, New Brunswick, and Indiana. Recorded 1958-1969 by Sandy Paton and Lee Haggerty for Folk-Legacy Records.

AFS 14,209B2-14,210B1: Two 10-inch tapes containing twenty-six songs performed by Max Hunter of Springfield. Recorded in November 1962 by Sandy Paton.

AFS 14,253A5-7, 10-12, 16-22: One 10-inch tape containing folk music from Arkansas and Missouri, including ten songs performed by W. H. Shelley of Cabool, Ethel Hunter of Springfield, Mrs. Ed Newton of Gainesville, and Mrs. "Iva" Haslett of West Plains. Recorded May-June 1958 by Mary C. Parler for the University of Arkansas.

AFS 14,302B1-2: One 10-inch tape containing folksongs of the Ozarks sung by Max Hunter of Springfield, including two collected from Loman Cansler of Parkville. Recorded on October 18, 1957, by Max Hunter.

AFS 14,427A17, 22-24, 34-35: One 10-inch tape containing songs of the Ozarks, including six songs sung by Max Hunter, Clyde "Slim" Wilson, and Walter Vaughan in Springfield. Recorded in 1958 by Max Hunter.

AFS 14,601A30-36: One 10-inch tape containing folk music from Arkansas and Missouri, including seven songs sung by Palmer Hill of Springfield. Recorded on January 2, 1959, by Mary C. Parler for the University of Arkansas.

AFS 14,626-14,628: Three 10-inch tapes containing songs from the Ozarks including sixty songs from the Missouri towns of Springfield, Rolla, Forsyth, Gainesville, and West Plains, performed by various persons. Recorded April-July 1958 by Max Hunter.

AFS 16,984-16,994: Eleven 10-inch tapes containing fiddle tunes recorded in 1973 by Chris Delaney in Arkansas, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and West Virginia.

AFS 16,987A19-16,988A15; 16,988B-16,989A: Three 10-inch tapes containing one hundred fourteen tunes performed on fiddle, banjo, and guitar by various persons from the towns of Ludlow, Harrisburg, Columbia, and Filmore, MO.

AFS 17,027-17,028: Two 10-inch tapes containing fiddle tunes played by R. P. Christeson of Auxvasse and Mr. And Mrs. Nolan Boone of Mexico, MO, accompanied by piano, guitar, and bass guitar. Recorded at a reception in Columbia on January 18, 1974, honoring the publication of Christeson's book, The Old Time Fiddler's Repertory by the University of Missouri Press.

AFS 17,507: One 10-inch tape containing excerpts from the 18th Annual National Folk Festival in St. Louis. Recorded May 15-17, 1952, by the Voice of America. Probably contains some Missouri examples.

AFS 17,508-17,509: Two 10-inch tapes containing excerpts from the National Folk Festival in St. Louis. Recorded April 7-10, 1954, by the Voice of America.

AFS 17,508A6-7: Two songs performed by May Kennedy McCord of Springfield.

AFS 17,508A11: Square dance with clogging performed by the Ozark Ramblers and the Dixie Square Dance Team of Dixon.

AFS 17,508A12: Three jig dances performed by "Ozark Jim" Von Gremp and his son of Camdenton.

AFS 17,508B4-5: Two game songs performed by the children of Antonio Consolidated School of Crystal City.

AFS 17,509A1-13: German dance tunes and processions performed by Fritz Thiessen and the Rhineland Wurst Jagers of Rhineland.

AFS 17,509A16: "Tinikling," a Phillipine dance performed by Filipino physicians and nurses from St. Anthony's Hospital in St. Louis.

AFS 17,509B4: "Czardas," the national dance of Hungary, performed by the Hungarian Hall Dancers of St. Louis.

AFS 17,509B5: "Levantine Wedding Festival," performed by members of the Young Men's Harikuda Association, a part of the Jewish Community Centers Association of St. Louis.

AFS 18,711: One 10-inch tape of Sterling Kelley playing on the leaf and bones, and describing his techniques. Recorded in Columbia in January 1976 by James Kearnes.

AFS 19,341: One 10-inch tape containing fiddle tunes performed by various Midwest fiddlers, most of them from Missouri. Included are nineteen fiddle tunes performed by Cleo Persinger of Columbia, Cyril Stennet of the town of Oregon, Ed Davis of Kansas City, Lyman Enloe of Raytown, Pete McMahon of Harrisburg, and Henry Wells of Fayette. Recorded ca. 1965 by Jake Hughes of Ludlow.

AFS 19,844-19,873: Thirty 10-inch tapes containing performances from the 1972 National Folk Festival at Wolf Trap Farm Park in Vienna, VA. Recorded July 27-30, 1972, by the National Folk Festival Association.

AFS 19,845A1-9; 19,849A1-8: Roosevelt Sykes of St. Louis singing the blues and accompanying himself on the piano.

AFS 19,849A9-11; 19,866A20-26; 19,867A1-2: Henry Townsend of St. Louis singing the blues and accompanying himself on the piano and guitar.

AFS 19,883: One 10-inch tape containing fifteen songs performed by May Kennedy McCord of Springfield. Recorded on April 22, 1963, by George Armstrong.

AFS 20,504-20,507: Four 10-inch tapes duplicating eighty-seven wax cylinders containing Missouri-French songs from the counties of Jefferson, Ste. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, and Washington. Recorded ca. 1920-1930 by Professor Joseph Médard Carrière of Northwestern University, and loaned by the Center for Acadian and Creole Folklore at the University of Southwestern Louisiana.