home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> topical
guides
Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture
MEXICAN-AMERICAN FOLKSONG AND MUSIC
ON FIELD RECORDINGS IN
THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULURE
Compiled by: Katherine W. Johnston
Series Editor: Joseph C.
Hickerson
Publication Date: November 1978
For additional information about Archive
of Folk Culture collections, contact the Folklife
Reading Room. To request copies, see our webpages regarding audio
materials and photographic materials.
Please refer to the AFC and/or AFS numbers when requesting information.
All indications of time duration listed in this finding aid are estimates.
AFS 1-10, 84: Eleven discs recorded by John A. and Alan Lomax
in Texas, 1934.
AFS 560-562, 564-566, 568, 571-574, 581-582, 585-593, 607, 609,
624-639, 663, 666-667, 675-678: Forty-seven discs recorded by
John A. and Alan Lomax in Texas, 1936.
AFS 3316, 3318, 3321, 3333: Four discs recorded by Margaret
Valiant in the Southwest, 1939.
AFS 3809, 3825, 3830, 3832-3833, 3836-3839, 3879-3885, 3889: Seventeen
discs recorded by Mrs. Sidney Robertson Cowell in California for the
University of California and the Archive of Folk Song under the WPA,
1938-39.
AFS 3905-3940: Thirty-six discs recorded by Juan B. Rael in
Colorado and New Mexico, 1940.
AFS 3962-3963, 3965-3967: Five discs recorded by John A. and
Ruby T. Lomax in Texas, 1940.
AFS 4194-4325: One hundred thirty-two discs recorded by Sidney
Robertson Cowell in California for the University of California and
the Archive of Folk Song under the WPA, 1940. Includes some Mexican-American
selections.
AFS 5145-5146: Two discs recorded by Charles Todd and Robert
Sonkin of migrant workers in California, 1941.
AFS 5620, 5625-5629, 5631-5636: Twelve discs recorded by John
A. Lomax in Texas, 1941.
AFS 6144-6151: Eight discs recorded by J. D. Robb in New Mexico,
1942, 1944.
AFS 6742-6766: Twenty-five discs recorded by Brownie McNeil
in southern Texas, 1942.
AFS 8018-8023: Six discs recorded by Charles Seeger of Mexican
workers in a Pennsylvania Railroad camp, Maryland, 1948.
AFS 9300-9306, 9313-9323, 9329-9330, 9345-9348: Twenty-three
discs recorded by Frances Gillmor for the University of Arizona Recording
Project, 1948.
AFS 9612-9616, 9626-9627: Seven discs recorded by J. D. Robb
for the University of New Mexico Recording Project, 1949-1950.
AFS 9629-9658, 10,119-10,131: Forty-three discs recorded by
Arthur L. Campa for the University of New Mexico Recording Project,
1950.
AFS 11,307-11,309, 11,338, 11,340: Five 10-inch tapes recorded
by Sidney Robertson Cowell in California, ca. 1957-1958.
AFS 11,861: One 10-inch tape recorded by Wayland D. Hand and
students in California for the U.C.L.A. Recording Project, 1960.
AFS 12,336, 12,338-12,339: Three 7-inch tapes recorded by J.
D. Robb in New Mexico and Arizona, 1950's.
AFS 14,015: One 3-inch tape recorded by Mrs. T. A. Mitchell
in Texas for the National Federation of Music Clubs, 1962.
AFS 15,459-15,523: Sixty-three 7-inch tapes and two 5-inch
tapes recorded by J. D. Robb, primarily in New Mexico, 1939-1972, including
a large number of Mexican-American songs.
AFS 17,114: One 10-inch tape of migrant worker songs from California
recorded by Mike Heisley, Joseph C. Hickerson, Robert B. Carneal, John
E. Howell, and Ed Tittel at the Library of Congress, 1974.
AFS 17,607: One 10-inch tape recorded by Judy Crane for the
College of Idaho Folklore Archive, 1971.
AFS 18,712-18,721: Ten 7-inch tapes recorded at the San Diego
Folk Festival, April 16-20, 1975. Includes some Mexican-American selections.
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top