Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

HAWAII COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 2003

Compiled by: Theresa Anne J. Sotto
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: June 2004; Web Revision: December 2005
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 37
ISSN 0736-4903

Sound Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 759-773: Helen H. Roberts American Indian and Pacific Island Recordings Collection
Fifteen discs of Hawaiian songs originally recorded on 65 wax cylinders on the island of Hawaii, by Helen H. Roberts, 1923. The cylinder recording project was sponsored by the Hawaiian Legend and Folklore Commission. The collection includes 1/4 linear inch of correspondence and song lists, and is accompanied by the Helen H. Roberts Manuscript Collection (see entry under Manuscript Collection). (2 hours and 13 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 53B-55A)

AFS 9037-9048: Hilda Curry / Royal Hawaiian Music
Twelve 12-inch discs of Hawaiian music, including songs performed by Ka’ai Kalikoa, James Ka’uiki, Ben Keliikoa, Clem Kupanihi, the Royal Hawaiian Troubadors, and Louis Thompson. Recorded ca. 1905 and produced by the American Record Company. The collection includes 20 pages of correspondence and logs. (48 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 178B)

AFS 11,007-11,299: Helen Roberts Collection
One hundred and sixty-seven 12-inch, 79 10-inch, 40 8-inch, and 7 7-inch discs of songs from Australia, California, China, Hawaii, Mexico, the South Pacific Islands, and Tahiti; and of North American Indians. Recorded by various collectors, including Berthold Laufer, Carl Lumholtz, and C. E. Schaeffer, ca. 1898-1934. The collection includes 25 pages of correspondence and song lists, and is accompanied by the Helen H. Roberts Manuscript Collection (see entry under Manuscript Collection).

AFS 11,007-11,008: Two discs containing Hawaiian chants and music recorded on the islands of Kauai, Maui, and Oahu, Hawaii, by Helen Roberts, ca. 1923-24. (23 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 359A)

AFS 11,056-11,061: Six discs containing 30 Hawaiian songs recorded in Hawaii by J. P. Kuluwaimaka, ca. 1923-24. Collected by Kenneth P. Emory for the Bishop Museum, Honolulu, Hawaii. (1 hour and 6 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 363B-364A)

AFS 11,759-11,782: American Record Company / Royal Hawaiian Troubadours
Twenty-four 10-inch discs of Hawaiian folk music performed by the Royal Hawaiian Troubadors with various musicians. Recorded in 1905 and produced by the American Record Company. The collection includes 3/8 linear inch of correspondence, logs, and photocopies of discs displaying the production company name and location. (1 hour and 28 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 387B-388A)

AFS 17,985: Clara E. Heywood Singing
One audiocassette of “Oh Where is the Girl That’ll Go Out West With Me?” sung by Clara E. Heywood as she learned it as a child in Wyoming. Recorded in Honolulu, Hawaii, by Mrs. Heywood, May 20, 1975. The collection includes 5 pages of correspondence and song lyrics. (3 minutes; LWO 8788)

AFS 18,000-18,001: Pekka Gronow and Richard K. Spottwood / Commercial 78 rpm International Music Collection
Two 7-inch tapes of dance tunes, humor, music, and songs dubbed from 78 rpm commercial recordings from Armenia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hawaii, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine, and Yugoslavia. Recorded in various locations around the world by various collectors, 1900s-1950s. Compiled by Pekka Gronow and Richard K. Spottswood. The collection includes 31 pages of correspondence, notes, and song lists.

AFS 18,000B1-2: One tape containing “Hula Medley” and “Cunha Medley,” and 2 instrumental pieces played on various brass and other instruments by Pale K. Lua and David Kaili of the Irene West Royal Hawaiians. Recorded in an unknown location on the Victor label, late 1910s. (16 minutes; LWO 8858 reel 1)

AFS 18,102-18,468: Laura Boulton Collection Part 23: Africa, Europe, Far East, Latin America, etc.
One 3-inch tape, 22 5-inch tapes, and 344 7-inch tapes of folk and other music recorded in Africa, Far East, Southeast Asia, Middle East, Near East, Europe, Latin America, South America, and North America, by Laura Boulton, 1949-1971. The collection includes 1/4 linear inch of tape logs. This is part 23 (Acetate Tapes, 1949-1962) of the Laura Boulton Collection.

AFS 18,148: One tape of 2 talks. Recorded in Hawaii by Laura Boulton, 1949. (3 minutes; preservation tape copy on LWO 8949 reel 10A2)

AFS 18,474-18,706: Blanton Owen and Tom Carter Appalachian Music and Interviews
Two hundred and thirty-two 7-inch tapes and 1 5-inch tape of instrumental and vocal country music, and interviews; several items dubbed from earlier commercial broadcasts and home recordings. Recorded in Virginia and North Carolina by Blanton Owen and Tom Carter, 1973-1974. The collection includes 1 1/4 linear inches of detailed song lists.

AFS 18,678: One 7-inch tape containing country songs and tunes about Hawaii, including discussions about the Hawaiian steel guitar, sung and played on electric Hawaiian steel guitar by Ben Dalton and on “straight guitar” by Tom Carter. Recorded in Floyd, Virginia, by Tom Carter, March 23, 1974. (30 minutes; LWO 9087 reel 205)

AFS 19,922-19,957: American Folklore Genres Lectures
Thirty-six audiocassettes of 24 lectures on various genres of American folklore delivered by various folklorists. Produced as part of the American Folklore Series by Everett / Edwards, Inc., 1979. The collection includes a 3-page tape log with the title of each lecture.

AFS 19,940: One audiocassette containing a lecture on Hawaiian folklore presented by Katharine Luomala. (39 minutes; LWO 15,729 reel 19)

AFS 22,567-22,572: KCCN Hawaiian Radio / Bank of Hawaii Heritage Series Collection, Part I
Six 7-inch tapes of 12 radio broadcasts including interviews and music that explore the history, development, and influences of Hawaiian music. Broadcast on KCCN Hawaiian Radio, Honolulu, Hawaii, 1982-1983. The collection includes 10 pages of background information, a concordance, correspondence, and notes. (see also: AFS 24,222-24,233 and AFC 1987/008). (12 hours; RXA 3732-3737)

AFS 23,719: Connie Goldman / "Horizons: The Grand Generation Collection
One audiocassette of a radio program entitled "Horizons: The Grand Generation," written by Connie Goldman and John Weber, and produced by Goldman and National Public Radio. The program includes performances and interviews with elderly artists from Alaska; Hawaii, Michigan, North Carolina, Ontario (Canada), and Virginia; including an interview with Kaui Zuttermeister, a hula dancer from Oahu, Hawaii. The interview includes some dance chant with drum accompaniment and comments by either her daughter Noe Noe Lani Lewis or granddaughter Hauoliaonalani Lewis. Also includes commentary by Professor Gene Bluestein from California State University at Fresno. Recorded in Washington, D.C., by Connie Goldman at the Smithsonian Institution’s 1984 Festival of American Folklife. The collection includes 9 pages of background information, correspondence, and notes. (29 minutes; RYA 4724)

AFS 24,222-24,233: KCCN Hawaiian Radio / Bank of Hawaii Heritage Series Collection, Part II
Twelve 10-inch tapes of 23 radio broadcasts, including performances and interviews of performers exploring the history, development, and influences of traditional and popular Hawaiian music. Interviews were conducted by producer Phill Upton and host Jacqueline Leilani (“Honolulu Skylark”). Broadcast on KCCN Hawaiian Radio, Honolulu, Hawaii, 1984-1985. The collection includes 42 pages of correspondence, background information, notes, and press releases. (see also: 22,567-22,572 and AFC 1987/008). (24 hours; RWB 2928-2939)

AFC 1987/008: KCCN Hawaiian Radio / Bank of Hawaii Heritage Series Collection, Part III
Six audiocassettes of radio broadcasts of interviews about the activities and history of Hawaiian civic clubs and personal experiences making and selling leis, composing and singing Hawaiian music, and translating the Kumulipo (Hawaiian Creation Chant). Features Loyal Garner, Frank Kawai Kapao'kailaney [Frank Hewett], Ruballite Kawena Johnson, Brenda and Sweetheart Lao, members of the Association of Hawaiian Civic Clubs, Haunani Apoliona, and George Paoa. Broadcast on KCCN Hawaiian Radio, Honolulu, Hawaii, 1986-1987. The collection includes twenty-one pages of correspondence and logs. (See also: 22,567-22,572 and AFS 24,222-24,233). (9 hours and 30 minutes)

AFC 1991/028: Na Mele Paniolo: Songs of Hawaiian Cowboys Collection
Twenty-two 7-inch tapes and 2 commercial audiocassettes entitled “Na Mele Paniolo: Songs of Hawaiian Cowboys,” of Hawaiian chants and music from ranching areas, including music played on Hawaiian slack key guitar and paniolo music. Recorded in the field and in the studio on the islands of Hawaii, Kauai, Maui, Molokai, and Oahu by Lynn Martin and Ric Trimillos, 1986-1987. Sponsored by the Hawai'i State Foundation on Culture and the Arts, Folk Arts Program. The collection includes 3/8 linear inch of 6 black-and-white photographs of Hawaiian musicians during recording sessions by the State Foundation on Culture and the Arts, release forms, tape logs, and 2 50-page booklets accompanying “Na Mele Paniolo” containing background information, English translations, liner notes, and song lyrics. (13 hours)

AFC 1996/077: Dennis Ladd / Hawaiian LP Discography Collection
One 532-page manuscript entitled "Index to Hawaiian Songs on Albums Indexed by Title, Composer, and Performer," compiled by Dennis Ladd. The list includes LPs from the beginning of the LP-era (ca. 1950) through 1988.

AFC 2000/001: Local Legacies Collection
Four hundred and five linear feet (approximately 90,000 manuscript pages, 500 sound recordings, 13,000 graphic materials, 350 electronic media, and 75 artifacts) of documentation of local festivals, fairs, parades, and other community-based events from each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and trusts. The Local Legacies Collection was donated through the efforts of individuals, organizations, and institutions asked to participate by members of Congress. This project was part of the Library of Congress Bicentennial celebration in the year 2000. An online presentation of this collection, entitled Community Roots, is available on the Web. The following is a list of Local Legacies projects from Hawaii:

Senator Daniel K. Inouye, Senator Daniel K. Akaka, Representative Neil Abercrombie (1st District), and Representative Patsy T. Mink (2nd District): King Kamehameha Celebration; Royal Hawaiian Band; Portuguese Holy Ghost Festival and Traditional Practices; The Obon in Hawai'i Kailua; Fourth of July Parade; Ching Ming Tradition in Hawai'i; Traditions in the Filipino Plantation Community of 'Ewa; Kapa (Traditional Hawaiian Bark Cloth Production and Design); Okinawan Festival; Hawaiian Canoe; Aloha Festivals; Prince Lot Hula Festival; Polynesian Voyaging Society.

Helen H. Roberts Manuscript Collection: Thirty-two linear inches of correspondence, fieldnotes, lecture notes, manuscripts, musical transcriptions, notebooks, photographs, published papers, record jackets, song lists, song texts, and tape boxes related to American Indian basketry collected 1916-1919 and music of various cultures and locations, including the following: California Indian tribes (collected at the Round Valley Indian Reservation in California, 1926); the Copper Eskimos, the Karuk Indian tribe, and the K!onomihu Indian tribe (collected at Somes’ Bar and Orleans’ Bar, California, 1921-1928); the Hawaiian islands (collected in Hawaii, 1923-1924); Jamaica (collected at Brown’s Town, Lacovia, and Maroon Town in Jamaica, 1920-1921); Laguna and Zuni (collected in 1923); the Nootka Indians (collected at western Vancouver Island, Canada); Picuris Pueblo (collected in Picuris Pueblo, New Mexico, by John P. Harrington, 1918); Puerto Rico; the Puget Sound Salish (collected in the Puget Sound, Washington by Herman K. Haeberlin, 1916); Southern California Indian tribes (collected in 1926); Tachi Yokuts (collected at Lemoore, California, 1922); and Tahiti (collected c. 1932).

Box 5 (HI51-HI73): Three linear inches of fieldnotes, correspondence, maps, transcribed musical scales, manuscripts, and miscellany related to Hawaiian music. Collected principally in Hawaii, including the city of Honolulu and the islands of Kauai, Maui, and Oahu, 1923-26. Donated by Helen H. Roberts and the School of American Research. (Manuscripts correspond to AFS 751-819 and AFS 11,007-11,299)