Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

DELAWARE COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Breanna Byecroft, Rachel Hall, and Judy Ng
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: February 2006
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 40
ISSN 0736-4903

MULTIFORMAT COLLECTIONS

AFS 9829-9868: National Folk Festival, 1938
Thirty-nine 16-inch discs and 1 12-inch disc of dances, instrumentals, lectures, radio programs, songs, and stories, recorded primarily at the National Folk Festival, Washington, D.C., by the U.S. Recording Company, May 6-8, 1938. The collection includes 35 pages of track lists.

AFS 9859B: One disc containing 2 square dances with fiddle and banjo performed by a group led by Chris Sanderson from Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, and a dance group led by Mr. and Mrs. C.C. West possibly of Delmar, Delaware. Recorded at the National Folk Festival in Washington, D.C., May 1938. (12 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 270A)

AFS 14,167: Bailey Brothers and the Happy Valley Gang Collection
One 7-inch tape of 12 songs performed by the Bailey Brothers and the Happy Valley Gang from Wilmington, Delaware. Originally recorded on the Canary, Rich-R-Tone, and WWVA labels, 1948-1954. The collection includes 1 page of song titles. (34 minutes; LWO 5845)

AFS 17,031: Gerald E. Parsons Jr. Riddling Session
One 10-inch tape of a riddling session with unidentified informants. Recorded in Wilmington, Delaware, by Gerald E. Parsons, Jr., February 1, 1971. The collection includes a 1-page log. (1 hour and 5 minutes; LWO 7890)

AFS 18,725-18,731; 18,943-18,944: Frank Hovington Recordings
Nine 7-inch tapes of 25 songs and an interview with Frank Hovington. Recorded in Frederica, Delaware, by Bruce Bastin and Richard K. Spottswood, July 1975. The collection includes 7 pages of song titles. (4 hours and 45 minutes; LWO 9103; LWO 9402)

AFS 22,196: Alan Jabbour / 1977 Winterthur Conference Collection
One audiocassette of a lecture given by Alan Jabbour entitled "Folklife and Creative Federalism." Recorded at the Conference on American Folk Art held at the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum near Wilmington, Delaware, November 10-12, 1977. (1 hour and 8 minutes; RYA 2544)

AFC 1941/009: Radio Research Project / Delaware and Maryland Recordings
Twenty-three 12-inch discs of approximately 50 songs and harmonica tunes and 10 interviews, recorded in various locations in Delaware and Maryland, June 1941, by Jerome Wiesner, Joseph Liss, and Glenn Gildersleeve. The collection includes 4 pages of logs.

AFS 4709-4720A3: Twelve discs containing interviews, fiddle tunes, and songs recorded in Georgetown, Hartley, Little Creek, and Smyrna, Delaware. (1 hour and 30 minutes; LWO 4872 reels 325B-326A)

AFS 4721B-4731B1: Twelve discs containing interviews fiddle tunes, and songs recorded in Dover, Seaford, and Wilmington, Delaware. (2 hours; LWO 4872 reels 326B-327)

AFC 1973/021: Gary Henderson Interview of Charlie Bailey
One 7-inch tape of an interview with Charlie Bailey of the Bailey Brothers bluegrass band. Recorded in Wilmington, Delaware, by Gary Henderson, Oct. 14, 1970. The collection includes a log. (50 minutes; AFS 15,658; LWO 7445)

AFC 1977/003: 1977 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Sixteen 10-inch tapes, 358 black-and-white photos, 48 color slides, and one linear inch of manuscript materials from the 1977 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. Recorded at the Library of Congress, April-October 1977. [finding aid]

The following lists materials from the June 8, 1977, performance of the Southern Mountain Boys (of Delaware).

AFC 1977/003:Folder 10: Six concert fliers.

AFC 1977/003:[no item number]: Three 10-inch tapes of the concert. (1 hour and 33 minutes; LWO 9546 reels1-3)

AFC 2000/001: Local Legacies Collection
Four hundred and five linear feet (approximately 90,000 manuscript pages, 475 sound recordings, 13,000 graphic materials, 330 electronic media, and 75 artifacts) of documentation of local festivals, fairs, parades, and other community-based events from each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and trusts. The Local Legacies Collection was donated through the efforts of individuals, organizations, and institutions asked to participate by members of Congress. This project was part of the Library of Congress Bicentennial celebration in the year 2000. [online presentation]

Senator William V. Roth, Jr.: St. Anthony of Padua Feast Day Procession (Wilmington); Festival Hispano (Georgetown); Delaware Saengerbund Oktoberfest (Wilmington's Schuetzen Park); Holy Trinity Greek Festival (Wilmington).

Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr.: Return Day (Georgetown).
Representative Michael N. Castle: Georgetown Volunteer Fire Company's Annual Oyster Eat.