home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1984 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1984/007
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1984 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1984 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between May
and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts
indoors. The 1984 series was produced with the assistance of the National
Council for the Traditional Arts.
The 1984 season consisted of the following:
| May 4 |
Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, OH (Bluegrass) |
| June 14 |
Flora Molton and Archie Edwards, DC (Blues) |
| July 12 |
Ganga, DC (East Indian) |
| August 9 |
Veltones, DC (Urban Black Doo-Wop) |
| August 16 |
Sankyoku-The Washington Toho Koto Society, DC (Japanese) |
| September 13 |
Yomo Toro, DC (Puerto Rican) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: Bengali, English, Japanese, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 4 10" DT mono reels |
RWA 7311-12
RWA 7352-53 |
| 6 10" DT stereo reels |
AFS 24,367;
RWA 7808
RWA 7815-16
RWA 7845-46
RWA 7847 |
| 2 60 minute audiocassettes |
Listening copies of
RWA 7815-16 |
| Graphic Materials |
| 184 b&w negatives 6 b&w contact sheets 2
8x10 b&w photoprints 2 7x9 b&w photoprints 2 5x7 b&w photoprints 129
color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document) and an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, 5-4-84.
Identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 5
|
Flora Molton and Archie Edwards, 6-14-84.
Concert flier, press release, news clippings and identification of
people in photographs.
|
Folder 7
|
Ganga, 7-12-84. Concert fliers, press
releases, news clippings, concert program and identification of people
in photographs.
|
Folder 9
|
Veltones, 8-9-84. Concert fliers,
press releases, news clippings and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 11
|
Sankyoku-The Washington Toho Koto
Society, 8-16- 84. Concert flier, press releases, news clippings,
concert program, identification of people in photos on contact sheet,
and correspondence.
|
Folder 13
|
Yomo Toro, 9-13-84. Concert fliers,
press releases, news clippings and identification of people in photographs.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
RWA 7311-12
|
Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, 5-4-84.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 7352-53
|
Flora Molton and Archie Edwards, 6-14-84.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
AFS 24,367
|
Ganga, 7-12-84. One 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips. RWA 7808.
|
RWA 7815-16
|
Veltones, 8-9-84. Two 10" inch DT
stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available in the Folklife
Reading Room.
|
RWA 7845-46
|
Sankyoku-The Washington Toho Koto
Society, 8-16-84. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 7847
|
Yomo Toro, 9-13-84. One 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, 5-4-84. One sheet of
black and white 35 mm (35 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 2 |
Flora Molton and Archie Edwards, 6-14-84. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (7 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 5 |
Ganga, 7-12-84. One sheet of black and white 35 mm
(34 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 8 |
Veltones, 8-9-84. One sheet of black and white 35 mm
(36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 11 |
Sankyoku-The Washington Toho Koto Society, 8- 16-84.
One sheet of black and white 35 mm (16 images). Photographed by John
T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 14 |
Yomo Toro, 9-13-84. One sheet of black and white 35
mm (36 images). Photographed by Reid S. Baker. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 3-4 |
Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, 5-4-84. One black and
white 35 mm contact sheet (35 images photographed by John T. Gibbs)
and one 7 x 9 black and white photoprint and duplicate (photographer
unknown). |
| Folder 6 |
Flora Molton and Archie Edwards, 6-14-84. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (27 images). Photographed by John T.
Gibbs. |
| Folder 8 |
Ganga, 7-12-84. One black and white 35 mm contact sheet
(34 images) and one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint. Photographed
by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 10 |
Veltones, 8-9-84. One black and white 35 mm contact
sheet (36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 12 |
Sankyoku-The Washington Toho Koto Society, 8- 16-84.
One black and white contact sheet (16 images) and a duplicate sheet.
Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 14 |
Yomo Toro, 9-13-84. One black and white contact sheet
(36 images) and two 5 x 7 black and white photoprints. Photogrpahed
by Reid S. Baker. |
| Color slides |
| Envelope 3-4 |
Flora Molton and Archie Edwards, 6-14-84. Two trays
containing a total of 31. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 6-7 |
Ganga, 7-12-84. Two trays containing a total of 28.
Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 9-10 |
Veltones, 8-9-84. Two trays containing a total of 37.
Photographed by Reid S. Baker. |
| Envelopes 12-13 |
Sankyoku-The Washington Toho Koto Society, 8- 16-84.
Three trays containing a total of 33. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 15-16 |
Sankyoku-The Washington Toho Koto Society, 8- 16-84.
Three trays containing a total of 33. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top