home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1979 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1979/006
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1979 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1979 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April
and September. The 1979 series was produced with the assistance of the
National Council for the Traditional Arts.
The 1979 season consisted of the following:
| April 27 |
Don Stover, MD (Country)* |
| May 31 |
Eugene O'Donnell and Mick Moloney, PA (Irish) |
| June 28 |
Hazel Dickens and Don Stover, DC (Country) |
| August 30 |
Melecio Martinez, IL (Mexican) |
| September 27 |
Burke Family, MD (Gospel) |
*Concert cancelled due to inclement weather. Instead, an interview with
Stover was audio-recorded.
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: Cajun French, English, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 9 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
LWO 12,798
LWO 12,835
LWO 12,876-77
LWO 12,945-46
LWO 12,991
AFS 19,822-23;
LWO 15,588-89 |
| 1 10" DT stereo reel at 7.5 ips |
LWO 12,835 |
| Graphic Materials |
303 b&w negatives
11 b&w contact sheets
3 8x10 b&w photoprints
4 6x9 b&w photoprints
1 6x9 color photoprint
151 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture administration.
The collection guide (this document), and an article about the concert
series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Don Stover Interview, 4-27-79. Flier,
news clippings, and identification of people in photos on contact
sheets.
|
Folder 4
|
Eugene O'Donnell and Mick Moloney,
5-31-79. News clippings.
|
Folder 6
|
Hazel Dickens and Don Stover, 6-28-79.
News clippings.
|
Folder 8
|
Louisiana Aces, 7-26-79. News clippings
and identification of people in photos on contact sheet.
|
Folder 10
|
Melecio Martinez, 8-30-79. Flier,
press releases, news clippings, photocopy of resume of Martinez,
seating chart and list of guests at the box lunch at the concert,
and photo credits.
|
Folder 12
|
Burke Family, 9-27-79. News clippings,
press releases, and photo credits.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
LWO 12,798
|
Don Stover Interview, 4-27-79. One
10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 12,835
|
Eugene O'Donnell and Mick Moloney,
5-31-79. One 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips and one 10" stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 12,876-77
|
Hazel Dickens and Don Stover, 6-28-79.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 12,945-46
|
Louisiana Aces, 7-26-79. Two 10" DT
mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 12,991
|
Melecio Martinez, 8-30-79. One 10" inch
DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
AFS 19,822-23
|
Burke Family, 9-27-79. Two 10" DT
mono at 7.5 ips. LWO 15,588-89; AFS 19,822-23.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Don Stover Interview, 4-27-79. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by Howard W. Marshall. |
| Envelope 2 |
Eugene O'Donnell and Mick Moloney, 5-31-79. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (31 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 5 |
Hazel Dickens and Don Stover, 6-28-79. Three sheets
of black and white 35 mm (69 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 7 |
Louisiana Aces, 7-26-79. Two sheets of black and white
35 mm (55 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelopes 10-11 |
Melecio Martinez, 8-30-79. Three sheets of black and
white 35 mm (77 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 14 |
Burke Family, 9-27-79. One sheet of black and white
35 mm (35 images). Possibly photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folder 3 |
Don Stover Interview, 4-27-79. One black and white 35
mm contact sheet (36 images) and one black and white 6 x 9 photoprint.
Photographed by Howard W. Marshall. |
| Folder 5 |
Eugene O'Donnell and Mick Moloney, 5-31-79. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (31 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 7 |
Hazel Dickens and Don Stover, 6-28-79. Three black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (69 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 9 |
Louisiana Aces, 7-26-79. Two black and white 35 mm
contact sheets (55 images) and one black and white 6 x 8 photoprint.
Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 11 |
Melecio Martinez, 8-30-79. Three black and white 35
mm contact sheets (77 images) and two 8 x 10 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 13 |
Burke Family, 9-27-79. One black and white 35 mm contact
sheet (35 images), one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint (photographed
by a Republican staff photographer), two 6 x 9 black and white photoprints,
and one 6 x 9 color photoprint (photographer unknown). |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 3-4 |
Eugene O'Donnell and Mick Moloney, 5-31-79. Two holders
containing a total of 30. Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 6 |
Hazel Dickens and Don Stover, 6-28-79. One holder containing
18. Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelopes 8-9 |
Louisiana Aces, 7-26-79. Two holders containing a total
of 38. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 12-13 |
Melecio Martinez, 8-30-79. Two holders containing a
total of 29. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 15-16 |
Burke Family, 9-27-79. Two holders containing a total
of 36. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top