Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture

LOWELL FOLKLIFE PROJECT COLLECTION

AFC 1987/042

Library of Congress, Washington DC
American Folklife Center
September 1997

SUMMARY

The Lowell Folklife Project Collection consists of audio recordings, photographs, manuscript materials, publications, ephemera, and accompanying documentation related to the American Folklife Center's 1987-88 Lowell Folklife Project. In cooperation with the Lowell Historic Preservation Commission, with additional support from the Massachusetts Council on the Arts and Humanities, the Center conducted a year-long research project to document the ethnic and neighborhood traditions of the people of Lowell, Massachusetts. Peter Bartis of the Center was in charge of the project while Douglas DeNatale coordinated the field team. Five folklorists interviewed, photographed, and recorded the people, traditions, and cultural activities of Lowell. The project yielded a collection comprising 27.75 linear feet of materials. The field data were used as the basis for the Center's "Report to the Lowell Historic Preservation Commission," which includes, in part, recommendations for further folklife research and cultural programming in Lowell.

Access and Reproduction: Access to the collection is unrestricted. Reference copies of all sound recordings are available. Duplication of sound recordings may be governed by copyright and other restrictions.

Key Subjects: Library of Congress Subject Headings include: acculturation; Cambodian Americans; community life; community organization; community centers; community development, urban; ethnic architecture; ethnic arts; ethnic attitudes; ethnic neighborhoods; ethnic relations; ethnic festivals; festivals; fishing; folk music; folklife; food habits; French Americans; Greek Americans; group identity; immigration; Irish Americans; Laotian Americans; Lowell (Mass.); Lowell - ethnic relations; manners and customs; marriage customs and rites; neighborhood; oral history; oral tradition; Polish Americans; Portuguese Americans; processions; Puerto-Rican Americans; recreation; religious life; rites and ceremonies; textile industry; urban folklore; urban renewal; Vietnamese Americans. Other subjects not found in LCSH include: belief and behavior systems; domestic and formal religious expression; expressive traditions; family life; neighborhood orientation.

Languages: Cambodian, English, French, Greek, Laotian, Portuguese, Spanish, Vietnamese

Physical Description	Location Numbers
Print Materials
158 folders
Computer Diskettes
14 5 1/4" disks 1 3-1/2-inch disk
Sound Recordings
Total of 196 hours, plus 23 hours copied from original recordings lent by Lowell residents, on reels and cassettes.
90 audiocassettes	LFP-MB-A001 through LFP-MB-A005; LFP-DD-A001 through LFP-DD-A005; LFP-BF-A001 through LFP-BF-A013; LFP-MM-A001 through LFP-MM-A024; LFP-TR-A001 through LFP-TR-A004; LFP-RA-A001 through LFP-RA-A015; LFP-DT-A001 through LFP-DT-A002; LFP-EW-A001 through LFP-EW-A004; LFP-CC-A001 through LFP-CC-A023 (copies of loaned original recordings).
247 7-inch reels	LFP-MB-R001 through LFP-MB-R020; LFP-DD-R001 through LFP-MB-R080; LFP-BF-R001 through LFP-BF-R002; LFP-MM-R001 through LFP-MM-R016; LFP-MN-R001 through LFP-MN-R053; LFP-TR-R001 through LFP-TR-R043; LFP-DT-R001 through LFP-DT-R033.
Graphic Materials
Black-and-White Photographs: ca. 10,000 35mm negatives 487 contact sheets 100 8x10 prints	LFP-JB-B001 through LFP-TR-B487
Color Slides and Photographs: 3490 35mm color slides	LFP-MB-C001 through LFP-MB-C004; LFP-JB-C001 through LFP-JB-C081; LFP-DD-C001 through LFP-DD-C040; LFP-BF-C001; LFP-CF-C001 through LFP-CF-C004; LFP-MM-C001 through LFP-MM-C018; LFP-MN-C001 through LFP-MN-C013; LFP-TR-C001 through LFP-TR-C098; LFP-DT-C001 through LFP-DT-C017; LFP-EW-C001 through LFP-EW-C002.
16 negatives	LFP-TR-C037 through LFP-TR-C052
16 8x10 prints	LFP-TR-C037 through LFP-TR-C052

SCOPE AND CONTENT

The Lowell Folklife Project was conducted in 1987-88 as a cooperative project of the American Folklife Center and the Lowell Historic Preservation Commission, with support from the Massachusetts Council on the Arts and Humanities. The Lowell Historic Preservation Commission, a federal agency charged with telling "the human story of the Industrial Revolution," invited the Center to develop and administer a cultural survey of contemporary ethnic and neighborhood life in Lowell in order to aid the Commission in its planning and programmatic functions, assist the State Heritage Park and National Historical Park in their interpretive programs, and create an archive of documentary materials.

The year-long study yielded an ethnographic collection consisting of 196 hours of sound recordings covering a wide range of subjects and activities, including oral history interviews, religious services, musical events, parades and processions, and neighborhood tours. An additional 23 hours of sound recordings covering musical events and oral history interviews were copied from originals lent by Lowell residents. The photographic materials amassed by the project total approximately 10,000 black-and-white images and 3,500 color slides. In general, these images provide photographic coverage of events also documented on audiotape, but they also document occupational scenes, cultural artifacts, environmental details, and public events that were not conducive to sound recording. Print and manuscript materials amount to 6,750 pages and include fieldnotes, reports, and administrative material. Finally, 15 computer disks, which constitute electronic versions of the manuscript material, and an assortment of ephemera round out the collection.

The large body of information collected on the life and traditions of the people of Lowell served as the basis for "Report to the Lowell Historic Preservation Commission." The report discusses the project's course of development and implementation, briefly surveys the project holdings, reviews cultural issues involved in folklife research and programming in Lowell, and presents a number of recommendations for further research and public programming in Lowell. (A copy of the report is included in the collection).

This multi-format ethnographic collection has been added to the Archive of Folk Culture at the Library of Congress. A reference copy of the collection was given to the Lowell Historic Preservation Commission, which intended to use it as the nucleus for a folklife archive at the Partick J. Mogan Cultural Center.

COLLECTION INVENTORY AND DESCRIPTION

SERIES I: PRINT AND MANUSCRIPT MATERIALS

Location	Contents
Preliminaries
Folder 1	Collection Inventory (this document). 20 pp.
Folder 2	Preliminary Planning Meeting. 6 pp.
Folder 3	Proposal and Budget: two copies with related documents. 30 pp.
Folder 4	Research Plan: drafts and final version, prepared by Douglas DeNatale. 50 pp.
Folder 5	Cultural Maps of Lowell - Project Proposal: draft and completed version of grant application with related correspondence. 14 pp.
Folder 6	Agreement between Library of Congress and Lowell Historic Preservation Commission: three drafts, original signed agreement, and related correspondence. 25 pp.
Folder 7	Lowell Cultural Plan: invitation to unveiling of plan; two copies of published plan; proposal for a cultural plan. 74 pp.
Folder 8	Lowell Historic Preservation Commission - Preservation Plan: drafts and copy of final version of plan; LHPC Bulletin with item about plan. 124 pp.
Folder 9	Congressional hearing on Lowell Historic Preservation Commission Legislation: testimony by Alan Jabbour; statement by Jabbour; copy of notice of passage of legislation in Congressional Record Daily Digest, July 21, 1987; description of hearing; and witness list. 6 pp.
Folder 10	Lowell Historic Preservation Commission Legislation: copies of Act. 4 pp.
Folder 11	Massachusetts Council on the Arts and Humanities: folk arts funding list; definitions and priorities for applicants in folklife and ethnic arts; publication on folklife and ethnic arts. 18 pp.
Folder 12	Patrick J. Mogan Cultural Center: flyers; plan for immigrants exhibit. 37 pp.
Folder 13	Funding for Lowell Folklife Project: schedule of collections; voucher for transfer of funds; fiscal reviews; related correspondence. 16 pp.
Administrative Materials
Folder 14-27	These folders contain contracts, invoices, job announcements, applications, vitae, correspondence, and list of contracted fieldworkers. They are filed with the Center administrative materials.
Correspondence
Folder 28	Bartis, Peter. 32 pp.
Folder 29	DeNatale, Douglas (1987). 108 pp.
Folder 30	DeNatale, Douglas (1988). 137 pp.
Folder 31	Dockstader, Ray; D'Ooge, Craig; Fleischhauer, Carl; Hyde, Phil. 20 pp.
Folder 32	Informants. 33 pp.
Folder 33	Jabbour, Alan; Lueders-Booth, Jack; Marion, Paul. 24 pp.
Folder 34	Matchak, Steve; Rankin, Tom; Wachs, Eleanor. 17 pp.
Folder 35	Miscellaneous. 55 pp.
Folder 36	Norkunas, Martha. 58 pp.
Folder 37	Correspondence - Taylor, David A. 46 pp.
Equipment, Services, and Supplies
Folder 38	Equipment - Computers and Software: invoices; warranties; registration cards; catalog; manuals. 78 pp.
Folder 39	Equipment - Sound Recording Equipment: manuals; draft of report "Operating the Stereo Nagra Tape Recorder for Folklife Fieldwork." 71 pp.
Folder 40	Equipment - Inventories: lists of documentation equipment; notes. 15 pp.
Folder 41	Services: invoices; purchase requisitions; related correspondence; brochures. 53 pp.
Folder 42	Supplies: invoices; purchase orders; receipts for property; shipping records; list of supplies needed; packing list. 45 pp.
Contacts
Folder 43	Contacts - Colleagues and Media. 15 pp.
Folder 44	Contacts - Interview Leads: business cards; notes; lists of contacts; National Folk Festival craft and demonstration fact sheets. 92 pp.
Informants
Folder 45	Certificate of Appreciation: copies of blank certificate. 10 pp.
Folder 46	Blank forms: copies of five types of informant consent forms. 8 pp.
Folder 47	Consent Forms - Signed: informant consent forms of two types - (1) consent to place tapes and/or photos in public archive "where they will be available to researchers and the public for scholarly and educational purposes including publications and exhibitions," and (2) consent forms signed by the fieldworker stating that although the informant did not sign a consent form, he/she did agree to have materials placed in a research archive and consented to "allowing the interviewee's words to be quoted or pictures to be shown in a publication or exhibit." 107 pp.
Folder 48	Informant Addresses: ca. 270 index cards.
Folder 49	James Campbell: transcript of interview with James Campbell by Bill (last name not given) for the University of Lowell, Center for Lowell History, Oral History Collection. 18 pp.
Publicity and Public Relations
Folder 50	Lowell Folklife Project Announcement: invitations; mailing lists; tentative agenda for announcement; list of speakers. 18 pp.
Folder 51	Lowell Folklife Project Briefing: announcement of briefing; mailing lists. 11 pp.
Folder 52	Articles: copies of newspaper and newsletter about the project. 34 pp.
Folder 53	Press Releases: drafts and copies of final press release; mailing list. 23 pp.
Folder 54	Project Handouts: copies of flyer and fieldworker "business card." 27 pp.
Folder 55	Article from Festival of American Folklife Program Book: draft of article; guidelines for Festival of American Folklife program book; notes; related correspondence. 13 pp.
Miscellaneous
Folder 56	Lowell Neighborhood Project - Progress Report: two copies. 10 pp.
Folder 57	Crafts Survey Outline, by Eleanor Wachs: list of survey questions. 1 p.
Folder 58	Brush with History Gallery - Exhibit: list of potential exhibit photographs; Library of Congress mail and freight record; brochure for exhibit "Sacred Spaces - The Spiritual in Folk Art." 4 pp.
Folder 59	AFC Board of Trustees Meeting in Lowell: copy of minutes. 10 pp.
Folder 60	Lowell Conference on Industrial History: brochure; list of speakers; call for papers; preliminary program; final program; list of registrants. 14 pp.
DOCUMENTARY MATERIALS
Indices
Folder 61	Indexing Procedures: memorandum from Carl Fleischhauer regarding index for project; drafts of "Notes on Archiving and Media Documentation," prepared by Carl Fleischhauer; memorandum from Marsha Maguire regarding subject and proper-name headings; draft of thesaurus prepared by Douglas DeNatale; "Introduction to XyWrite and to the `NEWLOG' and `INDEXER' Programs," prepared by Douglas DeNatale. 104 pp.
Folder 62	Name Index (note: pp. 30-63 are mislabeled as "Topical Index"): index to proper names. 63 pp.
Folder 63	Topical Index (1 of 2): 172 pp.
Folder 64	Topical Index (2 of 2): 165 pp.
Folder 65	Index to Sound Recordings: 16 pp.
Audio Logs: Audiocassettes
Folder 66	Audiocassette logs - copies of loaned original recordings: LFP-CC-A001 through LFP-CC-A023. 27 pp.
Folder 67	Bell, Michael: LFP-MB-A001 through LFP-MB-A005. 7 pp.
Folder 68	DeNatale, Douglas: LFP-DD-A001 through LFP-DD-A005. 28 pp.
Folder 69	Fertig, Barbara: LFP-BF-A001 through LFP-BF-A013. 56 pp.
Folder 70	Montaño, Mario: LFP-MM-A001 through LFP-MM-A024. 74 pp.
Folder 71	Rankin, Tom: LFP-TR-A001 through LFP-TR-A004. 12 pp.
Folder 72	Refugee Arts Group: LFP-RA-A001 through LFP-RA-A015. 75 pp.
Folder 73	Taylor, David: LFP-DT-A001 through LFP-DT-A002. 13 pp.
Folder 74	Wach, Eleanor: LFP-EW-A001 through LFP-EW-A004. 15 pp.
Audio Logs: Reel-to-reel tapes
Folder 75	Bell, Michael: LFP-MB-R001 through LFP-MB-R020. 46 pp.
Folder 76	DeNatale, Douglas: LFP-DD-R001 through LFP-DD-R080. ca. 120 pp.
Folder 77	Fertig, Barbara: LFP-BF-R001 through LFP-BF-R002. 4 pp.
Folder 78	Montaño, Mario: LFP-MM-R001 through LFP-MM-R016. 23 pp.
Folder 79	Norkunas, Martha: LFP-MN-R001 through LFP-MN-R053. ca. 200 pp.
Folder 80	Rankin, Tom: LFP-TR-R001 through LFP-TR-R043. 68 pp.
Folder 81	Taylor, David: LFP-DT-R001 through LFP-DT-R033. 86 pp.
Transcripts of Sound Recordings (prepared by University of Lowell, Center for Lowell History, Oral History Collection).
Folder 82	Transcript of loaned original recording: transcript of LFP-CC-A023. 16 pp.
Folder 83	Transcripts of interviews conducted by Michael Bell: transcripts of LFP-MB-R001 through LFP-MB-R005, LFP-MB-R008 through LFP-MB-R011, LFP-MB-R019 through LFP-MB-R020. 118 pp.
Folder 84	Transcripts of interviews conducted by Douglas DeNatale: transcripts of LFP-DD-R070 through LFP-DD-R071. 52 pp.
Folder 85	Transcript of interview conducted by Barbara Fertig: transcript of LFP-BF-A013. 20 pp.
Folder 86	Transcript of interview conducted by Mario Montaño: transcript of LFP-MM-A011. 23 pp.
Folder 87	Transcripts of interviews conducted by Martha Norkunas: transcripts of LFP-MN-R003 through LFP-MN-R007, LFP-MN-R016 through LFP-MN-R017, LFP-MN-R019 through LFP-MN-R020, LFP-MN-R048 through LFP-MN-R049. 112 pp.
Folder 88	Transcripts of interviews conducted by Tom Rankin: transcripts of LFP-TR-A001, LFP-TR-R001 through LFP-TR-R002, LFP-TR-R022 through LFP-TR-R023. 64 pp.
Folder 89	Transcripts of interviews conducted by David Taylor (1 of 2): transcripts of LFP-DT-A001, LFP-DT-R001 through LFP-DT-R002, LFP-DT-R007 through LFP-DT-R010, LFP-DT-R017 through LFP-DT-R019. 154 pp.
Folder 90	Transcripts of interviews conducted by David Taylor (2 of 2): transcripts of LFP-DT-R023 through LFP-DT-R027. 157 pp.
Fieldnotes
Folder 91	Bell, Michael. 59 pp.
Folder 92	Lueders-Booth, John (handwritten). 22 pp.
Folder 93	Lueders-Booth, John. 9 pp.
Folder 94	DeNatale, Douglas (handwritten). 81 pp.
Folder 95	DeNatale, Douglas. 250 pp.
Folder 96	Fertig, Barbara. 40 pp.
Folder 97	Fleischhauer, Carl. 10 pp.
Folder 98	Montaño, Mario. 85 pp.
Folder 99	Norkunas, Martha (handwritten). 22 pp.
Folder 100	Norkunas, Martha. 72 pp.
Folder 101	Rankin, Tom. 53 pp.
Folder 102	Refugee Arts Group. 20 pp.
Folder 103	Taylor, David. 103 pp.
Folder 104	Wachs, Eleanor (handwritten). 13 pp.
Folder 105	Wachs, Eleanor. 14 pp.
Black-and-White Photograph Logs
Folder 106	Bartis, Peter. 1 p.
Folder 107	Bell, Michael. 5 pp.
Folder 108	Leuders-Booth, John. 173 pp.
Folder 109	DeNatale, Douglas. 63 pp.
Folder 110	Fertig, Barbara. 4 pp.
Folder 111	Fleischhauer, Carl. 4 pp.
Folder 112	Montaño, Mario. 5 pp.
Folder 113	Norkunas, Martha. 17 pp.
Folder 114	Rankin, Tom. ca. 130 pp.
Folder 115	Taylor, David. 39 pp.
Folder 116	Wachs, Eleanor. 6 pp.
Folder 117	Numerical set: B001 through B199. ca. 100 pp.
Folder 118	Numerical set: B200 through B349. ca. 130 pp.
Folder 119	Numerical set: B350 through B487. ca. 130 pp.
Color-Slide Logs
Folder 120	Inventory of color photographic materials prepared for "phoney fiche" (index to all the color slides) shooting: 21 pp.
Folder 121	Bell, Michael: LFP-MB-C001 through LFP-MB-C004. 4 pp.
Folder 122	Lueders-Booth, John: LFP-JB-C001 through LFP-JB-C081. 82 pp.
Folder 123	DeNatale, Douglas: LFP-DD-C001 through LFP-DD-C040. 49 pp.
Folder 124	Fertig, Barbara: LFP-BF-C001. 1 p.
Folder 125	Fleischhauer, Carl: LFP-CF-C001 through LFP-CF-C004. 4 pp.
Folder 126	Montaño, Mario: LFP-MM-C001 through LFP-MM-C017. 17 pp.
Folder 127	Norkunas, Martha: LFP-MN-C001 through LFP-MN-C013. 21 pp.
Folder 128	Rankin, Tom: LFP-TR-C001 through LFP-TR-C098. ca. 75 pp.
Folder 129	Taylor, David: LFP-DT-C001 through LFP-DT-C017. 20 pp.
Folder 130	Wachs, Eleanor: LFP-EW-C001 through LFP-EW-C002. 2 pp.
Lowell Neighborhood Map Project
Folder 131	Lowell Neighborhood Map Project: map questionnaire form; related correspondence; completed questionnaires and maps; listing of Lowell streets and post offices. 51 pp.
Lowell Fishing and Swimming Spots
Folder 132	List and map of fishing and swimming spots, past and present. 3 pp.
Refugee Arts Group
Folder 133	Reports prepared by the Refugee Arts Group about the Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Laotian communities of Lowell; transcripts of interviews; lists of contacts. ca. 140 pp.
REPORTS
Folder 134	Draft Outline of "Report to The Lowell Historic Preservation Commission" by Douglas DeNatale. 7 pp.
Folder 135	Drafts of "Report to The Lowell Historic Preservation Commission" by Douglas DeNatale. 129 pp.
Folder 136	Manuscript of "Report to The Lowell Historic Preservation Commission" by Douglas DeNatale. 164 pp.
Folder 137	"Report to The Lowell Historic Preservation Commission" by Douglas DeNatale. 162 pp.
Folder 138	Drafts of "Recommendations for Folklife Planning in Lowell" by Douglas DeNatale. 76 pp.
Folder 139	"Report to The Lowell Historic Preservation Commission: Planning Document on Folklife Initiative" by Douglas DeNatale. 44 pp.
PUBLICATIONS AND EPHEMERA
Folder 140	Folklife Curriculum Materials: "Introductory Bibliography for Folk Arts in Education" and "Understanding Folk Art: Forms For and From Everyone" by Janice Gadaire. 15 pp.
Folder 141	Guidebooks, Maps, and Brochures to Lowell Attractions: two guidebooks; maps of downtown Lowell and the National Historical Park; brochure on park activities; Lowell Line Commuter Rail schedules.
Folder 142	Heinzelmann, Willy. Azores (Basel, Switzerland: Willy Heinzelmann, 1985).
Box 10	Books: (1) Higgins, James: Lowell: A Contemporary View (Lowell: Mill Town Graphics, 1983); (2) Higgins, James and Joan Ross: Southeast Asians: A New Beginning In Lowell (Lowell: Mill Town Graphics, 1986). Recordings of Portuguese Music: (1) Conjunto Da Cave - Camacheira Florista, Meus Tempos De Mocidade (Revere, MA: Fleetwood Records); (2) Henrique Cordeiro - California Como Tu Nao Ha Igual (Mountain View, CA: Marca H. F. Discos); (3) Cidalia Maria - Canta para os Imigrantes (Ludlow, MA: M & N Recordings).
Folder 143	Lowell Historic Preservation Commission - Miscellaneous Documents: 1982 Annual Report; 1987 Newsletter; Details of the Preservation Plan.
Folder 144	Lowell National Historical Park: report of the Canalway Task Force; Institute for Urban Design monograph on Lowell National Park; copy of drawing of park area.
Folder 145	The Lowell Plan: copy of plan; newsletter
Folder 146	Map showing French and Irish settlements in Lowell in 1876. 1 p.
Folder 147	Marion, Paul. Strong Place -- Poems '74-'84 (Lowell: Loom Press, 1984).
Folder 148	Medal from Saint Anthony's Church seventy-fifth anniversary.
Folder 149	National Folk Festival, Lowell: festival pamphlet; press release.
Folder 150	Newspaper and Magazine Articles: articles about Lowell. 8 pp.
Folder 151	Nineteenth-Century Letters from Lowell "Mill Girl": copies of letters provided by informants Robert and Arleen Stykemain. 10 pp.
Folder 152	Poem "Jimmy Allen at the Library of Congress," by Paul Marion. 1 p.
Folder 153	Programs: program and flyer about National Museum of American History's conference on American labor history; program about National Museum of American History's exhibit, lecture, and tour of Daughters-of-Freemen 19th Century Mill Girls.
Folder 154	Samuel P. Howes, Portrait Painter Exhibition Catalog: catalog from 1986 exhibit at the Whistler House Museum, Lowell.
Folder 155	Schell, Marina Sampas, Compiler. That Was the Way It Was - A Selection of Charles G. Sampas' "Sampascoopies Lowell History Columns" (Lowell: Marina Sampas Schell, 1986).
Folder 156	Talbert Manuscript Song Collection - Reference Copy: handwritten songbook, by Matilda Lemire Talbert. No date.
Folder 157	Talbert Manuscript Song Collection - Original: handwritten songbook, by Matilda Lemire Talbert. Postmarked 1976.
Folder 158	U.S. Department of the Interior Geological Survey. Index to Topographical Maps of Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. Date: May 1980.

SERIES II: COMPUTER DISKS

Box 9

Fourteen floppy disks (in XYWrite), labeled LFP-1 through LFP-14, and one 3-1/2-inch disc, with (1) collection inventory (LFPinven.doc) and (2) index to sound recordings (LFPindex.tbl), in WordPerfect 5.1, printout in folder 65.

SERIES III: SOUND RECORDINGS

AUDIOCASSETTES

Recorded by Michael Bell, Douglas DeNatale, Barbara Fertig, Mario Montaño, Tom Rankin, Refugee Arts Group, David Taylor, Eleanor Wachs. See folders 66 to 74 for audiocassette logs. See folders 82, 85-86, 88-89 for transcriptions and contents.

Accession numbers:
LFP-MB-A001 through LFP-MB-A005;
LFP-DD-A001 through LFP-DD-A005;
LFP-BF-A001 through LFP-BF-A013;
LFP-MM-A001 through LFP-MM-A024;
LFP-TR-A001 through LFP-TR-A004;
LFP-RA-A001 through LFP-RA-A015;
LFP-DT-A001 through LFP-DT-A002;
LFP-EW-A001 through LFP-EW-A004;
LFP-CC-A001 through LFP-CC-A023 (copies of loaned original recordings).

Total cassette tapes: 90 90-minute tapes.

7-INCH REEL-TO-REEL TAPES

Recorded by Michael Bell, Douglas DeNatale, Barbara Fertig, Mario Montaño, Martha Norkunas, Tom Rankin, David Taylor. See folders 75 to 81 for reel-to-reel audio tape logs. See folders 83-84, 87, 88-90 for transcripts.

Accession numbers:
LFP-MB-R001 through LFP-MB-R020;
LFP-DD-R001 through LFP-DD-R080;
LFP-BF-R001 through LFP-BF-R002;
LFP-MM-R001 through LFP-MM-R016;
LFP-MN-R001 through LFP-MN-R053;
LFP-TR-R001 through LFP-TR-R043;
LFP-DT-R001 through LFP-DT-R033.

Total reel-to-reel tapes: 247 7-inch reels at 7.5 ips stereo.

SERIES IV: GRAPHIC IMAGES

BLACK-AND-WHITE PHOTOGRAPHS

Photographed by Peter Bartis, Michael Bell, John Lueders-Booth, Douglas DeNatale, Barbara Fertig, Carl Fleischhauer, Mario Montaño, Martha Norkunas, Tom Rankin, David Taylor, Eleanor Wachs. See folders 106 to 119 for descriptions.

Accession numbers:
LFP-JB-B001 through LFP-TR-B487
Note: Accession numbers were assigned chronologically rather than by fieldworker.

Negatives: 35mm negatives for all black-and-white images, identified by above accession numbers, are in two loose-leaf albums.

Contact sheets: total of 487 contact sheets in 24 folders housed in the Reading Room reference collection.

Black-and-White Prints: 17 8x10 from this collection; 12 8x10 of fieldworkers at work; 51 8x10 of Lowell briefing, and 20 miscellaneous 8x10.

Total number of black-and-white images: approximately 10,000.

COLOR SLIDES AND PHOTOGRAPHS

Photographeed by Michael Bell, John Lueders-Booth, Douglas DeNatale, Barbara Fertig, Carl Fleischhauer, Mario Montaño, Martha Norkunas, Tom Rankin, David Taylor, Eleanor Wachs. See folders 120 to 130 for folor-slide logs.

Accession numbers:
LFP-MB-C001 through LFP-MB-C004;
LFP-JB-C001 through LFP-JB-C081;
LFP-DD-C001 through LFP-DD-C040;
LFP-BF-C001;
LFP-CF-C001 through LFP-CF-C004;
LFP-MM-C001 through LFP-MM-C018;
LFP-MN-C001 through LFP-MN-C013;
LFP-TR-C001 through LFP-TR-C036 and
LFP-TR-C053 through LFP-TR-C098;
LFP-DT-C001 through LFP-DT-C017;
LFP-EW-C001 through LFP-EW-C002.

Color slides: approximately 3,490 35mm color slides, marked with the above accession numbers, housed in 262 folders.

Color slide "phoney fiche": 41 "phoney fiche" (photographic index to all color slides).

Color prints: 16 color prints marked with the accession numbers LFP-TR- C037 through LFP-TR-C052.

Color negatives: 16 negatives of LFP-TR-C037 through LFP-TR-C052.

Total number of color images: approximately 3,500.

home >> collections & research services >> finding aids >> individual collections

The Library of Congress >> Research Centers
April 27, 2005