home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1981 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1981/006
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1981 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1981 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between May
and October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts indoors.
The 1981 series was produced with the assistance of the National Council
for the Traditional Arts.
The 1981 season consisted of the following:
| May 7 |
The Johnson Mountain Boys, MD (Bluegrass) |
| June 4 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, DC (Blues) |
| July 2 |
Kubata, DC (Afro-Cuban) |
| August 6 |
J.C. Burris and "Piano" Red, CA and GA (Rhythm and Blues) |
| September 3 |
Khmer Classical Ballet, MD (Cambodian) |
| October 1 |
Mick Moloney and Billy McComiskey, MD (Irish) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: English, Mon-Khmer, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 9 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
RWA 0681-82
RWA 0830-31
RWA 0912
RWA 1593-94
RWA 1760-61 |
| 2 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
RWA 1358-59 |
| Graphic Materials |
173 b&w negatives
7 b&w contact sheets
6 8x10 b&w photoprints
8 4x6 b&w photoprints
120 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture administrative
materials. The collection guide (this document), an article about
the concert series, and a Library of Congress Information Bulletin article
previewing the 1981 season.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
The Johnson Mountain Boys, 5-7-81.
Press releases, news clippings, and biographical sketches.
|
Folder 4
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 6-4-81.
Press releases, news clippings, and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 6
|
Kubata, 7-2-81. Press releases, internal
correspondence, and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 8
|
J.C. Burris and "Piano" Red, 8-6-81.
Press releases and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 10
|
Khmer Classical Ballet, 9-3-81. Press
releases, correspondence, concert program, news clippings, a pamphlet
on the troupe, and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 12
|
Mick Moloney and Billy McComiskey,
10-1-81. Identification of artists in photographs listing the instruments
they play.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
RWA 0681-82
|
The Johnson Mountain Boys, 5-7-81.
Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 0830-31
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 6-4-81.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 0912
|
Kubata, 7-2-81. One 10" DT mono at
7.5 ips (switches halfway through to stereo).
|
RWA 1358-59
|
J.C. Burris and "Piano" Red, 8-6-81.
Two 10" ST mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 1593-94
|
Khmer Classical Ballet, 9-3-81. Two
10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 1760-61
|
Mick Moloney and Billy McComiskey,
10-1-81. Two 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
The Johnson Mountain Boys, 5-7-81. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 4 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 6-4-81. One sheet of
black and white 35 mm (21 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 6 |
Kubata, 7-2-81. One sheet of black and white 35 mm
(15 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 8 |
J.C. Burris and "Piano" Red, 8-6-81. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (37 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 10 |
Khmer Classical Ballet, 9-3-81. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (37 images) and one sheet of color 5 x 7 internegatives
(four images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 13 |
Mick Moloney and Billy McComiskey, 10-1-81. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (27 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folder 3 |
The Johnson Mountain Boys, 5-7-81. Two black and white
35 mm contact sheets (73 images), two 5 x 7 black and white photoprints,
and two 8 x 10 black and white photoprints. Photographed by John T.
Gibbs and Alicia Byers. |
| Folder 5 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 6-4-81. One black and
white 35 mm contact sheet (21 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs)
and one 5 x 7 black and white photoprint (photographed by Axel Kustner). |
| Folder 7 |
Kubata, 7-2-81. One black and white 35 mm contact sheet
(15 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 9 |
J.C. Burris and "Piano" Red, 8-6-81. One black and white
35 mm contact sheet (37 images, photographed by Carl Fleischhauer),
one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint, and two 3 x 5 black and white
photoprints. Photographer unknown. |
| Folder 11 |
Khmer Classical Ballet, 9-3-81. One black and white
35 mm contact sheet (37 images), one 5 x 7 black and white photoprint
(photographed by John T. Gibbs), three 8 x 10 black and white photoprints,
and two 3 x 5 black and white photoprints (photographed by Beverly
Orr). |
| Folder 13 |
Mick Moloney and Billy McComiskey, 10-1-81. One black
and white contact sheet (27 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 2-3 |
The Johnson Mountain Boys, 5-7-81. Two trays containing
a total of 28. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 5 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 6-4-81. One tray containing
14. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 7 |
Kubata, 7-2-81. One holder containing 18. Photographed
by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 9 |
J.C. Burris and "Piano" Red, 8-6-81. One holder containing
12. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 11-12 |
Khmer Classical Ballet, 9-3-81. Two holders containing
a total of 30. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 14 |
Mick Moloney and Billie McComiskey, 10-1-81. One holder
containing 18. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top