home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1977 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1977/003
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1977 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1977 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April
and October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts indoors.
The 1977 series was produced with the assistance of the National Council
for the Traditional Arts.
The 1977 season consisted of the following:
| April 25 |
Bluegrass Cardinal, VA (Bluegrass) |
| May 23 |
John Jackson, VA (Blues) |
| June 8 |
Southern Mountain Boys, DE (Bluegrass) |
| June 29 |
Los Rumi Songos, DC (Andean) |
| July 27 |
The Balfa Brothers and Joe Politte, LA (Cajun and Missouri French) |
| September 14 |
Bob Goff, Jr. and the Hobbs Sisters, VA (Bluegrass) |
| October 19 |
Ola Belle Reed, MD (Country) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access to the collection
is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires prior permission
of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other restrictions.
Primary Languages: English, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
|
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 16 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
AFS 18,983-85; LWO 9484 R1-3
AFS 18,986-87; LWO 9517 R1-2
LWO 9546 R1-3
LWO 9505 R1-2
LWO 9567 R1-2
LWO 9666-67 R1-2
LWO 9749-50 R1-2 |
| Graphic Materials |
| 358 b&w negatives 11 b&w contact sheets
1 8x10 b&w photoprint 8 5x7 b&w photoprints 48 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series, and a press release about the 1977
concert series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Bluegrass Cardinals, 4-25-77. Concert
fliers, press release, news clippings, and biographical sketches.
|
Folder 5
|
John Jackson, 5-23-77. Concert fliers,
press release, and a list of songs performed at the concert.
|
Folder 10
|
Southern Mountain Boys, 6-8-77. Concert
fliers.
|
Folder 11
|
Los Rumi Songos, 6-29-77. Concert
fliers, press release, and news clippings.
|
Folder 13
|
The Balfa Brothers and Joe Politte,
7-27-77. Concert fliers, press release, and news clippings.
|
Folder 16
|
Bob Goff, Jr. and the Hobbs Sisters,
9-14-77. Concert fliers and press release.
|
Folder 18
|
Ola Belle Reed, 10-19-77. Concert
fliers.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFS 18,983-85
|
Bluegrass Cardinals, 4-25-77. Three
10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. LWO 9484 R1-3.
|
AFS 18,986-87
|
John Jackson, 5-23-77. Two 10" DT
mono at 7.5 ips. LWO 9517 R1-2.
|
LWO 9546 R1-3
|
Southern Mountain Boys, 6-8-77. Three
10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 9567 R1-2
|
Los Rumi Songos, 6-29-77. Two 10" DT
mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 9505 R1-2
|
The Balfa Brothers and Joe Politte,
7-27-77. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 9666-67
|
Bob Goff, Jr. and the Hobbs Sisters,
9-14-77. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 9749-50
|
Ola Belle Reed, 10-19-77. Two 10" DT
mono at 7.5 ips.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Bluegrass Cardinals, 4-25-77. Two sheets (and one sheet
of copies) of black and white 35 mm (74 images). Photographed by Carl
Fleischhauer. |
| Envelopes 4-5 |
John Jackson, 5-23-77. Four sheets of black and white
35 mm (105 images). Photographed by Ray Dockstader and Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 7 |
Los Rumi Songos, 6-29-77. One sheet of black and white
35 mm (35 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 8 |
The Balfa Brothers and Joe Politte, 7-27-77. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (73 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 9 |
Bob Goff, Jr. and the Hobbs Sisters, 9-14-77. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (35 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 10 |
Ola Belle Reed, 10-19-77. One sheet of black and white
35 mm (36 images). Photographed by Paula Johnson. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 3-4 |
Bluegrass Cardinals, 4-25-77. Two black and white 35
mm contact sheets (74 images), one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint,
and three 5 x 7 black and white photoprints. Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folders 6-9 |
John Jackson, 5-23-77. Four black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (105 images), one duplicated sheet, and four 5 x 7 black and
white photoprints. Photographed by Ray Dockstader and Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 12 |
Los Rumi Songos, 6-29-77. One black and white 35 mm
contact sheet (35 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folders 14-15 |
The Balfa Brothers and Joe Politte, 7-27-77. Two black
and white 35 mm contact sheets (73 images), one 8 x 7 black and white
photoprint, and one 5 x 7 black and white photoprint. Photographed
by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 17 |
Bob Goff, Jr. and the Hobbs Sisters, 9-14-77. One black
and white contact sheet (35 images) and one 5 x 7 black and white photoprint.
Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 19 |
Ola Belle Reed, 10-19-77. One black and white contact
sheet (36 images). Photographed by Paula Johnson. |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 2-3 |
Bluegrass Cardinals, 4-25-77. Two holders containing
a total of 34. Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 6 |
John Jackson, 5-23-77. One holder containing 3. Photographed
by Mark Schellhammer. |
| Envelope 11 |
Ola Belle Reed, 10-19-77. One holder containing 11.
Photographed by Mark Schellhammer. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top