 The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers |
|||
|
home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collectionsGuides to the Collections in the Archive of Folk CultureTHE PHILADELPHIA CEILI GROUP COLLECTIONAFC 1995/003Library of Congress SUMMARYThe Philadelphia Ceili Group Collection consists of sound recordings, moving images, and print material documenting the activities of the Philadelphia Ceili Group (PCG), an organization devoted to the perpetuation of Irish culture in the United States. The sound recordings and moving images were donated to the Library by the PCG in 1993, while the print materials and ephemera were donated by Robin Hiteshew, former president of the organization, in 1987. The materials span the years 1978 to 1993 and document the annual fall festival, concerts, lectures, plays, and workshops sponsored by the organization. Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the recorded materials may be governed by copyright and other restrictions. Any duplication for publication purposes requires the prior written permission of the Philadelphia Ceili Group and the performers. Key Subjects: Irish ballads; Irish dance music; Irish folklore; Irish history; hornpipes; Irish instrumental music; jigs; reels; set dances; slow aires; Irish songs; Irish step dancing; Irish storytelling Languages: English, Irish Gaelic
------------------------------------------------------------------
SCOPE AND CONTENT NOTE
The Philadelphia Ceili Group Collection consists of sound
recordings, moving images, and print material documenting the
activities of the Philadelphia Ceili Group (PCG) from 1978 to
1993. The sound recordings and moving images were donated to the
Library by the PCG in 1993, while the print materials and
ephemera were donated by Robin Hiteshew, former president of the
organization, in 1987.
The Philadelphia Ceili Group is the oldest and largest
organization devoted to the perpetuation of Irish culture in the
United States. It was formed in 1958 in Philadelphia to preserve
traditional Irish ceili dancing. A ceili is known as a social
gathering that includes music, dance, and storytelling, or a more
formal musical evening or concert. The PCG grew from a small
group of precision dancers to a non-profit educational
organization that encompasses a number of activities centered on
Irish music and dance as well as literature and folklore. The
collection not only documents the performance and study of Irish
traditional culture but also the history of the organization.
The materials in the collection primarily document the lectures,
music concerts, and annual Irish Music and Dance Festival
sponsored by the PCG. While sound and video recordings provide
aural and visual records of the events, print material such as
programs, brochures, and fliers provide additional information on
program content and performers. Music in the collection includes
dance music, slow airs, songs and ballads, and instrumental
pieces. Dance types documented include jigs, reels, hornpipes,
and set dances. The lecture material covers Irish literature,
history, and folklife. The musicians, dancers, and scholars
featured include leaders in their fields based in both Ireland
and the United States.
The collection is divided into three series by format. An index
and concordance provide more detailed information about the
recordings. The dance content is further defined in Appendix A.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
COLLECTION INVENTORY AND DESCRIPTION
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIAL
Location Contents
Folders 1-3 Archive of Folk Culture administrative materials.
The collection guide [this document],
newsclippings about the acquisition of the
collection from Library of Congress publications,
recordings concordance, and iterations of indexes
of recorded materials provided by the Philadelphia
Ceili Group.
Folder 4 Philadelphia Ceili Group brochures. Brochures
printed on 8 1/2 x 11 inch paper (folded)
describing the organization, its activities, and
membership.
Folder 5 Newspaper clippings, 1981-86. Photocopies of
articles about the Philadelphia Ceili Group and
its fall festivals that appeared in American Irish
newspapers.
Folders 6-15 Fall festival programs. Programs for the annual
Traditional Irish Music and Dance Festival, 1978-
93. Sizes range from 5 1/2 x 8 1/2 in. to
8 1/2 x 7 in. Printed on stock and glossy paper,
the programs contain schedule information,
performer biographies and photographs,
advertisements, and other festival information.
Folders 16-19 Fall festival fliers, brochures, and posters.
Ephemera promoting the annual Traditional Irish
Music and Dance Festivals, 1978-93. Printed on
8 1/2 x 11 in. and 8 1/2 x 17 in. paper (folded);
posters are printed on heavier stock. Include
schedules and performers, directions, and ticket
information and order forms.
Folder 20 þiche Cois Tine: Night Beside The Fire, Ceol Na
Heireann: Music of Ireland series brochures.
Ephemera promoting cultural program series, 1981-
83, 1985-86. Printed on 8 1/2 x 17 in. and 17 x 12
in. paper (folded). Program content ranges from
lectures on Irish literature, history, and
folklife to music concerts.
Folder 21 Concert fliers, 1984-87. Fliers printed on 8 1/2 x
11 paper promoting various music concerts.
Folder 22 Ceilis--fliers and dance cards, 1983-84. Fliers
printed on 8 1/2 x 11 paper promoting the 25th
anniversary silver jubilee ceili, and blank
9 1/2 x 6 (folded) dance cards listing planned
dances.
Folder 23 Drama committee programs and fliers. Fliers
printed on 8 1/2 x 11 paper promoting theatrical
productions produced by the drama committee of the
PCG; programs for five productions.
Folder 24 Miscellaneous programs.
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location Contents
AFC 1995/003: 92 7" reels, 209 audiocassettes, 8 digital
SR1-309 audiotapes. Recorded at PCG activities in and
around the Philadelphia, PA area, 1977-93. The
recordings document music concerts, lectures, and
workshops, as well as performances and workshops
at the annual fall festival. For specific
information, see the concordance or the index in
Folder 3.
SERIES III: MOVING IMAGES
Location Contents
AFC 1995/003: 36 videocassettes, 1/2 in. VHS, sound, color.
V1-36 Recorded at the annual fall festivals sponsored by
the PCG in the Philadelphia, PA area, 1990-93. The
videotapes document the workshops and performances
at the festivals. For specific information, see
the concordance or the index in Folder 3.
----------------------------------------------------------------
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT (by format)
NOTE: This is an abbreviated version for internet. See the text
copy for complete information.
Videotapes
1990 Fall Festival: Main Stage #2, Afternoon Concert
AFC 1995/003:V2; PCG 90-2 FW
Dance Tune
Hornpipe "Plains of Boyle"
1991 Fall Festival: Main Stage #2, Afternoon Concert
AFC 1995/003:V8; PCG 91-4 FW
Dance Tune(s)
Reel "O'Keeffe's Plough" or "Speed the Plough"
Hornpipe "Kitty's Wedding" or "Hauling Home"
Jig ?
1991 Fall Festival: Main Stage #3, Afternoon/Evening Concerts
AFC 1995/003:V9; PCG 91-5 FW
Dance Tune(s)
Hornpipe Two hornpipes
Jig "Legacy" or "Nova Scotia Jig"
Reel "Mountain Road" and "Cooley's Reel"
Jig "Frieze Britches" or "Friar's Britches"
Set dance "Piper Through the Meadow Straying"
Reel "Fairy Reel" and "Wind That Shakes the Barley"
1991 Fall Festival: Main Stage #4, Evening Concert
AFC 1995/003:V10; PCG 91-6 FW
Dance Tune(s)
Set dance "Kilkenny Races"
Reel "Farrell O'Gara" and "Trim the Velvet"
Jig ?
Hornpipe "The Home Ruler"
1992 Fall Festival: Main Stage #4, Evening Concert
AFC 1995/003:V26; PCG 92-7 FW/C
Dance Tune(s)
Six-hand reel "Mountain Road" and "Lady Anne Montgomery"
1992 Fall Festival: Main Stage #5, Evening Concert
AFC 1995/003:V27; PCG 92-8 FW/C
Dance Tune(s)
Slip jig "Barney Brallaghan"
Set Dance "Three Sea Captains"
Reel "Star of Munster"
1993 Fall Festival: Main Stage #4, Evening Concert
AFC 1995/003:V34; PCG 93-12 FC
Dance Tune(s)
Step dance improv.
to reel Wick comes in at end of "Gregg's Pipes" then
dances a cappella.
Band comes back in with "Boys of Malin"
Hornpipe "Off to California"
Set dance "Three Sea Captains"
Reel "Wind that Shakes the Barley"
Reel "Mrs. Martha Knowles," "Master Crowley's #1,"
and "Bucks of Oranmore"
Audio Recordings
Each tape is a 90-minute audiocassette.
PCG 93-15 FW 1993 Festival: Dance Hall--"Killer Ceili" led
by Eileen Henry of the Coyle School of Irish
Dancing. Taught several dances including
"Siege of Carrick" and the "Garabaldi March
Waltz" and the "Margaret Waltz." (Henry is
not miked when teaching--inaudible--but goes
to the mike when calling.)
PCG 93-16 FW 1993 Festival: Dance Hall--"Old Time Sets"
let by Owen Layden. He teaches several set
dances (unidentified except for "Clair
Lances"--a reel set). Most of the tape
records Layden calling the figures.
PCG 93-17 FW 1993 Festival: Dance Hall--"Ceili Mor." Tape
of the dance music used during this open
social dance time.
|
||||||||||||||
Back to
Top
| |||