NIH Logo

Advisory Committee to the Director

NIH Blue Ribbon Panel on Conflict of Interest Policies

A Working Group of the Advisory Committee to the Director, NIH


Building 31C, Conference Room 6
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland

Day 1 -- Friday, March 12, 2004

  8:30 a.m. Executive Session (Closed)  
  10:00 a.m. Welcome and Plan for the Day Norman R. Augustine and Bruce Alberts, Ph.D.
  10:05 a.m.

Overview of Types of Outside Activities

Raynard S. Kington, M.D., Ph.D.
  11:00 a.m. Engagement of Academic and Government Scientists with the Industrial Sector and Conflict of Interest Harold Varmus, M.D.
  12:00 p.m.
Lunch break  
  1:00 p.m. Report on the NIH Ethics Advisory Committee Raynard S. Kington, M.D., Ph.D.
Michael Gottesman, M.D.
Duane Alexander, M.D.
Jeremy Berg, Ph.D.
Holli Beckerman Jaffe, J.D.
  2:00 p.m. NIH Ethics Training Program Holli Beckerman Jaffe, J.D.
  2:30 p.m. Report on NIH Staff Website Comments Panel Members
  3:00 p.m. NIH Staff Testimony Robert Nussbaum, M.D.
Allan Kirk, M.D., Ph.D.
Danny Weinberger, M.D.
Lee Helman, M.D.
Jack Bennink, Ph.D.
Lance Liotta. M.D., Ph.D.
Connie Noguchi, Ph.D.
Mitchell Max, M.D.
  4:00 p.m. Public Testimony  
  5:00 p.m. Adjourn (depending upon number of individuals giving testimony)  

Day 2 -- Saturday, March 13, 2004

8:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Executive Session (Closed)



Bruce Alberts, Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
National Academy of Sciences
Washington, DC

  The Honorable Stephen D. Potts
Chairman, ERC Fellows Program
Ethics Resource Center
Washington, D.C.
Norman R. Augustine (Co-Chair)
Chairman, Executive Committee
Lockheed Martin Corporation
Bethesda, Maryland
  Dorothy Robinson, Esq.
Vice President
and General Counsel
Yale University New Haven, Connecticut
Christine Cassel, M.D.
American Board of Internal Medicine
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  Lawrence Sadwin
President Lifestyle Security, L.L.C.
Warren, Rhode Island
Thomas H. Murray, Ph.D.
The Hastings Center
Garrison, New York
  James Siedow, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research and
Professor of Biology
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina
Philip A. Pizzo, M.D.
Dean, School of Medicine
Stanford University
Stanford, California
  Reed V. Tuckson, M.D.
Senior Vice President
Consumer Health & Medical Care
Advancement UnitedHealth Group
Minnetonka, Minnesota


Bruce Alberts, Ph.D.
National Academy of Sciences
Norman R. Augustine
Chairman, Executive Committee
Lockheed Martin Corporation
Holli Beckerman Jaffe, J.D.
NIH Ethics Officer and OD Ethics Coordinator
NIH Ethics Office, Office of the Director, NIH
Raynard Kington, M.D., Ph.D.
Deputy Director, NIH
Harold Varmus, M.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

updated 3/10/2004


This page was last reviewed on December 19, 2007.
skip main navigation National Institutes of Health - Transforming Health Through Discovery U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Health Information Page NIH Grants News and Events Research Institutes and Centers About NIH