NIBIB Fifth Anniversary Symposium

Changing the World's Healthcare through Biomedical Technologies

Friday, June 1, 2007 Lister Hill Auditorium, NIH Campus Bethesda, MD

8:00 a.m. Registration and Continental Breakfast

Session I: NIBIB: from Dream to Reality

8:30 a.m. Welcome and Introduction **Dr. Roderic Pettigrew**

Director

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering

8:45 a.m. The NIH and NIBIB **Dr. Elias Zerhouni**

Director

National Institutes of Health

9:05 a.m. Bioimaging and Bioengineering Team Science: The Early Years

Dr. Alexander MargulisProfessor of Radiology
Cornell University

9:15 a.m. History, Milestones, and Accomplishments

Dr. C. Douglas Maynard

Wake Forest University School of Medicine

Dr. Shu Chien

University of California San Diego

Dr. Stanley Baum

University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Dr. Robert Nerem

Georgia Institute of Technology

10:15 a.m. Commemorative Lecture in Recognition of the NIBIB Landmark

Achievement Award to 2003 Nobel Laureate Paul Lauterbur:

Reflections on the Development of MRI **Dr. Waldo Hinshaw**

MRI Pioneer

10:45 a.m. Break

Session II: Technology in Medicine

11:00 a.m. Healthcare Challenges in the 21st Century **Dr. Harvey Fineberg**

President

Institute of Medicine

11:30 a.m. Regenerative Medicine: A Transformative Technology **Dr. Anthony Atala**

Chair, Department of Urology

Director, Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Wake Forest University School of Medicine

12:15 p.m. Luncheon Patio Buffet

Poster Session: Accomplishments in Technology Transfer Lister Hill Lobby

1:15 p.m. Honored Speaker

Reflections on the Discovery of the LASER **Dr. Charles H. Townes**

Nobel Laureate, Physics, 1964 University of California, Berkeley

1:45 p.m. Imaging Molecules: the Promise of Preemptive Medicine

Dr. Ralph Weissleder

Director, Center for Molecular Imaging Research Massachusetts General Hospital

Harvard Medical School

2:30 p.m. Break

Session III: The Future of Interdisciplinary Science

2:45 p.m. Training the Interdisciplinary Scientists of Tomorrow

Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson

President

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

3:15p.m. Nagy Awardees Panel: Experiences of Young Investigators at the Interface of Life

and Physical Sciences

Moderators: Dr. Norbert Pelc (Stanford University)

Dr. Daniel Sodickson (New York University School of Medicine)

Participants: Dr. Jennifer Elisseeff (Johns Hopkins University)

Dr. Elisa Konofagou (Columbia University)

Dr. Garry Gold (Stanford University)

Dr. Joe Tien (Boston University)

4:00 p.m. The Impact of Team Science on Health Care: Experiences and Perspectives on the Future

Dr. Dennis Spencer

Harvey and Kate Cushing Professor of Neurosurgery
Chief of Neurosurgery
Yale University

Dr. James Duncan

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Diagnostic Radiology, and Electrical Engineering
Chair, Biomedical Engineering Program
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Biomedical Engineering Program
Yale University

4:45 p.m. Adjourn

Dr. Roderic Pettigrew