Skip Over Navigation Links
National Institutes of Health

February 2009 National Advisory Mental Health Council Roster

Department Of Health And Human Services
National Institutes Of Health
National Institute Of Mental Health
National Advisory Mental Health Council

(Terms end 9/30 of designated year)

Chairperson Executive Secretary
Thomas R. Insel, M.D.
National Institute of Mental Health
Bethesda, MD
Jane A. Steinberg, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Mental Health
Bethesda, MD
David G. Amaral, Ph.D. (12)
Department of Psychiatry
The M.I.N.D. Institute
University of California, Davis
Sacramento, CA

Carl C. Bell, M.D. (11)
President and CEO
Community Mental Health Council and Foundation, Inc.
Chicago, IL

Glorisa J. Canino, Ph.D. (09)
Director, Behavioral Sciences Research Institute
University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus
San Juan, PR

Elizabeth Childs, M.D., M.P.A. (10)
Private Practice
Brookline, MA

Robert Desimone, Ph.D. (11)
Director, McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Massachusetts Institute for Technology
Cambridge, MA

Ralph J. DiClemente, Ph.D. (12)
Charles Howard Candler Professor
Department of Behavioral Sciences
and Health Education
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University
Atlanta, GA

Howard B. Eichenbaum, Ph.D. (12)
Professor and Director
Center for Memory and Brain
Boston University
Boston, MA

Daniel H. Geschwind, M.D., Ph.D. (11)
Gordon & Virginia MacDonald
Distinguished Chair in Human Genetics
Professor of Neurology & Psychiatry
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Portia E. Iversen (12)
Cure Autism Now Foundation and
Autism Genetic Resource Exchange
Los Angeles, CA
Dilip V. Jeste, M.D. (10)
Estelle and Edgar Levi Chair on Aging
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences
University of California, San Diego
VA San Diego Healthcare System (116A-1) (10)
La Jolla, CA

Norwood Knight-Richardson, M.D., M.B.A. (09)
Vice Chairman of Department of Psychiatry
Director of the Public Psychiatry Training Program
Director of Oregon Health and Science University
Neuropsychiatric Institute
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

Pat R. Levitt, Ph.D. (09)
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Director, Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN

David A. Lewis, M.D. (11)
Director, Translational Neuroscience Program
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

John S. March, M.D., M.P.H. (10)
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Director, Division of Neurosciences Medicine
Duke Clinical Research Institute
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC

Steven M. Paul, M.D. (12)
Executive Vice President
Science and Technology
President, Lilly Research Laboratories
Eli Lilly and Company
Indianapolis, IN

Enola K. Proctor, Ph.D. (10)
Frank J. Bruno Professor of Social Work Research
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO

Ex Officio Members Liaison Representative
Office of the Secretary, DHHS
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC

National Institutes of Health
Raynard Kington, M.D., Ph.D.
Acting Director
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Department of Veterans Affairs
Ira Katz, M.D., Ph.D.
Deputy Chief
Patient Care Services Officer for Mental Health
Office of Mental Health Services
Department of Veterans Affairs
Washington, DC
A. Kathryn Power, M.Ed.
Director, Center for Mental Health Services
Rockville, MD

Department of Defense
John A. Ralph, Ph.D.
Commander, U.S. Navy
National Naval Medical Center
Bethesda, MD