In this section:

Resource Sharing & Document Delivery

DOCLINE Survival Links

FreeShare

Library LinkOut Survival Guide

DOCLINE Hold Requests

Electronic Journals and Public Access

NN/LM Document Delivery Plan

Electronic Document Delivery

Loansome Doc Information for Librarians

Loansome Doc: First Steps

Basic Medical Library Management

Find Local Resources:

Basic Medical Library Management: Databases and Internet Sites

Overview First Steps Administration Collection Development Database and Internet Sites Information Additional Resources

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. NLM collects materials in all areas of biomedicine and health care, as well as works on biomedical aspects of technology, the humanities, and the physical, life, and social sciences.

NLM Databases & Electronic Information Sources provide a wide variety of resources related to the biomedical and health sciences, both past and present. The format of these resources varies: searchable databases & databanks, bibliographic citations, full text (when available), archival collections, and images.

• Three Essential Databases
• Additional Medical Librarian Tools and Databases
• Medical Meetings on the Internet
• Discussion Lists

---

Three Essential Databases

1. PubMed

   The web based interface to MEDLINE. MEDLINE holds over 11 million citations from more than 4,000 journals.

   • Fact Sheets, Guides and Tutorials
   • Making PubMed Work for You
   • PubMed Training Manual
   • Medical Subject Headings (MESH) is NLM's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. The MESH Browser is available online and is also directly linked to PubMed for more efficient searching.

2. Medlineplus

   NLM's consumer health resource provides access to extensive information about specific diseases and conditions and also links to a drug information database, medical encyclopedias, dictionaries and doctor locators.

3. Locatorplus

   NLM's catalog of books, audiovisuals, and journals.

---

Additional Medical Librarian Tools and Databases

NIH Health Information List	HealthWeb
Internet Discovery Tools	Healthinfoquest
Quick Guide to Search Tools	Combined Health Information Database (CHID)

---

Medical Meetings on the Internet

An added value service you can offer both medical personnel and administrators alike is access to information about medical meetings. Both groups are very interested in continuing education and keeping up to date on the latest developments in their field.

Congress Resource Center A doctor's guide to planning for a featured congress.	Medical Meetings Finder Search by year, specialty, organization and location.
Medicalconferences.com Search by keyword, location and date.	CME Guide for Medical Professionals American Educational Institute
Integrated Medical Curriculum Multi-purpose CE medical side.	Electronic CME CME course information and board review materials.
Medical Meetings Database Health on the Net	Online CME Annotated List of Online CME.
Find CE Meetings, speakers, online CE and more	Meetings and Conferences Physicians Guide to the Internet

---

Discussion Lists

Contact your Regional Medical Library to join the discussion list affiliated with your region.

MEDLIB-L is the Medical Librarian's Discussion List. This is a wonderful way to ask questions of literally thousands of health librarians from around the world.

DOCLINE-L is the medical discussion list for DOCLINE and is open only to DOCLINE users. The purpose of the discussion list is to provide NLM with a means of broadcasting messages to DOCLINE users. It also provides a forum for DOCLINE users to communicate with each other and NLM about any issue related to DOCLINE, SERHOLD, or document delivery.

To find other discussion lists use search engines such as tile.net or Listz