Skip Over Navigation Links
National Institutes of Health

Director’s Update
November 18, 2008

Linda Brady of NIMH Receives New Roadmap Compass Award

NIH Director Elias Zerhouni, MD, presented the first individual Roadmap Compass Award on October 24, 2008 to Linda Brady, PhD, director of the Division of Neuroscience and Basic Behavioral Science at NIMH, for her leadership and coordination of the Molecular Libraries Working Group.

Dr. Zerhouni established the new Roadmap Compass Award to recognize individuals who provide truly outstanding direction and scientific guidance of Roadmap programs. The NIH Roadmap for Medical Research, launched in 2004, is a series of initiatives designed to address fundamental knowledge gaps, develop transformative tools and technologies, and/or foster innovative approaches to complex problems. The Molecular Libraries Initiative employs high tech screening methods to identify small molecules for use as probes to investigate the diverse functions of cells, to explore biologic processes, and for developing new therapies for disease.

Brady was recognized for steering the complex machinery that is the Molecular Libraries Working Group, providing exemplary leadership to guide the program through its midcourse review, and maintaining a collaborative and collegial trans-NIH spirit within the group.

“Leadership is the critical element,” said a statement released by the director’s office. “The Molecular Libraries team has worked effectively together to plan, develop, and manage this complex program for five years. They’ve forged new ground in many aspects of Roadmap operations, and have done a remarkable job weathering the scrutiny that has accompanied their effort. Despite the time and effort required to manage this program, many of the original members of the team are still active participants.”

In addition, a group award was given to specific NIH Institute and Center directors involved in the Roadmap for providing guidance to program teams as they implement the Roadmap programs, keeping them on track with respect to the overall plan and vision established for the programs by the NIH leadership as a whole. These directors include: Steve Katz, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases; Richard Hodes, National Institute on Aging; Larry Tabak, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research; Josie Briggs, National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine; Pat Grady, National Institute for Nursing Research; Story Landis, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; Barbara Alving, National Center for Research Resources; Toni Scarpa, Center for Scientific Review; and Griffin Rodgers, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.