Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods: Agency Representatives

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry ★Moiz Mumtaz, Ph.D.

Consumer Product Safety Commission

★ Marilyn L. Wind, Ph.D. (Chair)
 ◊ Kristina Hatlelid, Ph.D.
 Joanna Matheson, Ph.D.

Department of Agriculture

★ Jodie Kulpa-Eddy, D.V.M. (Vice-Chair) ◊ Elizabeth Goldentyer, D.V.M.

Department of Defense

★ Robert E. Foster, Ph.D.
◊ Patty Decot
Peter J. Schultheiss, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M.
Harry Salem, Ph.D.

Department of Energy
★ Michael Kuperberg, Ph.D.
◊ Marvin Stodolsky, Ph.D.

Department of the Interior ★ Barnett A. Rattner, Ph.D. ◊ Sarah Gerould, Ph.D.

Department of Transportation ★ George Cushmac, Ph.D. ◊ Steve Hwang, Ph.D.

Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Science Coordination and Policy
★ Karen Hamernik, Ph.D.
Office of Research and Development
◊ Julian Preston, Ph.D.
Suzanne McMaster, Ph.D.
Office of Pesticides Programs
Amy Rispin, Ph.D.
Deborah McCall
OECD Test Guidelines Program
Jerry Smrchek, Ph.D.

★ Principal Agency Representative
 ◊ Alternate Principal Agency Representative

Food and Drug Administration **Office of Science** ★ Suzanne Fitzpatrick, Ph.D., D.A.B.T. Center for Drug Evaluation and Research ◊ Abigail C. Jacobs, Ph.D. Paul C. Brown, Ph.D. Center for Devices and Radiological Health Melvin E. Stratmeyer, Ph.D. Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research Richard McFarland, Ph.D., M.D. Ying Huang, Ph.D. Center for Food Safety and Nutrition David G. Hattan, Ph.D. Robert L. Bronaugh, Ph.D. **Center for Veterinary Medicine** Devaraya Jagannath, Ph.D. M. Cecilia Aguila, D.V.M. National Center for Toxicological Research William T. Allaben, Ph.D. Paul Howard, Ph.D. **Office of Regulatory Affairs** Lawrence A. D'Hoostelaere, Ph.D.

National Cancer Institute

★ Alan Poland, M.D.
◊ T. Kevin Howcroft, Ph.D.

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

★ William S. Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M.
 ◊ Raymond R. Tice, Ph.D.
 Rajendra S. Chhabra, Ph.D., D.A.B.T
 Jerrold J. Heindel, Ph.D.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

★ Paul Nicolaysen, V.M.D.◊ K. Murali Rao, MD, Ph.D.

National Institutes of Health

★ Margaret D. Snyder, Ph.D.

National Library of Medicine \Diamond Jeanne Goshorn, M.S.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration ★ Surender Ahir, Ph.D

May 2008

Acknowledgements

The following individuals are acknowledged for their contributions to the in vitro pyrogen test method review process.

Pyrogenicity Working Group (PWG)

Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods (ICCVAM)

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research Mustafa Akkoyunlu, M.D., Ph.D. Pankaj Amin Christine Anderson Kimberly Benton, Ph.D. Joseph George, Ph.D. Christopher Joneckis, Ph.D. Richard McFarland, Ph.D., M.D. (Chair) Center for Drug Evaluation and Research David Hussong, Ph.D. Abigail Jacobs, Ph.D. Robert Mello, Ph.D. Amy Rosenberg, M.D. Daniela Verthelyi, M.D., Ph.D. Jiaqin Yao, Ph.D. Center for Devices and Radiological Health Raju Kammula, D.V.M., Ph.D., D.A.B.T. Ramesh Panguluri Center for Food Safety and Nutrition Penelope Rice, Ph.D.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Office of Science Coordination and Policy Karen Hamernik, Ph.D.

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences William Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M. Raymond Tice, Ph.D.

U.S. Department of Agriculture Jodie Kulpa-Eddy, D.V.M.

Liaison, European Centre for the Validation of Alternative Methods Marlies Halder, Ph.D.*

^{*}Dr. Halder was responsible for the trial plan of the catch-up validation study, but she was not involved in the evaluation of the data.

The following scientists are acknowledged for their independent evaluation of the five in vitro pyrogen tests as members of the Peer Review Panel.

In Vitro Pyrogenicity Independent Peer Review Panel

Karen Brown, Ph.D., (Panel Chair), DRL Pharma and Pair O'Doc's Enterprises, Parkville, Missouri Brian Crowe, Ph.D., Baxter Vaccine AG, Orth an der Donau, Austria Nancy Flournoy, Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia, Columbia, Missouri Ihsan Gursel, Ph.D., Bilkent University, Bilkent, Ankara, Turkey Ken Ishii, M.D., Ph.D., ERATO, Japan Science and Technology Agency, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan Jack Levin, M.D., University of California-San Francisco, San Francisco, California Albert Li, Ph.D., In Vitro ADMET Laboratories, Rockville, Maryland David Lovell, Ph.D., University of Surrey, Guilford, United Kingdom Melvyn Lynn, Ph.D., Eisai Medical Research, Inc., Ridgefield Park, New Jersey Anthony Mire-Sluis, Ph.D., AMGEN, Inc., Thousand Oaks, California Jon Richmond, M.D., Home Office, Tayside, United Kingdom Peter Theran, V.M.D., Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, Novato, California Kevin Williams, Eli Lilly, Indianapolis, Indiana

National Toxicology Program (NTP) Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM)

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

William Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M.	Director; Project Officer
Raymond Tice, Ph.D.	Deputy Director
Deborah McCarley	Special Assistant; Asst. Project Officer

NICEATM Support Contract Staff (Integrated Laboratory Systems [ILS], Inc.)

11
David Allen, Ph.D.
Douglas Winters, M.S.
Neepa Choksi, Ph.D.
Judy Strickland, Ph.D., D.A.B.T.
Frank Deal, M.S.
Elizabeth Lipscomb, Ph.D.
Thomas Burns, M.S.
Michael Paris
Patricia Ceger, M.S.
James Truax, M.A.
Catherine Sprankle
Linda Litchfield

Consultants for ILS, Inc. Joe Haseman, Ph.D. Errol Zeiger, Ph.D., J.D. Principal Investigator Project Manager Sr. Staff Toxicologist Staff Toxicologist Staff Toxicologist Staff Toxicologist Staff Toxicologist Sr. Project Coordinator/Technical Writer Sr. Project Coordinator/Technical Writer Project Coordinator/Technical Writer Project Coordinator/Technical Writer Communications Specialist/Web Developer Meeting Planner and Coordinator

Statistical Consultant Editorial Consultant