Agenda

8:00 a.m.

Registration/Continental Breakfast New Venture Hall Foyer

8:30 a.m.

Welcome by Peter Friess, President, The Tech Museum of Innovation • Introductions of VIPs and Honored Guests • Reading of Proclamations • Short Opening Remarks

8:45 a.m.

Keynote Address by The Honorable Shana Dale, NASA Deputy Administrator

9:15 a.m.

Overview of NASA Exploration Program, Mr. James Norman, Director, Constellation Systems Division, NASA Headquarters

9:35 a.m.

Break

9:50 a.m.

Innovation Panel: "Unleashing the Power of Technology and Creativity"

Moderator: • Mr. Doug A. Comstock, Director of NASA Innovative Partnerships Program Panelists: • Mr. Sourabh Satish, Architect and Distinguished Engineer, Symantec Research Labs • Dr. James T. Ryder, Vice President, Advanced Technology Center, Lockheed-Martin Space Systems • Mr. Liam Kiely, Vice President, Engineering, Converged Data Networks, Nortel • Mr. R. Joseph Cassady, Director of Business Development, Emerging Exploration Technologies, Aerojet

10:50 a.m.

Break

11:00 a.m.

Discovery Panel: "Pushing the Limits of Knowledge to Inspire a New Generation"

Moderator: • Dr. Seth Shostak, Senior Astronomer, SETI Institute Panelists: • Dr. Jim Garvin, Chief Scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center • Dr. Darlene Lim, NASA Ames Research Center/SETI Institute • Dr. Jane C. S. Long, Associate Director at Large, Global Security Directorate, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory • Dr. Paul Saffo, Technology Forecaster

12:10 p.m.

Lunch – Parkside Hall A Keynote Presentation by NASA Astronaut Rex Walheim, STS-122 Mission Specialist; an opportunity to view a Poster Session presented by the California Space Grant Consortium

1:40 p.m.

Inspiration Panel: "Building Idea Factories for the Future"

Moderator:

- Dr. Mike Wiskerchen, Director, CA Space Grant Consortium Panelists:
- Dr. Joyce Winterton, Assistant Administrator, Office of Education, NASA Headquarters
- Dr. Steven Beckwith, Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies, University of California; Director Emeritus, Space Telescope Science Institute
- Ms. Diane Demée-Benoit, Director, Innovation in Education Project, Commonwealth Club of California
- Mr. Peter Levy, Director of Strategic Development, Curriki
- Ms. Kristin Hilf, Vice President of Community Relations, Raytheon Company

3:00 p.m.

Closing remarks and Wrap-up