14-1371

## NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD WASHINGTON, D.C.

ISSUED: June 7, 1978

Forwarded to: Governors of all States (See attachment) SAFETY RECOMMENDATION(S) H-78-45

On March 8, 1977, a tractor-semitrailer struck the rear of a Campbell County (Virginia) Public Schools schoolbus on U.S. Highway 29, near Rustburg, Virginia. Three of the 33 occupants of the schoolbus died in the collision. A copy of the National Transportation Safety Board's report of its investigation of this accident is enclosed.

At the time of the accident, the truckdriver held valid driver licenses from the States of Florida and North Carolina. He has been licensed in North Carolina since the early 1960's. A review of his driving record over the past 17 years, which included the operation of commercial vehicles, revealed that he had accumulated 38 traffic violation convictions in eight States, six driver license suspensions, and four highway accidents. Twenty-one of these traffic convictions, the suspensions, and the accidents occurred in North Carolina.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Highway Safety Program Standard (HSPS) No. 5, Driver Licensing, requires that each State have a driver license program that allows each driver to hold only one license, which identifies the type(s) of vehicle(s) the driver is authorized to operate. HSPS No. 5 also suggests that each State identify problem drivers and act to reduce the frequency of their involvement in traffic accidents and violations through a driver improvement program. The Safety Board believes that a driving record such as that amassed by the truckdriver in the Virginia accident indicates a problem driver and that cases such as his should be dealt with as described in HSPS No. 5. States have adopted, states:

No person shall receive a driver's license unless and until he surrenders to the department all valid licenses in his possession issued to him by this or any other jurisdiction--no person shall be permitted to have more than one valid driver's license at any time.

The State of Florida had issued this truckdriver a license, even though he held a valid North Carolina license.

We recognize that the implementation and conduct of driver improvement programs require a significant effort by each State. The removal of problem drivers from our highways is a positive step toward preventing highway traffic accidents and saving lives.

Therefore, the National Transportation Safety Board recommends that each State:

Review its driver licensing program(s) to insure that it conforms to the one-license concept and the driver improvement program suggested by Highway Safety Program Standard No. 5, Driver Licensing, and by the guidelines set forth in Chapter 6 of the Uniform Vehicle Code. (Class I, Urgent Action) (H-78-45)

KING, Chairman, McADAMS, HOGUE, and DRIVER, Members, concurred in the above recommendation.

James B. Kin Chairman

Attachment

## GOVERNORS' ADDRESS LIST

Honorable George C. Wallace Governor of Alabama Executive Department Montgomery, Alabama 36104

Honorable Jay Hammond Governor of Alaska Pouch A, State Capitol Juneau, Alaska 99811

Honorable Bruce Babbitt Governor of Arizona 1700 W. Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Honorable David Pryor Governor of Arkansas State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Governor of California State Capitol Sacramento, California 95814

Honorable Richard D. Lamm Governor of Colorado Room 136, State Capitol Denver, Colorado 80203

Honorable Ella T. Grasso Governor of Connecticut State of Connecticut Executive Chambers Hartford, Connecticut 06115

Honorable Pierre S. duPont, IV Governor of Delaware Legislative Hall Dover, Delaware 19001

Honorable Reubin Askew Governor of Florida State Capitol Tallahassee, Florida 32304

Honorable George Busbee Governor of Georgia State Capitol Atlanta, Georgia 30334 Honorable George R. Ariyoshi Governor of Hawaii Executive Chambers State Capitol Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 Honorable John V. Evans Governor of Idaho State House Boise, Idaho 83720 Honorable James R. Thompson Governor of Illinois State Capitol Springfield, Illinois 62706 Honorable Otis R. Bowen Governor of Indiana Room 206, State House Indianapolis, Indiana 42624 Honorable Robert D. Ray Governor of Iowa State Capitol Des Moines, Iowa 50319 Honorable Robert F. Bennett Governor of Kansas State Capitol Topeka, Kansas 65612 Honorable Julian Carroll Governor of Kentucky Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 Honorable Edwin W. Edwards Governor of Louisiana State of Louisiana Executive Department Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70801 Honorable James B. Longley Governor of Maine Augusta, Maine 04880 Honorable Blair Lee Acting Governor of Maryland State House Annapolis, Maryland 21404

Honorable Michael S. Dukakis Governor of Massachusetts State House Boston, Massachusetts 02133

Honorable William G. Milliken Governor of Michigan Executive Office Lansing, Michigan 48903

Honorable Rudy Perpich Governor of Minnesota State Capitol St. Paul, Minnesota 55155

Honorable Cliff Finch Governor of Mississippi Mississippi Executive Department Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Honorable Joseph P. Teasdale Governor of Missouri Executive Office State Capitol Building Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Honorable Thomas L. Judge Governor of Montana State Capitol Helena, Montana 59601

Honorable J. James Exon Governor of Nebraska State Capitol Lincoln, Nebraska 68509

Honorable Mike O'Callaghan Governor of Nevada Capitol Building Carson City, Nevada 89701

Honorable Meldrim Thomson, Jr. Governor of New Hampshire State Capitol Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Honorable Brendon T. Byrne Governor of New Jersey Trenton, New Jersey 08625 Honorable Jerry Apodaca Governor of New Mexico Executive-Legislative Building State Capitol Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

Honorable Hugh L. Carey Governor of New York Executive Chamber State Capitol Albany, New York 12224

Honorable James B. Hunt, Jr. Governor of North Carolina Administrative Building 116 W. Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27611

Honorable Arthur A. Link Governor of North Dakota State Capitol Building Bismarck, North Dakota 58505

Honorable James A. Rhodes Governor of Ohio Columbus, Ohio 43215

Honorable David Boren Governor of Oklahoma Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

Honorable Robert W. Straub Governor of Oregon Room 207, State Capitol Salem, Oregon 97301

Honorable Milton J. Shapp Governor of Pennsylvania 255 Main Capitol Harrisburg, Pennsylvnia 17120

Honorable J. Joseph Garrahy Governor of Rhode Island State House Providence, Rhode Island 02903

Honorable James B. Edwards Governor of South Carolina P. O. Box 11450 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Honorable Richard F. Kneip Governor of South Dakota Executive Office Pierre, South Dakota 57501 Honorable Ray Blanton Governor of Tennessee State Capitol Nashville, Tennessee 37219 Honorable Dolph Briscoe, Jr. Governor of Texas State Capitol Austin, Texas 78711 Honorable Scott M. Matheson Governor of Utah 210 State Capitol Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 Honorable Richard A. Snelling Governor of Vermont State House Montpelier, Vermont 05602 Honorable John N. Dalton Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia State Capitol Richmond, Virginia 23219 Honorable Dixy Lee Ray Governor of Washington State Capitol Olympia, Washington 98504 Honorable John D. Rockefeller, IV Governor of West Virginia Charleston, West Virginia 25305 Honorable Martin J. Schreiber Governor of Wisconsin 115 East, State Capitol Madison, Wisconsin 53702 Honorable Ed Herschler Governor of Wyoming Capitol Building Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002