DESIGNATED COUNTRIES (10/07/2008)

This list of "Designated Countries" is a compilation of countries with which the United States has no diplomatic relations, countries determined by Department of State to support terrorism, countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United States and countries of Missile Technology Concern. Foreign National visitors to NASA from these countries require approval by the Headquarters International Visit Coordinator. All NASA mail to these countries require the concurrence of the Headquarters Office of External Relations, in accordance with NPG 1450.10D, NASA Correspondence Management and Communications Standards and Style, Appendix D.

DESIGNATED STATUS *

	CODE	DESCRIPTION	Ι	II	III	IV
	AF	Afghanistan			X	
	BA	Bahrain				X
	BO	Belarus			X	
	BT	Bhutan	Χ			
	BM	Burma (Now Myanmar)			X	
	СН	China, Peoples Republic			X	Χ
	CI	Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)			X	
	CG	Congo (Formerly Zaire)			X	
	CU	Cuba	Χ	Χ	X	
	CY	Cyprus			X	
	EG	Egypt				Χ
	ER	Eritrea			X	
**	FJ	Fiji			X	
	HA	Haiti			X	
	IN	India				X
**	ID	Indonesia			Χ	
	IR	Iran	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ
	IZ	Iraq			X	Χ

*Key to	Designated Status
I.	Countries with which the United States has no
	Diplomatic Relations (www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html)
II.	Countries determined by the Department of State to
III.	support Terrorism (22CFR§ 126.1(d) Countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United
	States (22CFR §126.1(a), (c), (f), (g), (h), & (i)
	(www.pmddtc.state.gov/country.htm); CFR Part 500; 15 CFR Part 746
IV.	Countries of Missile Technology Concern (15 CFR
	740 Appendix D:4, of the Export Administration
	Regulations, administered by the Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce)

	IS	Israel				Χ
	JO	Jordan				Χ
	KN	Korea, North	X	Χ	X	X
	KU	Kuwait				X
	LE	Lebanon			X	X
	LI	Liberia			X	
	LY	Libya			X	X
	MC	Macau (China)	Χ			X
	OM	Oman				X
**	PS	Palestine (Palestinian Authority/ Hamas)			X	
	PK	Pakistan				Χ
	QA	Qatar				Χ
	SA	Saudi Arabia				Χ
	SL	Sierra Leone			Χ	
	SO	Somalia			Χ	
	LK	Sri Lanka			Χ	
	SU	Sudan		Χ	Χ	
	SY	Syria		Χ	Χ	Χ
**	TH	Thailand			Χ	
	TW	Taiwan	X			
	ТС	United Arab Emirates				Χ
	VE	Venezuela			Χ	
	VM	Vietnam			X	
	YM	Yemen			Χ	Χ
	ZI	Zimbabwe			X	

** DDTC has published restrictive guidance regarding these entities in the Jun 07 ITAR Handbook notes, 22CFR §126.1. or on their website