

## DISASTER NEWS

Economic Injury Loans for Small Businesses

**Release Date:** October 20, 2008 **Contact:** Rick Jenkins **Release Number:** AR 11483-01 **Phone:** (916) 735-1500

## Disaster Assistance Available for Small Businesses

**Sacramento, CA** – Small, non-farm businesses in 68 Arkansas counties (plus neighboring parishes in Louisiana and neighboring counties in Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas) may now apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA). "These disaster loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the combined effects of heavy rains in August and the remnants of Hurricane Gustav that occurred in the following primary Arkansas counties from August 1, 2008 through September 11, 2008," announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA's Disaster Field Operations Center - West.

Primary **Arkansas** Counties: Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleburne, Conway, Crawford, Cross, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Grant, Hot Spring, Independence, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Monroe, Ouachita, Perry, Phillips, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White, Woodruff and Yell;

Neighboring **Arkansas** Counties: Arkansas, Baxter, Clay, Cleveland, Columbia, Craighead, Crittenden, Dallas, Franklin, Garland, Greene, Hempstead, Howard, Izard, Lawrence, Madison, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Saint Francis, Searcy, Sevier, Sharp, and Washington;

Neighboring Louisiana Parishes: Claiborne, East Carroll, Morehouse, Union and West Carroll;

Neighboring Mississippi Counties: Bolivar, Coahoma, Issaquena, Tunica and Washington;

Neighboring Missouri Counties: Oregon and Ripley;

Neighboring Oklahoma Counties: Adair, Le Flore, McCurtain and Sequoyah;

Neighboring **Texas** County: Bowie

Small businesses and most private, non-profit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to \$2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred. "Eligibility for these working capital loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate of 4%, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, non-profits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship," Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. Secretary Ed Schafer declared this disaster at the request of Governor Mike Beebe.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary's declaration.

Information and application forms are available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, emailing <u>disastercustomerservice@sba.gov</u>, or by visiting SBA's website at <u>www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance</u>. Hearing impaired individuals may call (800) 877-8339. SBA's Electronic Loan Application (ELA) is accessible via SBA's secure Web site at <a href="https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela">https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela</a>.

The deadline to apply for these loans is **June 8, 2009**.