A.J. Eggenberger, Chairman John E. Mansfield, Vice Chairman Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown Peter S. Winokur

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

August 8, 2008

Admiral Kirkland H. Donald, USN Deputy Administrator for Naval Reactors National Nuclear Security Administration Naval Sea Systems Command Washington Navy Yard 1240 Isaac Hull Avenue, SE, Stop 8010 Washington, DC 20376-8010

Dear Admiral Donald:

Thank you for your letter of June 2, 2008, which provided the recent reports of Naval Reactors on radiological waste disposal and environmental monitoring, occupational safety and health, and occupational radiation exposure, as well as the annual overview of the program. These reports demonstrate Naval Reactors' continued dedication to safe operation of nuclear power plants and commitment to protecting the public, workers, and the environment, all while providing for the defense of the nation.

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) takes pleasure in noting Naval Reactors' significant recent accomplishments, including the increased core energy and improved electric plant capability in the design of the GERALD R. FORD (CVN 78) Class of aircraft carrier; the delivery and commissioning of the fourth VIRGINIA Class submarine, USS NORTH CAROLINA (SSN-777); and the continued construction of six other VIRGINIA Class submarines and PCU GEORGE H. W. BUSH (CVN 77). Of note as well is the successful shipment of two defueled reactor compartments to the Hanford Site in 2007. Naval Reactors consistently maintains a model program for the safe design, construction, operation, and decommissioning of nuclear-powered warships.

It is a pleasure to note once again that the Naval Reactors program continues to maintain unparalleled standards in the performance of work. The Board congratulates you and your staff for Naval Reactors' continued exceptional performance, and extends its best personal wishes to you and your associates.

Sincerely,

Zoguhager'

A. J. Eggenberger Chairman

c: The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman The Honorable Thomas P. D'Agostino Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.