Skip navigation links
NIGMS Home | Site Map | Staff Search

Training and Career Awards

NIGMS offers training support for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, clinician-scientists, scientists transitioning to independence, and independent scientists through a variety of award mechanisms, including training grants to institutions and fellowship and career development awards. These are listed below by career stage and by award type.  All mechanisms that are part of the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award program are indicated by “NRSA." 

By Career Stage

Career Stage Awards to Individuals Awards to Institutions

NRSA Institutional Predoctoral Training Grants (T32)


NRSA Individual Postdoctoral Fellowships (F32)

NRSA Institutional Postdoctoral Training Grants (T32)
Transition to Independence

Pathway to Independence Awards (K99/R00)


Mentored Clinical Career Development Awards (K08, K23)

Independent Investigator

Mentored Quantitative Research Career Development Awards (K25)


NRSA Individual Senior Fellowships (F33)

By Award Type

Type Mechanism Training Opportunities

Institutional Training Grants (T awards)


NRSA Institutional Predoctoral Training Grants

NRSA Institutional Postdoctoral Training Grants

Individual Fellowships (F awards)


NRSA Individual Postdoctoral Fellowships


NRSA Individual Senior Fellowships

Career Development Awards
(K awards)
K08, K23

Mentored Clinical Career Development Awards


Mentored Quantitative Research Career Development Awards


Pathway to Independence Awards

This page last updated November 19, 2008