

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

May 24, 2000

William A. Eaton, Vice President Operations - Grand Gulf Nuclear Station Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

SUBJECT: ASSESSMENT FOLLOWUP

Dear Mr. Eaton:

Our review of Grand Gulf identified that you have crossed the threshold for the Safety System Unavailability, Emergency AC Power performance indicator. Therefore, we plan to conduct additional inspection to better understand the causes contributing to your decline in performance.

This letter is to inform you that we will be planning supplemental inspection at your facility during the month of June 2000 to determine that the root causes and contributing causes are understood, to provide assurance that the extent of condition is identified, to provide assurance that corrective actions are sufficient to address the root causes and contributing causes, and to prevent recurrence.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room (PDR).

Please contact me at 817/860-8243 with any questions you may have regarding this letter.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Joseph I. Tapia, Chief Project Branch A Division of Reactor Projects

Docket No.: 50-416 License No.: NPF-29

cc: Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, Mississippi 39286-1995

Wise, Carter, Child & Caraway P.O. Box 651 Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Winston & Strawn 1400 L Street, N.W. - 12th Floor Washington, DC 20005-3502

Sam Mabry, Director Division of Solid Waste Management Mississippi Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 10385 Jackson, Mississippi 39209

President, District 1 Claiborne County Board of Supervisors P.O. Box 339 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

General Manager Grand Gulf Nuclear Station Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

The Honorable Richard leyoub Attorney General Department of Justice State of Louisiana P.O. Box 94005 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9005

Office of the Governor State of Mississippi Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Mike Moore, Attorney General Frank Spencer, Asst. Attorney General State of Mississippi P.O. Box 22947 Jackson, Mississippi 39225

Dr. F. E. Thompson, Jr. State Health Officer State Board of Health P.O. Box 1700 Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Robert W. Goff, Program Director Division of Radiological Health Mississippi Dept. of Health P.O. Box 1700 Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Vice President Operations Support Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, Mississippi 39286-1995

Director, Nuclear Safety and Regulatory Affairs Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Vice President, Operations Grand Gulf Nuclear Station Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Supervisor, District 2 Claiborne County 202 Magnolia Lane Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Supervisor, District 5 Claiborne County Route 1, Box 296 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Vice President, District 4 Claiborne County Board of Supervisors P.O. Box 196 Hermanville, Mississippi 39086

Claiborne County Tax Assessor/Collector P.O. Box 469 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Director Port Gibson/Claiborne County Civil Defense Council P.O. Box 358 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Claiborne County Election Commissioner, District 1 P.O. Box 301 Lorman, Mississippi 39096

Mayor Town of Port Gibson P.O. Box 466 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

James E. Maher, Director Mississippi Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 4501, Fondren Station Jackson, Mississippi 39296-4501

Mayor City of St. Joseph P.O. Box 217 St. Joseph, Louisiana 71366

Edwin Preis, Mayor City of Newellton P.O. Box 477 Newellton, Louisiana 71357

Rick Foster, Director Tensas Office of Emergency Preparedness P.O. Box 768 St. Joseph, Louisiana 71366

Ronald Wascom, Administrator State Liaison Officer Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 82135 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70884-2135

Federal Emergency Management Agency, Region IV ATTN: John B. Copenhaver Regional Director 3003 Chamblee Tucker Road Atlanta, Georgia 30341

Electronic distribution from ADAMS by RIV: Regional Administrator (EWM) DRP Director (KEB) DRS Director (ATH) Senior Resident Inspector (JLD) Branch Chief, DRP/A (JIT) Senior Project Engineer, DRP/A (DNG) Branch Chief, DRP/TSS (LAY) B. Henderson, PAO (BWH) C. A. Hackney, RSLO (CAH) C. J. Gordon (CJG) DRS Branch Chiefs (GMG, DAP, JLP) W. D. Travers, EDO (WDT) W. M. Dean, Chief, NRR/DIPM/IIPB (WMD) R. K. Frahm, PPR Program Manager, NRR/ILPB (RKF) B. A. Boger, Associate Dir. for Inspection and Programs (BAB2) B. W. Sheron, Associate Dir. for Project Licensing and Technical Analysis (BWS) M. A. Satorius, Chief, Regional Operations Staff, OEDO (MAS) S. Richards, NRR Project Director (SAR) R. Gramm, Chief, Section 1, NRR/DLPM (RAG)

S. Sekerak, NRR Project Manager (PXS1)

RIV:C:DRP		D:DRP							
JITapia;df		KEBrockman							
5/22/00		5/24/00							

DOCUMENT NAME: S:\DRP\DRPDIR\GG Annual Assessment.wpd To receive copy of document, indicate in box: "C" = Copy without enclosures "E" = Copy with enclosures "N" = No copy

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY