

History of Governing Board Members

*Served as Chairman or Vice Chairman

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES²

Board Member	Term of Office	Alternate	Term of Office
Baxter Ward	1977	Warren Harwood	1977
Ed Edelman	1977 1981 - 1987	Robert Geoghegan Norman Zafman	1977 1981 - 1987
James Hayes	1978/1979	Barna Szabo Robert Perkins	1/78 - 10/78 11/78 - 5/79
Yvonne B. Burke	1979 - 1980	Julie Mulvaney	1979 - 1980
Peter Schabarum	1978 - 1987	Mike Lewis Reine Corbeil Mike Lewis Reine Corbeil Mark Volmert	2/78 - 7/78 7/78 - 11/82 11/82 - 11/82 11/82 - 6/86 6/86 - 12/87

Michael Antonovich 1988 - Present

CITY OF LOS ANGELES 1,2,6

Board Member	Term of Office	<u>Alternate</u> s	Term of Office
*Marvin Braude	1977 - 1987	Larry Caretto Tom Brady Larry Caretto	1/83 - 7/85 7/85 - 8/85 9/85 - 12/87

(seat deleted 1/88; seat reinstated 1/08)

Jan Perry January 2008 – Present

CITIES OF LOS ANGELES COUNTY³

Board Member Term of Office

*Thomas F. Heinsheimer 1977 - 1987

(seat vacant 1/88 – 12/88; restructured 1/89 – Eastern/Western seats)

CITIES OF LOS ANGELES COUNTY - WESTERN REGION^{3,6}

Board Member Term of Office

Marvin Braude 1/5/89 - 7/97

Richard Alarcón 8/8/97 – 12/7/98

Hal Bernson January 1999 – August 2003

Jan Perry October 2003 – December 2007

Tonia Reyes Uranga January 2008 - Present

<u>CITIES OF LOS ANGELES COUNTY - EASTERN REGION</u>^{3,6}

Board Member Term of Office

Leo King 1/12/89 - 12/1/89

Henry Morgan 1/5/90 - 1/31/94

Nell Soto 9/7/94 – 12/7/98

Bea LaPisto-Kirtley December 1998 – June 2006

Tonia Reyes Uranga July 2006 – December 2007

Michael A. Cacciotti January 2008 - Present

COUNTY OF ORANGE^{1,2}

Board Member	Term of Office	Alternate	Term of Office
Laurence J. Schmit	1977 - 1978	Philip L. Anthony Paul Raver	1977 1977 - 1980
Philip L. Anthony	1978 - 1980	Paul Raver Mayburn DeBoe	1980 1980
Bruce Nestande	1981 - 1987	Tom Eichhorn	1981 - 1987
Roger Stanton	1987	Tom Eichhorn	1987
Gaddi Vasquez	1987	Tom Eichhorn	1987
Harriett Wieder	1983 - 1994	Bill Hodge Brion May Ed Mountford	1983 - 1984 1984 - 1985 1985 - 1987
James W. Silva	January 1995 – January 1999		1903 - 1907
Cynthia P. Coad	February 1999 - January 2001		
James W. Silva	January 2001 – November 2006		
Bill Campbell	January 2007 – present		

CITIES OF ORANGE COUNTY

Board Member Term of Office

James Beam 1977 - 1979

*Don Roth 1979 - 1986

*Henry W. Wedaa 1/87 - 1994

Candace Haggard 1994 - December 1996

*Norma Glover January 1997 – December 2002

Bill Craycraft January 2003 – February 2005

Miguel Pulido March 2005 – present

COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE²

Board Member	Term of Office	<u>Alternate</u>	Term of Office
*A. A. McCandless	1977 - 1982	Norton Younglove	1977 - 1982
*A. Norton Younglove	1983 - 1994	Melba Dunlap Judy Orttung Patricia Larson	1983 - 1984 1984 - 1986 1987
*S. Roy Wilson	1995 - Present		

COUNTY OF SAN BERNARDINO 2,5

Board Member	Term of Office	Alternate	Term of Office
Dennis Hansberger	1977 - 1981	Robert O. Townsend Robert B. Rigney Robert Hammock	1978 1978 1979
Bob Older	1981 - 1982	David L. McKenna	1981
David L. McKenna	1982 - 1983	John Joyner	1983
John Joyner	1983	Fazle Quadri	1983 - 1984
Cal McElwain	1983 - 1985	Fazle Quadri Walter Mook Fazle Quadri	1983/1984 May-June 1984 July 1984 - 1985
Robert Hammock	1985 - 1991	Fazle Quadri	1985 - 1987
*Jon D. Mikels	1991 - 2002		
Fred Aguiar	2002 – 2003		
Bill Postmus	January 2004 – January 2005	i	
Gary Ovitt	February 2005 – present		

CITIES OF RIVERSIDE AND SAN BERNARDINO COUNTIES¹

Board Member Term of Office

Eric Haley 1977 - 1978

Lionel Hudson 1978 - 1980

John Doyle 1980 - 1983

(restructured 1983 – separate seat each for Riverside and San Bernardino)

CITIES OF RIVERSIDE COUNTY¹

Board Member Term of Office

Jon Doyle 1983 - 1984

Pat Herron 1984 - 1987

S. Roy Wilson 1988 - 1994

Ronald O. Loveridge 1995 - Present

CITIES OF SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY¹

Board Member Term of Office

Faye Myers Dastrup 1983 - 1987

Carole Beswick 1987 - 1991

T. Milford Harrison 1991 - 1992

Leonard Paulitz 1992 – January 2004

Dennis Yates February 2004 - Present

GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEE

Board Member Term of Office

Gladys Meade 1977 - 1982

William Smiland 1983 - 1987

Jack R. Witz 1987 - 1988

Stephen Albright 1988 - 1995

Hugh Hewitt 1995 - May 13, 1996

Cody G. Cluff December 1996 - August 1997

Wayne Nastri August 1997 - August 1998

Paul A Woodruff September 1998 – December 1998

Cynthia Verdugo-Peralta April 2000 – March 2007

Joseph K. Lyou June 2007 – Present

SPEAKER OF THE ASSEMBLY APPOINTEE¹

Board Member Term of Office

Larry Berg 1983 - 1993

*William A. Burke 1993 - Present

SENATE RULES COMMITTEE APPOINTEE¹

Board Member Term of Office

Sabrina Schiller 1983 - 1993

Mee Hae Lee 1993 - 2000

Jane W. Carney 2000 - Present

CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN⁶

February 4, 1977 to February 12, 1981: Chairman: A. A. McCandless

Vice Chairman: Thomas F. Heinsheimer

February 13, 1981 to January 31, 1985: Chairman: Thomas F. Heinsheimer

Vice Chairman: Don R. Roth

February 1, 1985 to December 31, 1986: Chairman: Don R. Roth

> Vice Chairman: Thomas F. Heinsheimer

January 9, 1987 to December 31, 1987: Chairman: A. Norton Younglove

Vice Chairman: Marvin Braude

January 8, 1988 to January 9, 1992 Chairman: A. Norton Younglove

> Vice Chairman: Henry W. Wedaa

January 10, 1992 to November 30, 1994 Chairman: Henry W. Wedaa

Jon Mikels Vice Chairman: (elected 1/92; reelected 12/93 to term ending 1/96)

December 1, 1994 to August 8, 1997 Chairman Jon Mikels Vice Chairman (elected 11/94 to fill unexpired term of Wedaa; William Burke

reelected 12/95 to two-year term - ending 1/98)

August 8, 1997 to January 8, 2002 Chairman William Burke

(elected 8/97 to replace Mikels; Vice Chairman Norma Glover reelected 11/97 and 8/99 - term ending 1/02)

Norma Glover January 8, 2002 to December 6, 2002 Chairman (elected 10/19/01) Vice Chairman William Burke

January 2003 to Present Chairman William Burke Vice Chairman S. Roy Wilson (elected 9/13/02 to fill unexpired term of

Glover ending 1/04; reelected 10/03,10/05,

and 11/07 - term ending 1/10)

CHAIRMAN EMERITUS

A. Norton Younglove Henry W. Wedaa

Notes:

- 1. **1983** (AB 2660 Levine): Board **increased** to 14 members by adding appointees by the Senate Rules Committee, Speaker of the Assembly, a second seat for the County of Orange, and allowing one representative each from the Cities of Riverside and Cities of San Bernardino Counties. Also allowed the Los Angeles City representative to appoint an alternate.
- 2. **1988** (SB 151 Presley): Board **decreased** to 11 members by decreasing the number of appointments by the Counties of Los Angeles and Orange by one each, and deleting the appointment of the City of Los Angeles. In addition the ability to have alternate members was deleted.
- 3. **1989** (SB 2285 Presley): Board **increased** to 12 by allowing the Cities of Los Angeles Counties to have two appointments, one from the eastern region and one from the western region.
- 4. **1996** (AB 1522 Brewer): Changed selection for city members from two-thirds to simple majority.
- 5. **2004** (AB 1090 Longville): Exempted San Bernardino County from requirement that all members of the SCAQMD Governing Board live within the boundaries of the district. Expired in January 2006.
- 6. 2007 (SB 886 Negrete-McLeod): Board increased to 13 members by adding an appointment by the City of Los Angeles and removing the City of Los Angeles from the list of cities in the western region of the Cities of Los Angeles County. The cities comprising the eastern and western regions of Los Angeles County were reconstituted as well. In addition, the prohibition on a board member serving more than two consecutive terms as Board Chair was deleted.

Revised: 2/15/2008