### Acknowledgements

Drs. Fentem, Curren, and Liebsch are acknowledged for their significant contributions to the guidance document. They along with the following scientists were invited to serve on the Breakout Group 1 panel for the International Workshop on *In Vitro* Methods for Assessing Acute Toxicology, October 17-20, 2000.

# Workshop Breakout Group 1 In Vitro Screening Methods for Assessing Acute Toxicity

Julia Fentem, Ph.D. (Co-Chair); (Co-Author)

Unilever Research

Shambrook Bedforshire, United Kingdom

Charles Tyson, Ph.D. (Co-Chair)

SRI International Menlo Park, CA

Robert Combes, Ph.D.

Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments (FRAME)

Nottingham, United Kingdom

Rodger Curren, Ph.D. (Co-Author)

Institute for In Vitro Sciences, Inc.

Gaithersburg, MD

Elke Genschow, Ph.D.

German Centre for the Documentation and Validation of Alternative Methods (at BgVV)

(ZEBET)

Berlin, Germany

Alan Goldberg, Ph.D.

Johns Hopkins University Center for Alternatives

to Animal Testing Baltimore, MD

A. Wallace Hayes, Ph.D., D.A.B.T., D.A.T.S.

The Gillette Company

Boston, MA

Manfred Liebsch, Ph.D. (Co-Author)

German Centre for the Documentation and Validation of Alternative Methods (at BgVV)

(ZEBET)

Berlin, Germany

Lennart Romert, Ph.D.

Swedish National Chemicals Inspectorate

Solna, Sweden

Noriho Tanaka, Ph.D.

Hatano Research Institute

Kanagawa, Japan

**ICCVAM Agency Participants** 

Kailash Gupta, D.V.M., Ph.D.

U.S. CPSC, Bethesda, MD

Kenneth Hastings, Ph.D.

U.S. FDA/CDER, Rockville, MD

Richard N. Hill, M.D., Ph.D.

U.S. EPA/OPPT, Washington, D.C.

Abdullah Khasawinah, Ph.D.

U.S. EPA/OPP/HED, Arlington, VA

Elizabeth Margosches, Ph.D.

U.S. EPA/OPPT/OPPTS, Washington, D.C.

Philip Sayre, Ph.D.

U.S. EPA/OPPT, Washington, D.C.

Leonard Schechtman, Ph.D.

U.S. FDA/CDER, Rockville, MD

Suhair Shallal, Ph.D.

U.S. EPA/OPP/HED, Arlington, VA

William S. Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M.

NIEHS, Research Triangle Park, NC

## ICCVAM Organizing Committee for the International Workshop on *In Vitro* Methods for Assessing Acute Systemic Toxicity

## Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Kailash Gupta, D.V.M., Ph.D.

### **Department of Defense (DOD)**

John Frazier, Ph.D., (Organizing Committee cochair)

### **Department of Transportation (DOT)**

George Cushmac, Ph.D.

#### **Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)**

Richard Hill, M.D., Ph.D. (ICCVAM Co-Chair) Angela Auletta, Ph.D. Elizabeth Margosches, Ph.D. Karen Hamernik, Ph.D. Philip Sayre, Ph.D. (Organizing Committee co-chair)

### Maurice Zeeman, Ph.D.

**Food and Drug Administration (FDA)** Leonard Schechtman, Ph.D. Melvin Stratmeyer, Ph.D. Ronald Brown, Ph.D. Thomas Collins, Ph.D. Peter Goering, Ph.D. Stephen Hundley, Ph.D.

### National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Jerrold Heindel, Ph.D. William Stokes, D.V.M. (ICCVAM Co-Chair) Errol Zeiger, Ph.D., J.D.

## National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Kenneth Weber, Ph.D.

### **National Library of Medicine (NLM)**

Vera Hudson, M.S.L.S.

### Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

Surender Ahir, Ph.D.

## National Toxicology Program (NTP) Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM)

#### Integrated Laboratory Systems (ILS), Inc.

Bradley Blackard, M.S.P.H.

Sue Brenzel

Ashlee Duncan, M.S.

Thomas Goldworthy, Ph.D.

Christina Inhof, M.S.P.H.

Linda Litchfield

Barry Margolin, Ph.D.

Judy Strickland, Ph.D., D.A.B.T.

Michael Paris

Barbara Shane, Ph.D., D.A.B.T.

Raymond Tice, Ph.D.

## National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Loretta Frye Debbie McCarley William S. Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M. (Director)

## **Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods** (ICCVAM)

# Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

\*William Cibulas, Ph.D.

#### **Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)**

\*Marilyn L. Wind, Ph.D.

Susan Aitken, Ph.D.

Kailash C. Gupta, D.V.M., Ph.D.

#### **Department of Defense (DOD)**

\*Harry Salem, Ph.D., U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Center John M. Frazier, Ph.D., U.S. Air Force, Wright-Patterson AFB

### **Department of Energy (DOE)**

\*Marvin Frazier, Ph.D.

### **Department of Interior (DOI)**

\*Barnett A. Rattner, Ph.D.

### **Department of Transportation (DOT)**

\*James K. O'Steen George Cushmac, Ph.D.

### **Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)**

\*Richard N. Hill, M.D., Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics
+Angela Auletta, Ph.D
Philip Sayre, Ph.D.
Office of Pesticides Programs

+Karen Hamernik, Ph.D.
Amy Rispin, Ph.D.

Office of Research and Development +Harold Zenick, Ph.D.
Suzanne McMaster

OECD Test Guidelines Program Maurice Zeeman, Ph.D.

### Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

\*Leonard M. Schechtman, Ph.D. Suzanne C. Fitzpatrick, Ph.D., D.A.B.T.

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research +Joseph DeGeorge, Ph.D. Joseph F. Contrera, Ph.D.

Abby C. Jacobs, Ph.D.

Center for Devices and Radiological Health

+Mel E. Stratmever, Ph.D.

Raju G. Kammula, D.V.M., Ph.D., D.A.B.T.

Center for Biologics Evaluation and

Research

+Patrick G. Swann

Center for Food Safety and Nutrition

+David G. Hattan, Ph.D.

Victor P. Frattali

Center for Veterinary Medicine

+Devaraya Jagannath, Ph.D.

Louis T. Mulligan, D.V.M.

National Center for Toxicological Research

+William T. Allaben, Ph.D.

Office of Regulatory Affairs

+Atin Datta, Ph.D.

### **National Cancer Institute (NCI)**

\*David Longfellow, Ph.D. Yung-Pin Liu, Ph.D.

### National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

\*William S. Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M. (Co-Chair)

John R. Bucher, Ph.D., D.A.B.T. Rajendra S. Chhabra, Ph.D., D.A.B.T

## National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

\*Doug Sharpnack, D.V.M., D.A.C.V.P.

+Paul Nicolaysen, V.M.D.

#### **National Institutes of Health (NIH)**

\*Margaret D. Snyder, Ph.D.

#### **National Library of Medicine (NLM)**

\*Vera Hudson, M.S.L.S.

### Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

\*Surender Ahir, Ph.D.

- \* Principal Agency Representatives
- + Principal Program Representatives

6/01