

National Coordination Office (NCO) for Information Technology Research and Development (IT R&D)

David B. Nelson, Ph.D. *Director* nelson@itrd.gov

Sally E. Howe, Ph.D.

Associate Director
FY 2004 Blue Book Executive Editor
howe@itrd.gov

Martha K. Matzke FY 2004 Blue Book Editor

Suite II-405 4201 Wilson Boulevard Arlington, VA 22230 (703) 292-4873 FAX: (703) 292-9097 nco@nitrd.gov

Internet Web Site http://www.nitrd.gov/

Acknowledgments

This Supplement to the President's FY 2004 Budget reflects contributions by a great many individuals – in Federal agencies, universities, and the IT industry. The editors extend sincerest thanks to all those who helped us highlight the impact of Federal Networking and Information Technology Research and Development activities not only on vital Federal missions but also on the broad national interest in economic development, education, and scientific research leadership.

We are grateful to the NITRD agency program managers. Their vision and commitment shapes the research goals and accomplishments of the unique NITRD enterprise. We thank our NCO colleagues, who provided ready and able support in all aspects of this report's production and distribution processes. Special thanks to Helen Gigley, who contributed many helpful insights and background materials, and to Alan Tellington, who expeditiously responded with a solution to every call for technological assistance.

Many scientists went out of their way to provide high-quality images and technical descriptions of their work for this document. Our thanks to them all, especially Bernd Hamann, Chris Henze, Klaus Schulten, and their colleagues.

To NSF designer-scientific illustrator James J. Caras, who designed the book and its cover, we express our great appreciation for the superior originality, creative energy, and professional skill of the work and his commitment to the project's success. We also thank Peggy Gartner and Kelly DuBose of NSF's Design and Publishing Division, whose professional efforts ensured the high-quality printing of the Blue Book.

Contributors

Michael J. Ackerman, NIH
Walter F. Brooks, NASA
George R. Cotter, NSA
Steven Fine, EPA
J. Michael Fitzmaurice, ARHQ
Peter A. Freeman, NSF
Ed Garcia, NCO
Helen M. Gigley, NCO
Helen Gill, NSF
Daniel A. Hitchcock, DOE

Geoff Holdridge, NNCO C. Suzanne Iacono, NSF LaShante Jenkins, NCO Steven E. King, ODDR&E Betty J. Kirk, NCO Gary M. Koob, DARPA Zachary Lemnios, DARPA Stephen R. Mahaney, NSF Grant Miller, NCO Virginia Moore, NCO José L. Muñoz, DOE/NNSA Larry H. Reeker, NIST Mary Anne Scott, DOE George O. Strawn, NSF Clayton Teague, NNCO Alan Tellington, NCO Diane R. Theiss, NCO William T. Turnbull, NOAA Barbara Wheatley, NSA Susan F. Zevin, NIST