Click here to skip navigation Home  |  Subject Index  |  Important Links  |  Contact Us  |  Help

U.S. Office of Personnel Management - Ensuring the Federal Government has an effective civilian workforce

Advanced Search

No Fear Act

The Notification and Federal Employee Antidiscrimination and Retaliation Act of 2002 ("No FEAR Act")

The No FEAR Act, signed by President George W. Bush on May 15, 2002, is intended to reduce the incidence of workplace discrimination within the federal government by making agencies and departments more accountable.

"If we expect government operations and performance to improve, we must maintain a fair and efficient process for employees to express their concerns and ensure that employees feel comfortable raising critical issues without fear of inappropriate reactions," said OPM Acting Director Dan G. Blair.

The No Fear Act governs the process of reimbursements to the Treasury Department's judgment fund by agencies, from their budgets, for judgments against agencies and settlements for discrimination in the workplace. The Act requires Federal agencies to be accountable for violations of antidiscrimination and whistleblower protection laws, in part by requiring that each Federal agency post quarterly on its public Web site, certain statistical data relating to Federal sector equal employment opportunity complaints filed with each agency.

Section 203 of the No FEAR Act specifically requires, not later than 180 days after the end of each fiscal year, each Federal agency to submit to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President pro tempore of the Senate, the Committee on Governmental Affairs of the Senate, the Committee on Government Reform of the House of Representatives, each committee of Congress with jurisdiction relating to the agency, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, and the Attorney General an annual report with specific information relating to each agency's EEO complaints activity.