Skip Navigation

What are civil rights?


Civil rights are personal rights guaranteed and protected by the U.S. Constitution and federal laws enacted by Congress, such as the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.  Civil rights include, for example:

  • freedom of speech,
  • the right to vote, 
  • due process of law, 
  • equal protection of the laws, and 
  • protection from unlawful discrimination.  

The HHS Office of Civil Rights (OCR) enforces civil rights laws that prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age,  sex, and religion by health care and human services entities over which OCR has jurisdiction, such as state and local social and health services agencies; and hospitals, clinics, nursing homes or other entities receiving Federal Financial Assistance from HHS.  Under these laws, all persons in the United States have a right to receive health care and human services in a nondiscriminatory manner.  For example, you cannot be denied services or benefits, simply because of your race, color, national origin, or disability.  For more information about these laws and our authority under them, see our home page.

Updated: 5/14/2008