U S Department of Health and Human Services www.hhs.gov
  CMS Home > Regulations and Guidance > Transaction and Code Sets Standards > Overview


Transactions are activities involving the transfer of health care information for specific purposes. Under the Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), if a covered entity engages in one of the identified transactions, they must comply with the standard for that transaction. HIPAA requires every covered entity who does business electronically to use the same health care transactions, code sets, and identifiers. HIPAA has identified ten standard transactions for Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) for the transmission of health care data. Claims and encounter information, payment and remittance advice, and claims status and inquiry are several of the standard transactions. Code sets are the codes used to identify specific diagnosis and clinical procedures on claims and encounter forms. The HCPCS, CPT-4, ICD-9, and NDC codes with which providers are familiar, are examples of code sets for procedures, diagnoses, and drugs.  

HIPAA Information Series for Providers- A series of ten papers devoted to electronic transactions and code sets.  To view these papers, see the "Related Links Inside CMS" section below.


There are no Downloads
Related Links Inside CMS
HIPAA Information Series for Providers

HIPAA - General Information

HCPCS Release and Code Sets
Related Links Outside CMSExternal Linking Policy

There are no Related Links Outside CMS

Page Last Modified: 01/14/2009 4:07:04 PM
Help with File Formats and Plug-Ins

Submit Feedback