Supercomputing Challenge Winners

A total of \$95,000 in individual scholarships — \$80,000 from Los Alamos' Computing and Computational Sciences (CCS) Division — were awarded on Tuesday at Los Alamos.

Scholarship winners and their college choice:

- Eveli Abeyta, Santa Fe Indian School, who will attend MIT/Georgetown
- Stoyana Alexandrova, Los Alamos High School, who will attend Mount Holyoke or Barnard College
- Iliana Alexandrova, Los Alamos High School, who will attend the Savannah School of Art Institue and Design or the Art Institute of Chicago
- Sarah Armstorng, McCurdy High School, who will attend the University of California, Santa Barbara or another college
- Brittany Atteberry, Oñate High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Tel Baird, Bloomfield High School, undecided
- Clayton Baird, Bloomfield High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Sam Boling, Monzano High School, who will attend the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
- Jessica Cano of Melrose High School, who will attend Clovis Community College
- Kevin Christeson of Oñate High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Joel Crockett of Bloomfield High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Zanessa Dodd of Melrose High School, who will attend Eastern New Mexico University
- Ashley Durham of Artesia High School, who will attend Baylor University
- Ben Fox of Silver City High School, who will attend Pepperdine University
- Jasmine Henio of Navajo Preparatory School, who will attend the University of New Mexico
- Jacob Koby of McCurdy High School, who will attend New Mexico Tech
- William Laub of Eldorado High School, who will attend New Mexico Tech
- Jason Li of Oñate High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Jesus Lopez of Alamogordo High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Brian Lott who is home schooled and will attend Baylor University

- Craig Mayberry of Artesia High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Chris Morrison of Rio Rancho High School, who will attend Embry Riddle Aeronautical
- Kirit Pandya of Los Alamos High School, who will attend the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- Amanda Russell of Melrose High School, who will attend Clovis Community College.
- Natalie Salvat of Oñate High School, who will attend New Mexico State University
- Alex Takacs of Socorro High School, who will attend Northern Arizona University, Adams State, University of New Mexico, or WSU
- Jacob Terry of Alamogordo High School, undecided
- Lane Thomas of Navajo Preparatory School, who will attend University of New Mexico or Fort Lewis University
- Vanessa Trujillo of McCurdy High School, who may attend the University of New Mexico.
- Shea Valdez of Bloomfield High School, undecided
- Juan-Antonio Vigil of McCurdy High School, who will attend New Mexico Tech

Creativity and Innovation Award from Sandia National Laboratories

<u>Team Members</u>: Eric Benner, Steven Benner, Samuel Bonin, and Anthony Rodriquez

School: Manzano High

Project: "Game Theory Applied to a Hostage Crisis"

<u>Teacher:</u> Steve Schum Mentor: Paul Roensch

Internet Research Award from the Council for Higher Education Computing Services, Inc.

Team Members: Calvin Loncaric, Kirat Pandya, Coleson Ruminer, Paolo Venneri, and

Gabe Vigil

<u>School</u>: Los Alamos High School <u>Project:</u> "Internet Weakness Analysis"

Community Focus Award

Team Members: Raquel Descheenie and Lane Thomas

<u>School:</u> Navajo Preparatory School <u>Project:</u> "Operation: Don't Litter"

Teacher: Mavis Yazzie

Best Technical

<u>Team Members:</u> Kyle Jacobs, Richard Rush, and Kayla Thompson

School: Melrose High School

Teachers: Rebecca Raulie and Alan Daugherty

Prize: Share \$200 cash

Student's Choice Award

<u>Team Members:</u> Kyle Jacobs, Richard Rush, and Kayla Thompson

School: Melrose High School

Teachers: Rebecca Raulie and Alan Daugherty

Prize: Share \$200 cash

Los Alamos National Laboratory Environmental Award

<u>Team Members:</u> Chris Hughes and Ruben Hamming-Green

School: Academy for Technology and the Classics

Project: "Predicting Wild Fires"

Teachers: Terrill Nickerson and Patricia Joseph

New Mexico Network for Women in Science and Engineering Award

<u>Team Members:</u> Alessandra Anderson, Kaitlyn Hughes, Vivek Prinja, and Matthew

Scharmer

School: Sandia Preparatory School

<u>Project:</u> "N.E.R.D.S." <u>Teacher:</u> Neil McBeth

High Performance Award from Cray Inc.

Team Members: Punit Shah and Jack Ingalls

School: Albuquerque Academy

Project: "Deriving Ramsey Numbers"

<u>Teacher:</u> Jim Mims <u>Mentor:</u> David Metzler

BX Internet Best HTML Award

Team Members: Punit Shah and Jack Ingalls

School: Albuquerque Academy

Project: "Deriving Ramsey Numbers"

<u>Teacher:</u> Jim Mims Mentor: David Metzler

MathWorks Rising Star Award

<u>Team Members:</u> Michael Wang <u>School:</u> Albuquerque Academy

Project: "Robustness of Biochemical Oscillators"

<u>Teacher:</u> Jim Mims <u>Mentor:</u> Yifeng Wang

Computer Forensics and Encryption Award

<u>Team Members:</u> Craig Mayberry and Ashley Durham

School: Artesia High School

Project: "The RSAmazing Algorithm"

<u>Teacher:</u> Randall Gaylor Mentor: Mat Conn

Overcoming Adversity Award

<u>Team Members:</u> Ryan O'Rourke, Marty Cabeen, Aundre Huynh, and Kevin Kortkamp

<u>School</u>: Jackson Middle School Project: "Baseball with Degrees"

Teacher: Karen Glennon

Middle School Awards

Team Members: Calin Popa, Reed Sanchez, and Jeremy Adkins

School: Bosque School
Project: Dangerous Drivers
Teacher: Thomas Allen
Mentor: Jim Hicks

Team Members: Jarett Jones and Luis Maura

School: Rio Rancho Mid-High

Project: "Modeling Ion Propulsion for Direct Spacecraft Propulsion"

Teacher: Debra Loftin

Best StarLogo Award from Santa Fe Institute and MIT

<u>Team Members:</u> Calin Popa, Reed Sanchez, and Jeremy Adkins

School: Bosque School

Project: "Dangerous Drivers"

Teacher: Thomas Allen

Mentor: Jim Hicks

Teacher Appreciation Awards

- Jim Mims, Albuquerque Academy
- Jimmy Crawford, Lovington High School
- Randy Gaylor, Artesia High School

New Logo Winners

<u>Created By:</u> Jorge Palma, Carlos Suarez II, Nathan Smith, Abraham Sanogo, and Jeffrey Wang

School: Las Cruces High School

Teacher: Gregory Marez

Their design will appear on all Supercomputing Challenge graphics for the next school year.