Supercomputing Challenge Winners - 2008

A total of \$70,000 in individual scholarships — \$50,000 from Los Alamos' Computer, Computational, and Statistical Sciences (CCS) Division — were awarded on Tuesday at Los Alamos. The top amount was awarded to Punit Shah of Albuquerque Academy who plans on attending U Penn or MIT.

Scholarship winners, their high school and their college choice:

Punit Shah, Albuquerque Academy, U Penn or MIT Alan Benalil, Socorro High, NM Tech Danielle Charley, Navajo Prep, Northern Arizona University Phillip de La Rosa Artesia High, Eastern Tracey Franklin, Artesia High, Rice, Dartmouth Sarah Garduno, McCurdy School, NMSU Jayson Lynch, Sandia Prep, MIT or Cal Tech Jessica MacKinnon, Artesia High, NMSU Brandon Oselio, Albuquerque Academy, ASU, NMSU Vlado Ovtcharov, Albuquerque Academy, UNM Daniel Pedro, Santa Fe Indian School, UNM Alex Sifuentes, Artesia High, Eastern Omar Soliman, Socorro High, NM Tech

Best StarLogo Award from Santa Fe Institute

Team 59, Los Alamos Middle, River Otters and Their Effect on Riverine Ecosystems, <u>Team Members</u>: Thomas Henderson, Johnny Jacobs, Steven McCrory, Jack Mockler, Simon Redman, Marie-Luise Schmidt, Teacher: Le-Ann Salazar, Project Mentor: Rueben Guadiana

Best Technical Poster

Team 61, Los Alamos Middle, Turn Up the Heat, Energy Efficiency through Smart Wall Design, <u>Team Members</u>: Rachel Robey, Jessie Bohn, <u>Teacher</u>: LeAnn Salazar, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Robert Robey This design will appear on the cover of the 2008 -09 Final Reports Publication.

Miguela Trujillo, McCurdy School, NMSU

Best Written Report

Team 82, Sandia Prep, Comparing Numerical Integration Methods, <u>Team Members</u>: Alex Clement, Amy Clement, Greg Fenchel, Jeff Fenchel, Jayson Lynch, <u>Teacher</u>: Neil McBeth, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Mark Smith

Community Focus Award

Team 90, Socorro High, The Unbeatable Speed Limit, <u>Team Members</u>: Omar Soliman, Alan Benalil, Mariah Deters, Carly Nowicki, <u>Teacher</u>: Bala Settu, <u>Project Mentor</u>: LD Landis

Creativity and Innovation Award from Sandia National Laboratories

Team 85, Santa Fe Indian School, Scan of the Past II, <u>Team Members</u>: Vanessa Keetso, Daniel Pedro, <u>Teacher</u>: Rhonda Ward-Martinez, Sally Phelps, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Stephen Guerin

High Performance Award from Cray Inc.

Team 49, La Cueva/Saint Pius X, An Analysis of Direct Simulation Monte Carlo And Its Application to Simulating Supersonic Shockwaves, <u>Team Members</u>: Tony Huang, Erika DeBenedictis, <u>Project</u>

Mentor: Dr. Erik DeBenedictis, Dr. Dan H. Huang, Dr. Michail Gallis

Internet Best HTML Award

Team 15, Aspen Elementary, Cryptography Studies, <u>Team Members</u>: Dhaivat Pandya, Colin Redman, Matthew Ticknor, <u>Teacher</u>: Zeynep Unal, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Elizabeth Cooper

Internet Research Award from the Council for Higher Education Computing Services, Inc.

Team 81, Rio Rancho Mid-High, Modeling the NASA Dawn Ion Propulsion Spacecraft, <u>Team Members</u>: Destiny Tamboer, Ryan Cortez, Jerett Jones, Luis Maura, Alissandra Rogers, <u>Teacher</u>: Debra Loftin, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Nick Bennett

Los Alamos National Laboratory Environmental Award

Team 16, Barranca Mesa Elementary, Global Warning: It's Not Cool, <u>Team Members</u>: George Barnum, Eric Begnaud, Mohit Dubey, Ben Liu, Mengzhe Zhao, <u>Teacher</u>: Andrea Spence, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Dr. Michael L. Begnaud

New Logo Winners

Team 85, Santa Fe Indian School, Scan of the Past II, <u>Team Members</u>: Vanessa Keetso, Daniel Pedro, <u>Teacher</u>: Rhonda Ward-Martinez, Sally Phelps, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Stephen Guerin Their design will appear on all Supercomputing Challenge graphics for the next school year.

New Mexico Network for Women in Science and Engineering Award

Team 55, Los Alamos High, Polar Warming, <u>Team Members</u>: Shelby Anderson, Emily TenCate, <u>Teacher</u>: Diane Medford, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Mark Anderson, James TenCate

Students' Choice

Team 59, Los Alamos Middle, River Otters and Their Effect on Riverine Ecosystems, <u>Team Members</u>: Thomas Henderson, Johnny Jacobs, Steven McCrory, Jack Mockler, Simon Redman, Marie-Luise Schmidt, <u>Teacher</u>: Le-Ann Salazar, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Rueben Guadiana

Teachers' Choice

Team 68, Melrose High, Oryx Populations at White Sands Missile Range, <u>Team Members</u>: Kyle Jacobs, Richard Rush, Randall Rush, <u>Teacher</u>: Alan Daugherty, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Rebecca Raulie

Jeff Bingman's Middle School Award

Presented to Project GUTS

The Challenge's Middle School Arm

Irene Lee, with Nick Bennett, Celia Einhorn, Betsy Frederick, Lisa Goldman, Alexis Kaminsky Greg Malone, Maureen Psalia-Dombrowski, Paige Prescott, Josh Thorpe, and Talaya White.

Best Challenge Process

Team 42, Freedom High, Cosmic Shooting Gallery, <u>Team Members</u>: Tanner Wood, Ryan Mayfield, Matt Royo, Teacher: Joseph Vertrees

Best Professional Presentation

Team 48, Jackson Middle, Home Remedies V.S Prescriptions, <u>Team Members</u>: Matt Jannakos, Chris Winter, Nick Shortencarier, <u>Teacher</u>: Mrs. Glennon, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Dale Henderson, Betsy Fredrick, Nick Bennett

Best Teamwork

Team 59, Los Alamos Middle, River Otters and Their Effect on Riverine Ecosystems, <u>Team Members</u>: Thomas Henderson, Johnny Jacobs, Steven McCrory, Jack Mockler, Simon Redman, Marie-Luise Schmidt, <u>Teacher</u>: Le-Ann Salazar, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Rueben Guadiana

Science is Fun!

Team 83, Sandia Prep, Modeling the Hydrogen Atom, <u>Team Members</u>: Alessandra Anderson, Kaitlyn Hughes, <u>Teacher</u>: Neil McBeth, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Robert Anderson