FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION



WASHINGTON, D.C. 20426

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 14, 2006

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT:

Barbara A. Connors (202) 502-8680

CHAIRMAN WELCOMES NEW COMMISSIONERS

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Chairman Joseph T. Kelliher today applauded the Senate's confirmation of three new Commissioners, Philip D. Moeller, Jon Wellinghoff and Marc Spitzer, to serve on the energy panel.

"I am pleased to welcome Phil, Jon and Marc to the Commission," Chairman Kelliher said. "This is an exciting and demanding time as we address significant new responsibilities given the Commission under the Energy Policy Act of 2005. Phil, Jon and Marc bring great talent and experience to the Commission, and their contributions will help us meet these challenges."

Mr. Moeller, after serving as energy policy advisor to former U.S. Senator Slade Gorton of Washington, has most recently served as the Washington representative for Alliant Energy Corp. He also served for nearly 10 years as the Staff Coordinator for the Washington State Senate Committee on Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications. He will serve a term expiring June 30, 2010.

Mr. Wellinghoff, an attorney, was Nevada's first Consumer Advocate and served as staff counsel to the Nevada Public Utilities Commission. He will serve a term expiring June 30, 2008.

Mr. Spitzer, an attorney specializing in tax law, was elected to the Arizona Corporation Commission in 2000, and served in the Arizona State Senate prior to that. He will serve a term expiring June 30, 2011.

R-06-46