Modernizing NEPA Implementation Kick-Off Meeting

WHCC, Truman Room June 7, 2005¹

Attendees:

Council on Environmental Quality

Chairman James L. Connaughton

Horst G. Greczmiel, Associate Director for NEPA Oversight

Department of Agriculture

Mark Rey, Under Secretary, Natural Resources & Environment

Dave Tenny, Deputy Undersecretary for Forestry

Jon Reedy, Special Assistant

U.S. Forest Service:

Reta Laford, NEPA Specialist

Department of Commerce

NOAA:

Timothy R.E. Keeney, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Oceans and Atmosphere

John Hansel, Environmental Protection Specialist, NOAA/NMFS

Economic Development Administration:

Jim Yeager, Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary

Frank J. Monteferrante, Ph.D., Intergovernmental Affairs, Office of External Affairs and Communication

1

¹ Rescheduled from May 20, 2005.

Department of Defense

Department of the Navy:

Donald R. Schregardus, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Environment)

Department of the Air Force:

Col Richard Ashworth, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Environment, Safety, Occupational Health)

Jack Bush, Senior Planner/NEPA Program Manager, USAF Basing and Units

Department of the Army (Civil Works):

George Dunlop, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army (Civil Works)

J. Andrew Hagelin, Assistant for Water Policy, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Army (Civil Works)

Department of Energy

Russell Shearer, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of Environment, Safety & Health,

Andy Lawrence, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Environment

Department of Homeland Security

Mr. Donald Bathurst, Chief, Administrative Services, Management Directorate

Mr. David Reese, Environmental Planning Program Manager, Management Directorate,

US-VISIT, Border and Transportation Security Directorate:

Patty Cogswell, Director, Office of Chief Strategist

Mr. Manny Rodriguez, Director, Office of Facilities and Engineering

Federal Law Enforcement Training Center, Border and Transportation Security Directorate:

Mr. Paul Magalski, Deputy Assistant Director, Facilities Management

Mr. James Jones, NEPA Coordinator

Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Planning and Response Directorate:

Mr. Brent Paul, Environmental Planning Officer

Department of Health and Human Services

Scott Waldman, Department Energy Officer

Department of Housing and Urban Development

Nelson R. Bregón, General Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of Community Planning and Development, attended for Assistant Secretary Pamela H. Patenuade

Richard H. Broun, AICP, Director, Office of Environment and Energy

Department of the Interior

Chris Kearney, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy and International Affairs

Willie Taylor, Director, Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance, Office of the Secretary

Department of Justice

Kelly A. Johnson, Acting Assistant Attorney General, Environment & Natural Resources Division

Andrea Berlowe, Senior Counsel, Law and Policy Section, Environment and Natural Resources Division

Department of Labor

Patrick Pizzella, Assistant Secretary for Administration and Management & CIO

Terry Wear, Special Assistant to Mr. Pizzella

Department of State

Claudia A. McMurray, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Environment, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs

Jo Brooks, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs

Department of Transportation

Tyler Duvall, Acting Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy

Linda Lawson, Director of Safety, Energy and Environment,

Federal Aviation Administration:

Sharon Pinkerton, Assistant Administrator for Aviation Policy, Planning, and Environment

Matt McMillen, National Environmental Policy Act Liaison, Office of Environment and Energy

Surface Transportation Board:

John Scheib, Chief of Staff, attended for Chairman Roger Nober

Victoria Rutson, Chief, Section of Environmental Analysis

Department of the Treasury

James A. Thomas, Jr., Director Office of Facilities and Support Services (Acting Agency Environmental Executive)

Independent Agencies

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation

John Fowler, Executive Director

Charlene VaughnAssistant Director, Federal Program Development

Committee for Purchase From People Who Are Blind or Severely Disabled

Patrick Rowe, Deputy Executive Director

Environmental Protection Agency

Kenneth von Schaumburg, Deputy General Counsel

Anne Miller, Director, Office of Federal Activities

Federal Communications Commission

Aaron N. Goldberger, Legal Advisor to the Bureau Chief, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau

Jeffrey S. Steinberg, Deputy Chief, Spectrum and Competition Policy Division, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Mark Whitenton, Deputy Director, Office of External Affairs

Ann F. Miles, Director, Division of Hydropower Licensing

Federal Maritime Commission

Bryant L. VanBrakle, Secretary, Federal Maritime Commission

Jennifer Gartlan, Attorney, Office of Consumer Affairs and Dispute Resolution Services

General Services Administration

Glenn S. (Sam) Hunter, Jr., Assistant Commissioner, Office of Applied Science, Public Buildings Service

International Boundary and Water Commission

Susan E. Daniel, Legal Counsel

Marine Mammal Commission

Mike Gosliner, General Counsel

National Aeronautical and Space Administration

Olga Dominguez, Deputy Assistant Administrator for Office of Infrastructure and Administration

James Leatherwood, Director, Environmental Management Division

Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Karen D. Cyr, General Counsel

Stuart Treby, Assistant General Counsel for Rulemaking and Fuel Cycle, Office of the General Counsel

Small Business Administration

Chris McClintock, Office of General Counsel

Tennessee Valley Authority

Jon M. Loney, Senior Manager, NEPA Administration, Environmental Policy and Planning

U.S. Postal Service

Dennis M. Baca, Manager, Environmental Management Policy, Agency Environmental Executive

Susan L. Koetting, USPS Law Department

#