Please note: Some of these databases are only available to our users while visiting the Linda Hall Library.

Science Databases

BIOSIS Previews , 1969 - present.
	On all LHL workstations. (Web of Science).
	Extensive coverage of the life sciences and related disciplines. Includes Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM as well as additional material. Citations and abstracts are provided. For searches of the journal literature previous to 1969 use Biological Abstracts in print. For searches of pre-1960 reports, reviews and meetings see Biological Abstracts/RRM in print.

Biological & Agricultural Index, 1983 - present. Updated monthly.
	On all LHL workstations. (Winspirs, Webspirs and Macspirs)
	Provides bibliographic citations for articles on a wide variety of topics in biology and agriculture. Coverage includes English language articles from popular and scientific journals. For searches prior to 1983 use the print edition of Biological and Agricultural Index.

Chemical Abstracts, Collective Indexes. Indexes only. 12th (1987-1991), 13th (1992-1996), and 14th (1997 - 2001) editions.
	On most LHL workstations. Click on the CAonCD icon.
	A comprehensive index to the literature in chemistry and related topics. Linda Hall Library has the corresponding abstracts in paper format. To search for materials older than 1987, use the print editions of the Collective Indexes. Some records are also available using Chemical Abstracts Student Edition.

Chemical Abstracts, Student Edition, 1967 - present. Updated weekly.
	On all LHL workstations. (FirstSearch)
	Provides citations with abstracts for over 250 of the most widely held chemistry journals, as well as over 200,000 dissertations. This database is designed for limited searching. To search the complete literature, including proceedings, patents, and an exhaustive list of journals use Chemical Abstracts in print or the collective indexes on CD listed above.

General Science, 1984 - present. Updated monthly.
	On all LHL workstations. (Winspirs, Webspirs and Macspirs)
	Indexes more than 100 leading journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain. Includes references to biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, and book reviews. This is a good source for students to research a variety of scientific topics. For searches prior to 1984 use the print edition of General Science Index.

Geo Ref, 1785 - present. Updated bi-monthly.
	On all LHL workstations. (Winspirs, Webspirs and Macspirs)
	Indexes the literature for the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and coverage for the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references with abstracts to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses from U.S. and Canadian universities. Also included are references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th edition. 1991 - .
	On a selected workstation.
	An electronic version of this encyclopedia of industrial chemistry. Multiple full text articles with references are available on a broad range of chemicals and related information.

MEDLINE, 1950-present.
	On all LHL workstations. (Web of Science)
	Abstracts and citations to life sciences literature with an emphasis on biomedicine. This Web of Science (WOS) interface to the National Library of Medicine's database allows searching of multiple Web of Science databases and additional WOS features. To search this database when not at Linda Hall Library use the National Library of Medicine's PubMed.

Pollution Abstracts, 1981-current. Updated monthly.
	On all LHL workstations. (CSA)
	Provides citations and abstracts to journals, conference papers, technical reports and government reports dealing with environmental topics related to pollution. Subject areas covered include air, marine, and freshwater pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management, land pollution, toxicology, health, radiation, noise, and environmental action. For searches prior to 1981 use Pollution Abstracts in print.

Scopus, 1996 - present with more complete coverage from 1996 to present.
	On all LHL workstations. (Web of Science)
	Interdisciplinary coverage of the scientific literature, web sites and patents. Features include citation tracking and search refinement features.

Science Citation Index Expanded, 1981 to present.
	On all LHL workstations. (Web of Science)
	Interdisciplinary science coverage. Features include cited reference searching and the ability to search across Web of Science databases such as BIOSIS previews and Medline.

Engineering Databases

Aerospace & High Technology Database, 1962-current. Updated monthly.
	On all LHL workstations. (CSA)
	Provides citations and abstracts for basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences, as well as technology and applications associated with space science. Includes some articles from supporting fields such as chemistry, geoscience, physics, communications, and electronics. This database indexes periodicals, conference papers, and technical reports. Also included are reports issued by NASA, other government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. For searches prior to 1962 use International Aerospace Abstracts in print.

Applied Science & Technology Index, 1983 - present. Updated monthly.
	On all LHL workstations. (Winspirs, Webspirs and Macspirs)
	Provides citations with abstracts for major, international English-language periodicals in engineering, the applied sciences, and technology. It also a good source of information on management, careers, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields and includes some directories and buyer's guides. For searches prior to 1983 use the print edition of Applied Science & Technology Index (1958 - present) and Industrial Arts Index (1913 - 1957).

Ei Compendex and Engineering Index Backfile, 1884-current. Updated weekly.
	On all LHL workstations. (Engineering Village)
	Provides citations and abstracts for the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.

Industry Standards Search: Full Text of UL Standards. Updated bimonthly.
	On all LHL workstations. (I.H.S.)
	This database provides citations and version information for national, international, and military standards. UL Standards are available in full text via LHL's subscription.

INSPEC and INSPEC Archive, 1898-current. Updated weekly.
	On all LHL workstations. (Engineering Village)
	Provides citations and abstracts for international journals and conference proceedings in the fields of physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computing and control, information technology, and manufacturing and production engineering. Some books, technical reports, and dissertations are also included.

Difficult to Find Engineering Papers Database
	Available both in the Library and remotely via the Web.
	Contains paper numbers needed to find many engineering societies papers. The database is limited in scope. Please contact Reference for help with papers not found in the database.

Historical Indexes on American Engineering Topics
	Available both in the Library and remotely via the Web.
	The indexes in this group come from the engineering collections at the Linda Hall Library. They are not indexes on the history of engineering but indexes from the history of engineering, i.e. original documents indexing the publications of their time.

For more information contact:
The Reference Department
816-363-4600 or 800-662-1545