

## Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary



## Draft Management Plan/ Draft Environmental Impact Statement

Volume I of II: Draft Management Plan



May 2006

U.S. Department of Commerce National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Ocean Service National Marine Sanctuary Program

Cover Photo Credits (left to right): Ralph A. Clevenger; Laura Francis; Ralph A. Clevenger

## **ABOUT THIS DOCUMENT**

This document is the revised draft management plan for the Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary (CINMS). When final, this plan will serve as the primary management document of the Sanctuary for the next five years.

Comments or questions on this management plan should be directed to:

Michael Murray Management Plan Coordinator Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary 113 Harbor Way, Suite 150 Santa Barbara, California 93109 (805) 966-7107 michael.murray@noaa.gov

Recommended citation:

U.S. Department of Commerce. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. National Marine Sanctuary Program. 2006. *Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary Draft Management Plan / Draft Environmental Impact Statement*. Silver Spring, MD.

## ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

From 1999 through 2004, the Sanctuary Advisory Council was instrumental in the development of this draft management plan and draft Environmental Impact Statement. NOAA acknowledges and thanks Advisory Council representatives for their individual and collective contributions to this process.

Staff of the Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary (CINMS) and the National Marine Sanctuary Program (NMSP) are acknowledged for their contribution in the development of this draft management plan.

The following individuals are acknowledged for providing assistance in preparation of the draft Environmental Impact Statement: Michelle Bates, Thomas Collinson, Leray De Wit, Jacqueline Eldridge, Brandon Elliott, Angela Emery, Dr. John M. Engle, Alice Green, Peter Howorth, Geri Ige, Amy Jacobsen, Kathleen Kefauver, Mick Kronman, Dr. Bob Leeworthy, Luanne Lum, Christina McGinnis, Dr. Michael McGinnis, Diane Randall, Dr. Mark Rigby, Shirley Warren, and Michelle Wilson.