John T. Conway, Chairman A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman Joseph J. DiNunno Herbert John Cecil Kouts John E. Mansfield

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 208-6400



September 10, 1998

The Honorable Bill Richardson Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Richardson:

On behalf of myself and the other Members of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board), I want to congratulate you on your appointment as Secretary of the Department of Energy. We wish you well in meeting the heavy demands of your office.

The Board Members look forward to working with you and your associates to ensure the successful and safe operation of the defense nuclear facilities under your authority. We are prepared to meet with you at the earliest opportunity that your schedule permits.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway Chairman

c: The Honorable Elizabeth A. Moler The Honorable Ernest J. Moniz Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.