How Do I
Art Research Databases
Logging on from home or work?
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
| Art Full Text + Art Index Retrospective | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Index to articles from art, architecture & design magazines, back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.
| ||||
| Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (within FirstSearch) | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. Updated weekly.
| ||||
| ArtFact | Main Library Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Auction records for antiques & collectibles, used by the experts on the Antiques Roadshow
| ||||
| Artnet.com: Price Database | Main Library Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
This database requires a Username and Password so it is available ONLY in the Main Library with the assistance of a librarian.
Auction records (1985-present) for fine arts. | ||||
| ArtPrice.com | Main Library 2nd Floor Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
This database requires a Username and Password so it is available ONLY in the Main Library with the assistance of a librarian.
Auction records (1700-present) for fine arts, plus artist biographies & signatures. | ||||
| Oxford Art Online | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
| ||||
