How Do I
Magazine and Newspaper Databases
Logging on from home or work?
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
Magazines
| Expanded Academic ASA | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.
| ||||
| JSTOR | Library Access | No Remote Access | ||
|
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
| ||||
| LGBT Life with Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues
| ||||
| MasterFILE Premier | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
| ||||
| MAS Online Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text coverage provided for general interest and current events magazines.
| ||||
| EBSCO EJS (Electronic Journal Service) | Main Library Only | No Remote Access | ||
|
Citations, with some abstracts & full text, for approximately 200 scholarly journals.
| ||||
Newspapers
| The Jewish Criterion | Available to anyone | |||
|
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
| ||||
| Newspaper Source | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Provides selected full-text coverage for more than 240 newspapers and other sources.
| ||||
|
Pittsburgh Courier
(ProQuest Historical Newspapers) | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text access to the Pittsburgh Courier and New Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), via ProQuest
| ||||
|
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
NewsBank Database Search | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, 1990-present.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Website Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Archive Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Archive contains most locally written articles that have appeared in the Tribune-Review and the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review (1988-). Photographs are not available.
| ||||
