How Do I
Databases for Pittsburgh
Logging on from home or work?
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
| Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog | Available to everyone | |||
|
Publicly available shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
| ||||
|
Pittsburgh Courier
(ProQuest Historical Newspapers) | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text access to the Pittsburgh Courier and New Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), via ProQuest
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Technology Council Member Directory | Available to everyone | |||
|
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
| ||||
| Historic Pittsburgh | Available to everyone | |||
|
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
| ||||
| The Jewish Criterion | Available to everyone | |||
|
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Post-Gazette at NewsBank | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, 1990-present.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search | Available to everyone | |||
|
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Website Search | Available to everyone | |||
|
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Archive Search | Available to everyone | |||
|
Archive contains most locally written articles that have appeared in the Tribune-Review and the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review (1988-). Photographs are not available.
| ||||
