How Do I
Quick Facts Databases
Logging on from home or work?
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
Dictionaries
| Oxford English Dictionary | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
| ||||
| Oxford Reference Online | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Definitions and translations from over 100 full-text dictionaries on foreign languages, art, history, literature, science, and more.
| ||||
Encyclopedias
| Birds of North America Online | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Detailed scientific information, images, audio and video for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
| ||||
| EBSCO Animals | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Information on animals for school-aged children.
| ||||
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Contains over 25,000 articles on various topics.
| ||||
General Reference
| Access PA POWER Library | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 35 of the databases listed here, including Ebscohost, Oxford Art, Oxford Music, Litfinder and many more!
| ||||
| Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog | Available to Everyone | |||
|
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries.
| ||||
| African American Experience | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text information on African American history and culture.
| ||||
| Associations Unlimited | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
| ||||
| CUFTS | Available to Everyone | |||
|
Trying to find a specific magazine? Use the Journal Search to find out which database contains a particular magazine, either citations or full text. Covers many of the databases listed here, as well as many we don't have access to, so ask a librarian if you don't find what you're looking for.
| ||||
| DartClix | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Searchable collection of links to professionally selected, high quality web sites on a variety of subjects.
| ||||
| EBSCOhost | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
EBSCO databases, including the magazine & newspaper databases, Novelist, Searchasaurus and more.
| ||||
| EBSCOhost Español | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
EBSCO databases with an interface in Spanish.
| ||||
| LGBT Life with Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues
| ||||
| Oxford Reference Online | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Definitions and translations from over 100 full-text dictionaries on foreign languages, art, history, literature, science, and more.
| ||||
| Reference Universe | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.
| ||||
| WorldCat | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.
| ||||
