How Do I
Research Databases
Logging on from home or work?
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
Access PA POWER Library
| Access PA POWER Library | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 35 of the databases listed here, including Ebscohost, Oxford Art, Oxford Music, Litfinder and many more!
| ||||
Art & Architecture
| Art Full Text + Art Index Retrospective | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Index to articles from art, architecture & design magazines, back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.
| ||||
| Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (within FirstSearch) | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. Updated weekly.
| ||||
| ArtFact | Main Library Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Auction records for antiques & collectibles, used by the experts on the Antiques Roadshow
| ||||
| Artnet.com: Price Database | Main Library Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
This database requires a Username and Password so it is available ONLY in the Main Library with the assistance of a librarian.
Auction records (1985-present) for fine arts. | ||||
| ArtPrice.com | Main Library 2nd Floor Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
This database requires a Username and Password so it is available ONLY in the Main Library with the assistance of a librarian.
Auction records (1700-present) for fine arts, plus artist biographies & signatures. | ||||
| Oxford Art Online | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
| ||||
Return to the topAuto Repair
| Auto Repair Reference Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Detailed and diagrammed automotive repair and maintenance information covering most major manufacturers.
| ||||
Biography
| African American Experience | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text information on African American history and culture.
| ||||
| Biography and Genealogy Master Index | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.
| ||||
| Biography Reference Bank (HW Wilson) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Contains full text biographical articles from hundreds of reference sources. Includes citations for magazine articles (some are available in full text).
| ||||
| Biography Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Comprehensive database of biographical information. Includes full text biographical articles from many popular magazines.
| ||||
| Contemporary Authors | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
| ||||
Books
|
Access Pennsylvania
On-Line Catalog | Available to Everyone | |||
|
Shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
| ||||
| ARBAOnline | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
American Reference Books Annual online.
| ||||
| authors4.teens.com | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
In-depth interviews with contemporary authors who write books for teens.
| ||||
| Book Source: Nonfiction | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text and summaries of nonfiction books covering social studies, science & other research topics for children Kindergarten through 12th grade
| ||||
| BookFLIX | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Read or listen to children's books online.
| ||||
| Naxos Spoken Word Library | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
| ||||
| netLibrary | Library Access | Remote Access* | ||
|
Full text electronic books (both text and audio).
For Remote Access you must create an account from within the library. | ||||
| NoveList! | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Fiction database that helps you find books by subject, read reviews & annotations, get discussion guides and much, much more.
| ||||
| NoveList Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
NoveList Plus contains over 200,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for adults, teens, older and younger kids. Included are over 400 annotated book lists on high-interest topics, BookTalk for older kids and teens, and Book Discussion Guides.
| ||||
| Novelist K-8 | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Use the title of your favorite books or your favorite author to find similar books.
| ||||
| Novelist K-8 Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Novelist K-8 Plus offers reading suggestions with over 78,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for juvenile readers. It also includes Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Recommended Reads book lists, and Book Discussion Guides.
| ||||
| WorldCat | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.
| ||||
Business
| Associations Unlimited | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
| ||||
| Business and Company Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Company profiles, industry descriptions, association information, investment reports, full-text articles and citations.
| ||||
| Business Source Premier | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text articles with an international scope on such topics as accounting, management, marketing, economics, finance, and international business.
| ||||
| CorpTech |
LIMITED*
Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Includes profiles of over 50,000 high tech companies nationwide.
* ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and Reference Services in the Main Library in Oakland | ||||
| Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database - Total U.S. | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
14 million companies, from the smallest to the largest, with extensive information on each and downloading capabilities.
| ||||
| Kompass |
LIMITED*
Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Offers snapshots on over 1.5 million foreign manufacturers and distributors in 70 countries.
* ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and the Main Library | ||||
| Morningstar Investment Research Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Contains mutual fund and stock ratings and reports, including detailed analyst reports, from Morningstar Inc.
| ||||
| PROMT - Predicast's Overview of Markets and Technology | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Provides comprehensive, reliable, and global coverage of companies, products and technologies including market data.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Technology Council Member Directory | Available to Everyone | |||
|
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
| ||||
| Regional Business News | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text coverage for regional business publications around the U.S
| ||||
| Reference USA | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
| ||||
| Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to the in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records, and directories of corporations, their executives, and securities dealers in North America.
| ||||
| STAT-USA |
LIMITED*
Library Access* | NO Remote Access | ||
|
The U.S. Department of Commerce's site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community.
*ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and Reference Services in the Main Library in Oakland; fee-based offsite. | ||||
| TableBase | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Tabular data on companies, industries, products and demographics.
| ||||
| USA Trade Online |
LIMITED*
Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A sister website to STAT-USA by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce it provides U.S. import and export data on over 18,000 commodities.
*ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and Reference Services in the Main Library in Oakland; fee-based offsite. | ||||
Current Topics & Controversies
| CQ Researcher | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Provides in-depth, non-biased, full text reports on political and social issues & controversies.
| ||||
| Facts.com | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Articles, images, and historical documents covering key issues in the news, from 1940 to the present.
| ||||
|
Facts.com:
Issues & Controversies | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
In-depth, full-text coverage of current issues and controversies.
| ||||
| GreenFILE | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
| ||||
| LGBT Life with Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues
| ||||
| Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
| ||||
Dictionaries
| Oxford English Dictionary | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
| ||||
| Oxford Reference Online | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Definitions and translations from over 100 full-text dictionaries on foreign languages, art, history, literature, science, and more.
| ||||
Education
| ERIC | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Citations, abstracts, and full text articles from education and education-related journals.
| ||||
| Professional Development Collection | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text articles for professional educators.
| ||||
| Testing & Education Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams.
| ||||
| Tuition Funding Sources | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Students can search the TFS databases for scholarships and other forms of financial aid, take personality and career aptitude tests, and search for detailed college information. TuitionFundingSources.com also maintains a large database of athletic scholarships. When registering, new users should select "Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh" as their school.
| ||||
Encyclopedias
| Birds of North America Online | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Detailed scientific information, images, audio and video for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
| ||||
| EBSCO Animals | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Information on animals for school-aged children.
| ||||
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Contains over 25,000 articles on various topics.
| ||||
Genealogy
| Ancestry Library Edition | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
| ||||
| Footnote |
Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only) | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A database of original source documents, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more.
| ||||
| Historic Pittsburgh | Available to Everyone | |||
|
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
| ||||
General Reference
| Access PA POWER Library | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 35 of the databases listed here, including Ebscohost, Oxford Art, Oxford Music, Litfinder and many more!
| ||||
| Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog | Available to Everyone | |||
|
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries.
| ||||
| African American Experience | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text information on African American history and culture.
| ||||
| Associations Unlimited | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
| ||||
| CUFTS | Available to Everyone | |||
|
Trying to find a specific magazine? Use the Journal Search to find out which database contains a particular magazine, either citations or full text. Covers many of the databases listed here, as well as many we don't have access to, so ask a librarian if you don't find what you're looking for.
| ||||
| DartClix | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Searchable collection of links to professionally selected, high quality web sites on a variety of subjects.
| ||||
| EBSCOhost | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
EBSCO databases, including the magazine & newspaper databases, Novelist, Searchasaurus and more.
| ||||
| EBSCOhost Español | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
EBSCO databases with an interface in Spanish.
| ||||
| LGBT Life with Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues
| ||||
| Oxford Reference Online | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Definitions and translations from over 100 full-text dictionaries on foreign languages, art, history, literature, science, and more.
| ||||
| Reference Universe | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.
| ||||
| WorldCat | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.
| ||||
Government
| CQ Researcher | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Provides in-depth, non-biased, full text reports on political and social issues & controversies.
| ||||
| Lexis Nexis Congressional Papers & United States Serial Set | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
There are four databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database.
| ||||
| MarciveWeb DOCS | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Catalog of U. S. Government publications from 1976 to the present.
| ||||
| Public Documents Masterfile | Main Library Access ONLY | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A comprehensive electronic guide to Over 4 million federal, state, local and international public documents; spanning over 200 years of publication. Coverage incorporates US documents from 1789 to the present. New data is identified and added regularly.
| ||||
Grantseeking
| FC Search | Foundation Center ONLY | No Remote Access | ||
|
FC Search (CD-ROM), by the Foundation Center (New York), profiles over 92,000 foundations and other private funders nationwide, and over 400,000 grants from larger funders. Grantmaker searches can be conducted by name, geographic focus of its funding, fields of interest of funders, types of support, and text searches. Grant searches include by recipient's name, foundation name, services of recipient, and geographical location. Updated semi-annually.
| ||||
| Foundation Directory Online Platinum | Foundation Center ONLY | No Remote Access | ||
|
Foundation Directory Online, by the Foundation Center (New York), is the web version of FC Search. It includes over 92,000 grantmakers and over 1.3 million grants of the larger funders in the database. Updated weekly.
| ||||
| Foundation Grants to Individuals Online | Foundation Center & JCEC ONLY | No Remote Access | ||
|
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, by the Foundation Center (New York), profiles over 6,500 foundations and public charities that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.
| ||||
| Grant Explorer | Foundation Center ONLY | No Remote Access | ||
|
Grant Explorer, by Guidestar, includes over 3.05 million grants (of $5,000 or greater) awarded by over 52,200 of the largest foundations nationwide. This is a good database for identifying grants given to organizations whose services are similar to your own nonprofit. Updated weekly.
| ||||
| GrantSelect | Foundation Center & JCEC ONLY | No Remote Access | ||
|
GrantSelect, by Oryx Press, offers snapshots of over 10,000 public and private funding sources for both nonprofit organizations and individuals. Its strengths are in the arts, education, and research. Updated daily.
| ||||
| Pennsylvania Foundations Online | Foundation Center ONLY | No Remote Access | ||
|
Pennsylvania Foundations Online profiles over 1,700 foundations in Pennsylvania. Search by city, county, region within the state of PA, by foundation name, and major interests of foundations.
| ||||
Health
| Consumer Health Complete (CHC) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
| ||||
| Health Source Plus Consumer Edition | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Information on health and medicine, food and nutrition, childcare, and sports medicine from consumer health publications and magazines.
| ||||
| Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Abstracts and selective full text articles from scholarly nursing and medical journals.
| ||||
| MedlinePlus® | Available to Everyone | |||
|
Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
| ||||
History & Social Studies
| African American Experience | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text information on African American history and culture.
| ||||
| American Women's History | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
American Women's History is a unique reference database containing biographies, historical and topical subject entries, speeches and other documents, maps and charts, photographs, and timeline entries that cover more than 500 years of American women's history.
| ||||
| CQ Researcher | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Provides in-depth, non-biased, full text reports on political and social issues & controversies.
| ||||
| Expanded Academic ASAP | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.
| ||||
| Facts.com | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Articles, images, and historical documents covering key issues in the news, from 1940 to the present.
| ||||
| Footnote |
Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only) | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A database of original source documents, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more.
| ||||
| Historic Pittsburgh | Available to anyone | |||
|
A digital collection for Pittsburgh history, including full-text books, digital images & maps, census records, & a timeline.
| ||||
| History Reference Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
History Reference Center is a comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
| ||||
| History Resource Center: United States | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
| ||||
| History Resource Center: World | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
| ||||
| LGBT Life with Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues
| ||||
| Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
| ||||
Jobs & Careers
| Career Cruising | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Career profiles, assessment tools, and other career-related information.
| ||||
| Testing & Education Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams.
| ||||
Kids' Resources
|
Access Pennsylvania Database (Online Library Catalog) | Available to everyone | |||
|
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries, including school libraries.
| ||||
| AP Multimedia Archives | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
| ||||
| Book Source: Nonfiction | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text and summaries of nonfiction books covering social studies, science & other research topics for children Kindergarten through 12th grade
| ||||
| BookFLIX | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Read or listen to a book online.
| ||||
| EBSCO Animals | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Information on animals for school-aged children.
| ||||
| Facts For Learning (Facts On File News Services) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
A variety of reference sources for elementary and middle school students including magazines, timelines, and almanacs.
| ||||
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Provides 25,000 informative articles on a broad range of topics.
| ||||
| Kids Search (for grades 1-5) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
All-in-one search tool to find magazine & newspaper articles, dictionary & encyclopedia entries, and images on a wide variety of topics.
| ||||
| Live Homework Help | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and History. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link.
Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!
| ||||
| Middle Search Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search for articles from more than 150 magazines for middle school aged children.
| ||||
| Novelist K-8 | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Use the title of your favorite books or your favorite author to find similar fiction books.
| ||||
| Novelist K-8 Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Novelist K-8 Plus offers reading suggestions with over 78,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for juvenile readers. It also includes Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Recommended Reads book lists, and Book Discussion Guides.
| ||||
| Primary Search | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search for articles from more than 60 magazines for elementary school aged children.
| ||||
| Science Online (Facts On File) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
| ||||
| Searchasaurus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Searches multiple reference sources for children, including an encyclopedia of animals, magazine searches, photos, maps, and more.
| ||||
| SIRS Discoverer | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers and magazines for elementary and middle school students.
| ||||
| Student Research Center (grades 6-12) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
All-in-one search tool to find magazine & newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, primary sources and images on a wide variety of topics.
| ||||
Literature
| African American Experience | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text information on African American history and culture.
| ||||
| Contemporary Authors | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
| ||||
| Expanded Academic ASAP | Library Access | |||
|
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.
| ||||
| Literature Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.
| ||||
| LitFinder | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text of poems, stories, essays, plays & speeches.
| ||||
| Naxos Spoken Word Library | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
| ||||
| NoveList! | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Fiction database that helps you find books by subject, read reviews & annotations, get discussion guides and much, much more.
| ||||
| NoveList Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
NoveList Plus contains over 200,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for adults, teens, older and younger kids. Included are over 400 annotated book lists on high-interest topics, BookTalk for older kids and teens, and Book Discussion Guides.
| ||||
Magazines
| Expanded Academic ASA | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.
| ||||
| JSTOR | Library Access | No Remote Access | ||
|
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
| ||||
| LGBT Life with Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues
| ||||
| MasterFILE Premier | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
| ||||
| MAS Online Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text coverage provided for general interest and current events magazines.
| ||||
| EBSCO EJS (Electronic Journal Service) | Main Library Only | No Remote Access | ||
|
Citations, with some abstracts & full text, for approximately 200 scholarly journals.
| ||||
Music
Music History and Indexes
| Index to Printed Music | Main Library Access Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Citations for individual pieces of classical music printed in standard scholarly editions.
| ||||
| JSTOR | Library Access Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
| ||||
| Music in Print | Main Library Access Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
lists currently available printed music.
| ||||
| Music Index | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1979.
| ||||
| Oxford Music Online | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.
| ||||
Streaming Music
| African American Song | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Historical Recordings of African American music
| ||||
| American Song | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
This site contains over 12,000 tracks (with more added regularly) that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event.
| ||||
| Classical Music Online | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to classical music online
| ||||
| Contemporary World Music | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.
| ||||
|
DRAM Online
Digital Recordings of American Music | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays, from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI) and other labels such as Albany, Frog Peak, Mode, and XI.
| ||||
| Naxos Music Library | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to classical, jazz and world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
| ||||
| Naxos Music Library Jazz | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
| ||||
| Smithsonian Global Sound | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.
| ||||
Music Scores Online
| Naxos Music Library Sheet Music |
LIMITED*
Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
View and download classical and jazz sheet music.
This database requires the Freehand Solero Viewer plugin to download and view sheet music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
* ONLY accessible in Music, Film and Audio, Main Library, Oakland
| ||||
Newspapers
| The Jewish Criterion | Available to anyone | |||
|
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
| ||||
| Newspaper Source | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Provides selected full-text coverage for more than 240 newspapers and other sources.
| ||||
|
Pittsburgh Courier
(ProQuest Historical Newspapers) | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text access to the Pittsburgh Courier and New Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), via ProQuest
| ||||
|
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
NewsBank Database Search | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, 1990-present.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Website Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Archive Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Archive contains most locally written articles that have appeared in the Tribune-Review and the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review (1988-). Photographs are not available.
| ||||
Photographs
| AP Multimedia Archives | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
| ||||
| Historic Pittsburgh | Available to everyone | |||
|
View thousands of images documenting Pittsburgh history, as well as historic maps, and much, much more.
| ||||
Pittsburgh
| Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog | Available to everyone | |||
|
Publicly available shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
| ||||
|
Pittsburgh Courier
(ProQuest Historical Newspapers) | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text access to the Pittsburgh Courier and New Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), via ProQuest
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Technology Council Member Directory | Available to everyone | |||
|
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
| ||||
| Historic Pittsburgh | Available to everyone | |||
|
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
| ||||
| The Jewish Criterion | Available to everyone | |||
|
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Post-Gazette at NewsBank | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, 1990-present.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search | Available to everyone | |||
|
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Website Search | Available to everyone | |||
|
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Archive Search | Available to everyone | |||
|
Archive contains most locally written articles that have appeared in the Tribune-Review and the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review (1988-). Photographs are not available.
| ||||
Science & Technology
| African American Experience | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP card) | ||
|
Full text information on African American history, including contributions in science, health & medicine.
| ||||
| Applied Science & Technology Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP card) | ||
|
Provides articles from major scientific and technical journals in all areas of engineering and technology, including topics ranging from acoustics to waste management.
| ||||
| Birds of North America Online | Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Detailed scientific information, images, audio and video for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
| ||||
| EBSCO Animals | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Information on animals for school-aged children.
| ||||
| Expanded Academic ASAP | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.
| ||||
| GreenFILE | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
| ||||
| IEEE Xplore |
LIMITED*
Library Access | NO Remote Access | ||
|
IEEE Xplore contains a comprehensive collection of full text documents, reports and standards, providing access to the world's most highly cited journals in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
* ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business, the Main Library, and Squirrel Hill. | ||||
| Science Online (Facts On File) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
| ||||
| Science Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
| ||||
| WorldWideScience.org | Available to everyone | |||
|
A global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
| ||||
Not a CLP cardholder? Click here for eiNetwork databases.
