Databases by Title

A

• 19th Century Masterfile
  • Series I: Index for 19th century USA and British periodicals.
    Series III: Indices for the New York Times Index, 1863-1905 (full-text available from ProQuest); New York Daily Tribune Index, 1875-1906; Palmer's Index to the Times (London), 1880-1890; Index to the Oregon Spectator, 1846-1854.
• Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
  • Indexes 7,800+ scholarly journals, with full text for 4,000 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1965- present for selected titles. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly History E-Book Project)
  • Search or browse 1500+ authoritative electronic editions of leading books in the humanities disciplines and area studies. Sponsored by the American Council of Learned Societies.
    
    
• ACM Digital Library
  • Abstracts, reviews, and full-text for articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals and magazines. Full-text for SIG Proceedings and Newsletters. Part of the ACM Portal to Computing Literature. 1985- present.
• ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
  • Search or browse books, journals, proceedings, theses, and reports in computer science. Over 750,000 citations. Part of the ACM Portal to Computing Literature.
• African-American Poetry (1750-1900)
  • Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets. Searchable by title, first line, poet, gender, and time period.
• AgEcon Search
  • Full-text library of Agricultural and applied economics scholarly literature. Search by institution or journal. University of Minnesota.
• AgeLine
  • Index to materials on social gerontology, including health care and other aging issues. Produced by AARP. 1978 - present.
• AGRICOLA (FirstSearch)
  • Index to agricultural and plant science journals, USDA documents, and state extension service publications primarily from North America. 1970- present.
• Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
  • Index to the literature about biotechnological techniques and products used in agriculture and the food industry. Includes plant genome studies and environmental developments. 1993- present.
• AGRIS
  • Index to international agricultural literature. Includes articles, technical reports, proceedings, theses, and documents primarily from, or related to, the developing world. 1975- present.
• Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCOhost)
  • Index to alternative and complimentary health therapies, including full text from journals, newsletters, newspapers and pamphlets. 1978- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.).
• Alt-Press Watch
  • Indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Covers a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society. 1994- present.
• Aluminium Industry Abstracts
  • The world's technical literature on aluminum, ranging from ore processing through applications. 1972- present.
• America History & Life
  • Index of journal articles, dissertations and book reviews on all aspects of North American history (United States and Canada). 1964- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• American Drama (1714-1915)
  • Over 1,500 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. Searchable by playwright, genre, date and place of first performance.
• American History & Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
  • 29,000 works about the Americas published from 1500 to the early 1900's. Includes books, pamphlets, serials and documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.
• American Men and Women of Science
  • Biographical dictionary of 120,000 significant living scientists in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Entries include birthdate, birthplace, field of specialty, education, honorary degrees, current position, professional and career information, awards, memberships, research information, and addresses, where available.
• American National Biography (ANB)
  • Authoritative essays about notable Americans from earliest times through 2005. Recommends key books and articles for further reading. Print edition also available.
• American Periodicals Series (1741- circa 1900)
  • Growing collection of magazines & journals published in late colonial Anglo-America and the U.S., valuable for research in History, Literature, Journalism, and other disciplines. Microform edition also available.
• American Poetry (1600-1900)
  • Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century. Searchable by title, first line, poet, gender, and time period.
• American State Papers, 1789-1838
  • Legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses, plus other historical materials such as speeches and messages of U.S. Presidents, and papers on historical events such as Lewis and Clark's Expedition, Aaron Burr's conspiracy and arrest, and early treaties with American Indian nations. See also the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1890.
• Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920- present)
  • Over 860,000 searchable records of monographs, scholarly articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and collections of essays and dissertations.
• Anthropological papers of the American Museum of Natural History
  • The Anthropological Papers include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians. Illustrious anthropologists as well as many past and present curators of the American Museum of Natural History's Division of Anthropology published their work in the Papers. 1907- present
• Anthropology Plus
  • Combines Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute). Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. Late 19th century- present.
• AnthroSource
  • Searchable archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003, with current issues of 15 peer-reviewed AAA titles.
• Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
  • 350 International periodicals relating to engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer science. 1983- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• AQUASTAT
  • Comprehensive statistics and other information on the state of agricultural water management worldwide, with emphasis on developing countries and countries in transition. Includes tools for estimating and mapping climate, water availability and irrigation use. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
• ARBA Online
  • American Reference Books Annual. Quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. 1997- present.
• ArchivesUSA
  • Directory of 5,500 repositories and 141,178 collections of primary source material in the United States. Search 58,000 finding aids, indexed by subject. Links to 5,000 online finding aids.
• ARD, the Anthropology Review Database
  • Searchable database of reviews covering anthropological publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources.
• Art Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
  • Citations and abstracts from more than 300 international English language arts publications. Content includes periodical articles, interviews, film reviews, and more. 1984- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Article1st
  • Index to 12,600 + journals pertaining to science, medicine, technology, social science, business, humanities, and popular culture. Now includes journal Tables of Contents (formerly in Contents1st). 1990 - present.
• Arts & Humanities Search
  • A citation index covering over 1,136 titles from leading arts and humanities journals. Includes the ability to search particular authors' works to find out who is citing them. 1980- present.
• Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  • Part of Web of Science. Search over 1,130 leading journals by subject, author, or cited reference. On the search screen, clear the checkboxes for Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index if you do not want to search all 3 databases simultaneously (the default). An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool. 1996- present. You can now save citations to EndNote Web — recorded training sessions are available.
• ARTstor
  • ARTstor's Charter Collection contains 300,000 digital images, with 500,000 images projected by 2006. ARTstor documents artistic traditions across time and cultures, embracing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
• ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
  • Abstracting journal covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. 1990- present.
• Asia-Studies
  • Reports on 53 countries in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and Pacific Islands about finance, trade, environment, human resources development, government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies. The average 50-page study contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Browse by country to find annual statistical overviews. Includes Asia-Studies Humanities, a database focused on Asian languages, arts, culture, history, and religion.
• Associations Unlimited
  • Directory of more than 154,000 detailed listings for international, national, state, and regional organizations. IRS information for more than 300,000 nonprofit organizations.

B

• Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
  • Index to articles on bacteriology and immunology. 1982- present.
• Bible - King James
  • The 1611 King James or 'Authorized' Version became the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries, significantly influencing later versions and English literature.
• Bibliography of American Literature
  • Detailed descriptions of the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
• Bibliography of Native North Americans (EBSCOHost)
  • Indexes books, articles, essays, conference papers, and U.S. and Canadian government publications about: Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples of Alaska, Canada, the U. S., and Mexico. 16th Century- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Biography and Genealogy Master Index
  • Index to more than 10 million biographical sketches of individuals from dictionaries, encyclopedias, and "Who's Who" publications.
• Biological and Agricultural Index (EBSCOHost)
  • Indexes 250 of the major English-language journals in the life sciences and agriculture. 1983- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• BioOne
  • Unique collection of full-text bioscience journals published by scholarly societies. Most titles available from 2000-present, except for The American Midland Naturalist (1998-present).
• Biosis Previews
  • Online version of Biological Abstracts® and Biological Abstracts/RRM® (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings). References and abstracts of the literature from all areas of biology, including biochemical, cellular, molecular, ecological and environmental. 1969 - present.
• Birds of North America Online
  • Detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Includes extensive references and an expanding collection of media resources for each species. Cornell Lab of Ornithology.
• Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
  • Expert definitions and explanations of key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. Includes introductions to research and sociological theories developed outside of the United States and Europe.
• Book Review Index Online Plus
  • Over 5 million book review citations from magazines and scholarly journals, with links to full-text for over 630,000 reviews.
• Books in Print (now Global Books in Print)
  • Records of in-print, forthcoming, and recently out-of-print books from over 44,000 North American publishers. Updated weekly.
• books24x7
  • Thousands of full-text eBooks from APress, Wrox, Microsoft, Sams, Que, and other publishers on information technology, web development, business, e-commerce, design, and graphics. New users are required to register, using their UNR campus e-mail address. After you register, you will immediately receive an e-mail from books24x7 with login instructions.
• Britannica Online
  • Online version of the complete encyclopedia with more than 75,000 entries, links to related Internet sites, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
• Business & Industry
  • Indexes 1200+ trade magazines, newsletters, business press and international business dailies. Use to find both US and International information on companies, industries, products and markets. 1994 - present.
• Business Dateline
  • Index to articles on businesses and trends. 1985 - present.
• Business Organizations
  • Directory of organizations, agencies, and publications worldwide. Current edition, updated yearly.
• Business Source Premier (EBSCOHost)
  • About 3,050 full-text scholarly publications, plus abstracts for 3,850+ journals, in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Also includes country economic reports and profiles for 5,000 large companies. 1965- present for selected titles. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)

C

• CAB Direct
  • Indexes 4 million+ articles, books, reports, and proceedings in animal & plant sciences, human health, ecology & environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, and leisure/tourism. Links to full-text provide article access if UNR subscribes to the source journal. 1900- present.
• Canadian Poetry
  • Over 12,000 poems by 142 poets. Forthcoming: a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the 17th century to the early 20th century.
• Carlyle Letters Online
  • Browse or search 10,000+ collected letters of Thomas and Jane Walsh Carlyle for an unusual perspective on the 19th century. Their correspondence features some of the most influential artistic, philosophic, and literary personalities of the day.
• CASSI Online
  • Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index. All the journals indexed in Chemical Abstracts since 1907. Search by abbreviated title or other information. (UNR NetID required)
• CCH Tax Research Network
  • Text of current laws, regulations, and news on federal and states (all states) taxes.
• Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts
  • Online equivalent of Ceramic Abstracts and World Ceramics Abstracts, indexing the literature on all aspects of ceramics (1975 to present).
• Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)
  • Chemical Abstracts and Registry File online from 1907. The premier database for searching chemicals and chemistry-related issues. (UNR NetID required)
• CHEMnetBASE
  • Major chemical reference books from Chapman & Hall and CRC Press: Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD), The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds.
• Chicago Manual of Style
  • Search the Chicago Manual of Style and Chicago Style Q&A. Also provides "Tools," such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets. See the Citation Guide for examples of Chicago-style citations.
    
• Child Welfare Information Gateway
  • Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse, Child Welfare Information Gateway provides essential information and resources related to the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families.
• CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
  • International affairs-related literature from journals, conference proceedings, books, policy briefs and papers from research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and foundations. Coverage varies by source, but begins as early as 1991.
• CINAHL (EBSCOHost)
  • Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is the most comprehensive index available for nursing and related fields. 1982 - present. Pre-CINAHL is a companion database that provides current awareness of new journal articles. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• CiteSeer
  • Largest free full-text index of scientific research papers; 730,000+ titles. Search by keyword or citation. More information.
• Civil Engineering Database
  • Indexes publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers, including journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal records from 1958- present, with abstracts back to 1970. Book records, early 1900s- present.
• CLAN Cooperative Libraries Automated Network of Nevada
  • Gateway to Nevada Department of Museums, Libraries, and Arts Website, and access to the library catalogs of the State Library and many Nevada Public libraries.
• Classical Music Navigator
  • Information about important classical music composers and their works. The presentation makes it easy to identify additional materials that relate to existing "points of familiarity." Browse composers, notable works, geographical locations, styles and forms of music, or a glossary.
• College Board Connection
  • The College Board's mission is to connect students to college success and opportunity. This website contains specific content for the major regions covered by the College Board, as well as general information about education advocacy, listings of programs and services, and relevant news reports.
• CollegeSource Online
  • A database of 11,300 current college catalogs. Includes previous years' catalogs, profiles, and links to college Web sites. Anyone may access The University of Nevada, Reno Catalog
• Columbia Earthscape
  • Interdisciplinary collection of resources on environmental issues. Includes teaching materials, legislation, regional studies, documents, journal articles, full-text books and chapters, and online data sets.
• Columbia Gazetteer of the World
  • A database of geographical names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world. Search by place-name, type of place, or keyword.
• ComAbstracts
  • Indexes journal articles and books in the professional literature of communications. Coverage varies for each journal, but is listed on the About ComAbstracts page.
• Compendex Web
  • Online equivalent of Engineering Index, within an organized space for engineering Web resources. 1970- present.
• Computing Reviews
  • Critical peer reviews for literature in computer science and the mathematics of computing. Links to full text articles from the reviews are available for resources to which we subscribe. 1985- present.
• Conference Papers Index
  • Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 on life sciences, environmental sciences and aquatic sciences. 1982- present.
• Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography
  • In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical assessment of their works.
• Contemporary Women's Issues
  • Interdisciplinary and international index of journal articles, newsletters, and research reports relevant to women and girls. 1992 - present.
• Copper Data Center Database
  • Indexes the world's literature on copper, copper alloys, and copper technology (1965 to present).
• Corrosion Abstracts
  • Indexes the world's literature on corrosion science and technology (1980 to present).
• Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
  • Search or browse transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives that shed light on the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works that contextualize the primary material.
• CQ Electronic Library
  • Full text of two of Congressional Quarterly's premier print publications, CQ Weekly (from 1983) and CQ Researcher (from November 1991).
• CQ Researcher
  • Full text overviews providing the pros and cons on current controversial issues with complete summaries, bibliographies and time-lines.
• CQ Voting and Elections Collection
  • Voting data, analysis, and historical material on presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections in the United States.
• CQ.Com
  • Comprehensive legislative tracking service for U.S. Congressional news, bills, committees, and members, with full-text CQ reports, federal documents, and transcripts. Users may customize reports and alerts. Includes CQ Budget Tracker, continuously updated information on the Congressional appropriations process, with full text reports and federal documents.
• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
  • The most comprehensive source for data and constants in physics and chemistry. Searchable by names, properties, and sections.
• Criminal Justice Abstracts
  • Citations and summaries of international journal articles, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminal justice topics. 1968 - present.
• Criminal Justice Periodical Index
  • Coverage of international journals on a wide range of criminal justice issues. 1981 - present.
• CRSP
  • Historical prices for stocks, mutual funds and bonds. Users may import downloaded data to Excel or SAS. (UNR NetID required)
• CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
  • Combined index to Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, METADEX, and WELDASEARCH. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, books and reports. When searching any of these databases, three additional databases are searched simultaneously: MicroPatent Materials Patents (abstracts of U.S., European, and Patent Cooperation Treaty patents relating to materials science), Web Resources Database (indexed Web sites in materials science), and Recent References (current citations).1966- present.
• CultureGrams
  • Cultural information for 175+ countries of the world, including history, customs, lifestyle, and government.
• Current Index to Statistics
  • Indexes 162 core journals in statistics and related publications. 1975- present.
• Curtis's Botanical Magazine
  • Browse or search for images in the first 26 volumes of this illustrated gardening and botanical journal, published from 1787 to 1807. Taxononomies are included in image descriptions. Contains 1050 records, with 1048 color plates. Provided by the National Agricultural Library.

D

• DataWorks
  • Web access to advanced scientific visualization, data analysis, and modeling software. Links to scientific information databases.
• Dictionary of Organic Compounds and Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
  • Full content of the classic reference sets. From CHEMNetBase.
• Digital National Security Archive
  • 63,000 of the most important declassified documents on U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Search the documents or explore collections of primary resources organized by top scholars.
• Digital Sanborn Maps: Nevada Collection
  • Large-scale Sanborn fire insurance maps (1867-1970) provide information about the history, growth, and development of cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
• Directory of Published Proceedings
  • Search for descriptions of past or future conferences, meetings, and symposia. 2003- present.
• Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
• Dolley Madison Digital Edition
  • Dolley Payne Madison was the most important First Lady of the nineteenth century. This is the first complete edition of her known correspondence. Browse letters by time period. Search by text, names, dates, topics, or places. Select Contents for a list of letters sorted by date, author, or recipient. 1788 to June 1836.
• DRAM
  • High quality streaming audio of complete works from over 1,200 CDs in the catalog of American music by New World Records. Provides liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc (CRI), and other labels. Includes all types of music: folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, and electronic.

E

• Early American Fiction
  • Full texts of first editions of early American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.
• Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
  • Books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera represented in the American Bibliography by Charles Evans. 40,000 works trace the history of the American colonies that would eventually become the United States, and include such diverse topics as temperance, witchcraft, slavery, diplomacy and music.
• Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700)
  • Over 200 complete works in fictional prose from the period 1500-1700, with keyword searching.
• Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
  • Search the world's literature in earthquake engineering, for technical reports, conferences, books, and journal articles. Over 100,000 abstracts, 1971 - present.
• EBSCO Online
  • Provides the full text of articles in almost 500 journals, and tables of contents and abstracts for many more.
• ECO - Electronic Collections Online (Electronic Journals)
  • Indexes 5,400+ scholarly journals in a wide range of subjects. Abstracts and full-text are available for approximately 400 journals to which UNR subscribes. To limit results to these journals, check the "full-text" box. 1995- present.
• Ecology Abstracts
  • Indexes articles on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. 1982- current.
• EconLit
  • Index to articles in journals, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics.1969 - present.
• Education Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
  • An index to 400 journals. Subjects indexed include a wide variety of topics related to teaching. 1983- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Educational Administration Abstracts
  • Indexes articles related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other key areas.
• EduMine
  • Online continuing education courses and technical reference for mining and the geological sciences (part of InfoMine.) Course access requires Internet Explorer 6+. Access is via username and password — UNR students, faculty or staff members must register using their UNR e-mail address to use the site for the first time. If you have an existing username and password, for our recent trial of the full InfoMine site, it should continue to work. Contact Brenda Mathenia at 682-7377 for further assistance.
• eHRAF World Cultures
  • A web-based collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject. Formerly known as eHRAF Collection of Ethnography. Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. at Yale University.
• Eighteenth Century Fiction (1700-1780)
  • 96 complete works of prose by British writers. Includes Tristram Shandy, Clarissa, Pamela, and Gulliver's Travels, with keyword searching.
• EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
  • Abstracts of Environmental Impact Statements issued by the U.S. federal government. 1985- present.
• Elsevier ScienceDirect (Electronic Journals)
  • Full text of articles from 1800 electronic journals, primarily in the Sciences with some titles in the Social Sciences. 1995 - present for most journals. More information
• Emerald Management Xtra
  • Articles from 140 management journals, covering strategy, leadership, library and information management, marketing, and human resource management. 1967-to present. More information
• Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Online version of the complete encyclopedia with more than 75,000 entries, links to related Internet sites, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
• Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences
  • Covers all major aspects of atmospheric science and related subjects such as oceanography and hydrology. Includes recently established fields such as atmospheric chemistry and global climate change as well as the traditional topics of atmospheric dynamics, cloud physics, and weather forecasting.
• Encyclopedia of Evolution
  • Comprehensive guide to evolutionary biology. Entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Special essays include Stephen Jay Gould's "Macroevolution" and Jane Goodall and Elizabeth Vinson-Lonsdorf on "Culture in Chimpanzees." Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Encyclopedia of Geology
  • Covers earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, the history of geology, and more.
• Encyclopedia of Global Change
  • Authoritative articles investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth, such as tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
  • Compilation of research articles on the availability of fresh water resources and the effects of population increase, pollution, and variations in distribution resulting from regional and global climate change.
• Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
  • Covers all classes of materials and the phenomena related to them, ranging from optical and dendritic phenomena to characterization of materials and crystalline polymers.
• Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
  • Covers the physical processes that drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological regimes, methods of studying the oceans, from ship-based systems to satellite remote sensing, and ancillary topics such as the law of the oceans, use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate change.
• Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
  • From the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, 700 articles by leading scholars cover Western Europe, North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
  • Scholars from forty countries provide 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the Middle Ages, from the fifth to the fifteenth century. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Energy Citations Database
  • Indexes energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, with citations for report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. 1948- present
• Engineered Materials Abstracts
  • Indexes the world's literature on ceramics, composites, and polymers (1986 to present).
• Engineering Village 2 (Compendex Web)
  • Online equivalent of Engineering Index, within an organized space for engineering Web resources. 1970 - present.
• English Drama (1280-1915)
  • 4,000 English verse and prose plays by 1,200 authors from the late 13th century to the early 20th century. Searchable by author, genre, time period, and keyword.
• English Poetry (600-1900)
  • The English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
• English Poetry, Second Edition
  • The English poetic canon for the 21st century, with over 20,000 poems in new categories, covering the literary heritages of the Commonwealth.
• ENGNetBase
  • Full-text handbooks and reference titles from CRC Press in all fields of engineering. Provides essential formulas, updated codes, and developments in emerging fields such as nanotechnology, biomedical engineering, and photonics. Combines CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE, ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE, MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE, and TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE
• Environment & Energy Publishing
  • Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy. Includes articles, webcast video, and transcripts from the following E & E services: Environment and Energy Daily, Greenwire, E&ENews PM, E&ETV News, and Land letter.
• Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
  • Interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences. 1981- present.
• ERIC
  • An index to journals, books, curriculum guides, and other resources relating to education from pre-school to graduate school. 1966- present.
• Essay and General Literature Index (EBSCOHost)
  • Indexes essays and articles in collections published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Particularly useful for humanities and social sciences literature. 1985- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Ethnic NewsWatch
  • Articles, editorials, reviews, etc. from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Search in English or Spanish. 1990- present.
• Europa World
  • The Europa World Year Book online, with political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

F

• Faber Poetry Library
  • 140 volumes by 50 of the most influential poets of the twentieth century.
• Facts on File World News Digest
  • U.S. and world news, 1940-present.
• FAOSTAT
  • Over 1 million time-series records with statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use and population from 210 countries and territories. Multilingual database produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
• FARS / FASB
  • The Financial Accounting Research System contains: Original Pronouncements, Current Text, EITF Abstracts, Staff Implementation Guides, and a Comprehensive Topical Index to FARS publications. (UNR NetID required) FARS User Guide
• FECInfoPro (PoliticalMoneyLine)
  • Comprehensive campaign finance and lobbying data. Limit of four concurrent users. After the site homepage opens, use one of the logins designated for UNR users to access content!
• Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis
  • Alphabetical list of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. Articles include reagent preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, and references.
• FirstSearch
  • A composite of 50 full-text and citation databases from all subject areas. Search libraries worldwide, thousands of journals, and selected websites.
• Fisheries Infobase
  • Search or browse online journals of the American Fisheries Society: Fisheries (1976- ); J. of Aquatic Animal Health (1989- ); North American J. of Aquaculture (1999- ); North American J. of Fisheries Management (1981- ); Progressive Fish-Culturist (1984- ); Transactions (1970- ).
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975-1996)
  • Indexes FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government on worldwide political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues or events. The reports are translations of foreign news or government sources.

G

• Gallup Brain
  • Searchable archive of 125,000 poll questions, with responses from 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll. Also, Gallup Poll News Service articles feature in-depth poll analyses and replicas of related news stories and press releases. 1935- present.
• Gardner's Digital Handbook of Chemical Synonyms and Tradenames
  • Information on commercially available chemicals. Records include, as applicable: CAS Registry No., EINECS No., Merck Index No., chemical composition, functions, applications, suppliers, and physical properties. (UNR NetID required)
• GenderWatch
  • Full text collection of articles covering women's and gender topics.
• Geobase
  • Worldwide bibliographic database on geography, geology, and ecology. 900,000 records. 1980 - present.
• GeoRef
  • Most comprehensive bibliographic database in geology, from 1785 to present. Nearly 2 million records. (Now from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
• GeoScience World
  • Indexes 30 peer-reviewed journals in the geological sciences. These journals are also indexed and available via "Find It!" links in GeoRef. 2000- present.
• Global Books in Print
  • Records of in-print, forthcoming, and recently out-of-print books from over 44,000 North American publishers. Updated weekly.
• Global Market Information Database
  • For over 200 countries, demographic and economic statistics, including consumer lifestyles, and retailing. 1977(earliest date of some tables)- present. Market analysis reports for over 350 markets for the last five years. Tables may be opened and saved in Excel.
• Global Newsbank
  • Index and full-text of international print and broadcast news. 1996- present.
• Glossary of Geology
  • Searchable dictionary of terms used in the geological sciences, compiled by the American Geological Institute.
• Government Periodicals Universe
  • Index to 250 periodicals published by the U.S. government. 1988 - present.
• Governmental Accounting Research System (GARS)
  • Provides access to governmental accounting literature. Updated twice a year. Important! UNR’s license for GARS allows only one user at a time. (UNR NetID required)
• GPO Access
  • Full text of U.S. federal bills, public laws, regulations and more from selected government departments and agencies.
• GreenFILE
  • Scholarly, government, and general-interest information on all aspects of human impact on the environment, as well as what can be done to minimize negative impact. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
• Grove Music Online
  • Includes full text, with ongoing updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.

H

• Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC)
  • The most comprehensive source for data and constants in physics and chemistry. Searchable by names, properties, and sections.
• HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)
  • Descriptions of and references to more than 12,000 tests, manuals, rating systems, questionnaires, and other instruments used to assess health and behavior. 1985-present.
• HarpWeek
  • Harper's Weekly, from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras (1857-1877).
• Health & Safety Science Abstracts
  • Indexes articles, government reports and other publications on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. 1981- present.
• Health Reference Center Academic
  • Citations, abstracts, or full-text access to 700+ general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers. 1980- present.
• Historical Abstracts
  • Index of journal articles, dissertations and book reviews on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• History of Science, Technology and Medicine
  • Indexes over 252,000 journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations. 1975 - present.
• HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
  • Bibliography of works selected and annotated by scholars, for the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. 1936- present.
• HRAF (Human Relations Area Files)
  • See eHRAF World Cultures
• Human Population & Natural Resource Management
  • Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings and gray literature about human population, demography, and societal issues involving natural resource management. 1995- present.

I

• ICPSR
  • Electronic archive for government and other survey data. Contact the BGIC staff for access to data archive.
• IEEE Xplore
  • Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
• IMMAGE
  • Information on mining, metallurgy, and geological exploration. 95,000 records. 1979- present. Also available on CD-ROM: TN1 .I488 CD Reserve, DeLaMare Library. (UNR NetID required)
• In the First Person
  • Indexes English language letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, oral histories and other personal narratives held in respositories worldwide or in published volumes publicly available on the Web.
• Index to Early American Periodicals
  • References to articles from U.S. periodicals from 1700-1935. Full articles can be found in the American Periodicals Microfilm Collection in the Reference Department.(microfilm S1, S1a, S1b)
• Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (EBSCOHost)
  • Indexes legal journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. 1981- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Index to Theses
  • Abstracts of theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland. 1716 - present.
• Ingenta
  • Indexes more than 20,000 journals covering all subject areas, with tables of contents for the journals included.
• INSPEC (EBSCOHost)
  • Online equivalent of Computer and Control Abstracts, Electrical and Electronics Abstracts, and Physics Abstracts from 1969, with linked full-text access to many journals. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• International Encyclopedia of Dance
  • Articles by scholars from fifty countries cover dance-theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
  • Articles cover historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics with special attention given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Iter
  • Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), including books, journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and other resources. Includes Iter Bibliography, International Directory of Scholars, Baptisteria Sacra, The Medici Archive Project, Aestimatio, and The Electronic Capito Project.

J

• Journal Citation Reports on the Web
  • Tool for journal evaluation that quantifies the relationships among journals by using citation data from 8,400+ titles in the sciences, technology, and social sciences. Measures reported include impact factor, citation and article counts, and journal half-life. Updated annually. Off-campus access error? Please try this!
• Journalism and Mass Communications Abstracts
  • Searchable database of Ph.D. dissertation abstracts and Master's thesis abstracts on journalism and mass communication. 1996- present.
• JSTOR
  • Core academic journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors.

K

• King James Bible
  • The 1611 King James or 'Authorized' Version became the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries, significantly influencing later versions and English literature.
• Kraus Curriculum Development Library
  • Searchable database of curricula, frameworks, and standards brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Index, 1983- present; Full text, 2001- present.

L

• L'Année Philologique
  • Indexes articles in journals, collections, and conference papers on classics and classical studies, including Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography.
• LexisNexis Academic
  • Index and full text to news, business, legal, medical, and reference materials and links to congressional and statistical information.
• LexisNexis Congressional
  • Index to U.S. Congressional publications; text of bills, laws, regulations, Congressional testimony and publications; legislative histories; members and committees of Congress. 1789 - present
• LexisNexis Statistical
  • Abstracts and index to U.S. federal & state government publications, and to privately published & international and intergovernmental statistical sources from 1972.
• Library Literature & Information Science (EBSCOHost)
  • Index to the international literature of library and information science found in periodicals and books. 1984- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
  • Indexes journal articles from over 600 publications, plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. Coverage back to 1966 for some titles.
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
  • Index to literature on all aspects of the study of the nature and use of language. 1973 - present.
• LION - Literature Online
  • A searchable library of English and American literature, poetry, Shakespeare, the Bible, and literary reference sources.
• Literature Criticism Online
  • Find articles from these collections: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (LC), Nineteenth-century Literature Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Twentieth-century Literary Criticism (TCLC).
• Literature Resource Center
  • Comprehensive literary database for biographical and critical coverage of major authors, including fiction, drama, and poetry throughout history. Drawn from Contemporary Authors & Dictionary of Literary Biography and many other literary reference sources published by Thomson Gale.

M

• Making of America
  • Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science & technology. Contains 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
• Manchester Medieval Sources
  • Full-text documents and scholarly translations, with supplementary material and links to related resources. Organized around specific works or themes, such as Black Death, women, religion.
• Marquis Who's Who
  • Profiles of the most accomplished individuals in government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion, and more. If you cannot access the database, our license may be in use; please try again in a few minutes.
• Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
  • Full text for 2,000 general publications, plus abstracts for 600+ titles. Covers business, education, health, science, multicultural issues, travel, and more. Also includes book reviews, biographies, images, World Almanac, and American Heritage Dictionary. 1975- present for selected titles. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Materials Business File
  • Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries (1985 to present).
• Materials Research Database
  • See CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX.
• MATHNetBase
  • Search or browse the latest editions of online reference books in pure and applied mathematics from CRC Press.
• MathSciNet
  • Access to Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present; also includes Current Mathematical Publications featuring recent and forthcoming works.
• Mechanical Engineering Abstracts
  • The world's literature in mechanical engineering, production engineering, and engineering management (1973 to present).
• Medline - PubMed
  • Index to 4,800+ journals in medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
• MELVYL
  • Catalog of over 15 million records of books and non-print materials in the nine University of California campuses.
• Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCOHost)
  • Comprehensive guide to 2,000+ contemporary testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Buros Institute, University of Nebraska. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Merck Index Online
  • Find chemical compounds searchable by names, properties and keywords. (UNR NetID required)
• Mergent Online
  • Continues Moody's FIS/Online. Provides current and historical financial information on 15,000 U.S. public companies and 20,000 international companies. Includes ratios.
• Mergent WebReports
  • Archive of corporate and industry related documents, with 180,000+ documents covering 100 countries and industries. Includes Argus Mergent Research Reports, SEC Edgar filings (1994- present), corporate reports for 30,000 companies worldwide, and industry analyses.
• Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
  • Over 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
• METADEX
  • Online equivalent of Metals Abstracts, indexing the literature on the science and technology of metals (1966 to present).
• Meteorological & Geoastrophysics Abstracts
  • Indexes the worldwide literature of meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from 600+ journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs. 1974- present.
• Middle English Compendium
  • Electronic versions of: The Middle English Dictionary;  HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies; and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as related links.
• MinAbs Online
  • Abstracts of the literature of mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy and related topics. Online version of Mineralogical Abstracts. 1982 - present.
• Mintel Reports
  • Mintel reports analyse market sizes and trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Covers USA, UK, and European markets. UNR users must create a personal profile on the Mintel site to access reports.
• MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
  • Over one million citations to books, scholarly journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies from languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. 1926 - present.
• Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (MarciveWeb Docs)
  • Index to U.S. Government information resources providing policy & background information on U.S. foreign relations, health, and much more from June, 1976.
• Music Index
  • Search 670 international music periodicals covering all aspects of classical and popular music. 1979- present.

N

• Nation Digital Archive
  • Search issues of The Nation from 1865-2004. Browse by date, author, or subject. Full-text available, excluding most recent 1 month.
• National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
  • Archive of New National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers and Books. Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that conducts and disseminates unbiased economic research.
• National Security Archive
  • See Digital National Security Archive
• Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
  • Provides encyclopedic access to information on natural medicines. Includes mechanism of action, safety, and therapeutic use, as well as citations to research studies.
• Naxos Music Library
  • Select (by composer, artist, period, year, solo instrument, or genre) and listen to classical, jazz, world, or folk music via streaming audio from the Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogs. Includes CD insert text and biographical information. UNR users also have access to the Naxos Music Library Jazz. Turn off your browser's popup blocker before accessing Naxos to avoid problems opening music files.
• netLibrary
  • A searchable collection of over 800 Electronic Books selected and purchased specifically for UNR Libraries. Also provides access to over 4,000 free E-books.
• Nevada Law Library on CD ROM
  • Nevada Reports (Court Cases), Revised Statutes, Administrative Code, Constitution, Court Rules, City Charters, Gaming Regulations, Attorney General's Opinions. (UNR NetID required) Also available on the Web (unrestricted access)
• Nevada State Documents Bibliography
  • List of Nevada government publications, January 1995-September 2003. For titles received after this date, check the library catalog. This database will remain available until all holdings have been transferred into the library catalog.
• New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
  • Full page and article images with searchable full text; articles from the first issue, Sept. 18, 1851, through 2004. Some articles and photographs by freelance writers and photographers are not included.
• NewspaperArchive
  • Search or browse over 2,200 historic newspapers. 1759- present. Includes the following Nevada newspapers: Daily Nevada State Journal, Nevada State Journal, Nevada Evening Gazette, Reno Evening Gazette, Reno Evening News, Weekly Gazette And Stockman, Weekly Nevada State Journal, Weekly Reno Gazette.
• Nineteenth Century
  • Index to UNR Libraries' Nineteenth Century microfiche collection, published between 1801-1900. See our user guide to the collection.
• Nineteenth-Century Fiction (1782-1903)
  • 250 novels from 1782 to 1903, including works by all the major Victorian novelists, as well as landmarks of Gothic and other fiction from the Romantic period.
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries
  • Search or browse writings and biographies of over 1,500 women, representing various age groups, life stages, ethnicities, and geographic regions. Includes published and previously unpublished materials, from colonial times to 1950.
• NTIS
  • Index to U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, engineering, and business-related information from 1960.

O

• OECD (SourceOECD)
  • International studies of public policy issues, including commerce, industry, education and telecommunications. Produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
• Online and Distance Learning: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications
  • An online dictionary of terms and core topics in online and distance education.
• Oral History Online
  • Full-text English language oral histories, such as Ellis Island narratives, Black Panther party interviews, and other oral histories. Also indexes oral histories freely available on the Web. 1930- present (some histories are undated).
• Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)
  • Citations and abstracts from the worldwide scientific literature of ornithology. Indexes periodicals, proceedings, dissertations and grey literature. Excludes domestic and pet birds.
• Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
  • More than 5,000 entries by eminent historians on 1,100 years of Byzantine history, from the 4th century to the 15th. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
  • 55,000 biographies of men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's history from earliest times to 2003. Many articles include portraits. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
  • Entries cover all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, including art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. Explores the influence that this intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
  • Surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, covering the 1600s to the present. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
  • Articles by leading scholars go beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
  • Comprehensive coverage of the history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
  • Documents and interprets books read by children throughout the world. Includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator, feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
  • Articles by scholars from thirty-five countries cover the international history of economics. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
  • Contributors from academia, industry, and the culinary world, provide 700 that cover significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
  • Over 900 articles by academics, scholars, writers, and artists on the identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
  • Information about the range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century. Covers not only church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
  • Authoritative information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. In addition to playhouse performances, covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance. Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
• Oxford English Dictionary
  • The complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition OED. Quarterly updates of the in-progress third edition. Entries include etymology, usage quotes, and date charts.

P

• PAIS Archive (Public Affairs Information Service Archive)
  • Index to journals, books, government documents, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and more, from 1915-1976. PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
• Papers of George Washington Digital Edition
  • Text of the fifty-two volumes of the print edition published by the University of Virginia Press through 2005, in six series: Diaries, Revolutionary War, Colonial, Confederation, Presidential, and Retirement. Does not include most illustrations from the printed volumes, with these exceptions: line drawings contained within a transcribed manuscript; and facsimiles of manuscript pages from Washington’s journal of his Voyage to Barbados.
• PapersFirst
  • Index to conference papers contained in the British Library's collection of proceedings of symposia, conferences, and workshops. 1993 to present.
• Past Masters
  • Search or browse scholarly editions and translations of classic published and unpublished texts in the humanities, particularly Western philosophy and English letters. Includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary. More information and links to individual databases.
• Petroleum Abstracts
  • Over 800,000 abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and other sources on oil and gas exploration, production, transportation and storage. Full-text is "Pay-per-View", so check the library catalog for journal titles, and use our Document Delivery service if you need an article that is not available locally.
• Philosopher's Index
  • Indexes scholarly journals, book chapters, and books from philosophy and related fields: aesthetics, ethics, metaphysic logic, political philosophy, social philosophy, and philosophy of education, history, language, law, religion, and science. 1940 - present.
• PolicyFile
  • Abstracts of public policy research from think tanks, university research organizations, and publishers. Many links to full text documents and related Web sites. Contributors include the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, RAND Corporation, and many others.
• PoliticalMoneyLine (FECInfoPro)
  • Comprehensive campaign finance and lobbying data. Limit of four concurrent users. After the site homepage opens, use one of the logins designated for UNR users to access content!
• Pollution Abstracts
  • Index to articles, conference proceedings, and documents on scientific research and government policies relating to all aspects of pollution. 1981 - present.
• Polymers: A Property Database
  • Reference database for polymer chemistry. Search the full text of polymer descriptions or search by property. CRC Press.
• Poole's Plus
  • See 19th Century Masterfile
• Pornography and Sexual Representation: A Reference Guide
  • Comprehensive work on the history, scholarship, social, cultural, and legal aspects of pornography and American society. Includes bibliographies and links to court cases cited in the Guide.
• Pro & Con
  • Background information and arguments for and against controversial issues before the U.S. Congress and important cases before the Supreme Court. Full-text of Congressional Digest and Supreme Court Digest. 1998 - present.
• ProceedingsFirst
  • Index to the proceedings of conferences from the collection held at the British Library. Contains tables of contents for most proceedings. 1993 - present.
• Project Muse
  • 250 scholarly electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences, from Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses, such as Duke University, MIT, and Indiana University. 1993- present for some titles.
• Properties of Inorganic Compounds
  • Numerical values for physical, thermal, electrical, thermodynamic property and ultraviolet data for over 5,500 inorganic compounds. (UNR NetID required)
• Properties of Organic Compounds
  • Physical property and spectral data for more than 27,500 organic compounds. Searchable by many properties. (UNR NetID required)
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Sept 18,1851-Dec 31, 2001.
• PsycARTICLES (EBSCOHost)
  • Full text articles from APA journals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1988- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• PsycCRITIQUES
  • 36,000 full-text reviews of current scholarly and professional books in psychology, as well as critiques of popular films and trade books from a psychological perspective. Produced by the American Psychological Association. 1956- present.
• PsycINFO (EBSCOHost)
  • The online version of Psychological Abstracts, indexing journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations. 1887- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• Public Administration Abstracts
  • Indexes articles related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other key areas.
• PubMed - Medline
  • Index to 4,800+ journals in medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.

R

• Readers' Guide Retrospective
  • Full-text articles from general interest periodicals. Current coverage is 1890-1982.
• ReferenceUSA
  • A directory of more than 11 Million US Businesses. Search by company name or SIC code and limit by location or company size.
• Regional Business News (EBSCOHost)
  • 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering U.S. metropolitan and rural areas. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
• ResearchNow
  • Search or browse journals from Berkeley Electronic Press, unrestricted working paper series, preprints monographs, and other content from institutional and subject-matter repositories hosted by bepress.
• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  • Citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. 1967 - present.
• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)
  • Citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. 1967 - present.
• Risk Abstracts
  • Index to articles on risk arising from industrial, technological, and environmental sources, with emphasis on assessment and management of risk. Covers health, social, and psychological aspects of risk. 1990- present.
• RMMLF Digital Library
  • Proceedings of all the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation annual and special institutes and workshops from 1955 to 1997 excluding some copyrighted materials. (UNR NetID required)
• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  • Over 2,000 articles organized by theme, philosophical traditions by region, religious traditions, and historic period. Includes Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
• RSC Super Archive (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • All 238,000 articles published by the RSC and its forerunner societies, from 1841 to 2004. Browse by title or click "Search RSC Journals" (under Reader Services, left of the "Available Titles" list). References in 1990-2004 articles contain links to full text and CAS abstracts, if available.

S

• Sabin Americana
  • See American History & Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500 - 1926
• Sage Premier
  • SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999.
    
    Also available through the Sage Premier portal, you will find Sage Premier Backfiles, encompassing extensive full-text collections in communication studies, criminology, education, political science, psychology, and sociology, some of these collections.
• Sanborn Maps: Nevada Collection
  • Large-scale Sanborn fire insurance maps (1867-1970) provide information about the history, growth, and development of cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
• Science Citation Index
  • Part of Web of Science. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. On the search screen, clear the checkboxes for Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index if you do not want to search all 3 databases simultaneously (the default). An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool. 5,700 journals, from 1965- present
    Save citations to EndNote Web — recorded training sessions are available.
• ScienceDirect (Elsevier Electronic Journals)
  • Full text of articles from 1800 electronic journals, primarily in the Sciences with some titles in the Social Sciences. 1995 - present for most journals. More information
• Scientific American Archive Online (EBSCOHost)
  • Full-text of Scientific American articles with all special issues. Includes the new Scientific American Mind monthly. January 1993- present.
• SciFinder Scholar (Full Access)
  • Chemical Abstracts and Registry File online from 1907. The premier database for searching chemicals and chemistry-related issues. (UNR NetID required)
• Scribner Writers Series
  • 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres drawn from 13 Scribner print sets. Each signed article was written by a noted scholar and concludes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study. Part of the Literature Resource Center (Gale).
• Shock and Vibration Digest
  • Indexes articles related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other key areas.
• Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Part of Web of Science. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. On the search screen, clear the checkboxes for Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index if you do not want to search all 3 databases simultaneously (the default). An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool. 1,725 journals from 1965- present.
    Save citations to EndNote Web — recorded training sessions are available.
• Social Services Abstracts
  • Index and abstracts on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare and community development. 1980 - present.
• Social Work Abstracts Plus
  • Information about articles on social work and human services from more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession. Includes The Register of Clinical Social Workers.
• Sociological Abstracts
  • Indexes the international literature of sociology and related behavioral sciences from over 1,700 journals, books and book chapters, dissertations and proceedings. Since 2001, many records include references cited.
• SourceOECD
  • International studies of public policy issues, including commerce, industry, education and telecommunications. Produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
• Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
  • Investment and financial information on thousands of publicly owned companies; bonds and dividend listings; detailed industry analyses.
• Standard & Poor's Research Insight (Compustat)
  • Research Insight is a Windows front-end to Compustat data. Contains up to 20 years of annual data and up to 12 years of quarterly data for over 11,000 active U.S. and Canadian companies. Users may select companies based on screening criteria, create custom variables, and generate reports in Excel. (UNR NetID required)
• STAT-USA
  • A database of current and historical U.S. economic data and international trade information. Produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce.

T

• Television News Archive
  • Vanderbilt University's archive of television evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, plus special news broadcasts. Free registration is required to search. Individuals may request videotape loans for a fee. UNR users may view CNN online videos using RealPlayer (free). 1968- present for most resources. Coverage details.
• THOMAS: Legislative Information from the Library of Congress
  • Full-text of U.S. congressional bills, laws, regulations, congressional testimony; bill tracking; members & committees of congress. 93rd Congress - present.
• Times Digital Archive
  • Every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London). The Times covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.
• Times Literary Supplement Digital Archive
  • Reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the Times Literary Supplement. Search by author or contributor and view articles in context on the pages of the TLS, from 1902-1990.
• TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
  • Indexes 185 Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals that are included in L'annee Philologique. 1992- present, with earlier coverage for some titles. Updated 3-4 times per year.
• Toxicology Abstracts
  • Index to articles on natural toxins, social poisons and substance abuse, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. 1981- present.
• TOXLINE
  • An index to articles on all aspects of toxicity. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it covers the most recent five years of articles, books, papers, and reports.
• Treatise on Geochemistry
  • Deals with all major parts of geochemistry, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.
• TRIS
  • More than 420,000 books, journal articles, and technical reports on transportation research from the 1960's to the present.
• Twayne's Authors Series
  • Online version of Twayne's literary criticism series with content from United States Authors, English Authors, and World Authors. The 600-volume collection introduces frequently-studied authors, the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres. Part of the Literature Resource Center (Gale).
• Twentieth-Century African-American Poetry
  • 10,000 poems by around 70 of the most important African-American poets of the last century. Searchable by title, first line, poet, gender, and publisher.
• Twentieth-Century American Poetry
  • Multicultural collection of 52,000 poems from 750 volumes by over 300 poets. Searchable by title, first line, poet, gender, and publisher.
• Twentieth-Century English Poetry
  • 598 volumes of poetry by 283 British poets, including the poets in the Faber Poetry Library. searchable by title, first line, poet, gender, and publisher.

U

• U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
  • Journals, reports, and documents of U.S. Congress House and Senate Committees. Through the 19th century, the Serial Set also included publications of the executive departments relating to important public issues. See also American State Papers for coverage of the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817) and additional publications from 1817-1838. Set to be completed in 2008, with full-text of 13,800 volumes.
• U.S. Government Monthly Catalog
  • Index to U.S. Government information resources providing policy & background information on U.S. foreign relations, health, and much more from June, 1976.
• Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
  • Provides bibliographic and access information on over 240,000 serials, including subscription rates and web sites. Serials are classed by broad subject headings. Includes information on publishers.
• UNBisNet
  • Catalog of UN publications and documentation, voting records, and speeches. Most Official Records are available in microform, located in the Business & Government Information Center. Ask BGIC staff for assistance in locating other UN publications.
• UniProt: The Universal Protein Resource
  • Comprehensive catalog of information on proteins. UniProt is a central repository of protein sequence and function that joins information contained in Swiss-Prot, TrEMBL, and PIR.
• USA Trade Online
  • Monetary value of imports and exports to and from the U.S. by 2-10 digit Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HS) commodity codes, trading partner country, or customs port. Limited data for quantity of imports & exports. Print or download data tables. Data covers 1994 through current statistical month.
• USGS National Geologic Map Database
  • Searchable Geoscience Map Catalog, Geologic Map Image Library, Lexicon of Geologic Names of the United States, and links to related resources. Most of the maps in the Catalog are from the U.S. Geological Survey, and therefore available in our Ansari Map Library.

W

• Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition
  • Financial and business newspaper. Browse issues by date or search by topic. 1984- present.
• Water and Climate Bibliography
  • Pacific Institute's database of scientific literature pertaining to climate change and freshwater resources worldwide. Includes abstracts where available.
• Water Encyclopedia
  • Search or browse articles on water quality, wastewater, ground water, surface water, oceans, industrial water, water chemistry, drinking water, ultrapure water, and water resources.
• Water Resources Abstracts
  • Abstracts of journal articles, books, & other reports pertaining to water resources. 1967- present.
• Web Of Science
  • Includes: Science Citation Index, covering 5,700 journals since 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, covering 1,725 journals since 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, covering 1,130 journals since 1996. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
    Save citations to EndNote Web — recorded training sessions are available.
• Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged
  • A dictionary of the current vocabulary of standard written and spoken English language, from 1755-1996, containing 450,000 vocabulary entries.
• WELDASEARCH
  • Online equivalent of Welding Abstracts, indexing the literature on the science and technology of welding and applied processes (1967 to present).
• Who's Who
  • See Marquis Who's Who
• Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
  • Books, images, primary resources, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities from colonial times to the present.
• World Almanac
  • Search 4 versions of the World Almanac at once: the Almanac and Book of Facts, U.S.A., U.S. Politics, and Almanac for Kids.
• World Ceramics Abstracts/Ceramic Abstracts
  • Online equivalent of Ceramic Abstracts and World Ceramics Abstracts, indexing the literature on all aspects of ceramics (1975 to present).
• WorldCat
  • A catalog of library materials in all formats from libraries all over the United States and the world. Contains more than 61 million items.

Z

• Zoological Record
  • Index to zoological literature from biological journals published worldwide. 1864 - present.