The Constitution and By-Laws of the Western Snow Conference provides for election to Honorary Membership of any member or person who shall have significantly contributed in outstanding manner to Western Snow Conference or to the science of snow hydrology and streamflow forecasting.

The Western Snow Conference pays tribute to these members:

Professor Horace P. Boardman Dr. James E. Church Governor George Dewey Clyde Mr. Walter W. McLaughlin

More Information

http://www.westernsnowconference.org

and socio-political information on snow and runoff from any viewpoint and to advance the snow and provide a forum for individuals and organizations to share The purpose of the Western Snow Conference shall be to hydrologic sciences scientific, management,

History of Snow Survey 1906-2006

Snow Surveying was first invented in the late 1800's in several different locales and it is difficult to ascertain exactly who was first. In the United States a Professor of Philosophy at the University of Nevada, Reno named Dr. James E. Church brought the fledgling technology from Russia, Germany and Switzerland in 1906 to the Lake Tahoe region to solve a vexing problem - the prediction and hence the wise management of a very limited and often fought over regional Water Supply. Dr. Church connected the dots between seasonal runoff and snowpack. Being able to systematically measure snow across a watershed would yield the ability to predict seasonal water supply. Hence, the birth of Snow Surveys.

Conference History

As with all good things, the Western Snow Conference began as an activity of another group, the American Geophysical Union. In the Section of Hydrology of the AGU, a permanent committee was formed on Hydrology of Snow. It is through the annual reports of the Section of Hydrology and activities of the Committee on Snow, as published in the Proceedings of the American Geophysical Union, that snow surveyors can trace much that is of importance,

not only to the history of snow surveying, but to all phases of snow research.

In 1932 Dr. Church, as chairman of the Committee on Hydrology of Snow, recommended that a Conference be held to highlight the advances associated with snow surveys, snow hydrology and water supply forecasting. The first conference was held in Reno, Nevada. At the conclusion of the 1933 conference, it was voted that the Conference should be made an annual meeting to be designated as the Western Interstate Snow Survey Conference, forerunner of the present Western Snow Conference.

Conference Founders

Personal representatives from Utah, California, and Nevada met at the Nevada Agricultural Experiment Station, the pioneer in western snow surveying, on February 18, 1933, as guests of the University of Nevada. There was a registration of 30 from Nevada, 8 from California, and 2 from Utah. Representatives from southern California were blocked from attending by snow.

Paget, Greisser, Church, Clyde, Lowdermilk and Stafford are but a few of the leading forefathers.

Organizational Structure

The Western Snow Conference is broken into four areas. These areas are the North Pacific, South Pacific, North Continental and the South Continental, lead by an Executive Committee and General Chair.

Membership

Members mostly represent states west of the continental divide along with British Columbia, Alberta, Mexico and Hawaii.

Conference Proceedings

Each year a proceedings of papers is published. Historic proceedings are available for most conferences through 1933. Contact WSC Secretary/ Treasurer for availability.

Awards and Traditions

Each year awards are presented for the following: Best Poster Paper, Best Oral Presentation, J.E. Church Award (Best Student Paper) and the El Farsante'.

The traditional snowflake bolo tie with membership area colored string is the tie of choice at WSC.