Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

WORLD WAR II COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Jennifer L. Davis
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: August 1995; Web Revision February 2006
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 15
ISSN 0736-4903

The compiler wishes to thank Michael Grunberger of the Library's Hebraic Section for his assistance with the Ruth Rubin collection.

Multiformat Collections

AFS 6100-6105: Alamanac Singers / Cowboy Yodels
Four 12-inch and two 10-inch discs of the Almanac Singers, Alan and John A. Lomax, and
Earl Robinson. Recorded in New York, New York, January 1942.

AFS 6100B: One 10-inch disc containing "Round and Round Hitler's Grave" sung with accordion, banjo, and guitar by the Almanac Singers, led by Pete Seeger. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 40B)

AFS 6101B: One 10-inch disc containing "Take It Easy" sung with accordion, banjo, and guitar by the Almanac Singers, led by Woody Guthrie. (5 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 41A)

AFS 6102A: One 12-inch disc containing "There's a Job To Do" sung with guitar and piano by Earl Robinson. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 41A)

AFS 6102B: One 12-inch disc containing "Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done" sung with guitar by Woody Guthrie. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 41A)

AFS 6103A: One 12-inch disc containing "High Cost of Living" sung with banjo and guitar by the Almanac Singers, led by Pete Seeger. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 41A)

AFS 6103B: One 12-inch disc containing "Sinking of the Reuben James" sung with accordion, banjo, and guitar by the Almanac Singers, led by Bess Lomax Hawes. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 41A)

AFS 6504-6505: Lt. Alan Swartz Songs
One 16-inch disc and one 12-inch disc of Lt. Alan Schwartz of the Air Corps discussing life in training camp at Montgomery, Alabama, and singing songs current in the camp. Recorded at the Library of Congress, ca. 1942. (45 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 46A)

AFS 6505A1: One disc containing an untitled talking blues, composed and sung with banjo, concerning Air Corps cadets' feelings toward African Americans in the Armed Forces. (2 minutes)

AFS 6986-6993: Lewis Jones and Willis James / Fort Valley State College Recordings
Eight 12-inch discs of African American songs recorded in Fort Valley, Georgia, by Willis Laurence James and Lewis Jones, March 1943. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 439B). This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory Presentation: "Now What a Time": Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943.

AFS 6987A: "War Song" sung with harmonica by Buster Brown. (3 minutes)

AFS 6987B-6988A: "Roosevelt and Hitler" sung with guitar by Buster Ezell. (5 minutes)

AFS 9519-9543B5: Willard Rhodes / Bureau of Indian Affairs Duplication Project
Twenty-five 16-inch discs of Native American music recorded in Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and South Dakota by Willard Rhodes, summer 1941, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

AFS 9526B1: Navajo song about the U.S.A. and Germany going to war, sung by Joe Lee. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 230B)

AFS 9543B6-9562: Willard Rhodes / Bureau of Indian Affairs Duplication Project
Twenty 16-inch discs of Native American music recorded in Arizona, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, and Washington by Willard Rhodes, summer 1947, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

AFS 9543B6: "Remember Pearl Harbor, Mr. Roosevelt" sung by Isadore White Calf. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (1 minute; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9543B7: Song about World War II composed and sung by Henry White Calf. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9544A1: Omaha war song about World War II sung by Edgar Red Cloud and Henry White Calf. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9544A3: Omaha war song about Germans sung by Edgar Red Cloud. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9544A4: Omaha war song about Germans sung by Edgar Red Cloud and Henry White Calf. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9544A9: "Sergeant's Song" composed by Henry White Calf, sung by Isadore White Calf. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (1 minute; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9544B1: Honoring song for her brother sung by Bessie Backward. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (1 minute; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9544B2: Honoring song "For Boys in the Armed Air Force" sung by Bessie Backward. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (1 minute; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9544B3: Victory song about Iwo Jima, the Philippines, and Tokyo sung by Edgar Red Cloud. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 20, 1947. (1 minute; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234A)

AFS 9558A4: War song dedicated to Lester Crow's Heart, who died in the African campaign during World War II, sung by George Howard and Leo Shield Necklace. Recorded in Elbowoods, North Dakota, August 24, 1947. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 237A)

AFS 12,096: A.F. Sisson / Ozark Mountaineers Recordings Collection
One 7-inch tape containing 25 songs sung with guitar and harmonica by the "Ozark Mountaineers" (Almus D. Sisson and Harold D. Sisson), originally of Mountain View Arkansas. Recorded in Portland, Oregon, after 1942.

AFS 12,096A10: "There's a Star Spangled Banner Waving Somewhere." (4 minutes)

AFS 12,139-12,196: Willard Rhodes Recordings
Fifty-eight 12-inch discs of Native American music recorded in Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and South Dakota by Willard Rhodes, summer 1942, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

AFS 12,160A1: Sioux "war song made for General MacArthur," sung by Tom Tyon and Henry White Calf. Recorded in Pine Ridge, South Dakota. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 393B)

AFS 14,516-14,555: Ruth Rubin / Yiddish Folk Music and Folklore
Forty 7-inch tapes of Yiddish folk music and folklore recorded in London, Montreal, New York City, Tel Aviv, and Toronto by Ruth Rubin, 1947-67.

AFS 14,519A8-9, 14: "Hot zikh mir di shikh tserin," "Yugnt Hymn," and "Habet mishomayim u'rey" sung by the Vilna poet-partisan Shmerke Kacerginsky. Recorded in New York City, 1948. (8 minutes; LWO 6514 reel 4)

AFS 14,541-14,542: Twenty-one songs of World War II sung by Mrs. F. Feingold, Mrs. Gordon, Mr. Horowitz and his daughter Rochele, Shmerke Kacerginsky, Fayne Lapin, Mr. Persky, Mrs. Rothenberg, Ruth Rubin, and Dora Wasserman. Recorded in Montreal and New York City, 1948-64. (50 minutes; LWO 6514 reels 26-27)

AFS 14,618-14,623: Willard Rhodes / American Indian Recordings
Six 10-inch tapes of Native American music recorded in Arizona, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming by Willard Rhodes, summer 1951.

AFS 14,618A25: Arapaho war song for veterans of World War II, sung by Mattie Friday, Ralph Hopper, Otto Hungary, John and Constance Shotgun, and Chester Yellow Bear. Recorded in Ethete, Wyoming, July 9. (6 minutes; LWO 6692 reel 1A)

AFS 14,618B43: Arapaho victory song of World War II, led by Chester Yellow Bear. Recorded in Ethete, Wyoming, July 13. (3 minutes; LWO 6692 reel 2B)

AFS 14,621A38-39: Two renditions of a Kiowa song for boys in the Armed Forces composed and sung by Mrs. Grace Turtle. Recorded in Andarko, Oklahoma, August 12. (4 minutes; LWO 6692 reel 5A)

AFS 14,624-14,625: Louis B. Johannaber and Willard Rhodes / American Indian Music
Two 10-inch tapes of primarily Native American music recorded in New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Utah by Louis B. Johannaber and Willard Rhodes, summer 1952, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

AFS 14,624B15: "Song for the Flag Raising at Iwo Jima" composed and sung by Navajo Indian Teddy Draper. Recorded in Brigham City, Utah, by Willard Rhodes. This song has been published by the Library of Congress on recording number AFS L41, Navajo. (2 minutes; LWO 6692 reel 7)

AFS 19,179: Franklin G. Smith Military Folk Music
One audiocassette containing the lecture "Military Folk Song Since 1870" given by Franklin Smith, including vocal examples with guitar. Recorded at Fort Bliss, Texas, May 12, 1976. (90 minutes; LWO 9857)

AFS 19,922-19,957: American Folklore Genres Lectures
Thirty-six audiocassettes of lectures on American folklore genres delivered by various ethnomusicologists and folklorists. Recorded and produced by Everett/Edward Inc., Deland, Florida, 1979.

AFS 19,948: One cassette containing a lecture on "The Military in Folklore" given by Edwin Sutherland. (35 minutes; LWO 15,729 reel 27)

AFS 23,260-23,267: Marcia Mint Danab / Jewish Festivals Collection
Eight 10-inch tapes of interviews concerning Jewish festivals and religious customs, family histories, personal narratives, and songs in Ladino and Yiddish. Recorded in Eugene, Pleasant Hill, Portland, and Salem, Oregon, by Marcia Mint Danab, July-October 1981, for the Jewish Festivals Project. The collection includes 137 pages of transcriptions.

AFS 23,263: One tape containing an interview with Joseph Fiszman about his experiences in Poland before and during World War II. Recorded in Eugene, August 1981. Includes a 16-page typed transcript. (1 hour; RWA 8873)

AFS 26,049-26,169: Indians for Indians Hour Collection
One hundred and twenty-one discs of the radio program, "Indians for Indians Hour," hosted by Don Whistler. Recorded at WNAD, Norman, Oklahoma, August 1943-October 1950.

AFS 26,060A2: Cheyenne "welcoming song for the boys who have come home from overseas," sung by John Heap O Birds. Recorded November 13, 1945. (2 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9563A)

AFS 26,061A5: Kiowa "song dedicated to all the boys in service," sung by Dora and Ed Autibo, Robert Goombi and his mother, Frank Kodaseet, Mr. and Mrs. Horace Momeday, Stecker Paddlety, Jane Poolant, Mr. and Mrs. John Quetone, Allen, Avery and Spurgeon Satoe, Mr. and Mrs. James Taptoe, Mr. and Mrs. James Wolf, and William Wolf. Recorded November 20, 1945. (2 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9563B)

AFS 26,065A4: Comanche round dance song using the English word "German," sung by Albert, Joe, Paul, and Rosalie Attocknie. Recorded February 5, 1946. (2 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9564B)

AFS 26,073A4: Kiowa round dance song using the English words "Germans" and "Japan," sung by Leonard Cozad, Beulah Hall, and Bill Koomsa. Recorded June 11, 1946. (3 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9566A)

AFS 26,073B7: Kiowa war journey song using the English word "Germany," sung by Leonard Cozad, Beulah Hall, and Bill Koomsa. Recorded June 11, 1946. (2 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9566A)

AFS 26,096A2-3: Cheyenne "Welcome Home Song" and "Memorial Song for the Boys Who Did Not Come Back," sung by Guy Heap O Birds. Recorded June 17, 1947. (3 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9571B)

AFS 26,116B6-7: Cheyenne war journey song "Dedicated to all the GIs that served in World War II" and war journey song "Dedicated to all the Marines and Navy," sung by Mr. and Mrs. Hailman Little Coyote and Mr. and Mrs. Morris Medicine. Recorded December 23, 1947. (5 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9576B)

AFS 26,140A3-6: Four Kiowa war mothers songs dedicated "to the Indian boys and all other boys in the hospitals." Sung by Barbara, Harry, Lizzie, and Ruby Mae Ahhaitty, Mr. and Mrs. James Anquoe, David Apekaum, Mr. and Mrs. Eddie Autibo, Mr. and Mrs. Steve Bohay, Mr. and Mrs. James Haumpy, Adam, Carol, and Sally Kaulity, Mr. and Mrs. Mark Keahbone, Walter Kokum, and Mr. and Mrs. Quay Tonemah. Recorded March 15, 1949. (10 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9602A)

AFS 26,148A4: Pawnee veteran's honoring song, sung by Johnny Akers, Clarence and Ezra Fields, Lawrence Goodfox, Philip and Ella Jim, Flora Leader, James and Lissie Little Sun, Frank and Avis Murie, Sam Osborne, and Lamont Pratt. Recorded June 28, 1949. (2 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9603B)

AFS 26,158A6: Sac and Fox memorial song, sung by Willie Wilds. Recorded March 28, 1950. (2 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9606A)

AFS 26,165B2-4: Three Otoe veteran's honoring songs, sung by Mr. and Mrs. Truman Daily, Louis Fawfaw, Fred Ealy, Horton Homeratha, and Agnes Pipestem. Recorded July 11, 1950. (7 minutes; tape copy on RWB 9604B)

AFC 1933/001: John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax Manuscripts Collection
Manuscript materials and lantern slides relating to the tenure of John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax at the Library of Congress, 1932-1942. Includes 1 1/2 linear inches of administrative documents and World War II song lyrics, including songs written by soldiers and songs transcribed from 78 rpm discs, collected by Alan Lomax and others, 1940-43.

AFC 1940/004: Woody Guthrie Manuscript Collection
Four and a half linear inches of correspondence (mostly to Alan Lomax), essays, sketches, and songs written by Woody Guthrie, 1935-50. Includes letters regarding Guthrie's songs about World War II. Collected at the Library of Congress and by Robert A. Black. Portions of this collection are available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory Presentation: Woody Guthrie and the Archive of American Folk Song: Correspondence, 1940-1950.

AFC 1941/002: The Library of Congress / Fisk University Mississippi Delta Collection
Ten 12-inch and 61 16-inch discs of African American church services, instrumentals, interviews, songs, and stories recorded in Mississippi and Tennessee by Alan Lomax, July 15-August 12, 1942, in collaboration with Fisk University. See: Finding Aid

AFS 6605B: "Junior, A Jap's Girl Christmas for His Santa Claus" (sic), sung with guitar by Willie Blackwell, with backup guitar by William Brown, including commentary about the song. Recorded at Sadie Beck's Plantation, Arkansas, July 16, 1942. This song has been published by the Library of Congress on recording number LBC 10, Songs of War and History. (8 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 415A)

AFS 6607B1: "American Defense" sung with guitar by Son House. Recorded in Robinsonville, Mississippi, July 17, 1942. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 415B)

AFS 6612B1: "The Army Blues" sung by David Edwards with guitar and harmonica. Recorded in Clarksdale, Mississippi, July 20, 1942. This song has been published by the Library of Congress on recording number LBC 10, Songs of War and History. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 15,761 reel 2A)

AFS 6647A2: "Hitler Toast" spoken by unknown male. Recorded in Shemod, Mississippi, August 4, 1942. (1 minute; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 421A)

AFC 1941/004: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Collection
Five 16-inch and 12 12-inch discs of interviews from Washington, D.C., Bloomington, Indiana; Nashville, Tennessee; Burlington, North Carolina; New York, New York; and Austin and Dallas, Texas, documenting the reactions of the "man-on-the-street" to the bombing of Pearl Harbor and declaration of war. Recorded by Robert E. Barton Allen, Philip Cohen, Fletcher Collins, John Henry Faulk, Charles T. Harrell, Charles Johnson, Alan Lomax, John A. Lomax, Robert Sonkin, and Charles Todd, December 8-10, 1941. Recorded as part of the Library of Congress Radio Research Project. The collection includes one linear inch of logs and transcripts. This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory Presentation: After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor. (Includes AFS 6357-6375; 6453-6454)

AFC 1942/003: "Dear Mr. President" Collection
Four 16-inch, 48 12-inch, and 3 8-inch discs of recorded reactions to war-time conditions in the United States. Recorded in various locations throughout the United States, by Robert E. Barton Allen, Harry Behn, Fletcher Collins, Duncan Emrich, John Henry Faulk, Helen Hartness Flanders, Charles Johnson, Lewis Jones, Marguerite Olney, Vance Randolph, William N. Robson, Robert Sonkin, and Charles Todd, January-February 1942. Recorded for the Office of Emergency Management Radio Section program, "Dear Mr. President." The collection includes one linear inch of correspondence, logs, and transcripts. This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory Presentation: After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor. (Includes AFS 6397-6452)

AFC 1944/003: Recordings from Fort Valley, Georgia
Fifteen 12-inch discs of African American prayers and songs recorded in Fort Valley, Georgia, by Willis Laurence James, June-July 1943. This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory Presentation: "Now What a Time": Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943.

AFS 7039B: "Pearl Harbor" sung by the New York, Georgia, Singers. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 2B)

AFS 7040B: "Now What a Time" sung by the New York, Georgia, Singers. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3A)

AFS 7041A: "Obey Your Ration Laws" sung with guitar by Buster Ezell. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3A)

AFS 7042: Two renditions of "Let's Go Fight!" sung with guitar by Buster Ezell. (6 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3A)

AFS 7044: Two renditions of "What a Time" sung by the Golden Jubilee Quartet. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3A)

AFS 7046A: "Do Right By My Country" sung with guitar by Buster Ezell. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3A)

AFS 7047B: "We Are Americans, Praise de Lawd" sung by Bertha Houston and congregation. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3A)

AFS 7050B: "Do Right By Me" sung with guitar by Buster Ezell. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3B)

AFS 7051: "Set Down," "Tear Tokyo Down," and "Don't Sit Down" sung and spoken by Sam Jackson. (7 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3B)

AFS 7052: Two renditions of "Obey the Ration Laws" sung with guitar by Buster Ezell. (7 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3B)

AFS 7053: "Roosevelt and Hitler" and "Soldier Boy Blues" sung with guitar by Buster Ezell. (7 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3B)

AFC 1944/004: Songs Sung by the Priority Ramblers
One 16-inch disc and one 12-inch disc of songs sung by Jackie Gibson, Tom Glazer, Edna Nell, and Josephine Schwartz of the Priority Ramblers, including seven songs about wartime America. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Rae Korson and Arthur Semmig, September 6, 1943. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 3B)

AFS 7054A1: "A Dollar Ain't a Dollar Anymore." (4 minutes)

AFS 7054A2: "The Housing Song." (3 minutes)

AFS 7054A4: "Amsterdam Maid." (3 minutes)

AFS 7054B1: "Hold On." (2 minutes)

AFS 7054B2: "Song of the Free." (2 minutes)

AFS 7054B3: "Washington." (3 minutes)

AFS 7054B4: "Overtime Pay." (3 minutes)

AFC 1944/007: Four Freedoms Quartet Recordings
Two 16-inch discs of songs sung by the Four Freedoms Quartet of the Army Specialized Training Program at Georgetown University. Recorded at the Library of Congress by B. A. Botkin, John Langenegger, and Arthur Semmig, November 13, 1943.

AFS 7060A4: "Hold On" sung by the quartet. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 4B)

AFS 7061B: "I Want to Fight a People's War" sung by Cadet Jay G. Blumler. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 5A)

AFC 1944/016: Helen Creighton Collection of Nova Scotia Recordings
Two hundred and fifteen 12-inch discs, one 10- inch disc, and one 6-inch disc of birds, instrumentals, monologues, religious matter, sea shanties, songs, and stories recorded in Nova Scotia by Helen Creighton, July 1943-June 1944. The collection includes six hundred sixty-six pages of textual transcriptions and notes. In addition to the following songs that specifically relate to World War II, the collection also includes marches and popular songs performed by members of the Canadian Armed Forces.

AFS 7103A2-7103B: "Rinnettes du Regiment," a song about the officers of the Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, and "L'entree dans L'armie," which tells about transfers that were made by that regiment. Composed and sung by Armand Mongeon, recorded at Debert Military Base, July 9, 1943. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 10A)

AFS 7113A: "Chanson sur L'armee Transport," a song about army transport, composed and sung by Armand Mongeon of the Fusiliers de Sherbrooke. Recorded at Debert Military Camp, July 22, 1943. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 11A)

AFS 7143A2-3: "Shoulder to Shoulder" (Canadian Women's Army Corps [CWAC] Official Marching Song) and "Flying Colors" played by the CWAC Band under the direction of Bandmaster Nadia Svarich. Recorded in Dartmouth, September 13, 1943. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 13B)

AFS 7146A: "Marching Together," "We're the Girls of the Army Corps," and "Put On Your Peaked Khaki Bonnet," sung by Newfoundland recruits of the CWAC. Recorded in Halifax, August 9, 1943. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 14A)

AFS 7147B: "Bluenose Babes," "We Are the Girls of the Army Corps," "Here Come the Khaki Skirts," and "Put On Your Peaked Khaki Bonnet," sung by recruits of the CWAC. Recorded in Halifax, August 10, 1943. (5 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 14A)

AFS 7149: "The Newfoundland Express" and "The Island Soldier" sung with guitar by Pvt. Albert Gaudet of the Canadian Army. Recorded in Halifax, August 10, 1943. (7 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 14A)

AFS 7154B: "Hats Off to the Navy" and an medley of "The Best Places" and "In Love Again" sung with piano by W.R.C.N. Cora Campbell and Stoker Del Rogers. Recorded in Halifax, August 12, 1943. (5 minutes; LWO 5111 reel 14B)

AFS 7202A2: "Brothers In Arms" sung by a chorus of men and women. Recorded in Halifax, October 7, 1943. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 18B)

AFS 7202B1: "Beauty On Duty" sung by an unidentified male with female chorus. Recorded in Halifax, October 7, 1943. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 18B)

AFS 7202B2-7203A1: "On Shore Leave" sung by two unidentified males. Recorded in Halifax, October 7, 1943. (5 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 18B)

AFS 7205B: "This Is Our New Ship's Show" sung by WREN Lila Armstrong and Lt. S. E. McKyes, and "Tars of the Navy" composed and sung by Lt. S. E. McKyes, both with guitar played by Ordinary Seaman Eldon Harms. Recorded in Halifax, November 19, 1943. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 18B)

AFS 7214A1: "The Girls of the King's Navy" sung by WRENS (Women of the Canadian Navy Training Center). Recorded in Halifax, November 23, 1943. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 19B)

AFS 7214B1: "The WREN Song" sung by personnel of the WRCNS (Canadian Navy). Recorded in Halifax, November 22, 1943. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 19B)

AFS 7232-7233A: "The Last Days of Singapore" spoken by Mrs. H. V. Morris. Recorded in Dartmouth, January 29, 1944. (16 minutes; tape copy on LWO reel 21A)

AFS 7238A; 7237B1: "War Story" about life on the hospital ship _Lady Nelson_, spoken by Julian Bloomer, who served as a steward on the ship. Recorded in Halifax, March 9, 1944. (6 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 21B)

AFS 7257-7259A: "Evacuation of Jersey" spoken by Mrs. E. Tilley of Windsor. Recorded in Dartmouth, March 25, 1944. (30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 23)

AFS 7262; 7220B; 7220A2: "The Adventures of Miranda the Mermaid Who Wanted to be a WREN" spoken by Able Seaman Henry Sherman. Recorded in Dartmouth, April 9, 1944. (21 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 24A; 23B)

AFS 7263A1-2: "March Athene" (CWAC Brass Band Theme) and "Amrek March" played by the CWAC Brass and Pipe Bands, with introduction by Lt. McMurray. Recorded in Halifax, March 16, 1944. (5 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 24A)

AFS 7263B1-2: "Officer of the Day" and "Shoulder to Shoulder" played by the CWAC Brass Band. Recorded in Halifax, April 16, 1944. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 24A)

AFS 7314A1: "Shoulder to Shoulder" sung by the CWAC Band. Recorded in Halifax, February 28, 1944. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 28A)

AFC 1945/001: The World War II Rumor Project Collection
See: Finding Aid

AFC 1947/002: Austin E. Fife Anthology of Folk Literature of Soldiers of the Pacific Theater
One linear inch of songs, poetry, and prose of soldiers in the Pacific theater, collected by Austin E. Fife during his two years of service in the South and Southwest Pacific as the military historian of the Thirteenth Air Force.

AFC 1948/022: University of Wisconsin Project
One hundred and twelve 12-inch discs of instrumentals, songs, and stories recorded in Wisconsin by Charles Hofmann, Phyllis Pinkerton, Aubrey Snyder, and Helene Stratman-Thomas, July 23-November 17, 1946, for the Library of Congress and the University of Wisconsin.

AFS 8371A: "The President Is Calling Us" and "The Chief's Song" (melodies of old Sioux songs with new words about World War II), sung by Mr. and Mrs. James Hawkins (Big Snake and Sweetn Grass). Recorded in Wisconsin Dells by Charles Hofmann, July 24, 1946. (5 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 107A)

AFS 8371B1-2: "Rabbit Dance Music" (old Sioux melody with new words about World War II) and "War Song" (composed by a Sioux soldier overseas in 1943), sung by Mr. and Mrs. James Hawkins (Big Snake and Sweet Grass). Recorded in Wisconsin Dells by Charles Hofmann, July 31, 1946. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 107A)

AFS 8372B2: Sioux war dance melody with new words about World War II, sung by Rena Hawkins and Lawrence Hawkins. Recorded in Wisconsin Dells by Charles Hofmann, July 25, 1946. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 107A)

AFS 8382B: World War II song composed and sung by Sioux Indian Sam Carley (Blow Snake), accompanied by women, with announcement by Chief Yellow Thunder. Recorded in Wisconsin Dells by Charles Hofmann, July 31, 1946. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 108A)

AFC 1948/031: GIs Singing Air Force Songs
Three 16-inch discs of poems and songs performed by Air Force GIs, recorded at the Library of Congress. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 140A)

AFS 8761A1: "Bless Them All" (song). (5 minutes)

AFS 8761B: "Never Mind" (song). (5 minutes)

AFS 8763A: "Doug's Communique," "When It's Greenwich Time," and "G.I. M-1" (poems). (13 minutes)

AFS 8763B1-3: "We've Got a Fighter Up Tonight," "Air Raid," and "Government Issue" (poems). (5 minutes)

AFC 1948/032: Don O'Meara / Army Songs
One 16-inch disc of songs sung by Don O'Meara, recorded at the Library of Congress.

AFS 8764A1-2: Two renditions of "Gee Mom, I Wanna Go Home." (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 140A)

AFC 2001/001: Veterans History Project Collection
See the following website, which include online presentations of collection materials: http://www.loc.gov/vets/.

Subject Files

1. One folder containing 30 pages of lyrics to songs about the Women's Army Corps.

2. One folder including 50 pages of lyrics to songs about World War II.