Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

MARYLAND COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Mila L. Goldberg
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: August 1989 (Web revision April 2008)
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 3
ISSN 0736-4903

MULTIFORMAT COLLECTIONS

AFS 1616-1637: Alan Lomax 1938 Library of Congress Sessions Collection
Twenty-two 12-inch discs of songs performed by Barbara Bell, Ernest Bourne, W.C. Handy, Alan Lomax, Bess Brown Lomax, the Resettlement Administration Singers, the Rindlisbacher Lumberjack Group, Earl Robinson, the Skyline Farm Singers, and Blaine Stubblefield. Recorded primarily in Washington, D.C., at the Library of Congress, by Alan Lomax, 1937-38. The collection includes eight pages of notes. Also includes recordings made in Chevy Chase, Maryland, of Charles Seeger, Leverett S. Lyon, Margaret Valiant, Adrian Dornbush, Grete Franke, Ruth Crawford, Bess Brown Lomax, Edward T. Calhoun, Richard Kenah, Martha Peacock, John B. Vance [chief librarian of the LC Law Library], and Tannis Tugwell.

AFS 1617-1619: Three discs containing eight songs played and sung by Alan Lomax, Bess Brown Lomax, Margaret Valiant, and the "Resettlement Folk Singers." Recorded in Chevy Chase, Maryland, by Alan Lomax, Fall 1937. (tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 118)

AFS 1624-1625: Two discs containing three songs sung and played by Gertrude Smartts, Minnie Swearingen, and Johnnie Robertson of Baltimore, Maryland. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Alan Lomax, May 1938. (tape copy on LWO 4872)

AFS 7600-7601: David Pryor Singing Bahaman Spirituals
Two discs of twenty Bahamian spirituals sung by David Pryor from the Hebron, Maryland Labor Camp (originally of Nassau). Recorded at the Library of Congress by Benjamin A. Botkin and Charles Schreider, October 2, 1944. (tape copy on LWO 5111)

AFS 9604: Dorothy G. Howard Singing Texas Lullabies
One disc containing four Texas lullabies sung by Dorothy Howard of the State Teachers College in Frostburg, Maryland, recorded at the Library of Congress in April 1949 by Duncan Emrich and George Steele. (tape copy on LWO 5111)

AFS 9829-9868: National Folk Festival, 1938
One 12-inch and thirty-nine 16-inch discs of instrumentals, radio programs, and songs. Recorded primarily at the National Folk Festival in Washington, D.C., by the U.S. Recording Company, May 6-8, 1938. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of song lists, newspaper articles, and programs.

AFS 9851B-9852A2; 9861B1-2: Three discs containing four ballads with Appalachian dulcimer played and sung by Maurice Matteson of the State Teachers College in Frostburg, Maryland, recorded at the National Folk Festival, Washington, DC, in May 1938 by the U.S. Recording Company.

AFS 9855A3-4; 9862A4: Two discs containing three spirituals sung by a choir of oyster shuckers and crab pickers sponsored by the Rock Hall Creek Packing Company, Rock Hall, Maryland, recorded at the National Folk Festival, Washington, DC, in May 1938 by the U. S. Recording Company.

AFS 9867B: One disc containing five songs performed by the Prince George's County String Orchestra under the direction of B.F. Orndoff, recorded at the National Folk Festival, Washington, DC, May 1938 by the U. S. Recording Company.

AFS 9990: [Interview with Fountain Hughes]
One tape containing one narrative by ex-slave Fountain Hughes, recorded in Baltimore, Maryland, in June 1949 by Herman Norwood. [online presentation]

AFS 10,058-10,059: Dorothy Howard Collection
Two tapes of songs, stories, recitations, toasts, interviews, and children's games, recorded in Frostburg, Lonaconing, Midland, and Old Town, Maryland, September through December 1949 by Dorothy Howard.

AFS 12,362-12,364: Joseph C. Hickerson / Fields Ward Recordings Project
Three tapes containing fifty-nine songs, guitar and banjo tunes, and seven spoken pieces by Fields Ward, originally of Galax, Virginia, recorded in Forest Hill, Maryland, in June 1966 by Joseph C. Hickerson. (LWO 4838)

AFS 12,597: Joseph A. Winn Recordings
One 7-inch tape of folksongs, recitations, and early 20th century popular and army songs, children's songs, and bawdy songs, sung with guitar by Joseph A. Winn, Bethesda, Maryland, formerly of Massachusetts and Washington, D.C. Recorded in Accokeek, Maryland, by Joseph C. Hickerson, October 15, 1966.

AFS 12,598-12,600: Joseph C. Hickerson / Stella Holaday and Fields Ward Recordings
Three tapes containing fifty one songs and ballads sung and played by Stella Holaday, originally of Sparta, North Carolina, and Fields Ward, originally of Galax, Virginia, recorded in Forest Hill, Maryland, in October 1966 by Joseph C. Hickerson. (LWO 4986)

AFS 13,154-13,157: George Carey Collection of Narratives and Songs from the Eastern Shore of Maryland
Four 10-inch tapes of songs and stories recorded on the Eastern Shore of Maryland by George G. Carey, July-August 1967 and February 1968. The collection includes seventeen pages of notes. (LWO 5349)

AFS 14,429: Joseph Di Misa / "Steve O'Donald's Wake" Recording
One tape containing "Steve O'Donald's Wake" sung by Joseph G. DiMisa of Woodbridge, Virginia, Frank G. DiMisa of White Plains, Maryland, and Jesse M. Clements of Kensington, Maryland, recorded by Joseph G. DiMisa. Accessioned in Februaru 1971. (LWO 6379)

AFS 14,583: Thomas J. Floyd / Mr. And Mrs. Spearman Lancaster Duplication Project
One tape containing two stories, five songs, two discussions and a poem by Mr. and Mrs. Spearman Lancaster, recorded in Rock Point, Maryland, in April 1971 by Thomas Jerry Floyd.

AFS 14,604: J.D. Pate and Chesapeake Broadcasting Corporation / Alex and Ola Belle Reed Recordings
One tape containing two songs by Ola Belle Reed and Alex Campbell of Rising Sun, Maryland, originally from the Lansing-Grassy Creek area of North Carolina, recorded in Havre de Grace, Maryland, in 1950 by Jason Thomas Pate. (LWO 6596)

AFS 15053-15074: Peter R. Hoover Collection
Twenty-two 10-inch tapes of primarily instrumental music recorded in Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia by Peter R. Hoover, 1959-67. Mostly instrumental folk music, including also music derived from Ireland, Scotland (from Howard Glasser Collection), Iowa, and Washington, D.C.

AFS 15,056: One tape containing twenty-one songs by Bob and Iolene Beach, Peter R. Hoover, Howard Mitchell, Carolyn Hester, and Joseph A. Winn recorded in Chevy Chase, Maryland in May 1960 by Peter R. Hoover. (LWO 6880)

AFS 18,723-18,724: Richard K. Spottswood / John Cephas Recordings
One 5-inch tape and one 7-inch tape of Negro blues singer and guitar player John Cephas. Recorded by himself at the D.C. National Guard Armory, mid 1975; and by Mike Rivers, Joseph Wilson, and Richard Spottswood at Silver Spring, Maryland, June 9, 1976. (LWO 9102)

AFS 18,874-18,875: Gerald Parsons and Edward Tittel / Wayson's Corners, Maryland, Tobacco Auction
Two 5-inch tapes containing a tobacco auction conducted by Bob Cage from South Boston, Virginia, recorded in Wayson's Corners, Maryland, by Gerald E. Parsons and Edward Tittel, May 1976 . (LWO 9191)

AFS 18,883-18,890: Henry Glassie Collection of Ola Belle Reed and Family Recordings
Eight tapes containing songs and banjo tunes by Ola Belle Reed and family of Rising Sun, Maryland, originally from the Lansing-Grassy Creek area of North Carolina, recorded in Oxford, Pennsylvania in 1966-1967 by Henry Glassie. (LWO 9080)

AFS 19161-19178: Jonas Balys / Lithuanian American Recordings
Eighteen 10-inch tapes of Greek and Lithuanian songs recorded in Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Washington, D.C., and Wisconsin by Jonas Balys, 1949-59. The collection includes five linear inches of manuscripts containing an alphabetic index of songs, copies of six diaries of field expeditions, and photocopies of original tape boxes having supplementary information.

AFS 19,259: Gerald E. Parsons and Zack Krieger / Interview with Madison Mitchell
One tape containing an interview with decoy maker Madison Mitchell. Recorded in Havre de Grace, Maryland, in May 1977 by Zack Krieger and Gerald E. Parsons.

AFS 19,383-19,384: Steve Rathe / 1975 National Folk Festival
Two tapes containing an interview with Richard Semprit, leader of the Trinidad and Tobago Steel Drum Orchestra of Baltimore, Maryland. Recorded at the National Folk Festival in Vienna, Virginia, in the Summer of 1975 by Steve Rathe of National Public Radio.

AFS 19,385: Gerald E. and Margaret Parsons Interview with Annie Weir
One tape containing an interview about rug hooking, religious experiences, and recipes with Annie Weir of Lonaconing, Maryland, recorded in Cumberland, Maryland, In October 1978 by Margaret B. and Gerlad E. Parsons. (LWO 12,913)

AFS 19,415: Ivan Miller Family Mennonite Hymns
One cassette containing twenty seven Mennonite hymns selected from five albums of the Ivan J. Miller family of Grantsville, Maryland, recorded in North Carolina in 1977 by Ivan J. Miller. (LWO 12,932)

AFS 19,434-19,444: Maryland Folklife Festival 1977
Eleven 10-inch tapes containing interviews and religious music, recorded in western Maryland in July 1977 by Margaret B. and Gerald E. Parsons. Collected and donated by the Maryland Arts Council. (LWO 12,375)

AFS 20,094-20,096: Tom Anderson and Pam Swing / Shetland Fiddle Tunes Collection
Three 10-inch tapes containing an interview and forty four duets played by Herman Von Bernowitz, Director of the Takoma Park Mandoleers, on mandolin and Francine Von Bernowitz on guitar, recorded at the Library of Congress in February 1976 by John E. Howell and Scott Hambly. (LWO 8851)

AFS 20,198: Steven Barr Yiddish Song Project
One audiocassette containing two Yiddish socialist songs sung by Rose Cohan of Baltimore, Maryland, recorded in Bethesda, Maryland in April 1980 by Steven Barr. (RYA 0003)

AFS 22,155-22,157: Robert Litzenberg Recording Project
Three 7-inch tapes of a discussion about railbird hunting, upland bird hunting, and waterfowling on the Upper Chesapeake, 1924-present, spoken by Robert Litzenberg. Recorded in Elkton, Maryland, by Gerald E. Parsons, September 18, 1981. The collection includes three color slides and eight pages of transcriptions. (RXA 3846-3848)

AFS 23,019-23,155: Ethnic Broadcasting in America Collection
Eighteen 7-inch tapes, two five-inch tapes, and one hundred seventeen cassettes of ethnic radio broadcasts recorded for the Ethnic Broadcasting in America Project of the American Folklife Center. Recorded mostly off the air by Elena Bradunas, Theodore Grame, Alan Jabbour, and others at various locations in the United States, 1977-78. Documentation includes Theodore Grame's Ethnic Broadcasting in the United States (Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center, 1980; PN1991.8.E84G7) and nine linear inches of manuscript materials.

AFS 23,085-23,089: Five cassettes containing two German, one Italian, and two Lithuanian radio programs broadcast by radio station WITH-FM in Baltimore, Maryland, recorded in September through November 1978 by Elena Bradunas for the American Folklife Center's Ethnic Braodcasting in America project.

AFC 1941/009: Delaware and Maryland Recordings
Twenty-three 12-inch discs of approximately 50 songs and harmonica tunes and 10 interviews, recorded in various locations in Delaware and Maryland, by Jerome Wiesner, Joseph Liss, and Glenn Gildersleeve, June 1941. The collection includes 4 pages of logs. (tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 325B-327B)

AFS 4720B-4721A: Two discs containing an interview and songs by Lou Sheppard, recorded in Finchville, Maryland, in June 1941 by Jerome Wiesner, Joseph Liss, and Glenn Gildersleeve.

AFC 1948/005: Charles Seeger Collection of Mexican Folksongs from a Pennsylvania Railroad Camp
Six discs containing sixteen songs sung by Mexican migrant workers from a Pennsylvania Railroad camp recorded in Cheverly, Maryland, in September 1944 by Charles Seeger. (Includes AFS 8018-8023)

AFC 1948/051: Mr. and Mrs. Charles Anderson Recordings
One disc of seven songs sung by Mr. and Mrs. Charles Anderson of Baltimore, Maryland. Recorded at the Library of Congress Duncan Emrich, Arthur D. Semmig, and Herman Norwood, April 4, 1947. (LWO 5111) (Includes AFS 8934)

AFC 1964/002: Ward Family Songbooks Collection
Photopied indexes and songbooks from the Mr. and Mrs. Fields Ward family of Forest Hill, Maryland. Originals still with the family. 292 songs plus 25 poems. 1707 1/2 verses plus 301 unstanzed lines.

AFC 1973/011: George Carey Collection of Interviews and Narratives from Maryland and Virginia
Six 10-inch tapes of more than two hundred interviews, narratives, and oral histories recorded on the Eastern Shore of Maryland in 1968 by George G. Carey. Includes urban folklore of Washington, DC, Maryland, Pennsylvania Dutch, Pennsyvania mining, West Virginia, Rhodesia, ghost tales, children's rhymes, and Irish folklore. (LWO 7304) (Includes AFS 15,587-15,5926)

AFC 1973/014: A.F. Sisson / Songs from Arkansas
One tape containing two songs sung by Albert F. Sisson of Avondale, Maryland, recorded in April 1973 by Albert F. Sisson. (Includes AFS 15,600)

AFC 1974/014: Jim Hitchcock Duplication Project
One 10-inch tape of college folksongs (including bawdy songs) sung by Jim Hitchcock et al, of California. Recorded in Timonium, Maryland, by Joseph C. Hickerson, October 19-20, 1963. The collection includes a song list. (LWO 7888) (Includes AFS 17,022)

AFC 1974/024: University of Maryland Folklore Archive Collection
Thirteen 10-inch tapes of student collections from the University of Maryland, under the supervision of George G. Carey, 1967-1970. Recorded in Maryland, Washington, DC, Pennsylvania, West Virginia. Includes urban folklore , Pennsylvania Dutch traditions, mining folklore, Rhodesian folk tales, ghost tales, children's rhymes, Irish folklore, rugby songs, songs by Flora Molton, Girl Scout songs, college songs, etc. The collection includes 2 1/2 linear inches of logs and notes. (LWO 7306) (Includes AFS 17391-17403) [catalog record].

AFC 1974/026: Gerald E. Parsons, Jr. / Interview with Capt. and Mrs. Harry Jobes
One 10-inch tape of an interview with Capt. Harry Jobes, decoy maker and waterfowling guide. Recorded in Aberdeen, Maryland, by Margaret B. and Gerald E. Parsons, June 18, 1974. (LWO 7960) (Includes AFS 17,440)

AFC 1974/027: Gerald E. and Margaret Parsons / Maryland Waterman Interviews
Two tapes containing narratives by Newton Downey and Bob Tucker recorded in Rock Hall, Maryland, in June 1974 by Margaret B. and Gerald E. Parsons. (LWO 7907) (Includes AFS 17,441-17,442)

AFC 1975/037: Gerald E. Parsons, Jr. Duplication Project
One 10-inch tape of herblore and nursery rhymes recorded in Lonaconing, Maryland, and Keyser, West Virginia. Includes nursery rhymes by Mrs. E. R. Parsons, Keyser, West Virginia (age 90) and her great grandchildren; Herb-Lore from G. Crawford. Recorded by Gerald E. and Margaret Parsons, June 24, 1973. The collection includes three pages of fieldnotes. (LWO 7892) (Includes AFS 17,601)

AFC 1975/039: Jane Day Abb Collection of Maryland Legends
One 10-inch tape of legends, belief tales, ghost stories, etc., recorded at home of Henry Fuller, Sandy Spring, Maryland, November 1969, by Jane Day Abb. Originals held by University of Maryland Folklore Archive. See also AFS 17391-17403. (LWO 6799) (Includes AFS 17,606). [catalog record]

AFC 1976/006: Ola Belle Reed Photograph Collection
Sixty-four photographs of Country and Western singers active in southeastern Pennsylvania and northeastern Maryland in the late 1930s and early 1940s.

AFC 1977/003: 1977 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes a performance by Ola Belle Reed of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1977/008: Alex Kellam Collection
Twenty-one 7-inch tapes of interviews, songs, and stories spoken and sung mostly by Alex Kellam, recorded primarily in Crisfield, Maryland, by George G. Carey and Carl Fleischhauer, 1977-78. The collection includes seventy pages of notes and transcriptions and fourteen pages of photocopied contact sheets of photographs of Crisfield, Kellam, and various watercraft. Kellam is a waterman, folk painter, storyteller, and insurance agent from Crisfield, Maryland. The collection includes approximately 445 photographs of Alex Kellam, Dot Kellam, decoy maker Lem Ward, landscapes, house types, copies of scrapbook photos, and copies of manuscript versions of Kellam's poems. (RXA 3706-3726) (Includes AFS 22,409-22,429). [catalog record]

AFC 1977/015: Mike Seeger collections / Earl Scruggs, Don Reno, and Sam Bowles Recordings
One 5-inch tape of instrumentals recorded in Maryland and Ohio by Mike Seeger, July 1955 and February March 1971. Includes two banjo duets by Earl Scruggs and Don Reno recorded in a contest at Rising Sun, Maryland, July 24, 1955. Nine steel guitar instrumentals by Sam Bowles, Centerville, Ohio, 1971. The collection includes a one-page list. (LWO 9415) (Includes AFS 18,962) [catalog record]

AFC 1979/006: 1979 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes a gospel music concert by the Burke Family of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1980/012: 1980 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes country music concert by Don Stover of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1981/006: 1981 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes Cambodian music and dance by Khmer Classical Ballet of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid].

AFC 1982/011: 1982 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes Irish music by The Irish Tradition of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1983/009: 1983 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes Cambodian music and dance by Khmer Classical Ballet of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1985/005: University of Maryland Ethnic Studies Video Collection
Four videocassettes of programs 1-4 of the "Mosaic - The American Ethnic Experience" instructional video series, produced by the University of Maryland Ethnic Studies Project (Edward Jurewicz - production manager), and supported by a grant from the Ethnic Heritage Studies Branch of the U.S. Office of Education.

AFC 1985/015: 1985 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes blues music by John Cephas and Phil Wiggins of Maryland. [catalog record][finding aid]

AFC 1986/037: 1986 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes a concert of Chinese folk and traditional music, jointly sponsored by the American Folklife Center and the National Council for the Traditional Arts, performed by an ensemble based at the University of Maryland Baltimore County, recorded at the Library of Congress in August 1986 by Pete Reiniger. (Includes AFS 24,294). [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1988/009: 1988 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes Irish music by Seamus Egan, Mick Moloney, and Liam Harney of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1989/009: 1989 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes Colombian music by Ivan Cuesta y sus Vallenatos Autenticos of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1990/012: 1990 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes Piedmont blues music by John Cephas and Phil Wiggins of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1991/003: Woody Guthrie Concert and Conversation, April 14, 1951
One audiocassette, originally recorded on wire, of a Woody Guthrie concert recorded at St. John's College, Annapolis, Maryland, by James W. Mavor, Jr., April 14, 1951. Note on tape box says, "Comments by Woody's wife." (RYB 0667)

AFC 1991/044: Laura C. Kafka Collection / Blob's Park: Polkamania in Jessup, Maryland
Copy of a paper on Blob's Park presented at the 1991 MACSEM (Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology) meeting. Also a videotape entitled "The Polka Kids," a fundraiser and Desert Storm tribute at Blob's Park, recorded February 3, 1991.

AFC 1992/001: 1992 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection
Includes Irish traditional music and dance by Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill of Maryland. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1993/003: Italian-American Holiday Foodways Demonstration Collection
One audiocassette of a demonstration by Lorenzo and Eleonora Lazzaro, owners of Mamma Lucia Italian Delicatessen in Wheaton, Maryland, preparating of Italian-American Christmas foods including fried pastries: Cenci, Crostali, Tortelli de Vino, and Pignolata. Recorded at the Library of Congress, in Washington, DC, December 15, 1993. The presenter was Phyllis A. Lesansky. The collection includes a flyer for the event which includes recipes for the above pastries.

AFC 1995/004: Mike Seeger Collection
Two hundred and seventy-five 10-inch tapes of bluegrass, country, and folk music, recorded in California, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia, primarily by Mike Seeger, 1953-67. The collection includes three linear inches of computer disks, correspondence, notes, and photos.

AFC 1996/080: Jack Manischewitz / Rachel Marshak and Harry Rudman Collection
One audiocassette containing songs by and conversation with Harry Rudman (originally from Ukraine) and Rachel Marshak (originally from Minsk, Russia). Recorded at their retirement residence, Ring House in Rockville, Maryland, on June 17, 1995 by Jack Manischewitz. Songs in Yiddish, English, Russian, and Ukrainian.

AFC 1999/006: Frank and Elizabeth Goodwyn Interview Collection
Two DATs of an interview with Frank and Elizabeth Goodwyn about John and Alan Lomax, and growing up on a Ranch in Texas. Recorded in Silver Spring, Maryland, on April 29, 1999. The Goodwyns spoke of the Lomaxes as well as about J. Frank Dobie.

AFC 2001/001: Local Legacies Collection
Four hundred and five linear feet (approximately 90,000 manuscript pages, 475 sound recordings, 13,270 graphic materials, 335 electronic media, and 75 artifacts) of documentation of local festivals, fairs, parades, and other community-based events from each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and trusts. The Local Legacies Collection was donated through the efforts of individuals, organizations, and institutions asked to participate by members of Congress. This project was part of the Library of Congress Bicentennial celebration in the year 2000. Maryland's Local Legacies. [catalog record]

AFC 2003/016: Takoma Park Folk Festival Panel Discussion Collection
One CD of a panel discussion titled "Music from the Library of Congress Archive of Folk Culture." Particpants included Peggy Bulger, Jennifer Cutting, Joe Hickerson, and Andy Wallace. Recorded at the 2003 Takoma Park [Maryland] Folk Festival, Sept. 7, 2003, Takoma Park Middle School, Abbott Stage. [catalog record]

AFC 2004/047: From Bridge to Boardwalk, Lecture by Douglas Manger, Tatiana Irvine, and Elaine Eff
One videocassette of an illustrated lecture by Douglas Manger, Tatiana Irvine, and Elaine Eff based on the CD and book titled From Bridge to Boardwalk [catalog record], about the history and contemporary cultural traditions of the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Recorded October 21, 2004. Part of the 2004 Benjamin A. Botkin Folklife Lecture Series. [catalog record]

AFC 2005/023: Washington Chu Shan Chinese Opera Institute Concert Collection
Three videocassettes of a concert by the Washington Chu Shan Chinese Opera Institute from Maryland founded by Chu Shan Zhu and his wife Judy Huang. Recorded at the Library of Congress, May 18, 2005. Part of the Homegrown 2005 concert series. [catalog record]